Malaysia to get locally assembled S-class next year

sclasstitle.jpg

DaimlerChrysler Malaysia Sdn Bhd (DCM) will start selling CKD versions of the Mercedes Benz S-class luxury sedan beginning February 2007. So far it’s assembly plant in Pekan, Pahang has already produced 25 units of the CKD Mercedes Benz S-class, and once 100 units are ready, sales will begin. At a rate of 25 units a month, the 100 units will be ready in time for the proposed February 2007 launch and sales.

DCM’s Pekan plant is a joint venture with local conglomerate DRB-HICOM and currently assembles CKD packs of the Mercedes Benz E-class as well as the Mercedes Benz C-class. The plant also assembles Mercedes and Mitsubishi Fuso commercial vehicles. It’s total production capacity is 5,000 units annually, and production is currently at the 3,000 unit level. DCM plans to assemble 300-500 Mercedes Benz S-class CKD packs annually, and will be the only plant in Asia to assemble the S-class.

The baseline Mercedes Benz S350L S currently costs RM939,888 in CBU form. Two other models, the CBU S350 SE and the CBU S350SEL cost RM978,888 and RM1,048,888 respectively. CKD assembly should allow the car to be priced cheaper in Malaysia, though it remains unknown at this time if much of the savings will be passed on to the customer.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• asimo (Member) on Sep 08, 2006 at 10:38 am

i'm the first one…

welcome to malaysia s-class!!!!!

• drifting4eva (Member) on Sep 08, 2006 at 10:52 am

bleh, another overpriced and overrated car which ordinary people cannot afford. if i had RM1million to burn, i would buy a bunch of silvias and skyliners and mod them for drifting :P

• clutch_plate (Member) on Sep 08, 2006 at 4:23 pm

hmmm…. eventhough it will assembled in Malaysia, i'm sure that the price will not have a big different anymore. heh! pity Malaysian…

• drM (Member) on Sep 08, 2006 at 4:36 pm

come on guys..cheer up a bit! dont just sit and gramble-gramble there and there. of course the price is too much, but what can u expect from Mercedes?

But, I am totally agree with the first three, at 1 million pricetag, its way too much. I might be getting myself a sportscar, a wife, and a bungalow at that 1million. cheerrs!

• Jeffrey1977 (Member) on Sep 08, 2006 at 5:07 pm

Wife?????? I think not.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Sep 08, 2006 at 6:30 pm

wife costs more than that! we r not really grambling abt the price..bt in a biz sence..how many of those u relastically expect to sell in order to make a difference in ur balance sheet?? dats y cars in 'our price range'interest us much more than those out of this world cars …cars that we have a potential to buy..not cars jus to buy the posters! i always thought ppl who buy cars like that have no soul n passion for driving..considering 99.99% of thm wil be driven around rather than drive around…kinda pathetic if u ask me…

• pirate (Member) on Sep 08, 2006 at 6:36 pm

Pricey or not…

Good luck to the first 100buyers of born-in-Pekan W221 S-Class!

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Sep 08, 2006 at 6:54 pm

This car is aimed at Sarawakian timber tycoons. There's bound to be quite a number of them in Miri soon, I suppose…

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Sep 08, 2006 at 6:58 pm

Actually, you DON'T have to be ridiculously rich to drive car. All you need to do is work as a driver for a wealthy timber tycoon, a Datuk Seri, Nenek Seri, or a Tan Sri or whatever… :D

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Sep 08, 2006 at 6:59 pm

***Typo*** That should be "drive this car"…not "drive car"… :P

• indothai (Member) on Sep 08, 2006 at 7:12 pm

The only thing good about this is that it is providing jobs domestically.

Prices will be cheaper, but not significant enough.

Buyers should head on to US Benz website to see the price difference… It'll make your heart skip a beat.

• Fairman (Member) on Sep 08, 2006 at 7:26 pm

drifting4eva said,

September 8, 2006 @ 2:52 am

bleh, another overpriced and overrated car which ordinary people cannot afford. if i had RM1million to burn, i would buy a bunch of silvias and skyliners and mod them for drifting

Agreed with you, my dear, Subaru WRX sti or Evo not bad as well…

Benz S-class…still very far from me….

• alexbaby88 (Member) on Sep 08, 2006 at 7:34 pm

whats the difference between RM950k and RM750k in terms of your purchasing decision for a new S? No diff for most pple.

• redragon (Member) on Sep 08, 2006 at 7:46 pm

If assuming I have that kind of money and if my taste allows me to buy the S -class, I'd rather buy a CBU one with full options.

drM, are you talking abt Malaysia where for RM1M, you can get a car, wife and bungalow ?

• skywalker (Member) on Sep 08, 2006 at 10:58 pm

What is a car?; An expensive steel box, fitted with 4 tyres, and a nut behind the steering wheel. – But for a million RM, it is way too much to be recognised.

• cbljkkj (Member) on Sep 09, 2006 at 1:29 am

Honestly speaking, Rm1 million for an S Class is way too much. Although it does have some state of the art systems such as vacuum doors and infrared night vision it is too ridiculous. The price tag is in supercar territory.Even 1 million for a ferrari is expensive. The F430 is sold at 117,000 pounds. That only equates up to Rm819,000

• mits27 (Member) on Sep 09, 2006 at 7:13 am

US doesn't have S350, but it has S500 and S600. S500 priced at USD 85k, and S600 priced at USD 140K, so for S350 already costed RM 1 million, it is way too much. If US has S350, I think only cost USD 70k = RM 270k.

The G is the one who gain more profit on these type of cars :(

• mits27 (Member) on Sep 09, 2006 at 7:15 am

In US, S500 priced at USD 85k, which is RM 330K, this S350 already cost

RM 1 million, it is way too much. The Gomen is the one who gain the most on this type of cars.

• fookeatmin1989 (Member) on Sep 09, 2006 at 8:00 am

take RM1 million to buy a Condominium at KL is better than buying this overpriced Mercedez……….ripped by the goverment…sigh

• V8 (Member) on Sep 09, 2006 at 8:50 am

fookeatmin1989 said,

September 9, 2006 @ 12:00 am

take RM1 million to buy a Condominium at KL is better than buying this overpriced Mercedez……….ripped by the goverment…sigh

DUILO!

• topgunthang (Member) on Sep 09, 2006 at 10:21 pm

well….maybe some people have to many condominiums and mansions. they need a moving condominium. enter the s class. would like to feel how it feels to sit and drive one though.

• Kaboda (Member) on Sep 12, 2006 at 1:27 am

Guys got to remember an S class owner is not going to be a drifter, and neither is a drift car owner going to own a merc. Anyhow if I was going to get a S class and pay that much to start off with why bother getting one produced here. All the chances of having a roof leak or all the great malaysian quality attributes.

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Sep 13, 2006 at 10:33 pm

MALAYSIA BOLEH!

• mitlanevo (Member) on Sep 14, 2006 at 5:38 am

S350L or CLS350????

• mitlanevo (Member) on Sep 14, 2006 at 5:43 am

but i prefer CLS, sleeker…..

• ezal7065 (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 8:46 am

In Brunei is priced at B$202,450, that’s about RM465,500. and In Malaysia RM978,888 is tooooooo overpriced… Better build a House out of that money… than wasting your money on just a thing for awhile… that’s not forever.

• Kiyoshi Manabe on Apr 08, 2009 at 10:37 am

I wants to drive such an expensive Mercedes such as S-Class some day, although it is situated against the booming eco-oriented style.

Of course,such large Mercedes cars are very expensive all over the world including Japan,my home country. Once I wanted to get a small-medium Mercedes product such as a C350 sedan(W204), sharing the same engine as the S-Class S350, but Japanese Importer of Mercedes-Benz never intend to sell such ideal model(to my opinion)! Thus I traded my ageing Mercedes 260E whose millage about 140000km for a Lexus IS350, the small/medium sized luxury sedan made by Toyota, equipped with 3500cc/318ps engine(far more powerful than that of Mercedes 3500cc engine,used for from C350 to S350L models!).

Certainly, my Lexus(so-called Japanese Mercedes alternative) is very silky-smooth as well as powerful like a bomb, it lacks absolute charisma and prestige found in Mercedes-Benz models. So I am longing for getting a new Mercedes-Benz product with capacity of 3500cc and up.

By the way, whether locally-assembled one or CBU one, the price for new Mercedes-Benz S350 is just crippling! I am surprised at the buying power of Malaysian people! It's the boon of economical development of the country, I admire that.

• Kiyoshi Manabe on Apr 10, 2009 at 7:59 am

PS

correction of error in the sentence above:I wants to drive such an expensive Mercedes…..I want to drive…..

It is on the first line of my sentence.