2006 Honda Odyssey Facelift launched in Malaysia

odyssey1.jpg

Honda Malaysia Sdn Bhd has updated it’s fully imported CBU Honda Odyssey to the latest facelift edition. The Odyssey has always been unique in the world of MPVs – it is much lower than other MPVs but not sacrificing space at the same time. A lower stance allows a lower center of gravity, giving the Odyssey a car-like driving experience.

On the exterior, the Honda Odyssey facelift gets new bumpers on the front and rear, and the grille gains Honda’s new floating design. The side mirrors have gained the obligatory signal lamps that seems to be making it’s way onto every car these days. The rear lamps are now lit up by LED, which are brighter and activate faster.

While the new Accord 2.4 gets 10 more horses, the Honda Odyssey’s 2.4 litre engine makes the same 160 horses at 5,500rpm as before, channeled to the front wheels via a 5-speed Sport Shift automatic transmission. Interior is also pretty much the same as the previous version, making this a minor aesthetic facelift.

The Honda Odyssey still retains it’s G-CON (G-Force Control) technology, where the car body can withstand a 55 km/h full-frontal collision; a 64 km/h front offset collision, a 55 km/h side collision, and a 50 km/h rear collision. Other safety features include ABS brakes, EBD, Brake Assist, and 10 airbags – two front, two front side, and side curtain airbags for the front to third row – that would be 2 + 2 + 6 = 10. Glad I can still count.

The new Honda Odyssey 2.4 litre i-VTEC which is a fully imported CBU retails for RM236,800 on the road, for Peninsular Malaysia. It’s available in five colours – Nighthawk Black, Grayish Mauve Metallic, Carbon Bronze, Alabaster Silver Metallic, and Premium White Pearl. More photos after the jump.

odyssey2.jpg

odyssey3.jpg

odyssey4.jpg

odyssey5.jpg

odyssey6.jpg

odyssey7.jpg

odyssey8.jpg

odyssey9.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 1:25 pm

Ermm. really minor visual changes.. but hey, the car still look good and holds plenty of potential for bling-bling -ness!

But it doesn't drive well as far as I'm concerned. The Grandis is a much sportier MPV to drive

• jtshin (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 2:44 pm

I really like the dash's blue lights… they look awesome… damn.. hope to see one here in the UK soon… havent seen one yet when I get here… just lots of BMWs… can see it every minute…

• narrowband (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 3:30 pm

Speaking of Odyssey, nowadays there's a number of MUGEN-modified odysseys, super black with smoked rear lights and heavily tinted glasses all-round. The bluish looking HID headlamp plus the massive grille makes the whole car look like some brutal mafia ride. I've seen two identical ones in Sunway.

• skywalker (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 4:09 pm

Really love the door-warning indicator. Can easily identify which door was not properly closed. Most current model still comes with the current conventional general indicator. Quite annoying to keep on asking everyone to check on their doors each time you ready to take off.

• kington (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 4:30 pm

Well, when this Odyssey first roled out, i was amazed on how low they managed to keep the height of the car. True, it doesn't sacrifice too much space but still, with its roof that's even lower than the old Masterpiece E Class, you kinda feel restricted if you wish to walk around in the car as one would be tempted to in long journeys. I love the handling coz it really drives like a car but i'm afraid that the the rest of the MPV makers are still making their "vans" as big as possible and i'm not too sure Honda's really having a huge success with this car…. unless you are one of those who'd buy an MPV to tackle Sepang..

• Khairy bin Tengku Ma (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 4:44 pm

We can just dream to own one due to price of the CBU. Honda, the power of Wet Dreams…..though.

• boong (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 4:46 pm

Mmmm… the RM236,800 price tag is almost equivalent to my house price….nice car…

• familyman (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 7:03 pm

damm lucky those langkawi & labuan folks… can buy it at 130K plus…

but then.. why need this massive mpv for a small place.. hehehe

• geforce (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 7:36 pm

I just love this car.

• engtaokia (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 8:12 pm

hmmm..i still prefer Caldina.

• sarawakguy (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 8:29 pm

In my book,this is " FOR EYES ONLY"….Nonetheless,nice MPV..

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 8:33 pm

Why change from good to bad? Hate the new look especial the back.

I don't like the interior design especially the center control unit and Gear Knob location, too much buttons and lights. Why can't Honda make it simple? This car look a bit AH BENG taste.

I have drove this car before, driving performance is okay but the room is small and seat is too soft (Will cause back pain for long trip drive). I prefer more roomy at the back and change the seats.

Siapa sedang pakai kereta ini?

Ada apa Komen?

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 9:15 pm

rear light look little bit like the naza..what? the 1.1 liter.china origin car

btw happy fasting for muslim bloggers for non-muslim visitors dont ask your muslim friend out for lunch :-)

• DtG (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 9:23 pm

the original rear end looks better

• african (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 11:26 pm

For a price which is more than double of other MPV compeditor in Malaysia Market, there is nonthing special on this car worth that much other than the brand.

The centrol console is urgly like those cheap over-design Mini Hi Fi.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Sep 23, 2006 at 2:08 am

Tug the new and the old side by side and you guys will know why Honda's designers change the rear's design. :)

Anyway, when will all this cheapo, moeny bluffing face lifts get enough of it? hate these so called up-dates where nothing's been added to the value of purchase, its just a way of maintaining the current selling price (if not higher); just another way of saying :" Hey idiot, this is a WHOLE NEW CAR, BUY IT ! "

I always dig how the Odyssey looks and i still cant understand why would people pay so much more for an Estima….. but for this kinda price, and that 2 extra seats that stays empty for like 99% of the time, i'd get a Caldina GT-4.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Sep 23, 2006 at 2:25 am

Odyssey is one of my all time favourite MPV, besides Estima and Alphard. Odyssey is a very nice MPV, although it is quite expensive, but really worth it…..

• raybrig85 (Member) on Sep 23, 2006 at 3:34 am

i really luv odyssey…good looking mpv around…but still like d old rear look than this facelifted…

haiya mitlanevo…u minat itu alphard ka???horror…horror…

• acbc (Member) on Sep 23, 2006 at 4:17 am

Old Odyssey is a casket mobile… make sure u buy it in black colour.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Sep 23, 2006 at 5:40 am

design wise is becoming like the CRV . the older gen looks alot beter…honda beter do sting with their ugly facelifts…

• oranglulu (Member) on Sep 23, 2006 at 5:46 am

honda malaysia should also bring in their top gun,the odyssey absolute!since all cbu.

• Jiun 88 (Member) on Sep 23, 2006 at 7:22 pm

Wait a sec… isn't the Odyssey in M'sia a 4wd??

Btw, an Odyssey will always be an Odyssey no matter whut ppl around say. It's just how Honda tackles the market that make ppl go either uhh, ahh or ewww, yucks. In fact, i dun think that any of u ppl that r complaining about the design wil buy an Odyssey. Those who buy it surely loves Hondas, likes the Odyssey, plus / or have enough disposable income to do so. So, that's all i have to say.

=P

• szw (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 6:12 am

a little changes oni

• KingKong (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 3:04 pm

awesome Odyssey, i should get one.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Sep 27, 2006 at 1:17 am

Alphard horror?? HUH?? What u mean? Is it something to do with the design or the performance?

• raybrig85 (Member) on Sep 27, 2006 at 6:19 am

the dsg ma…really horror…same goes to nissan elgrand…really damn horror but good job frm honda for thier honda elysion…nice dsg…same size like the alphard and elgrand…but gt nice dsg…saw one in bangsar…everytime go to bangsar…saw dat honda elysion..

• mitlanevo (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 12:30 am

Ya, even my mom hate the design of Alphard (and this Odyssey…), but I like both. I like most MPVs that can be found in Malaysia, but tell u something, I hate Naza Ria……(sounds ridiculous?)

Honda Elysion??? Sorry but i never heard of it before.

Paul, any details on Honda Elysion?

• azzizz o on Apr 12, 2009 at 12:49 am

this is now what we call the best MPV in Malaysia,the horse power almost 200,so power

• azure on Jun 14, 2009 at 7:39 am

wew…. nice car…..

• LINGAM on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:07 am

I'm having honda odyssey 1997 register 2002. How to change to any batter

facelift. any idea / any one did modification please let know.

If possible share you picture

• In Doubt on Nov 30, 2009 at 10:53 pm

I'm interested to own an Odyssey. People around me is saying the Odyssey is a "cold" car i.e. not many user / pieces on the road. Can anyone give some input on this matter?

I'm interested in Odyssey 2005 (Absolute).Any idea how much would it cost (roughly) for unregistered unit?

Your feedback is highly appreciated.

Thank you.

• Absolute.KTinggi on Jan 06, 2010 at 9:28 pm

today i drive a 2004 reg 2008 absolute.

for me…good MPV…space..power..look…

the 1 n only my prob is..my audio…can't use for msia Freq.only below FM90.00…some more…DVD… CD can't use at all..any advise or any modification for my audio..

• pakmus (Member) on Jan 27, 2010 at 11:44 pm

anyone knows if the engine is using timing belt or timing chain?

• absolute k.tinggi,

u can use FM modulator to boost up your FM channel.

btw, i'm in ulu tiram, owned 2004 RB1 too! ;)

• kamal on Apr 19, 2010 at 3:11 pm

berikan cadangan mana nak lihat2 honda odyssey ni…..

• nk lihat ke atau nk survey beli. Boleh layari mudah.my

• honda malaysia odyssey cbu is not the same as the same as the rb1 absolute (The king of mpv) that was sold in malaysia as an unregistered model. i owned this rb1 absolute which has the power of almost 200 hp…honda malaysia imported cbu just have 160 horses in power..its a big different in terms of power. the absolute model have so many more features which the cbu model dont have. The sound container n DVD navi although in japanese but so much fun …..

• Fendi on Mar 18, 2011 at 10:07 pm

I just buy RB1 but i facing problem to understand all funtion at dashboard b’coz of japanee indication. Can u help me…one thing, it is clock can adjust . TQ

• arelit on Jul 02, 2011 at 3:01 am

Hi all.. I’m just using Honda Odyssey 2006 RB2 (4WD) register 2011 ..
          clock … cannot adjust .. it follow the satellite in japan… so it will always a head 1hrs for malaysia…
          Radio… not so good to add FM Converter/Booster b’coz this car antenna is on the 3rd row glass… better add-on 1 radio single din… hehehee…
          Japanese Navi botton… some one alread make some stiker translation in english for all the button…

all the info you can search in www.myodysseyclub.com where

• i just bought my rb1 before raya. fantastic car, mine comes with second dvd screen, full leather, dual modulo pipe, mugen grill and roof carrierl.
    I don’t like the roof carrier, anyone know where to buy/look for standard roof moulding?

• Mohd Fairus DK on Nov 19, 2010 at 11:31 pm

Salam – selamat siang/malam
    Sy dh pakai RB1 absolute nk masuk 2 tahun, performance ok la tapi nak minta tolong kwn2 kat luar tu kalau ada adv / tempat2 yg sesuai nk bagi rawatan sesuai buat MPV ni FDK 0126559262. Terima kasehh

• Low ride,more stif absorber, more xtra 40hp, the absolute is the topgun.
    But yet lower roof mean less room to go around the car.

• Nice ride

• myodyssey on Jan 27, 2012 at 7:08 pm

crab ketam la..
    I drive RB1, now regreated that I suppose let-go my Estima long time ago for this odyssey.. this odyssey damm good, powerfull and envy others.

• budi cp,MD on Aug 24, 2012 at 4:25 pm

Thats Right ,..Oddyssey Absolute Silver is still MyDreamCar for the future,..May i can get it for the future ,..amien,..