Kancil Replacement Model (Perodua Viva) sighted in Mines

kkrm3.jpg

[ UPDATE: The Perodua Viva has been launched! Click here for full details on specifications and pricing, as well as many clear photos of both exterior and interior! ]

It’s been awhile since we’ve seen sightings of the upcoming 2007 Perodua Kancil replacement model – the last was shots of a blue one and a white one somewhere up Genting. Here are a series of 3 spyshots of the Perodua Kancil replacement model being tested in Mines, on the way to Bangi. Thanks to reader Tau. Two other photos after the jump.

kkrm2.jpg

It looks like one of these cars are a high spec version while the other is a low spec version. If you look at the wing mirror of the car below that’s likely to be a high spec version of the car, there seems to be some gray item which looks like a clear plastic insert – it’s not clear but it looks like it could be a signal light.

The front design is very similiar to the Perodua XX06 Concept shown recently at the 2006 KL International Motor Show. Have a look at the other links I listed below for other spyshots of the Kancil replacement model.

kkrm1.jpg

More news and spyshots of the 2007 Kancil Replacement Model:

Perodua Viva to launch in May 2007
Perodua Viva Photos on Forum
Perodua Viva to be unveiled mid-2007
New Daihatsu Mira launched in Japan
Kancil Replacement Model (Perodua Viva) sighted in Mines
Kancil Replacement Model (Perodua Viva) spotted!
Kancil and Kelisa Replacements in first half 2007 (Perodua Viva)
Upcoming Perodua Kelisa replacement?
Could this be a Kancil Replacement Model?
New Perodua Kancil / Kelisa coming down our alley?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Sep 24, 2006 at 4:29 am

Just to confirm with you guys that it's another "Hot cake" for Malaysian, wait and see lah…..

Siapa sudah booked?

Sorry lah, Saya sudah beli kereta lain…..

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Sep 24, 2006 at 4:39 am

Proton cepat lah sikit, masa sudah tak cukup! You punya Younger Brother sudah siap bikin kereta baru. Tengok Gambar yang dipaparkan oleh Encik Paul Tan disini.

Bila you punya MPV, SUV akan keluar…

Semua rakyat sudah tunggu lama lah…….Cepat ooi…cepat sikit….Bila?

• sarawakguy (Member) on Sep 24, 2006 at 4:53 am

The high specs looks very "ngam" laaa…please DO NOT increase the price laa P2….

• mosss8299 (Member) on Sep 24, 2006 at 5:00 am

seems like the new one is bigger than the current version. it's based on daihatsu cuore isn't it? i would be surprised if it isn't.

• J (Member) on Sep 24, 2006 at 5:14 am

If the new Kancil is 850cc, I think it will be around RM35,000 ? :)

The back look nice .. a bit like Kenari ?

• cyborgx (Member) on Sep 24, 2006 at 5:30 am

Semua rakyat sudah tunggu lama lah?

you tunggu doesnt mean we all tunggu Proton's new models. You can see rarely see Neo or Savvy on the road. Tell me siapa tunggu proton's new models? –;

• mosss8299 (Member) on Sep 24, 2006 at 5:41 am

it looks bigger than the current version. and also looks suspiciously like daihatsu cuore. so, i would be surprised if it isn't based on the daihatsu

• andyyap (Member) on Sep 24, 2006 at 5:46 am

Ah lah , i has already bought Satria Neo , kancil ……? how many cc , my Neo got 1.6 cc and airbag abs, very fact . kancil . ….. , always behind me lah

• andyyap (Member) on Sep 24, 2006 at 5:52 am

I know kancil can save petrol ,but still is a small car lah , and yet not 1.6 cc a bit slow . get ABS and airbag ? if no , forget lah .

• amir (Member) on Sep 24, 2006 at 6:20 am

it look more like MYVI …..& it look tuff.=D

• DarkL1ghT (Member) on Sep 24, 2006 at 6:40 am

wow! the high-spec front side-view looks very good!

• AMG (Member) on Sep 24, 2006 at 7:51 am

Yus can see the on road version as the Daihatsu Cuore
    http://www.daihatsu.com/catalogue/

• geminas (Member) on Sep 24, 2006 at 8:36 am

ah beng would love this

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Sep 24, 2006 at 9:11 am

Its just another kotak car from Japan repackaged as a Perodua. Smart eh?

• armandd (Member) on Sep 24, 2006 at 9:34 am

it may look like a box, but many people out there need these budget cars..

• Celicazz (Member) on Sep 24, 2006 at 5:22 pm

it is the car which has the same pltform with kenari

• ck (Member) on Sep 24, 2006 at 5:37 pm

Yeah… with petrol rising, petrol consumption is something for us to think about. Imagine, kalau salary 2-3k, I think kancil or kelisa is the way to go. Pump less drive more. The saving of would comes to about RM70 – 100 a month. Now, every car need maintenance (unless u do it urself lar). And on average P2's car is damn cheap to maintain. That would be another saving.

Keep up with it Perodua…

• msmar_453 (Member) on Sep 24, 2006 at 5:57 pm

agreed with you, CK.

Err,.. CK = Ct & Khalid aa?

• blazerSST (Member) on Sep 24, 2006 at 6:13 pm

Looks good for the front side view, seems to be some influence of the Yaris

• myviRS (Member) on Sep 24, 2006 at 6:14 pm

My cousin work as a R&D Engineer in P2 factory Sg. Choh, Rawang. He told me about this model since nearly a year ago. He said that this model is based on Mira Avy. P2 work closely with Daihatsu under supervision of Toyota to produce this model. Yes, this model will replace Kancil. The best thing about this car is, it is spacious. P2 have been working hard to keep this new model to nearly match his 'brother' Myvi. Therefore, you'll see similarity between these P2 models especially from the front and rear view. As its predessor, it will maintain as low fuel consumption vehicle, thanks to DVVT that will be available in this model too. :)

• DAN (Member) on Sep 24, 2006 at 6:22 pm

look not bad to me . but 1 thing ?… pls give us a more advance brake system to fit in, in any p2 car either for optional o by all of it. cos is it important for all of us.

• myviRS (Member) on Sep 24, 2006 at 6:40 pm

check this out.. http://www.daihatsu.co.jp/showroom/lineup/mira_av…
    and this.. http://www.dsport-web.com/mira_avy/

• myviRS (Member) on Sep 24, 2006 at 6:48 pm

EF-VE engines that will be use.. http://daihatsu-ie.ingway.jp/showroom/ef/option01…

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Sep 24, 2006 at 7:59 pm

Slap some wheels on a tissue box and you'll get a brnad new Perodua

• malayman (Member) on Sep 24, 2006 at 8:48 pm

#

geminas said,

September 24, 2006 @ 12:36 am

ah beng would love this

LOL!!!!!

as for the car…one word to sum it up la…..

eeeeyyyyyeeeeeeeeeeeeejjjiiijjiikkkkk…!!!!

• geforce (Member) on Sep 24, 2006 at 10:35 pm

"

andyyap

Ah lah , i has already bought Satria Neo , kancil ……? how many cc , my Neo got 1.6 cc and airbag abs, very fact . kancil . ….. , always behind me lah"

Yea, Kancil is always behind you and just to remind u that Kancil is not built for speed but for fuel efficiency and for town drive. Don't look down at K-car owners. There are many monsters engine under their hoods. My car,1600cc as well too was overtaken by a K-car in highway.According to my judgement, that Kenari must be having a YRV turbo lying under it and I also saw the "steershift" system beside the steering. Although from the exterior, it is everything nearly stock.

Andy, be careful of K-car, there are small creatures with big "penis". ^_^

• happymeal (Member) on Sep 24, 2006 at 11:17 pm

looks promising….

do they need a "high-end-kancil" … that doesnt sound rite….

• fookeatmin1989 (Member) on Sep 24, 2006 at 11:29 pm

nobody will look down at Kancil anymore..

hooray….

• ingolstadt (Member) on Sep 24, 2006 at 11:46 pm

Perodua will show to Proton that, with a smaller sibling to Myvi, P2 will still beat the crap out of Savvy. Astonishing isn't it? Myvi beating the crap out of Savvy, Saga, Wira, Satria; and now the KRM will also beat the crap out of Savvy and Saga.

Speaking of this, Proton is still trying to sell some crap idea of Saga (being spacious – commanding more land mass than Myvi to park, doesnt mean internally its more spacious.)

• bmpower (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 12:33 am

kancil = the ultimate killer car.

underpower, no safety..

4 peoples died in kancil accident.

i dont understand why this no safety car still can be sell? jpj study no more?

every raya, or any balik kg event.. many kancil accident..

Boicot kancil lah!

Yet another Rebadge and junk car from toyota eh, daihatsu, eh? P2 (the anak syarikat of daihatsu / toyota)

• myviRS (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 1:02 am

Boicot kancil lah!

Yet another Rebadge and junk car from toyota eh, daihatsu, eh? P2 (the anak syarikat of daihatsu / toyota)

……………

sigh!.. words from those who can afford bimmers and doesn't really care bout those family people with low income. malaysians.. malaysians..

• geminas (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 3:29 am

fookeatmin1989 said,

September 24, 2006 @ 3:29 pm

nobody will look down at Kancil anymore..

hooray….

———————————–

dont count on it haha

• e-nabilll (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 3:52 am

another small car..more jams..and more inconsiderate small cars driving slow on the right lane….god help !

• cbljkkj (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 5:52 am

SatriaGuy said,

September 24, 2006 @ 1:11 am

Its just another kotak car from Japan repackaged as a Perodua. Smart eh?

——————————————————————-

Repackaged eh?? 90% of Proton cars are re-badged. Think properly before speaking.

____________________________________________________________________________

andyyap said,

September 23, 2006 @ 9:46 pm

Ah lah , i has already bought Satria Neo , kancil ……? how many cc , my Neo got 1.6 cc and airbag abs, very fact . kancil . ….. , always behind me lah

____________________________________________________________________________

Some people dont need 1.6 liters of displacement. Some people buy a perodua as a second car for the household. 1.6 liters isn't very much by a lot of peoples standards so no one needs to brag.

Think it is very powerful?? Tell that to the L9 and YRV fellas then you know what fast it if you consider 660cc and 1.3 cc weak.

• cbljkkj (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 5:55 am

Actually I kind of miss the Mira's old look, like the original Mira and Mira Cuore version. I guess times have moved on and Mini-MPV is the current trend nowadays since more people are looking for space for their families.

The future looks good. More cars on the road, more oppurtunities to tinker around with their parts.

• mystvearn (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 6:10 am

So when will it be launched?

• claxxion (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 7:35 am

Looks much better than those kancils and kelisas.. something new at last.. wished they retained the number plate on the bumper like daihatsu's…

• engtaokia (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 8:49 am

well, time to say bai-bai for my ageing Kenari.

said if the displacement is 660cc – 1000cc, can this car fit in turbos just like its predecessor?think this is most concerned by kaki modify in msia…

• cactus_25 (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 9:52 am

It's so easy to think…

world was change…

• mits27 (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 12:59 pm

Another choice for consumers, it is spacious, it looks better. I know some people are eager for this good FC, good quality car.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 3:51 pm

wut an idiot and unfair statement frm satriaguy and andyyap…think properly b4 said it…

hope dis new gen will b better than d old one…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 3:59 pm

bmpower…gt statement kayang plg byk kancil acc???haiya…u said

'i dont understand why this no safety car still can be sell? jpj study no more?

every raya, or any balik kg event.. many kancil accident.. '

dun pointed at kancil only…u shud point it to all m'sian carmakers…in dis case…4 me…all m'sian carmaker hd to think abt safety and shud make d airbag(for an example) as a permanent…not as an optional…safety first…i knoe u like beemer and mbe uve owned beemers…but plz dun b arrogant here and think wisely b4 said it..

• nirzat (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 4:55 pm

I want one. I miss my driving my old Kancil. Sold it off for a new proton. A Big mistake I made, huhuhhhhhuh. Get back a new Auto Kancil, then I can go around town for a whole day with only ten ringgit petrol la. hehehheehe

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 5:17 pm

Semua rakyat sudah tunggu lama……sebab…..Nak tengok……aja…..Tak semestinya Beli…..kepada sesiapa yang ada soalan sebelum ini. Terima Kasih.

Siapa Sokong?

Mesti ramai kan…..

• motorhead (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 5:42 pm

safety??.. kalau mau mati atas katil pun boleh mati.. tgk driverlah.. btw, I more concern about the quality (overall).. dulu punya kancil lagi tahan.. itu kancil mata bulat punya suma plastic.. suma banyak lembut.. maintain kualiti macam dulu la.. jgn mau buat untung saja…

• lowprofile (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 5:57 pm

Sigh, Some people in here are just so narrow minded! :(

Small cars are here for a purpose. Not to kill the driver and passengers. The killer is the attitude of the driver. And in saying this, even those in high performance saloons DO drive stupidly (to put it mildly) So, don't shoot the car. Shoot the driver instead. Owners of bigger cars will most of the time look down on the driver of a smaller car and maybe also tend to bully those in small car as it is an ego thing. Big car = Big ego, Think school bully: the bigger, they are NORMALLY (not always ok) the bigger bullies. I'm sure most of the small car drivers in here have experienced or witnessed this some time or other. Also. small car drivers sometimes feel the need to assert themselves due to the bullying; hence the creation of the monster k-car. They can't afford a big car, they are looked down by drivers of bigger cars, they are bullied, so the next course is to maybe appear bigger, appear faster to get some cred.

Its the sad reality that many face on Malaysian roads. All because of an 8 letter word; A-T-T-I-T-U-D-E. If this changes positively through education, maybe there'll even be less occurrences of road bullies (I have my doubts as MOST Malaysians don't bother to heed road safety messages anyway; queue jumping at the Alam Damai short cut to Connaught in the morning is a classic example of moronic Malaysians, who should actually wake up earlier to go to work).

BTW, most new cars are in most ways better than the ones they replace. Normally larger and more spacious too. Unlike the case in proton where the quality of each succeeding model either stagnates or gets worse in Most areas and improves in Some areas only. Or the Neo's case where the cabin space actually gets smaller than the earlier model.

• bmpower (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 6:10 pm

low profile.

haiiyaa..

the poor thing still poor. the bad thing is bad think.. wheither it's p2 or p1 or any other car. Do anyone here disagree with me that the kancil is underpower car? Dont ever you dare to tell me 'most of the kancil buyer only want this car for their daily driving ONLY, dekat2 pegi opis'.

most of them driving balik kampung and this car is everything to them. and they ever told that this car is so hell good for them.. Actually it's not. because this is the only car they can afford. The underpower and the no safety car at all .

I dont mind if the car is 1000cc ++ , but the 650 is really make you under very high risk of accident.. it's not about you're stupid driver. but sometime… most of the time when u try to overtake other car , lorry, trailer etc.. BANG! tak lepas, because the car had no pickup . Most of this scene happen from time to time.

Take a look at kelisa, it had better engine power.. 1K cc, not so many death accident related to it. but kancil.. sighh.. so many.. sooo many..

Why when people telling about the bad thing about the car they like, they will always relate it to proton? Savvy sempit? neo sempit.. u really get wrong. i bet you did'nt ever look it closely. Yeah.. it so sempit if you compare with NAZARIA or Toyota estima.. but what if i say. this kancil HELL sempit compared to Savvy? You like it?

So.. if my_stolen_car (something like that nick ) always said : dont buy proton.. i dare to say..

Dont buy this Kancil. The unsafer and most underpower car in it class!

or better to say.. A car body with a motorbike engine! (even superbike had more than 1K cc ) ;)

Hey P2! Build better car laaa! not like this car that kill 2 of my old friend!

• lowprofile (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 6:55 pm

bmpower,

I think it's time for you to get off your high horse. Yes. the kancil may be the only car they can afford. Is that so bad? Is it a crime to drive a small car? Yes, they don't like it and hate being looked down on but they have no choice (some actually prefer it for it's small convenient size). Ppl like you making uninformed comments should donate some cash to them to buy a bigger and in your words 'safer' car. Will you? If not, then stop condemning those who buy small cars or makers of small cars because those cars DO serve a purpose. I agree with you when you say the cars are used not only to go to neighbourhood store but to balik kampung. What's wrong with that if they drive safely?

And if you notice anything at all about the car world, you'd know that safety these days is constructed into the car. No doubt, a smaller car has higher risks but that's just life. Can't afford bigger? Then buy small and drive safe (this does not mean bigger cars with their so called better safety can take the opportunity to bully).

For your information, I have compared those cars and spoken to those in the car industry about the dimensions before making my comments. My comments are based on fact. Not whether I like it or not. The savvy IS small inside. So is the Neo. This is confirmed by parties close to the projects. I don't pluck comments from the wind.

As for the bike with a bigger engine, of course. It is built with that exact purpose. To carry only 2 pax, to be powerful and the best it can be for what it is. Small cars have another purpose. You need to focus on the purpose of things before making strange analogies.

It is indeed sad that your 2 friends died in the car and I sympathise with you, but what were the conditions of the accident? Accidents do happen and it can be just as deadly in any other bigger car. A lot of factors combine to cause an accident. The condition of the various parts/components of the car/truck, the driver's alertness, the opposite driver's alertness, whether or not the driver was reckless or not (I'm not saying your friend was reckless) road and weather conditions etc.

"I dont mind if the car is 1000cc ++ , but the 650 is really make you under very high risk of accident.. it’s not about you’re stupid driver. but sometime… most of the time when u try to overtake other car , lorry, trailer etc.. BANG! tak lepas, because the car had no pickup . Most of this scene happen from time to time."

– If no pick-up, then don't overtake. Simple only. Overtake only when you're confident enough, have enough road area and have the EXPERIENCE to perform the manoeuvre. When overtaking, some safe things to do are to observe first before coming out whether or not there is sufficient run-off area on each side of the road. Where can you slip to if there is an emergency in the overtaking manoeuvre? Refrain from overtaking at blind corners. Do the roads in front narrow? Is the road ahead bumpy? Think 2 or 3 times more especially if there are 2 or more huge lorries in front to overtake at one time. Otherwise, be patient. You'll definitely arrive. Maybe a few minutes later but definitely ALIVE.

Perhaps a word of advice (if you can accept it lah)? Get on with your life and be wiser for it. Learn from the past of your friends and make better decisions for yourself. I can't stop you from being bitter against Perodua. Maybe they'll make safer cars in future that rival the safety of bigger cars. Who knows the future right? A positive attitude helps.

• bmpower (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 7:38 pm

do i blame them because they are poor to afford a better car? No!.

do i blame them because their wreckless driving skill? no!

do i hate p2? no!.. i already said kelisa is good and better..

i just condeming the underpower car.. that's all . :) (and i not asked yet even tell a rumours like basher did on proton) . do this car had abs? airbag? ebd? strong body? can anyone show the prove then. does this car had tuv?.. ok.. fine.. just proton need that.. p2 is hell perfect. even it's underpower car.

Yes i know.. most of the accident happen because of the driver.. but the car fact remains relate. In cases, when you're drovong for too long.. u get tired, sleeppy (dun tell me to stop and sleep), even worst.. some people getteing lost patient (sabar?) .. and just overtake.. they always confident with their car.. all the time.. but .. they also made mistake and over estimed thir car.. even they change to gear 3! to overtake a 1 ton lorry in average 80kmh .. but what about incoming form front a vios or savvy (put fire on you) with 150 +++ speed?..

is that because the loory so slow? or the kancil under power? NO!.. it's because of the Savvy's too fast..(many people likes that savvy been blamed.. ) ;)

So!.. WHAT'S WRONG IF YOU BOICOT THIS CAR AND BEGGING P2 TO BUILD BETTER CAR? AND JUST INCREASE THE PRICE A BIT OR NO MORE INCREAMENT (like the way you want proton to do) THE NOT UNDERPOWER ONE LIKE THIS? ..

tell me where's my wrong? because u think im proton supporter? no!.. my past wira s*cks.

• Whopper (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 8:19 pm

cyborgx said,

September 23, 2006 @ 9:30 pm

Semua rakyat sudah tunggu lama lah?

you tunggu doesnt mean we all tunggu Proton’s new models. You can see rarely see Neo or Savvy on the road. Tell me siapa tunggu proton’s new models? –;

——————————–

Dude, of course you rarely see the Neo or the Savvy on the road if you spend so much time in front of the computer making useless comments lah. Get out of the house more often lah.

bmpower said,

September 24, 2006 @ 4:33 pm

kancil = the ultimate killer car.

underpower, no safety..

4 peoples died in kancil accident.

i dont understand why this no safety car still can be sell? jpj study no more?

every raya, or any balik kg event.. many kancil accident..

Boicot kancil lah!

————————————————–

Nothing wrong with the Kancil. Its suits its purpose to be a economical private transportation. It's just that some owners transform this basic bare bones car into the ultimate driving machine and that's where it a mistake.

e-nabilll said,

September 24, 2006 @ 7:52 pm

another small car..more jams..and more inconsiderate small cars driving slow on the right lane….god help !

——————————————-

Can you show us proof that inconsiderate small cars driving slow on the right lane ? Its the driver lah not the car who is driving slow in the fast lane.

myviRS said,

September 24, 2006 @ 10:14 am

My cousin work as a R&D Engineer in P2 factory Sg. Choh, Rawang. He told me about this model since nearly a year ago. He said that this model is based on Mira Avy. P2 work closely with Daihatsu under supervision of Toyota to produce this model. Yes, this model will replace Kancil. The best thing about this car is, it is spacious. P2 have been working hard to keep this new model to nearly match his ‘brother’ Myvi. Therefore, you’ll see similarity between these P2 models especially from the front and rear view. As its predessor, it will maintain as low fuel consumption vehicle, thanks to DVVT that will be available in this model too.

————————————-

At what RPM does the DVVT kick in for this car ?

• Whopper (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 8:26 pm

Hmmm…honestly the Kancil Replacement Model looks alright to me. I am dead sure it will receive good response from consumers, especially 1st time buyers.

But having Daihatsu as its partner, for sure Perodua will continue to sell well as its basically a car rebadger and not manufacturer. It works for Perodua.

As for me, I rather stick to my trusty Proton Savvy.

• lowprofile (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 9:06 pm

Oklah, you've made your point, bmpower. To you the Kancil or its replacement is underpowered and should be boycotted.

To the 13860 ppl who have bought Kancil's from 1 Jan till end July 06, be careful and drive carefully as the car you bought according to some parties would just put your life in danger regardless of the speed you drive (but what about incoming form front a vios or savvy (put fire on you) with 150 +++ speed?.. ) An advice for Kancil drivers and even those of Vios and Savvy, please look way ahead for oncoming traffic before overtaking!! If you can't see or there are oncoming cars coming at 150 +++ speed, DON'T OVERTAKE.

Maybe Perodua should incorporate the items that bmpower mentioned to protect its occupants more.

Above all, let's act with restraint. Especially on the road nowadays, and exercise extreme caution when driving anywhere… even to the mamak behind the house for teh tarik. make sure seat belts are worn, signal lights are working and used and brain is fully operating before operating the car. RESPECT TRAFFIC LIGHTS and ROUNDABOUTs. No matter how small they are.

• lowprofile (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 9:15 pm

Getting back to the topic, I feel the new KRM would be a welcome addition to the range and that the current Kancil is also way past its sell by date. Hopefully the car has a very strong cabin structure to protect its occupants from harm and danger.

*BTW, sometimes its not the number of airbags that saves lives rather, its the way the car's shell is constructed. Example, the BMW 5 series has lots of airbags everywhere and yet manages only a 4 star rating from EuroNCAP while a Saab 9-5 has only 4 bags but got 5 stars. This is debatable of course but it does make a point.

Also ABS does not mean the car stops faster (for those who don't know). On the contrary, it takes a longer time to stop. Its saving point is that while providing intermittent braking at milliseconds, the driver can still steer the car out of danger as the car does not lock up and go straight into oncoming traffic or a tree or lamp post for that matter.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 9:43 pm

"bmpower said,

September 25, 2006 @ 11:38 am

do i blame them because they are poor to afford a better car? No!.

do i blame them because their wreckless driving skill? no!

do i hate p2? no!.. i already said kelisa is good and better..

Joe Ooi – Yes you are not blame them because they can't afford better car, yes you are not blame them for wreckless driver and don't hate P2.

Just several BIG questions to ask you?

1. "bmpower – i just condeming the underpower car.. that’s all"

"bmpower – is that because the loory so slow? or the kancil under power? NO!..

Joe Ooi – Look at the above and below statements by you how SELF-CONTRADICTORY you are on the issue of "kancil underpower". What you want to try to say? ………………..

How do you justify this car is under power? on what basis, cc or can't achieve top speed 300 Km/H? Look at our highway top speed of 110 Km/H, Kancil can exceed it, so what you means by "underpower". Why you don't you "condemning" Mercs, Beemer, etc "OVERPOWER" in relation to 110 Km/H?.

2. On safety features, let us see what P2 offer before jump into conclusion this replacement model don't-have-this-don't-have-that and P1 have-this-have-that? Can you be more "patient" to make such comments AT LEAST after we see this car specs? You yourself at this moment even can't prove P2 replacement car don't have any safety feature(s) as mentioned by you!

3. "bmpower – .. but .. they also made mistake and over estimed thir car.. even they change to gear 3! to overtake a 1 ton lorry in average 80kmh .. but what about incoming form front a vios or savvy (put fire on you) with 150 +++ speed?..

Joe Ooi – " This is really "damn kiddy" argument and merely "wildest imagination" in an attempt to make your point. If ask me to comment, the first and last fault and mistake is you make a wrong comment. First Vios and Savvy speed 150 Km/H is definitely above legal speed limit, so they are at faults! Nothing wrong with Kancil overtake even trailer with a speed of RM 80Km/H?

Be consistent in your comment, if not you have to remedy it!……….

• geforce (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 10:54 pm

my perfect Kancil replacement model spec is like as below:

a)850cc/1000cc comes with Dohc, EFI, DVVT ,3cyclinder/4 cyclinder.

b) ABS,airbag( both optional) (I think make this as a standard one will increase the price)

• geforce (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 10:55 pm

oh ya, it will be nice if add on Turbo, I think this will never happen in our P1 or P2 industry ..right?

• geforce (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 10:59 pm

I am just wondering is Campro engine stands for Camshaft profiling, something which is similar with Vtec, Mivec,DVVT or VVT-i? But I don't think Campro engine comes with this ..right? Then why does this engine name as Campro? I am really confused.

• myviRS (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 11:55 pm

Whopper asked,

At what RPM does the DVVT kick in for this car ?

3000RPM.. definitely. do blame me if i'm wrong..

• geforce (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 12:35 am

3000RPM? I think it should kick in around 2000RPM. If I am not mistaken, DVVT kicks in at low range rpm for fuel efficiency and at high range RPM for maximum torque and power?

• 1NZFE (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 3:30 am

2000RPM? It should kick in 4000rpm in max torque n 6000rpm in max output!

• 1NZFE (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 3:47 am

No! DVVT kicks in around 4000rpm in max torque n 6000rpm in max output…

• masterhian (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 4:39 am

HEY do you guys know thats the new daihatsu charade from the rear .i know this beacause i have an Autocar book Sold in uk .for 5988 Pounds sterling its a two door in uk

• szw (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 5:58 am

its still a kancil

• geforce (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 6:56 am

dvvt kicks in around 4000rpm and 6000rpm for max output? But I am wondering when will a person revs the engine till 6000rpm? Most of the time for normal driving it just reaches 4000rpm

• raybrig85 (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 3:31 pm

for me…i still can accept kancil…dun aspect it to b like a honda civic or neo…etc…jz…for city car and economical…still good to own…jz now…perodua had to improved a lot in term of quality and safety…g.luck

• 1NZFE (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 5:00 pm

So, is it time for booking? I afraid it will b same as myvi, had to wait until 1 year after booking…

• pirate (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 8:14 pm

Looks good. Hopefully, the variants are value-for-money too!

• Joe v2.0 (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 11:51 pm

really guys, due to the fuel price hike but no 'really' income increament for malaysian, so i think small2 cars will be their choice in considering a car is a need transportation today. Not that all of them really love small cars as their first choice(unless the group of people that are k car lovers), it is just that the affordability and the economics usage is the main reason i can see here for peodua eating up bigger size of car market.

Maybe some may totally disagree, but as for technology, what perodua did up until now is just like proton, rebadging, yeah2 they engineered the bumper and lights to suit malaysian users in myvi, so what? just like proton did even more proton did modified the saga front tyre arch form nice round to a silly square shape. duuh.

As for this kancil replacement, all those hoohaas as for malaysian engineering combined with japan, i'd say it a cuore with a malaysian style light and bumpers or even maybe the dashboard.

Then there's the price issue. For me the price is still high for a k car in malaysia, why(other the shitty NAP)? simple, because they are really reselling those daihatsu/toyota cars same like or even worse like proton selling a mitsubishi decade plus old car to malaysian. Yeah proton did came out with its own model, but well, it got killed by its owned patented pathetic plastic interior. And really although peordua plastic is a bit better from proton considering it is from toyota/daihatsu but it is not really that great if to compare to the real toyota lineup.

so what is there left for us? nothing really, the low to middle income people will still stuck up with these two choice, big space car but crappy plastic(although some improve with neo)-proton, small over priced car but fuel economy in mind – perodua. But to think that after pulling off NAP, rather than just killing proton, it sure do the same to perodua, just try to imagine how to beat hyundai or kia or even chevvy small2 cars price without those taxes.. or even worse chinese made cars..

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 27, 2006 at 1:26 am

This Kancil replacement rebadge from the newest model from Daihatsu at least give consumer the taste of latest technology………. not like Naza rebadge older model – Bestari

• myviRS (Member) on Sep 27, 2006 at 7:49 am

Joe Ooi said,

September 26, 2006 @ 5:26 pm

This Kancil replacement rebadge from the newest model from Daihatsu at least give consumer the taste of latest technology………. not like Naza rebadge older model – Bestari

……

Did you know something bro? I totally agree with you.. :)

• bmpower (Member) on Sep 27, 2006 at 9:11 am

what's good about it?

p2 had a newest model ONLY when more than 50% stakes share took by daihatsu/toyota. Otherwise = "just take our old model lah". said toyota.

if Naza owned by Peugot, bigger chance to get latest model from them too.. so not so good thing all the way. Like pepatah "Menang sorak kampung tergadai ".

For better or worse then?

And that fact also maybe happened to proton to, if they sold all their share for mitsubishi, mitsubishi will gave all their newest model. Even the latest evo in 'concept car'. Because they will got more.

Whatever.. the fact is. people not buying car they like and they reallt want to. But the one they can afford, and the cheapest on market.

I had to agree,

But to think that after pulling off NAP, rather than just killing proton, it sure do the same to perodua, just try to imagine how to beat hyundai or kia or even chevvy small2 cars price without those taxes.. or even worse chinese made cars..

not only proton.. even toyota etc, if all chinese car cheaper than another.. toyota, daihatsu, whatever.. can TAPAU. because people will take the cheapest one. ;)

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Sep 27, 2006 at 6:33 pm

I think need to clarify something…like the market target and the class of the cars.

if kancil underpower and not safe, kancil is a city car/short distance car only, small car cannot drive long distance y'know kancil if you want to drive long distance wait for perodua KUDA :-) I think it is still suit the purpose but

because of PROTON + NAP+TAX BLA2

this SLK small littel kancil (motorhead kancil's nickname) already costly 400++ for nine years and please take note in Malaysia only you will get a car with 0.85 litre(notice the o. not even 1 litre) with such price , rakyat become desperate small car also everywhere car put 7 to 8 in kancil then one time accident whole family ….(dont want to tell not nice)

believe it or not is still Proton the mother of all problems other then their own problems.Kancil (even still overpriced) at least have some facelift, not like insane saga if you bought in 1985 and compare with the 2005 model (yes 2005 model because want to clear stock) still same except the glove box missing.

so irritating la to see new Proton on the road..with hazard light on, near traffic light…before even registered already "rosak"…also eyesore once take a view of Proton oldstocks…Proton the make with "new car old stock".you buy Proton you didnt respect yourself….

• osh_kosh (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 12:55 am

bmpower,

gosh.. u r so arrogant….

• claxxion (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 12:59 am

Well… these cars will flood our roads next year. since it will replace both kancil and kelisa…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 2:23 am

bmpower said,"I had to agree Joe v2.0 said,

"But to think that after pulling off NAP, rather than just killing proton, it sure do the same to perodua, just try to imagine how to beat hyundai or kia or even chevvy small2 cars price without those taxes.. or even worse chinese made cars..not only proton.. even toyota etc, if all chinese car cheaper than another.. toyota, daihatsu, whatever.. can TAPAU. because people will take the cheapest one."

Joe Ooi – The above statement is just as crappy as the NAP. Are Joe v2.0 try imply the consumers have to do the following things: –

1. To sacrifice their hard earn blood and sweat money not to protect, but P1 expected consumers to COVER their inadequacy, weakness, shortcoming, inefficiency, etc, etc, without the need to improve?

2. Let the consumers continuosly feed the crocs, AP King, cronies, etc so that they get easy money and become bigger, fatter, heavier and richer!

Free market in our electrical and electronic industry clearly shown that the consumers benefits the most in term of value for money and quality of products. Remembered, not all cheapest electrical/electronic appliances like TV, fridge, computer, etc is outsold branded. Since the branded are withn the affordability of consumers, then majority still go for it. Of course those who can't compete can't blame comsumers but they themselve. We are not poorer if these companies ta pau like I-brand and MEC! And we still can attract FDI like national brand to set up factory here to generate employment and economy activity. The only portion going back to their country is certain portion of profit make. Any thing manufacture by FDI and export to oversea also generate wealth to our nation.

Same thing to removal of NAP, if auto under open market and car are affordable to consumers, people with same amount of money (say below RM 70K) currently can buy P1 car will switch to Corolla, Civic, Elantra, Lancer, VW, etc, etc, Talk about cheapest, it may become "2nd car", not like currently low quality but highly price "1st car". If can't compete, then have to close shop. If expected consumers to "extend blood money" to keep them alive is very unwarranted!

• Joe v2.0 (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 7:06 pm

joe ooi read my post completely, dont just simply condemn other people okay

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 7:24 pm

at least Perodua car doesnt come with STANDARD PROBLEMS.

once a while have the "facelift" ..er Proton facedown..

Proton you are going down…no more new Proton on the roads….

• Romaunt (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 11:53 pm

Again.. proton issue again…

I bet proton staffs are reading this posting..

Please print this and paste the comments on Proton's notice board.. esp the one from JOE.. :)

May be one copy on the Proton's MD office door..

• topgunthang (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 5:20 am

avoid proton, peroduo, naza and LMG and cherry cars. also avoid any indian cars called mahindra or something.

• ack (Member) on Nov 14, 2006 at 10:02 pm

Geforce,

campro is not stand for camshaft profile, it is a short form of malay word 'macam professional'

• darkteror (Member) on Nov 22, 2006 at 9:52 pm

IT LOOK LIKE DAIHATSU SIRION!! DONT U COME OUT WIT UR OWN DESIGN!!

• normalcardriver (Member) on Dec 02, 2006 at 7:18 am

I heard this car will come out in February…2007 but market is sluggish now.Bad time for Malaysian auto industry.Wish you luck P2,I hope you are not japanese in disguise.

• knight_mmc (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 5:19 pm

this new perodua model has the ABS and airbag…

• does anyone oredy try 2 fit yrv 1.3 engine in viva?

can it fit? or is it too big for viva's front bonet?

• i planned to fit yrv 1.3 in my viva act…