Hyundai Arnejs Concept at Paris 2006

arnejs_paris.jpg

Hyundai will be showing it’s Hyundai Arnejs Concept at the Paris Motor Show end of this month. The Hyundai Arnejs, pronounced Ar-nez, will give us a preview on how Hyundai’s new European C-segment contender will look like when it is launched in Summer 2007 for the UK market.

The Hyundai Arnejs Concept is designed at Hyundai’s European Research and Design centre in Rüsselsheim, Germany and takes certain design cues from it’s previous concept car, the Hyundai Genus Concept. The production version will likely share similiar parts or even the whole platform with the recently announced Kia cee’d, which will also make it’s debut at the 2006 Paris Motor Show.

More photos after the jump.

arnejs_2.jpg

arnejs_3.jpg

arnejs_4.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• armandd (Member) on Sep 15, 2006 at 2:05 pm

that's a hot looking car… not like a hyundai at all..

• Francis KethoN (Member) on Sep 15, 2006 at 2:14 pm

Huh….?

Yaris's brother ah???? or Legacy's brother?

• whodz (Member) on Sep 15, 2006 at 4:21 pm

better than kia cee'd. What about the performance or technology?

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Sep 15, 2006 at 4:47 pm

Hyundai stylish has BIG improvement! Good job!

Siapa sokong?

Saya sokong!

• Dogster (Member) on Sep 15, 2006 at 5:02 pm

Wahhhhhhh nearly give me heart attack. REALLY GOOD LE.! LOVE THE RIMSSSS especially.! HOW MUCH HOW MUCH!!!! , oh concept car… -.-

• aksMs (Member) on Sep 15, 2006 at 5:20 pm

Wallauwehhhh!!! Hyundai are totally on full charge for their European market. This is a good looking Hyundai. Frankly I wouldn't mind being seen in this car. It is damn nice for me. I just hope the power terrain will be as good as it looks. But too bad, since it is targeted for European C-segment, we won't get to see this handsome Hyundai on this part of the world…I think.

• w_lighter (Member) on Sep 15, 2006 at 5:32 pm

The car itself look nice and muscular but the rim is a big NO NO… too bling2 for my taste. Crome rims are so yesterday… hahaha

• raybrig85 (Member) on Sep 15, 2006 at 6:28 pm

fuuyyyooo…nice but still note look like audi…d front grille

• geminas (Member) on Sep 15, 2006 at 7:00 pm

more photos?nice car :D

• sarawakguy (Member) on Sep 15, 2006 at 7:27 pm

Inokom have any thoughts of making CKDs of this babe locally?I hope they do..If they did…A HIT !!!

• Fox (Member) on Sep 15, 2006 at 7:57 pm

Huh… have to register under a new name…. Can't retrive my last pw registered… anyway… Im waiting for a new design from Proton's new models.

Lookin at this design…nt bad for a C Segment car. Overall design (in other website)…it looks like the smaller version of Lotus APX.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Sep 15, 2006 at 8:39 pm

ya cant believe its a hyundai…for the first time..not much copy n paste job…very nice..rims r aweful though…any idea on the engine used?

• motberg (Member) on Sep 15, 2006 at 9:40 pm

is that a Hyundai?! my, they've improved by light years in the styling dept. their cars used to have… fuugly styling. now, they look like something I want to be seen in, that is, if I can afford it lah! good effort by Hyundai. can see they are maturing as a car manufacturer recently.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Sep 15, 2006 at 10:01 pm

Comes at no surprised. Hyundai/Kia always have good design concepts. They started the HCD line of concept cars nearly 10 years ago.

But then again, its still a show car. Can probably forget about the rims (prob cost $30K per set), and with more acceptable ride height. Its a C segment car, so it will probably end up looking like the Citra or a Citra replacement if NAZA ever gets thier hands on the CKD versions.

Funny thing is, the build quality of Hyundai is almost as good as Japanese, and reliability trumps the japanese. But odd thing is, M'sia perception of Korean cars still remain "cheap and badly built". What a bunch of cars they are missing. What a weird bunch we are. I have heard people diss Hyundai and in favour of a Chevy Optra. Both are Korean (the Chevy is Daewoo), with Hyundai even eaking out on quality. Probably people didn;t know that, thinking the Optra is a "Continental car".

Go and have a seat in the Hyundai Sonata/NF (better yet, go for a drive). You'd see what I mean. $ for $ it will give if not surpass a Camry and Accord a run for the $. Take the Hyundai badge off and you'd probably never have guessed.

• asimo (Member) on Sep 15, 2006 at 10:34 pm

the front lamp looks like myvi lamp….

• engtaokia (Member) on Sep 15, 2006 at 10:39 pm

nice car :D

when our protong can design a concept car like this? our force-to-beloved proton oledi 20yrs++ stil came out design like ultraman taro (sawi)

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Sep 15, 2006 at 11:00 pm

lets imagine we put Proton logo into this car. i m sure people will praise the design and wanted this car to be made in malaysia. if sawi put a BMW logo also it is still the worst looking car on our road!!

• zarieq (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 12:21 am

looks like toyota caldina gt but more on the softer lines

• blerkz (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 2:48 am

Go and have a seat in the Hyundai Sonata/NF (better yet, go for a drive). You’d see what I mean. $ for $ it will give if not surpass a Camry and Accord a run for the $. Take the Hyundai badge off and you’d probably never have guessed.

Sonata/NF can't even beat a Mazda 6 what more the Honda Accord 2006.

That sonata just copy and paste. In terms of performance, there is nothing special to talk about. And I believe it is overpriced because it is a CBU unit here.

This Hyundai design is very futuristic, whether it comes into production or not, we need to wait and see. Personally it looks like a Lexus to me from the front.

Overall 8/10 in terms of design and brand power.

• little_momo (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 4:40 am

waaa!

i love this colour, very nice

• szw (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 5:13 am

too many sharp edges, makes it looks like da designer wanted a spaceship more then a car, hehe !

• mystvearn (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 6:15 am

will they make the car?

• mits27 (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 7:35 am

man, malaysia still selling that old style and old technology spectra, and the new kia spectra always come out for 2 years…

• mits27 (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 7:38 am

I think it will better if Hyundai can change their logo to have the distinct and more unique logo, that "H" on Hyundai always reminds me of Honda…

• DarkL1ghT (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 9:53 am

fron view is hot! side kinda reminds me of the BMW 1-series. n the back…like the back or a fiat (grande) punto kena bantai n lebam

• AMG (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 5:03 pm

Copying Renault style…. The Vel Satis

• ingolstadt (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 7:48 pm

I wont say it's a copycat, but it lacked inspiration. Any hot hatch looking design that weren't inspired, add some futuristic liquid-sci-fi elements and you'll have that. The Audi family grill is really making a profound impact on car designers these days.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 7:49 pm

Oh, and those gigantic rear lamps isn't really what people might call sleek.

• Celicazz (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 11:58 pm

what with the taillamp?

• aesthari (Member) on Sep 17, 2006 at 1:58 am

Very futuristic looking ^^

• Isamu (Member) on Sep 17, 2006 at 8:04 pm

My impression of Hyundai:

Concept car design – 8 out of 10 –> great concepts they have..

Production model design – 6 out of 10 –> mostly copycats..

Brand image – 6 out of 10 –> they still give me a perception of just being a cheap alternative to Honda and Toyota. I guess it is so to most Malaysians because if we look at the sales of the new Sonata, it tells you everything.. Why buy a Hyundai if the price difference with a Honda or Toyota is not too much?

• Isamu (Member) on Sep 17, 2006 at 8:06 pm

Han took a swipe at Hyundai in Tokyo Drift, …can't let you roll on a Hyundai…

• nizam80 (Member) on Sep 18, 2006 at 4:11 am

"Han took a swipe at Hyundai in Tokyo Drift, …can’t let you roll on a Hyundai… "

Hahaha.. Why? U expect Han to take a swipe at Proton huh??

• topgunthang (Member) on Sep 18, 2006 at 11:22 am

he would say…..you wont look too savvy in a savvy.

• nizam80 (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 5:03 am

"he would say…..you wont look too savvy in a savvy."

Or, instead he will say…….. you look savvier in a savvy facelift :)

Anyway, i like the tailights of this Hyundai. Looks radical.

• KelvC (Member) on Oct 17, 2006 at 9:44 am

Arnejs, one word, beautiful.