Volkswagen IROC Concept

iroc1.jpg

Volkswagen’s Iroc concept pays homage to the first Volkswagen Scirocco presented 33 years ago at the Geneva Motor Show. The new Sc-IROC-co runs away slightly from the original Scirocco’s classic coupe shape, and transforms into something which I view as Volkwagen’s version of the Audi TT. More details and photos after the jump.

iroc2.jpg

The Volkswagen Iroc Concept comes in viper green metallic, one of the colours that was very common on the original Scirocco. The car has a wheelbase of 2,680mm and is 1,400mm high, 4,240mm long and 1,800mm wide. The 10-spoke rims are 19 inches in size and are made of light alloy, with a special done specially for the Iroc.

The little coupe is powered by Volkswagen’s excellent 1.4 litre TSI Twincharger engine, making 210 horsepower instead of the 170hp version we’re used to seeing in the Golf GT. Shifting is via Volkwagen’s excellent DSG gearbox, which I am itchy to try.

The car’s extra long roof lends to it’s sleek profile, with the hidden B-pillars emphasizing on the look. This seems to be the opposite of the classic roadster-ish profile which has a very long engine hood and a short roof. From the back, you can see the car’s wide shoulders which give it a more aggresive stance.

Like most sporty hatches, the Volkswagen Iroc Concept is a 4-seater. Boot storage is about 300 litres, which can be extended to a whole deal more if you fold the rear seats down. Meter gauge is of a dual pod design, lit up with a blueish glow. If you look at the air cond vents in the center of the dashboard, you wil notice it mirrors the hexagon-shaped grille on the nose of the car.

With the Volkswagen Iroc Concept, Volkswagen gives us a peek at what the future new Volkswagen Scirocco to be based on the Volkswagen Golf could look like. Enjoy the rest of the photos. And remember, it’s said that geniuses pick green for their car colours :)

iroc3.jpg

iroc4.jpg

iroc5.jpg

iroc6.jpg

iroc7.jpg

iroc8.jpg

iroc9.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• armandd (Member) on Aug 29, 2006 at 11:26 am

hmm, the car looks a bit like the old satria from the back! overall the exterior is very nice.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Aug 29, 2006 at 4:16 pm

Interesting.

One of the most fun VWs I've driven was the late Corrado. Supercharged G50 engine. Too bad it got too expensive and got itself killed by cheaper, lighter Japanese small hatches (the CRX and EG Hatch in perticular).

You can see that the designers are jsut designers, not very smart petrolheads. Who on earth will put the boost and oil temp/pressure gauges somewhere you can't see them. They should be on the main dial cluster.

• Dogster (Member) on Aug 29, 2006 at 5:26 pm

What interior very nice??? U must be kidding me, This is the coolest interior that any car has to date.

• silverfish (Member) on Aug 29, 2006 at 5:46 pm

That looks shit hot! Want one…

• drM (Member) on Aug 29, 2006 at 6:04 pm

this is too much. too conceptual. it maybe 8-10 years ahead.

• lowprofile (Member) on Aug 29, 2006 at 6:58 pm

i still miss the coupe shape of the original scirocco and corrado. bring the future in today and cause a shift in design.

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Aug 29, 2006 at 8:20 pm

Scirocco/Iroc.. It looks good bcoz its like a stretched hatch body over big alloys. And as for that green paint, does Traffic magazine have anything to do with it?

• aksMs (Member) on Aug 29, 2006 at 8:45 pm

It may be just a concept right now. But if VW give it a go for production, I'd definitely gonna get it. As long as VW maintain the outer design. The interior might be too futuristic. I'm sure it'll be different interior on the production model. But my main interest, other than the aggresive external stance is the 1.4 TSi engine and the DSG tranny. Man, I'd really like to get my hands on those. 200+ horses from a puny 1.4 litre engine? Damn…..

Paul I'm gonna wait for your next update on this concept. Really appreciated this one. Thanks, man.

• albagmane (Member) on Aug 29, 2006 at 9:05 pm

man… i think the front does look like a mitsubishi concept car, forgot either is a lancer or galant oredi…

• e-nabilll (Member) on Aug 29, 2006 at 9:14 pm

the blue interior lights already blinding in the pic….!looks great,,,looks original..specially the front but lacks adentity..if u see the car…u wodnt think its a VW…

• szw (Member) on Aug 29, 2006 at 9:54 pm

owh….

its a beauty ler wei.

but da colour abit weird lar, but who cares.

hahaha !

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Aug 29, 2006 at 10:49 pm

Paul, I wonder whether any bengkel in Sunway like N1 can make their own Twincharger type induction kits. That would be cool.

But hard to imagine someone say: "Wah that car damn power man, it's twincharged!" as opposed to: "Wah, that car turbocharged man!"

As for the Iroc, from certain angles it can look like a Peugeot concept

• asimo (Member) on Aug 29, 2006 at 11:01 pm

cool…buts looks like satria neo..but this is more cool…

• maxtek (Member) on Aug 29, 2006 at 11:09 pm

Goodness, it looks freaking alien like. Volkswagen with the Volvo C30 like car? I thought they already have the hatchback, the Volkswagen Golf?

• KingKong (Member) on Aug 30, 2006 at 2:09 am

later could be "MAFIA Official Car"

• jehutyz (Member) on Aug 30, 2006 at 2:31 am

The front look like the new Evo..

Nice interior.

• aesthari (Member) on Aug 30, 2006 at 2:48 am

Dang! Nice car! I love both the insides n outside of this car, the blue lit interior is cool!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Aug 30, 2006 at 5:19 am

If VW and P1 partnership seal earlier of this year, Passat will be R M for Perdana and this Iroc may be the future model of Satria Neo!

• Isamu (Member) on Aug 30, 2006 at 5:41 am

Omigod……. This is not a car… This is ART from every angle….!!!!!!!!

• DAN (Member) on Aug 30, 2006 at 6:05 am

nice!

• ksec (Member) on Aug 30, 2006 at 6:38 am

Personally i love the Europe Honda Civic 06 Hatch Design much more that this one. I think it is more practical as well as more beautiful and elegant.

The Big Grill in front looks very much like Evo X.

And Some how i just dont like its back. ( Well may be it is just me, since the only hatch i think looks good was the Honda Civic 06 )

But i would LOVE to drive a 1.4L Engine with 210 bhps. And DSG!!!!

• raybrig85 (Member) on Aug 31, 2006 at 4:41 am

cant wait for the new corrado…

• tbcheese (Member) on Aug 31, 2006 at 1:09 pm

the Peugeot/Fiat grill looks a bit odd on a VW

• december (Member) on Aug 31, 2006 at 8:26 pm

OMFG

• december (Member) on Aug 31, 2006 at 11:17 pm

drM said,

this is too much. too conceptual. it maybe 8-10 years ahead.

——-

Its a concept, duh!

• asimo (Member) on Aug 31, 2006 at 11:32 pm

If VW and P1 partnership seal earlier of this year, Passat will be R M for Perdana and this Iroc may be the future model of Satria Neo!

nothing to be proud if use this model and declare as proton

• Paul Tan on Aug 31, 2006 at 11:42 pm

actually VW said if they make this car, it'll be a 2008 model.

• neurra (Member) on Sep 03, 2006 at 12:17 am

awesome looking panels.. the car itself looks like porsche+lambo+nissan concept+vw gt.. still, the looks!!!! -.-' fuh.. sumore with the twincharger.. x_x