Assorted Proton announcements

Proton has made a few announcements today, let me go through them one by one. They’re mostly to do with memorandum of understanding and intent signed with other companies.

Proton reports that the Memorandum of Intent between Proton and Petronas has ended, and both parties are now assessing alternative engine sourcing opportunities. I am not sure if I am right, but from what I can understand by “assessing alternatives”, it looks like Proton will not be using the Petronas E01-based technology for it’s larger displacement engines.

The Memorandum of Understanding with Mitsubishi Motors Corporation to be extended for another 3 months, ending in November 2006. This is subject to the approval of the Board of Directors of both parties. This MoU was signed to explore the feasibility of cooperation between Mitsubishi and Proton in the development of new vehicles and components supply. The new model in question is the most likely the Perdana Replacement Model, said to be based on the Mitsubishi 380. Previously, Proton announced that it has completed technical feasibility studies and was proceeding to commercial feasibility studies.

Memorandum of Understanding between Perusahaan Otomobil Nasional Sdn Bhd, Chery Automobile Co Ltd and Alado Corporation Sdn Bhd to be extended for another 2 months subject to approval of Board of Directors of all three companies. This is likely to do with the talks Proton has been having with Chery on a joint venture in assembly and distribution for Proton cars in China as well as Chery cars in Malaysia.

The joint feasibility study between Lotus Engineering Malaysia Sdn Bhd and Youngman Automobile Group Co Ltd (Jinhua Youngman) will end on 28th September 2006. The study is current in the financial, legal and marketing aspect phase.

Proton Holdings Berhad has subscribed to an additional 7,167,827 Redeemable Convertible Preference Shares of RM0.10 each in Lotus Advance Technologies Sdn Bhd at an issue price of RM1.00 per share – a total of RM7,168,827 cash. This will bring Proton Holdings Berhad shareholding in Lotus Advance Technologies Sdn Bhd to a total of 19,176,627 shares.

This is in response to a capital call by LAT to fund capital expenditure of Miyazu (Malaysia) Sdn Bhd, a tool and die company which is a 51% subsidiary of Lotus Advance Technologies Sdn Bhd. Incorporated in June 2003, Miyazu (Malaysia) Sdn Bhd offers services like the design of dies and jigs, maintenance services of dies, die manufacturing and engineering consultancy for automotive firms. It is a joint venture between Proton, Miyazu Seisakusho Co Ltd and Nissho Iwai Corp – the latter two being Japanese firms.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• volvolover (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 8:09 am

Proton's cash reserves from RM3 billion 3 years ago is now less than RM900 million. Looks like proton is going bankrupt if government is not bailing them out.

http://www.theedgedaily.com/cms/content.jsp?id=co…

• volvolover (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 8:12 am

http://www.hucknalltoday.co.uk/ViewArticle2.aspx?…

Accident in the UK involving a proton. Read the article and it says it's the first fatal accident we have here. Malaysia boleh!! The first death accident in this area is a proton!! It has many accidents before at this stretch, no deaths. First time death accident here is a proton!! Does this make Malaysia proud? You decide!!

• Hilmax (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 8:16 am

i don't think understand this. So plotong did not use E01 but instead buy more shares. Account already red. Then the talk with chery sure demise plotong burning ashes.

• volvolover (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 8:25 am

Do remember there is a small percentage of protons in Malaysia and also UK accident is top6 for the lowest accident rate in the world and then comes an accident and a proton is involved and resulted in death. Are you proud of proton?

• Paul Tan on Sep 02, 2006 at 8:46 am

I will not have my blog degraded into a battlefield where everyone takes shots at each other. Please focus on the issue. This blog post has nothing to do with accidents in the UK. When I decided to post about the UK's accident rates, then you can come with all your links.

• choonwae (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 9:20 am

VOLVOLOVER:

whats the difference between a VOLVO and a porcupine??

ONE has the PRICK on the OUTSIDE…

if u dont understand….maybe you should read MORE…it will help ur brain to grow..haha

please dude…however bad..proton is..its still our national car…

anyway…..u cant really compare proton with other european cars..bear in mind..proton has been in the market for 20 years…most european cars has been around more than 100 years (MERC)…so dont go compare apple with oranges…

with tat in mind…it is a definite that the car's safety feature is bad…the question is…are WE the drivers relying too much on safety features..where in fact we should be driving more defensively?maybe..that death could have avoided…IF the person was not driving drunk or fast?

quoted from YOUR news clip…

"A lot of cars have gone off into the fields at the side of the road at that bend. It's not a particularly bad bend, I just think people DON'T REDUCE THEIR SPEED enough. It's the first fatal accident we've had up there."

second quote…

"I think it is a bad bend and people can see that when they approach it, but they still go around it AT SOME SPEED. "

which means…

ppl who goes thru that bend usually speed..

and taking the fact these are teenagers…at 12.30am…

with no other road users..in sight….hmmm…well..we were all teenagers b4…dont tell me u NEVER SPEED b4…

please..dont put crapp like tis on this blog….paul is doin a good job ere…n with ppl like u..who has selective reading…SHOULD…jst keep ur tot to urself…

• rexis (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 5:26 pm

volvo, also remember that there is small percentage of volvo here, can you say volvo never involve in any fatal accident here? When you cut your hand, dont blame the knife.

Okay, enough of this off topic. Whyyyy? Why proton dont want E01? Did they tell any reason about why they dont want it? Naturally aspired also can make 200PS+… how about add turbo intercooler on it!?

• clutch_plate (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 7:21 pm

agree with choonwae..

and to volvolover…

if u like to comment our PROTON, please make it POSITIVE! U should know where u live now. No matter what, PROTON still our national company. Don't compare PROTON with a european company that have been existing around 90-100 yrs!

• malayman (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 10:21 pm

whoa…..touched no more proton bashing la…

good finally some hopefull minds that want to make things right instead of senselessly bashing…

• KingKong (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 11:39 pm

volvolover, are u on steroid?

• volvolover (Member) on Sep 03, 2006 at 12:24 am

kingkong, are u on steroid? Well, I am not.

• KingKong (Member) on Sep 03, 2006 at 6:22 am

i don't care!

• volvolover (Member) on Sep 03, 2006 at 6:43 am

Neither do I :-)

• nizam80 (Member) on Sep 03, 2006 at 8:55 am

If Proton is not using the Petronas E01 technology for larger displacements engines, then this could only mean two things. Either Proton are going to buy engines from other engine manufacturers, or develop their own!!! A 2.0 litre Campro with CPS perhaps!! Go for it Proton!!

• volvolover (Member) on Sep 03, 2006 at 9:42 pm

Proton is not moving with times. See toyota selling hybrid and honda too. 100% of the hybrid all sold out and still in waiting list. If I own proton, I would invest RM 1 billion on fuel efficient engine and hybrid car. Stop saga,wira and perdana sales, make a new sedan car platform with tougher steel for safety and leather interior. Because of expensive fuel price, I take advantage of this situation and sell in USA and Europe and make the brand known and I will stop selling proton cars in Malaysia and sell all the cars to Europe and USA(due to production capacity limit)as when they sell hybrid the demand will be in millions and proton factory will finish the capacity and make it well known overseas. Also buy more components which is cheaper and good quality from competetive vendors and not from friends and cronies. In that way, one year proton sales can reach 4 million cars worldwide including Malaysia. Make a sports car hybrid and biofuel. Sell cheap with the good specs. Cut profit margin, go for volume. Sell cheap but sell alot, you will make more money. In my studies in economics in my college days I got good marks. So I know what I am talking about.

• volvolover (Member) on Sep 03, 2006 at 9:48 pm

I wanted to buy a new satria neo and my friends looking for a new car as my junk satria is old and interior falling off. Price is not cheap compared to foreign cars due to tax on foreign cars. In that sense not cheap, interior is good(dash board) best if door handle and leather seat is good. Petrol cap is plastic? If you keep car long enough, petrol cap will fall off due to deteorioration by sun. What pisses me off the most is the campro engine. Imagine my old satria is faster. I tested 0-100 in 13 seconds 1.6 auto and neo is 0-100 in 13.7 seconds. Their measurement is lab test, mine is on the road which means lab test is maybe 11 seconds. And I got a big size friend in my car when I drove that. Mine is the original engine.How come older satria is faster than the newer ones? And it is high fuel consumption. I can afford the fuel, but how come modern cars, the fuel consumption still sucks. I am also dissapointed when Mahathir said proton will research hybrid but limited budget? I would spend hundred of millions on it and capitalise on the current high oil prices to boost sales worldwide on the hybrid cars.

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Sep 03, 2006 at 10:58 pm

volvolover, speed and performance isn't the thing that makes a new car better. As for the Neo, it is a far better car to drive than the old Satria.

Comela. stop complaining and let me demo the Neo for you…

• volvolover (Member) on Sep 03, 2006 at 11:20 pm

satriaguy: but let's face the fact, the pickup of the new neo isn't good. Don't talk about altering the engine to evo and big exhaust pipe as I hate altering. I love original stuff. Just tell me what's good about the car?

• volvolover (Member) on Sep 03, 2006 at 11:24 pm

The only part I love altering is interior, I wanna fix a leather seat, I wanna put koni shock absorber and eibach springs plus I am going to put high quality stabilsers bar and other quality stuff for stability. Wanna put some wood panelling. I was about to convince my dad to get a new one, I can beg him day and night and he will get one. But when I see the fuel consumption, I yell hey new technology use so much petrol? Yell in my heart, acceleration sucks. My friend also didn't want one after my review. I am a fan of satria cars. Everytime people show off to me , My satria can bungkus the saga and iswara on the road. But can the new neo if I get one?

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 04, 2006 at 12:39 am

All announcments are "more-or-less" good PR lip service!

• nizam80 (Member) on Sep 04, 2006 at 4:35 am

i don't get this… Lets say, the MOU with Mitsubishi Motors will end come this November…… Which means from that period onwards, Mitsubishi would not be involved in components supply and new models to Proton, right? So, what we only get from Mitsubishi is the rebadged 380 huh?? Thats it????

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 04, 2006 at 6:38 am

volvolover said, "Cut profit margin, go for volume. Sell cheap but sell alot, you will make more money. In my studies in economics in my college days I got good marks. So I know what I am talking about."

Yeah you are absolutely right from economic perspective – economy of scale! Good explanantion but there are some guy out there can't understand what you are talking about. And for sure, if P1 read this they will fully understand what you said but sadly they are unable and all the way failed misery to achieve economy of scale. That the reason they can't sell all models at lowest prices…….!

Take for example Satira Neo, P1 claimed it is new chasis and to achieve economy of scale they need to sell at least 500,000 unit to recoup the investment. However, their target sale is around 30,000 units only per year which means they need at least 17 year to achieve it. If Malaysian girl born in this year 2006, by the time she grow up as sweet 17, the "grand old lady" Satria Neo is still available with few facelift and of course sell it beyond 2020! This "projection" is realistic from "Protonomic" perspective as there are many models already set precedent and still available until today (i.e. more than 10 years).

What kind of biz model adopted by P1 in conducting biz activity? "Tau bikin kereta tapi tak tau bikin bis"!

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Sep 04, 2006 at 8:03 pm

all the announcements worst than shopping cpmplex authorities ask you to move your car from illegal parking space.

1. Proton is not doing business they just getting money from the rakyat(no need to really do it proper, force people to buy). 22 years without any SUV/trucks…never consider people in swak and sabah.sure they love the trucks/4wd.if Proton really a "national car" then swakian/sabahan also Msian what?

2. Why we cant compare Proton with other car make around the world? while the G always comparing our fuel price as the cheapest in the region (except Brunei)…and also Proton price is one of the expensice for global market…USD15K for 1.6 family sedan locally assemble,local brand,local parts,local labour…but why we cant compare Proton with other makes..this comparison also want to protect ka?

PROTON IS A CURSED FOR MALAYSIAN.

• intermilan (Member) on Sep 04, 2006 at 8:13 pm

yo volvolover,

enuff la…

no need to tell everybody your-dream-car-specifications etc.

stick to the topic.

i dont fancy potong, but cukup la ..

• Whopper (Member) on Sep 04, 2006 at 10:39 pm

I am perplexed about the so called MOU between Proton and Petronas supposedly about using the E01-based technology. I mean why does it take so long to decide ? If I'm not mistaken Petronas came out with the E01 back in 2000. Does it take almost 6 years to decide ? What had Proton and Petronas been discussing about ?

• szw (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 4:06 am

anyone seen a tvr wif EO-1 engine ?

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 8:26 pm

very irratating la this tiger head emblems…kitten playing act like tiger

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 06, 2006 at 7:31 am

What tiger head emblems? – no lah, tiger paper only! Easily get burn in open market.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Sep 10, 2006 at 5:49 am

in all countries ppl support their natianal cars…no matter how bad it is..even wen Rover went bust a while ago..everybody was sad in the UK.it was an image of UK car industry..yess thy wer losing money for some time..but ppl didnt care…here…thr r alot more pathetic ppl…bashing this n that..incredibly childish..instead of suporting our own proton…most of u guys all cursing this n that…believe me..this ONLY hapens here n no where else…n reading some of the coments above…everyting seems to be bcos of proton..its ur failure to find a proper reason bt the 'bcos of proton' reason is the easiest to claim…seriously pathetic…im not a msian myself..although ive been here for 17yrs..n i do suport thm with heart n soul…thy r having a rough time bcos of bad managment previously …does that mean thy r the cause of all tings?Ford r losing money like no tmr for the past yr , GM lost $2.2billion i tink it was last yr…do u hear american ppl bashing thm….??i had enough of this..i always like to have discussion weneva a proton topic comes out here…bcos we all get involved with it emotionally wen writing..bcos its part of us..but thn thr r few immature ppl who take the long road n press the "screw proton" button….its getting rediculous already…