Daihatsu Terios Wins 4X4 Of The Year 2007 Award

terios_award.jpg

UPDATE: Perodua has announced that a new Kembara will be launched in mid-2008. It is expected that the new Perodua Kembara replacement will be based on the Daihatsu Bego/Toyota Rush. Click here for more details.

The Daihatsu Terios, also known as the Daihatsu Be-Go in other markets has won the title of Compact/Affordable Category Winner of 4X4 Magazine’s 4X4 Of The Year 2007 Award, beating rivals like the Fiat Sedici 4X4, the Fiat Panda 4X4 and bigger, more expensive all-wheel drive models like the Volkswagen Golf 4Motion.

4X4 Magazine said the Daihatsu Terios was the only one whose character stood out compared to it’s competitors, invoking the image of a cross-country adventure.

Our locally manufactured Perodua Kembara is actually based on the previous model Daihatsu Terios. If we are lucky enough, and this is actually very likely – we might get a badge-engineered version of this new Terios here as a Kembara Replacement Model. A good pointer to Perodua’s model update trends is the upcoming Kancil/Kelisa replacement, which have been sighted to be facelifted Daihatsu Miras.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• armandd (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 12:27 pm

if this becomes the new kembara, with the right price n specs, it will become another best selling model from perodua.

• aksMs (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 2:46 pm

As long as Perodua fix the choppy ride they had in the Kembara, or I will never get a ride again in any Kembara at all. Never in my whole life I got air-sick or sea-sick (motion sickness), but I got one when I took a ride in my friend's Kembara some times ago.

• acbc (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 5:44 pm

Hhmm… mini RAV?

• karheng (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 5:49 pm

Has the same cues to the myvi, except that it's got a sportier body. Definitely on the cards to sell well around the region of 50-60k maybe?

• e-nabilll (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 6:55 pm

aksms said

'as long as thy fix the choppy ride'…..

only that? in the kembara thy need to fix 90% of the car…ride,handling,space,steering,power and on and on…

frankly its a horrible car to drive…bounces n wallows like no tmr…the word jelly comes to mind…anyway this new one is having alot of good reviews in europe…wil see how the local markets version wil turn out to be…p2 wil change bumper design n minor things n say "our local engineers spend 24mnths 'redesigning' the car for the msian market'! jus like the myvi!

• rexis (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 7:07 pm

No spec details? Or should i google it?

• datto (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 7:40 pm

our present kembara is still on sale on the JDM market as the Terios Kid….so u think perodua will bring in the new terious aka be-go in JDM as a new kembara?

• malayman (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 10:35 pm

yey another rebadge for our national car…so proud…..

haiz…

• Monchichi (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 10:57 pm

Cheer! Be-go…..

• KingKong (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 11:21 pm

cute and more steady than old ugly bitch kembara

• aksMs (Member) on Sep 03, 2006 at 12:13 am

e-nabill – yep, you are got that right. They should have fix almost everything. But, you can see that, I don't really care about Kembara. Not my kind of car anyway. Whatever….

• Jeffrey1977 (Member) on Sep 03, 2006 at 2:00 am

Yup, I think this definately would sell.

• Jeffrey1977 (Member) on Sep 03, 2006 at 2:01 am

Haiya, Proton where is your SUV??????

• oranglulu (Member) on Sep 03, 2006 at 2:30 am

look a lot like proton savvy,grew up!

• sarawakguy (Member) on Sep 03, 2006 at 3:56 am

undoubtly a little bumpy & uncomfortable as for the Kembara..Wonder if the Be-Go also "shared" these "unagreeable" qualities….An addition (to)…everything is "shaky" most of the time in Sarawak here though…..

Wonder how much will the Be-Go cost when it comes…I wonder what will likely be the "extraordinary" name would be…How does K-2 sounds?

• raybrig85 (Member) on Sep 03, 2006 at 4:04 am

looks fresh…and compromise character…

• waja2000 (Member) on Sep 03, 2006 at 7:53 am

It use 1500cc DVVT engine, that engine will be use in Myvi 1500cc also, but went the car out form Perodua for local market, Spec & Accessories will be down graded (hope not happend), Estimated Price around RM6X,000

• sarawakguy (Member) on Sep 03, 2006 at 6:21 pm

for some,RM6K++ for an AWD is not a bad buy oooo…for that price, u bet one can see a lot of them running around on Sarawak roads…Smaller than Toyotas,Mitsus,Isuzus…Yes…Cheaper? YYYESSS!!! Thats why I think it will sell well here…

• jzkzlz (Member) on Sep 03, 2006 at 10:09 pm

To get the "Be-Go" here…maybe we all have to "Be-Wait"…..for how many years???

• punchmenot (Member) on Sep 04, 2006 at 8:11 am

Be-go is a good car and new design n technologies.not worth to compare Kembara which was launched during my secondary school.however this car `s real rival with about same cost is new Suzuki SX4.cool…

• pablopabla (Member) on Sep 04, 2006 at 5:41 pm

As a rebadge, it is definitely better than the Korean / Chinese rebadges. I hope P2 will bring it in.

• ckengyo (Member) on Sep 04, 2006 at 7:54 pm

please dont asking 2 much from n off road car. is not a mpv. is a car capable 2 off road. know what u r buying b4 complaint. an a word 2 p2. please only change the badge. dont touch the other part of the car design. lift the original exerior & interior look alone.

• intermilan (Member) on Sep 04, 2006 at 11:05 pm

ckengyo,

Atleast, 99.9% of the time, it will be used on the paved road.

therefore, not accurate categorising it as an off-road vehicle.

it look like an off-road vehicle, got 4×4 features but hardly, if not never being use as one.

therefore, it should be designed to work/feel like an on-road vehicle. at least could provide stable and firm ride.

• Whopper (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 12:40 am

This model already being sold in Singapore. You any of you read the Torque car magazine, they've reviewed the Terios. One of the negatives of the Terios is the high revving engine and fuel consumption.

Personally a an offroad vehicle should be powered by a turbo diesel engine and not petrol one.

• szw (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 4:12 am

new kembara , hahaha !

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Sep 08, 2006 at 7:12 pm

I'm begging Perodua to rebadge this car as their Kembara replacement model…please oh pleeease…

• totonz on Sep 02, 2010 at 6:16 am

i dont need it.bad shock…