Honda announces 2nd gen i-CTDi with NOx cat

hondadieselresearchvehicle.jpg

Honda announced it’s new second generation i-CTDi engine today, featuring a new NOx catalytic converter which significantly reduces NOx emissions to meet stringent U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Tier II Bin 5 emissions requirements.

The new NOx catalytic converter converts toxic nitrogen oxide (NOx) into harmless nitrogen (N2) through a two-layer structure. In the first layer, some of the NOx reacts with hydrogen (H2) to produce ammonia (NH3). Ammonia is stored, then used in the second layer to reduce NOx into N2.

The development of the new NOx filter was done on the Super Clean Tier II Bin 5 diesel engine research vehicle – which is an European market Honda Accord (shown above).

nox.jpg

1. During lean burn operation, the NOx adsorbent in the lower layer adsorbs NOx from the exhaust gas.
  2. As needed, the engine management system adjusts the engine air-fuel ratio to rich-burn, wherein the NOx in the NOx adsorption layer reacts with hydrogen (H2) obtained from the exhaust gas to produce ammonia (NH3). The adsorbent material in the upper layer temporarily adsorbs the NH3.
  3. When the engine returns to lean-burn operation, NH3 adsorbed in the upper layer reacts with NOx in the exhaust gas and reduces it to harmless nitrogen (N2).

Source: Honda Motor Co., Ltd.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• myviRS (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 1:48 pm

hm.. new Honda with an intelligent cat.. if i'm not mistaken, BMW will soon announce their models equipped with more intelligent cat, which can reduces NOx emissions and at the same time regenerate the heat from the exhaust systems boost power for the car as well.

• nulltrix (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 2:12 pm

good for environment eh? i wonder when malaysian car will implement into their design..

• Khairy bin Tengku Ma (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 4:54 pm

"nulltrix said,

September 26, 2006 @ 6:12 am

good for environment eh? i wonder when malaysian car will implement into their design.. "

Soon. We would be using "teknologi minyak sawit" in alignment with Malaysian BioTechnology plan. Enjin Campro Sawit Edition.

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 4:58 pm

I think the only way to solve Emission problem is to use the FCV or Electric Car. Get ready your money and buy the new technology okay!

• Zgriffin (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 5:00 pm

It's always a good news from auto industries big brothers comming out those new tech for preventing mother earth being further pollute. But will all buyers keep the car as it is?…I still notice that quite a great number of car owners remove the cat from their car for few extra horses…On top of that, maintaining the condition of the car for being environmental friendly do cost a bomb, which i believe it's still not applicable in certain part of the world.

• myviRS (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 5:20 pm

"Enjin Campro Sawit Edition"? Hahahah :)

• izham (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 5:57 pm

I wonder if the new engine can actually outrun the previous original VTEC. From my very own observation, even the DC5 Type-R K20 cannot easily outrun the EK9 B16B on a few test runs.

I also doubted the low fuel consumption claim on the latest civic's K20 as it's really hard to get 12 km per liter for town driving as I can do with my moderately modded B16A4 in my EK.

Yeah I really hope that the new BMW engine can really save on the fuel consumption. The current E46's 280km per tank is definitely way not to go.

As for Malaysian cars, let's pray they'll do some miracle. Come on guys, supportla sikit..

• motorhead (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 7:25 pm

whoa.. skrg suma suda advance.. p1 masih di takuk lama.. mcm mn ni??.. just sell p1 to honda or toyota for 20million only!!.. i wud be happy!!!

• pirate (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 7:27 pm

No matter how advanced diesel tech development has gone forward internationally, our diesel fuel is still laggardly low grade…

:(

• tango5 (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 8:33 pm

pirate…you're rite mate.

remember my unc who went for the UN peace keeping force in Bosnia last time. he mentioned that our armed forces diesel powered military vechicles performed like petrol powered just by using the then european grade diesel.. :|

• chris_the_germ (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 9:57 pm

tango5: and if the armed forces (…) military vehicle had a european diesel and a european diesel engine, they would fly!

• ingolstadt (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 9:57 pm

good for environment, bad for car enthusiasts. :)

• rexis (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 10:13 pm

ingolstadt, no worry, they just dealing with the car converter, the horses and torque cows remained the same. You still get the vroom vroom diesel version. And you can go pretty fast.

Good job honda!

• mystvearn (Member) on Sep 27, 2006 at 3:43 am

Why are we not seeing hybrids on our roads?the G should give incentives for those buying greener cars like the CIvic hybrid

• szw (Member) on Sep 27, 2006 at 5:10 am

y no one use hydrogen in an internal combustion engine as an alternative for petrol since hydrogen oso can create explosion ?

• fookeatmin1989 (Member) on Sep 27, 2006 at 7:02 am

sophitiscated,,,,not bad from Honda…

• rexis (Member) on Sep 27, 2006 at 8:14 pm

mystvearn, it will be a major breakthru for our goverment to realised that diesel engines are cleaner more efficient then petrol engines and finally encourage cheaper diesel cars.

• motorhead (Member) on Sep 27, 2006 at 8:19 pm

gov oredi realised, but what do they care??.. as long as roadtax for diesel can make money for them, why change? the gov mentality sudah tahu punya…

• alamak (Member) on Sep 27, 2006 at 9:42 pm

Honda fuel cell vehicle, the Honda FCX, runs on hydrogen. Prototype road testing now. Production in 3 years time.

http://world.honda.com/FuelCell/

Damn it looks good too!

• motorhead (Member) on Sep 27, 2006 at 10:22 pm

FCX?? Ini suda lama punya cerita… of coz we all get old technology, so old story also.. thx to Malaysia Sdn. Bhd. punya gov… our country have turn into a limited company, few ppl make profit out of the ppl.. monopoly is good here…

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Sep 27, 2006 at 11:04 pm

Have you guys seen this before?

Funny to see the Traffic system in India is worst than Bolehland, No traffic light at all. But I didn't say our bolehland traffic is safer than India.

http://video.yahoo.com/video/play?vid=45063c7babc…

Sorry it's out of Topic……

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Sep 27, 2006 at 11:10 pm

I know the price of FCX, it's cost 100 million yen. Who can afford to buy one of these?

Expert said: It is still far too expensive to be practical. Honda's FCX concept fuel-cell vehicle, for example, has a sticker price of Yen $100 Million (US $859,000).

Read this: http://www.physorg.com/news78401640.html

• James21 (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 1:32 am

Hopefully this will start all other car makes to make less polluting cars although i think the only way to really stop it would be for car makes to make more electric cars. I would buy one.

• Jeffrey1977 (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 2:06 am

Hi all, will this work with our local diesel fuel? Because i read in an artical that our diesel is low gred and has high level of sulfur. Will this clog up the cat?

Any comment?

• mystvearn (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 6:18 am

already said we don't want your money after police slashed summons, still speeding is high on the list. Not enough money, now go for the road taxes!?