Daihatsu D-Compact X-Over to debut at Paris

Advertisement

dcompactxover.jpg

The previous D-Compact concept series from Daihatsu was the Daihatsu D-Compact 4X4 which ended up as the production Daihatsu Be-Go/Toyota Rush. Following the current crossover craze, this is the latest in the D-Compact series – the Daihatsu D-Compact X-Over, where X-Over means crossover.

Designed together with Italy’s Italdesign led by Giorgetto Giugiaro, the rugged but sporty crossover with flared wheel arches features a glass roof that extends from the edge of the windshield to over the rear seats. The front headlamps remind me abit of Perodua’s take on the Passo/Boon/Myvi front end styling.

If it goes into production, the B-segment car is expected to replace the Daihatsu YRV and will be pitched against the likes of the Mazda 2. This concept car will join many other concepts to be unveiled at the 2006 Paris Motor Show from the 30th September to 15th October 2006. One more photo after the jump.

dcompact2.jpg

Related stories you might be interested in reading:

No related posts.

About the Author

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history. An avid electronic gadget aficionado as well as big-time coffee lover, he's also the executive producer of the Driven motoring TV programme.

1. hiuzi_eriena says:

I hope it will be one of perodua production car

Reply Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  2. asimo says:

looks like passo…

3. maxtek says:

2nd to post! Yeah, hope this turns out to be a Perodua after some time… Bet it'll be far better than the Kembara/Terios…

4. AMG says:

New Kancil Prototype?

5. szw says:

yer…

6. DarkL1ghT says:

looks like a much nicer/upgraded version of the sirion/myvi. no other angle shots?

7. aesthari says:

A small 4WD vehicle! Cool!

8. fookeatmin1989 says:

Can't sell well in this hot sunny region…

9. engtaokia says:

fookeatmin1989: Can’t sell well in this hot sunny region…

man, we got alot tinted glass shops, jz the matter of JPJ and PRDM :p

10. sarawakguy says:

I have reservations over D-Compact class cars,but this one different!!!Kind of like this one…I wonder why..?Again,as a Sarawakian,I have a hunch that if this X-Over is going to be "Peroduaized",it will sell VERY2 well here…maybe I'll be among the early birds laaah..MEANWHILE…..its WAKE-UP time PROTON…!!!

11. jzkzlz says:

hopefully it will be here for a few years later.. maybe replacement for Myvi..

i like the windshield.. is it cover untill to top of the roof??

12. fookeatmin1989 says:

"a glass roof that extends from the edge of the windshield to over the rear seats"

Tint how many layer is also useless as Glass absorb heat……like green-house effect.

13. engtaokia says:

“a glass roof that extends from the edge of the windshield to over the rear seats”

beware! dont try to do XXX stuff in this car while u might get caught in act by US spy satellite :D

just guessing lah…

14. mystvearn says:

myvi should make a glass roof :)

15. topgunthang says:

ahhh….the world famous sarawak roads. this car is not going to have enough ground clearance to do squat.

certainly seems cool. but its more a gimmick. and adds to fuel consumption unless it uses the part time 4wd with bias towards fwd.

16. skywalker says:

“a glass roof that extends from the edge of the windshield to over the rear seats”

Don't forget to get the windscreen cover everytime you renew the insurance.

17. motorhead says:

good looking, 4×4??.. huh.. but don't la make it damn soft like our myvi here.. produa kedekut besi la… careful with produa's nuts & screws.. they r damn soft… produa vendors pls jaga quality!!!

18. demio121 says:

This X-Over s0 so cool. Like the D-Compact, this one looks very close to production. If Perodua make this, their production floor will be very very busy.

Perodua did say that there will no new product until sometime next year. so… Ther eis a possibility…!!!

19. gokibin says:

me likey it a lot… i hope it'll be a basis for 2nd generation myvi or its replacement. no need 4×4, just the looks good enuf. looks tougher than myvi. maybe male drivers prefer it better.

20. pablopabla says:

Daihatsu designs good looking cars and Perodua benefits from rebadging it. Definitely nicer than the Naza stocks. My dua sen…

21. sarawakguy says:

topgunthang,

I agree that this car can be stuck with "a low situation" here in S'wak.Hopefully the "PERODUAIZED" version will cater to that…And the drives..I agree with U…Make it part-time 4WD and fwd..The present KEMBARA really dig my wallet's contains….

22. raybrig85 says:

wow…wow…this car is really really nice…fresh look…hope will b on perodua also…

23. Xoomie says:

Paul,

Sorry off-topic. Perodua launched a new MyvI Special Edition which looked like a sporty Passo to me. Do u have any info on that.

Tks

24. msmar_453 says:

a new MyvI Special Edition!!

Nice… striking gold / orange color

saw it on utusan Mon, 18/9/2006 – as p2's mktg strategy with PNB at Pekan

(only small news with pic)

Any further info… Could it be 1.6L?

Paul, any comment?

Like us? Show some support! :)

Want a picture next to your comment? Register for a Gravatar account with the same email you use to comment!

Previous Story: UMW Toyota facing difficulties exporting Hiace
Next Story: Volvo XC60 Artist’s Impression