Volvo XC60 Artist’s Impression

xc60impression.jpg

Volvo’s new smaller-sized SUV (above is an artist’s impression) will join it’s bigger brother the Volvo XC90 first as a concept version displayed at the upcoming North American International Auto Show in Detroit, and will subsequently debut as a production model in the second quarter of 2008. Despite previous reports calling the new SUV the XC50, Volvo insiders have informed the motoring world that it will be called the Volvo XC60 instead.

Being slightly larger than the current third generation Toyota RAV4, the XC60’s styling will be similiar to other Volvo cars especially their current SUV the XC90, and will share the current V70’s EUCD platform.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• AMG (Member) on Sep 17, 2006 at 7:52 pm

1st comment…. It is quiet like the S60 …..

• drM (Member) on Sep 17, 2006 at 8:02 pm

Porsche got the Gayman from the 911, Mithu produced Evo9 from the Evo8, and Volvo gives us XC60 from an XC90! what da load of rubbish..

• ingolstadt (Member) on Sep 17, 2006 at 8:27 pm

Shit, i hate all these. All this while, Volvo had this impression that they weren't after customer's money, their cars were seen as a business proposal, whom both parties would love to have a good negotiation and some win win thingy would emerge. I could scarcely have that sort of feeling nowadays, in fact, many European manufacturers are starting to produce cars the Japanese way, I know it's unavoidable, but they've started to produce cars not passion driven, but motif driven.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Sep 17, 2006 at 10:39 pm

well every car has its own selling point…volvo for its safety n bmw for engine and handling and so on…at the end of the day…u dont like volvo thn dont get volvo!

bt neva really liked their designs…no cohesion in their design…all their car range have that stupid looking shoulder line..n neva seen a volvo with a proper looking rear…not for me…

• V_NoZ (Member) on Sep 18, 2006 at 1:51 am

crap… i dont see a need to have smaller version… for who are they making ?

a toy for my nephews??

• Celicazz (Member) on Sep 18, 2006 at 2:13 am

xc90 arent small enuff?

cannot understand why volvo wanna compete in this segment…

• xg9 (Member) on Sep 18, 2006 at 2:14 am

am i the only one who likes volvo? i like the s60 but i dont like this suv… looks like bmw suv… dont really like bmw suv..

• ingolstadt (Member) on Sep 18, 2006 at 2:31 am

e-nabilll said,

September 17, 2006 @ 2:39 pm

well every car has its own selling point…volvo for its safety n bmw for engine and handling and so on…at the end of the day…u dont like volvo thn dont get volvo!

bt neva really liked their designs…no cohesion in their design…all their car range have that stupid looking shoulder line..n neva seen a volvo with a proper looking rear…not for me…

IMO, Volvos looked damn good. They've really had a very successful re-engineering of their new design language. Not like BMW, the Bangla designs recently although looked damn good, but weren't able to convince buyers to get their 7-series crazy looks, then they turn back to the basics, sticking to their originally successful looks, which brings abit of that flame surface concave designs. 5 and 3 looked good, while 7 and X3 and 1 looked completely CRAP.

• mystvearn (Member) on Sep 18, 2006 at 5:06 am

same number of chairs, and slightly less space? Maybe a bargain for those cannot affort XC90

• narrowband (Member) on Sep 18, 2006 at 10:56 am

I think this SUV is just fine. Volvo's targeting younger buyers lately, obvious with the v70 and such and such. Now this. And young yuppies prolly prefer mid-sized rides rather than something as big as xc90.

At the end of the day, at least these car manufacturers are widening their range of market and segment, by introducing new models and tapping into new markets. As far as consumers are concerned, we have nothing to lose – just shun the showroom and you won't waste a sen on these rides.

You know, diversifying business is always good. At least Volvo doesn't produce and sell anymore 7-10 year old models and facelift a little bit on the grille, bumper and lights and sell them under a new model name.

• little_momo (Member) on Sep 18, 2006 at 12:12 pm

not nice meh? i like this… really nice

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Sep 18, 2006 at 5:48 pm

this is the Ford influence decision, y'know Escape/Everest market…but IMHO la.

• DtG (Member) on Sep 18, 2006 at 10:18 pm

looks lame…. just tampal Volvo's sedan features into the XC90 and shrink it a bit… what's the point? i don't think there'll be such a car anyway…

• szw (Member) on Sep 19, 2006 at 4:54 am

looks like a v50 on higher suspension

• raybrig85 (Member) on Sep 19, 2006 at 3:14 pm

cars frm volvo…jz like d s40…others…looks like org tua car…

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Sep 19, 2006 at 5:56 pm

raybrig85 said,

September 19, 2006 @ 7:14 am

cars frm volvo…jz like d s40…others…looks like org tua car…

orang tua with money la…or smart orang tua..y'know msian culture as long as you rich just ensure you buddy is wroking fine all chicks will jump into your car.

• nutsaboutcars (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 8:00 am

i agree with narrowband…

ya know, they don't just make cars (or suvs whatsoever) coz they wanna… they make cars bcoz diff looks or sizes cater for diff target users…

that is why you buy a 3series but your neighbour opts for an s60… and in this case, anything smaller (and cheaper) than xc90 shall definitely bring in more younger customers… sure hope i can own one…