Abt Sportsline Audi TT

abt_tt_1.jpg

I previously mentioned that the Audi TT S-line was as far as you’re going to get with a TT that looks fast as well as goes fast, if Audi does not release an Audi TT RS. I was wrong. This is Abt Sportsline’s take on the Audi TT – tuned up to 3 different variants – the Audi TT-R, the Audi TT-Sport and the Audi TT-iS. More details after the jump.

abt_tt_2.jpg

The Audi TT-iS is the baseline tune-up model, based on the Audi TT 2.0 TFSI. Engine management has been modified to bump up power from 200hp in stock form to 240hp of max power. I say max power because power scales up depending on what kind of fuel you feed it with – the best grade fuel gives you 240hp, but if you feed it crap, the car retains it’s 200 horse stock power rating. That’s what the iS in it’s name stands for – intelligent sport.

Next up is the Audi TT-Sport, which has two variants – one based on the 2.0 TFSI and another one based on the 3.2 V6. The model with the 2.0 TFSI engine is tuned up to 270hp. As for the 3.2 litre V6, while the standard TT 3.2 is normally aspirated, Abt Sportsline has forced inducted the engine through the means of supercharging, bringing power up to 310 horsepower from the stock 250. The top of the range tune-up is the Abt TT-R, which brings brings the supercharged 3.2 V6’s power up to 355 horsepower.

Of course, the tune-up package includes other enhancements like a new Abt bodykit with skirts all round, a fixed rear wing, quad tailpipe exhausts, and 19 inch alloy wheels wrapped with 255/35/ZR19 tyres.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• i'm run (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 5:40 am

Wow…!!!! Nice car, I'm speechless….

• i'm run (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 5:42 am

The front looks like Mazda RX-8

• yientau (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 5:52 am

*saliva keep dripping*….*remain speechless*….

• aksMs (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 6:03 am

This one look way way better than the standard TT. I would just walk up straight to these models than the stock. I have always prefer the Coupe or hard top over the cabrios. I don't know why. Maybe because a Coupe/hard top got a meaner and manly unlike the cabrios, a lil bit soft or too feminine. But on the front look look wise, I'd rather have them simplify the design. No need for the round shape fog lights. It made the car looks rather, messy. Not clean. The small holes below the grill also looks irrelevant to the entire front. Other than that, I must say, I love it. That of course, until I get to drive them, then that will be another story.

• aksMs (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 6:07 am

By the way, Paul, have you ever seen any ABT Audis here on Malaysian road? As far as I know, I haven't seen any. I don't think ABT has yet to make an apperance on our roads or even showrooms.

• drM (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 6:09 am

audi owns Lambo these days and suddenly their 'monsters' are becoming soooo good looking and perhaps, the raging bull no longer the only desired name in the supercar section. but, the design still got heavy influence of Audi-iesh and their entry to supercar field is still to be recognised

• Paul Tan on Sep 21, 2006 at 6:22 am

aksMs: naza brings in Abt cars. They have the Abt Golf GTI VS4 and the Abt Touareg VS6.

• aksMs (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 6:26 am

I see….I must've missed the news then. Thanks, Paul.

• jasonlow (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 7:05 am

wow.. looks even better than the original TT on my TT screen saver…

• exodust (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 11:01 am

@aksMs: I agree with you, the coupe looks so much better. Basically, I've never seen any coupe that is turned into a roadster look good. They always lose that aggressive look that the roadsters have.

Hmm, I am quite impressed with what they've managed to achieve with the 2.0l engine. My fav car has always been the s2000 becoz it squeezes out 240hp out of a 2.0l engine, but this… 270hp from a 2.0l engine, wow! Thats 135hp/liter.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 3:37 pm

great car…310 hp…bole lwn evo ka??

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 5:33 pm

this car make me feel horny…

• Cire (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 5:55 pm

Actually, there's a couple of company in the Klg.valley being appointed as the Abt importer and distributor in Malaysia.

Aeridas in TDDI is one of them.

Scroll the local Audi club website for details.

cheers..

• stanleyshyeoh (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 7:27 pm

Every tuned up version mess up the clean and good looks of most cars. The stock Audi TT is way nicer than this ABT look. Drilling more holes and openings on the car doesnt' make it look fancier.

• Ricc (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 7:47 pm

Quoted : #

raybrig85 said,

September 21, 2006 @ 7:37 am

great car…310 hp…bole lwn evo ka??

===============================================

Should refine ur question, Evo boleh lawan ka??

Haahahaha…

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 8:22 pm

"exodust said,

September 21, 2006 @ 3:01 am

Hmm, I am quite impressed with what they’ve managed to achieve with the 2.0l engine. My fav car has always been the s2000 becoz it squeezes out 240hp out of a 2.0l engine, but this… 270hp from a 2.0l engine, wow! Thats 135hp/liter. "

HP per litre is a pointless comparison.

270hp in a 2L is not surprising. Turbocharging will give you that easy. My VR4 powered DSM makes 300hp from 2.0L@18psi boost, more importanly 320ft-lbs torque@4500rpm (thats 434 Nm for metric people) with the stock VR4 engine and bolt-ons.

• Cire (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 8:29 pm

Actually, with specialised kits like Abt or Caractere, there is actually no additional drillings of holes or bracketries to be fitted or made.

This add on kits are made to mount on to existing holes.

Contrarily to local made which uses ugly rivets and flimsy screws that rust the next other day.

As per the outlook, different person have different views and needs.

Any which way, over-doing it will spoil the otherwise already "garang" looks of the Audi..

• fookeatmin1989 (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 11:14 pm

yummy…ulalala

nice car…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 2:22 am

hehehhek…jz a quest…sure wut…

• geforce (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 11:16 am

nice car

• jtshin (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 2:38 pm

My uncle is getting a new TT already… waiting to get it… cant wait to see it… wow…

• ingolstadt (Member) on Sep 23, 2006 at 1:57 am

jtshin said,

September 22, 2006 @ 6:38 am

My uncle is getting a new TT already… waiting to get it… cant wait to see it… wow…

Thats the problem with Malaysia's car industry. ONLY UNCLES WERE ABLE TO AFFORD THEM, and only young girls would get attracted (ok old ones do as well, but they wont get the same return "investment" from the uncles) All this renders good car = fat blokes. sigh~~~

• szw (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 5:39 am

hahaha !