2007 Nissan Qashqai unveiled with photos

This is Nissan’s ultimate answer for the C-segment; something practical, with a well-appointed interior, nothing too big, not too intimidating, makes you feel secure, presents a confident image. The dynamic styling of a sports car combined with the rugged strength of an SUV in a compact, fuel efficient package. Nissan went to the drawing board, pulling in the efforts of Nissan Design Europe in London and Nissan Technical Centre Europe based in Cranfield. The result is the 2007 Nissan Qashqai, to be built in Nissan’s factory in Sunderland, England. This is also Nissan’s first major project to be led by Nissan’s European operations.

The 2007 Nissan Qashqai sits between the C-segment hatchbacks and SUVs in term of size, with a wheelbase of 2,630mm. It’s 1,610mm tall, 1,780mm wide and 4,310mm long – which is about 100mm longer than a typical hatchback but 150mm shorter than a typical SUV. Imagine the 2nd generation Toyota RAV4 before it grew larger with the 3rd generation.

4 engine options are available for the 2007 Nissan Qashqai – a 1.6 litre 115PS petrol unit with 160Nm of torque and a 2.0 litre 140PS petrol unit with 200Nm of torque. The remaining 2 are turbodiesels, a 1.5 litre with 106PS and 240Nm of torque and a more powerful 2.0 litre turbodiesel with 150PS and 320Nm of torque. Different gearbox options are available depending in gearbox choice – but generally there are 4 different choices – a 5-speed manual, a 6-speed manual, a 6-speed automatic and Nissan’s X-Tronic CVT transmission.

The 2007 Nissan Qashqai will be on sale from February 2007 onwards and Nissan targets sales of 100,000 units a year across Europe. The Japan premiere will be in mid-2007 where it will be known as the Nissan Dualis.

All photos in this post have an enlarged version which can be viewed by simplly clicking on the image.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• blerkz (Member) on Sep 11, 2006 at 11:24 am

1st Yahoo!!!

Btw the car looks nice from the back and side. But kinda weird from the front.

Interior looks good.

Overall 8/10

• aksMs (Member) on Sep 11, 2006 at 11:42 am

Hmmm….not bad….I love the center console of the dashboard…It looks 'clean'. But they should've done better with the tacho and speed meter. How about give 'em some light?

• cnc (Member) on Sep 11, 2006 at 12:03 pm

it looks really "tough" and comfortable to sit in.

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Sep 11, 2006 at 1:44 pm

Aft of the B-pillar is clearly an X3(complete with the Hoffmeister kink). Dash is like a cross between a Mazda 6 and a Suzuki Grand Vitara's.

Basically the design is a mish-mash of many other cars that come before it and lacks direction as far as Nissan is concerned, no matter how attractive it looks. I wonder if Renault has a strong influence on the design?

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Sep 11, 2006 at 1:53 pm

Is it just me or are there strong hints of Porsche Cayenne?

• mits27 (Member) on Sep 11, 2006 at 2:45 pm

sweet, nice car…it could be the direct competition to toyota RAV4 and Honda CRV or even new mitsubishi outlander , better dump that old malaysia x-Trail, and bring in this hot baby…

BTW, this car is little but underpower since nissan not always design the lightweight car like toyota or honda.

• nmh (Member) on Sep 11, 2006 at 2:53 pm

front design kinda wierd…but anythin else is terrific

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 11, 2006 at 4:24 pm

Look more "feminine" but attractive design.

• Wai (Member) on Sep 11, 2006 at 5:05 pm

great styling, but with a kinda lousy name dont u guys think?

• narrowband (Member) on Sep 11, 2006 at 5:32 pm

Aw this is beautiful. Simply great. Its got that "Murano-C-pillar" i like! (CRV-Stream's C-pillar is so off, okay…)

The name sounds abit funny but heck, it'll be sold under a different name in Japan. Dualis. Erm, at least better la.Qashqai sounded like some China name, but doesnt mean anythign.

• kitman (Member) on Sep 11, 2006 at 5:42 pm

will we see this? the way tcm is going – will we ever see a new model? perhaps the x-trail will soldier for another 5yrs …….

anyway – the car looks good but i think if tcm ever bring this in they need a better name and it will probably slot in below the x-trail (it has 1.6-2.0 litres whereas x-trail, cr-v. rav4 2.0 and above). i liked the air vent and overall clean dash design, rear and side looked sweet and muscular but the front looked a tad cheap and like a truck. nice one nissan … just remember to bring it in to malaysia at sentra price.

• mits27 (Member) on Sep 11, 2006 at 5:44 pm

Actally the rear light reminds me of IS250, IS350.

• AMG (Member) on Sep 11, 2006 at 5:45 pm

Replacement of the x trail?

• ilmondo (Member) on Sep 11, 2006 at 7:08 pm

nice.. wonder how much will it priced.

kitman said,

September 11, 2006 @ 9:42 am

will we see this? the way tcm is going – will we ever see a new model? perhaps the x-trail will soldier for another 5yrs …….

kinda agree with kitman as we can c, the cefiro we hav ere is juz minor facelift while some other markets hav already got teana as replacement.

r we goin 2 hav tida latio ere too?? how bout nissan sylphy? a saloon sized between sentra and cefiro. cheers

• waimak (Member) on Sep 11, 2006 at 7:29 pm

Nissan once again gives a fresher look/ design to its model, and I like it.

• redragon (Member) on Sep 11, 2006 at 8:19 pm

how do you pronounce it ? looks more Korean than European. stole the bonnet of the cayenne turbo.

• redragon (Member) on Sep 11, 2006 at 8:21 pm

Looks more Korean than European. Stolen the bonnet of a Cayenne Turbo. How do you pronounce the name anyway?

• Coogee (Member) on Sep 11, 2006 at 8:24 pm

Wow! Fantastic effort from Nissan.. I like it.. I want it.. A replacement for the ageing x-trail? Lets hope so. If this is ever launched in Bolehland, sure will give the other SUVs especially CRV a run for their money. Drool….

• SoMeOnE (Member) on Sep 11, 2006 at 9:19 pm

well what ever gem nissan produces ….as long as tan chong function the way tehy are..we will never get to experience this models here…maybe a year b4 the end of its lifecycle tan chong will dramtically bring it in wit is funky bodoy kits and keep wit forever…well they have been usin nissan's win in the jgtc races and stuff to charge us dear malaysians for some carbonfibre bits on to cover up their old models..i cant believe people still fall for it..think about it?..they push the cost to u on the bits for buying ther OLD model..basicaly ur paying for the prep up!….its just sad….i wonder what excuse will they use if nissan stops winnin ….it be interstin ….btw this model is nice but i kinda sense the nissan we know these days realy only bothers about the western markets…their business deciosions and product lineup seems to be tailored for them….i mean i know those are big markets but at least the other jap makes (even a small brand like mitsouka which uses nissan platform if im not mistaken) makes thier presence in this part of the world..hell malaysia is the biggest marekt in south east asia!..i cant believe people here still buy outdated nissan models when nissan themselves cant be bothered!

• SoMeOnE (Member) on Sep 11, 2006 at 9:21 pm

correct me if im wrong but the back reminds me of the new santa fe!>?…jap copying koreans?

• e-nabilll (Member) on Sep 11, 2006 at 9:23 pm

the rear looks like the latest hundai tuscon , n for the first time…the air cond vents look like the satria neo! bt overall very nice and luvly..atleast its not so big…n i hope thy change the name…wat is qashqai la?! so mouthful!

• pirate (Member) on Sep 11, 2006 at 9:24 pm

Tucson + new SantaFe + old SLK's bonnet = Qashqai

Looks a lot better than the X-Trail though…

X-Trail replacement perhaps?

• Illuminate (Member) on Sep 11, 2006 at 9:33 pm

The front… It hints of a VW Golf.. Least what I think so.. Looks good to me =)

• retrofuturism (Member) on Sep 11, 2006 at 10:20 pm

nissan qashqai concept car (geneva motor show 2004) is a good looking car with various unique design elements, the sad thing is the qashqai production version only carried over a little bit design cues from the concept car qashqai…nevertheless, it is another decent SUV from nissan…thanks to murano

• mystvearn (Member) on Sep 11, 2006 at 10:20 pm

If you put the merc next to it, it looks like its copying it…

• Siva (Member) on Sep 11, 2006 at 10:32 pm

Nissan QashQai, I guess we can call this one Nissan QQ?

• DtG (Member) on Sep 11, 2006 at 11:08 pm

many of you think this is an SUV and think that it might be the replacement for the X-Trail… unfortunately, this car isn't really an SUV. it is a family car designed to look like an SUV. in the UK, they classify this car under the same class as the Ford Focus. it looks very much like an SUV indeed and I would have thought so too if i didn't read about it in parkers.co.uk. anw, nice car!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 12, 2006 at 12:15 am

Wai said, "great styling, but with a kinda lousy name dont u guys think?"

Siva said, "Nissan QashQai, I guess we can call this one Nissan QQ?"

——————

Luckily is not "Soh Hai" …….. Also in the opinion to has better name! "No marketing and commercial value"! Just my opinion.

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Sep 12, 2006 at 1:13 am

Too bad for the malaysian, we only can see but cannot touch. Thank you very much for the NAP… Most of us will live with all craps from local car manufacturers or dealers unless the automotive market is open.. like the new Nissan suv above , "Quashai" …

• retrofuturism (Member) on Sep 12, 2006 at 1:25 am

oh yes..it is a crossover and it has lower ground clearance. however, the lower body of the car is "darken" by those plastic molded parts so the car looks taller like a SUV, it is just an illusion created by nissan designers…hehehe

• sarawakguy (Member) on Sep 12, 2006 at 1:46 am

a working guy like me can only dreamed of driving one of these…….But I bet if this one comes,you can be sure there wil be a lot of them running around in Sarawak…

• Whopper (Member) on Sep 12, 2006 at 1:47 am

Hmmm….exterior wise the 'I don't how to pronounce the name' looks like the Hyundai Tucson and the interior dashboard looks like the Renault Modus.

• cosmohybrid (Member) on Sep 12, 2006 at 2:09 am

this is one sexy suv… though the fronts could look better though… loves the overall interior, reminds me of those design by pininfarina…

• szw (Member) on Sep 12, 2006 at 4:51 am

european design rox !

but da wheels looks kindda skinny, hehe !

• mitlanevo (Member) on Sep 12, 2006 at 5:26 am

The interior is NICE!!!! But somehow, I still prefer the Nissan Murano and Naza/Kia Sorento.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Sep 12, 2006 at 5:30 am

Why can't Nissan produce a bigger and more luxury SUV like the Lexus LX470 or Volvo XC90?

• topgunthang (Member) on Sep 12, 2006 at 6:44 am

nice market placement. it fits right below that of the xtrail. affordable awds. might consider it if fuel consumption is up to scratch. cars with sunroof and moonroofs just make my day.

• drebar (Member) on Sep 12, 2006 at 6:54 am

10000x better than the 2007 Honda CR-V. Enough said.

• drebar (Member) on Sep 12, 2006 at 6:57 am

mitlanevo, have you seen the Nissan Murano? that's a big and luxurius SUV.

• renyeo (Member) on Sep 13, 2006 at 3:05 am

The face reminds me of Carlos' :)

• acbc (Member) on Sep 13, 2006 at 3:37 am

The name sounds like a rebadge Chinese brand… perhaps the Japanese are looking elsewhere for fresh designs?

• raybrig85 (Member) on Sep 13, 2006 at 3:47 am

dis looks better..nice dsg…btw…still prefer my murano…but dis one still better than crv and rav4…

• Coogee (Member) on Sep 13, 2006 at 10:22 am

Yup.. This Nissan will beat the new CRV and RAV4 pants down.

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Sep 13, 2006 at 10:22 pm

The front end looks very Korean to me…heheh…well…Nissan is hoping for the Qashqai to be their new cash-cow…and it looks like a serious contender against the likes of Rav4, Tucson, Sportage et al… :)

• sarawakguy (Member) on Sep 14, 2006 at 4:38 am

I was just wondering…does ANYBODY in PROTON or PERODUA read ANY of these…? Isn't this something to ponder about..?

• sarawakguy (Member) on Sep 14, 2006 at 4:46 am

Helloo..PROTON,ANYBODY there? Or does anybody in Proton read ANY of these? Something 2 ponder about,don't u ppl think? At least I DO feel that way….

• Zaki Hussin (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 12:46 pm

Japanese,European-they know to how to make 'we' happy.Local 'player' pls stop dreaming and at least get something nearer to this. Nice Interior & Exterior. Mini Murano-I would say.

• topgunthang (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 10:47 pm

'local players' dream on and fold up faster. and let us actually have the choice to get this at the appropriate price.

i like that name….Cash Cow. holy cow thats a nice name.

that side shot of the interior seats makes the rear seats look claustrophobic. luckily got the moon roof to liberate some space at least illusionarily.

• sarawakguy (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 10:57 pm

if PROTON can come out with something near to this one,it will be a good omen for PROTON…I'm actually getting bored to see PROTON's "bread & butter" model;the SAGA (Aeroback) being cosmetically reintroduced over and over again for the past twenty years…Same goes for the WIRA and ISWARA…Step on it..!!!

• charles27 (Member) on Sep 30, 2007 at 5:31 pm

haiya.. just back from youtube seeing this qashqai…
    MSN review said that this qash-qai 1.5 turbodiesel can do 50mpg.
    impressively cheap and save petrol.. ops diesel i mean.

US version nissan rogue have the very similar body. just that its getting 2.5l engine.

haiya… malaysia market need more turbodiesel laaa… high torque and hp as well. With that power.. it wont pickup slow laaa.

• ront (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 9:00 pm

really nice drive, i’d say……nice interior but the rear passenger leg room is really horrible….

• Kit (Member) on Jan 21, 2008 at 5:15 pm

well… for me everything is fine especially it’s safety…
    It was awards as top safety suv in euroncap…(better than crv and rav4)

• Kit (Member) on Jan 21, 2008 at 7:29 pm

well… for me everything is fine especially it’s safety…
    It was awards as top safety suv in euroncap…(better than crv and rav4)
    if i’m the one to own a suv i think this will be the one…

• prometheus (Member) on Apr 06, 2008 at 11:20 pm

Oh OH OH… i’ve been waiting for the quashai to come to Malaysia.. When is it coming.. want to book one for my wife…

Time for me to sell my Putra.. any takers? Stock 2000 manual putra in Immaculate condition.. Asking a high price of 35,000

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 15, 2008 at 5:11 pm

great looking car