Chery QQ AMT; assembly by Proton next year?

chery_qqr_small.jpgAlado Bumi Sdn Bhd launched the new fully imported CBU Chery QQ AMT today, powered by an automated manual gearbox similiar to the unit in the Proton Savvy AMT.

The 52hp 75.5Nm 0.8 litre Chery QQ AMT is priced at RM42,888, while the 0.8 litre Chery QQ with a 5 speed manual transmission sells for RM39,888. Only 100 units of the Chery QQ manual remains, out of the 200 stock that was brought in.

In other Chery news, Chery expects to start local assembly of Chery cars in Malaysia in Proton’s plant by next year if talks go well. As for Cam Soh’s other company, IGC which intends to assemble Geely cars in Malaysia, the government has only given approval to assemble 1.6 litre Geely cars here, but not models lower than 1.6 litre. Are we looking at a non-tariff barrier working in action to protect Proton?

Click here for a price comparison of the Chery QQ with other models in it’s class.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• geforce (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 3:39 am

hmm, consider good news also.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 4:17 am

izzit under proton badge or retails the cherry logo?

it could be good news,bt if thy r strugling to even sell 100 units..wer is the economy of scales??

• andyyap (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 4:17 am

so expensive lah , this price i can get Savvy or Satria Neo 1.3 ., and yet no airbag ABS , still need $42,888 , hei , only 1000cc too expensive lah .

• SamGan (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 4:17 am

52hp 75.5Nm? This sort of car shouldn't even be allowed on the highway. Malaysians are so deprived!

• andyyap (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 4:20 am

this car look like a toy car , AMT , savvy also got AMT as well , and yet is 1.2cc, this one QQ 1000cc $42,888 , mmmmmmmmmm! please lah , think about it , Savvy big like that , QQ also big like that , why pay more.

• DtG (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 4:46 am

100 sold already???? wow… never thought people would actually buy a car from a company which has the ambition of selling only 200 units by the year end… very risky…

• bmpower (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 4:48 am

paul.. do you really sure it's CHERY or CHEVVY?.. if i not mistake, i heard in Buletin Utama, it's Chevrolet. not chinese make Cherry. Sorry my pardon..

• kevyeoh (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 5:07 am

wah…for once…anytime i prefer savvy over this chery qq….hahaha…

RM42k is too expensive for this type of car la…should be priced around RM33k region…

• Paul Tan on Sep 28, 2006 at 5:24 am

bmpower: sorry forgot to add source article. added, refer to the edge daily news.

• KLLim85 (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 5:39 am

What has Proton becoming? An outsource centre to assemble china crap car?? What an embrassesment and humilation to our national car manufacturer. Mahathir wil be damn furious if it is going to happen. Btw, has Chevrolet settle the case with Cherry over Cherry QQ design?

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 5:53 am

Below are some relevant comment: –

http://www.carsurvey.org/viewcomments_review_9016…

What? the price of this car in Bolehland are RM 39,888 and RM 42,888? Like to end with "888" to entice Chinese buyers? WTF. This is not "fatt-fatt-fatt" to consumer, but "fat-fat-fat" to Alado!!!!!!!!!

So andyyap & kevyeoh, don't blame Chery QQ car,but the crappy NAP………..

Look at the: http://en.chinabroadcast.cn/855/2006/02/06/262@47…

"The quote of the day" are: –

"Small cars including the Cherry QQ, which were priced between 20,000 yuan (US$2,480) and 40,000 yuan, and the Gol by Shanghai Volkswagen were the most popular during the holiday, with sales surging 50 percent."

So if we translated into RM with conversion factor of 3.7, the selling price for this car in China is RM 9,176.00 to RM 18,352.00 Only.

• drM (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 5:55 am

this cherry may end up very good because many people will opt for smaller car..nontheless, then someday come up with 6-7 people sardined in that cherry and to make things worse, they end up in an accident..there..apa nak cakap?

• mystvearn (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 6:17 am

so proton makes use of its plant, so this means that all defective parts are thrown to this car?

• ingolstadt (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 6:27 am

Proton : " Built Tough, Desire has a new name bla bla bla" couldn't survive without protection. RRRUBBISH !

• mits27 (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 6:45 am

Too expensive for such a small car especially it is china car, it only has 52hp, I rather buy the 2007 new kancil, more confident toward perodua…

Not worth it!

• aesthari (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 7:10 am

RM43k for that piece of junk on wheels? Seriously I'd rather get a second-hand continental instead of buying the Chery. This car is so not worth the 42888 price tag it carries.

• geminas (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 7:35 am

ingolstadt said,

September 27, 2006 @ 10:27 pm

Proton : ” Built Tough, Desire has a new name bla bla bla” couldn’t survive without protection. RRRUBBISH !

————————————————————-

u drive proton?

• myNeo (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 7:56 am

a piece of junk that's so expensive…..i rather buy a proton instead…maybe a second hand chevy aveo… or a 2nd hand civic.

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 4:02 pm

//Only 100 units of the Chery QQ manual remains, out of the 200 stock that was brought in.// Why? Is it because all these unit has no AP given by Latok Rafidah or failed to meet JPJ minimum requirements. If not, who bought it? It is worth to buy?

• Tracks (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 4:20 pm

Personally, I think that the QQ looks not bad. It's over-priced to protect Perodua also not just Proton. The Proton Tanjung Malim Plant was destined to be a contract assembler long ago. Therefore the news regarding the TGM Plant assembling for other marque is of no surprise as it way under utilised at the moment.

aesthari said,

September 27, 2006 @ 11:10 pm

"RM43k for that piece of junk on wheels? Seriously I’d rather get a second-hand continental instead of buying the Chery. This car is so not worth the 42888 price tag it carries."

Hey friend, better check out the maintenance and spareparts cost first before even considering on buying a 2nd hand continental ride. The cost of maintenance and spareparts could be more that the monthly installment that you would be paying. I was looking for a 2nd continental car as well but aborted the idea after realizing that it cost a bomb to maintain and it's difficult in sourcing for spareparts.

• honda_driver (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 5:12 pm

i think its good news if chery assembles its cars using proton facilities. it helps them maximise the use of their excess capacity, and makes them more money anyways.

and some of you just dont seem to understand what contract assembly is. All the parts are supplied by chery, proton just puts it together. just like your tamiya kit car. and some extra info, all CKD bmw's are assembled in ford's plant in shah alam.

• motorhead (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 5:30 pm

I read from newpapers (BH) last month, 1 person who owns a Sutera.. he complained to NAZ#, about no spare parts to repair his car due to an accident, somewhere in pahang…

Well, i pity the guy, but he should take the blame oso, for not doing a research before purchase the damn car…

ps: Some people just don't know what is a car really about.. its not just something u drive….

• aesthari (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 9:20 pm

Tracks said,

September 28, 2006 @ 8:20 am

Hey friend, better check out the maintenance and spareparts cost first before even considering on buying a 2nd hand continental ride. The cost of maintenance and spareparts could be more that the monthly installment that you would be paying.

Haha, yea, i'm very well aware of that; all 5 cars in my home are continentals. The Ford is very reliable, only one major problem in all 8 years of service, the Benz kacau a bit, but it's normal for a 30 year+ car. The 2 Citroen Xantias are the most kacau ones; but I still love em. I've kinda grown to like continentals so I'd gladly pay the price for the ride hehe. I once crashed my Xantia over the divider twice in a row, and the only damage the car suffered was 2 broken rims and a damaged driveshaft, that's all, I shudder to think what might happen had I been in a Chinese car that day, the car would probably end up at the scraps after that, and me in the hospital :p. Continentals are costly, but you have peace of mind when it comes to safety in minor crashes.

• Jeffrey1977 (Member) on Sep 28, 2006 at 9:57 pm

Proton AMT – All Must Throw away ??? transmission.

Hehe, just joking.

• szw (Member) on Sep 29, 2006 at 1:22 am

finish lar…

• skywalker (Member) on Sep 29, 2006 at 4:24 pm

Proton has already had a bad reputation on the build quality of their own product and now they are assembling China's expensive junk in their plant. Hmm.. better think over and over again before you even think to own one.

• Whopper (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 3:38 am

"52hp 75.5Nm 0.8 liter Chery QQ AMT is priced at RM42,888"

Too expensive in my opinion for a small capacity engine vehicle.

• myjumpo (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 6:49 pm

I seen & had test-drive of d QQ-AMT oledi, not bad leh..

Powered by a EURO III compliant 0.8L 3-cylinder DOHC 12V engine with fuel injection system from Magneti Marreli Italy and ignition system from Bosch Germany, drive-by-wire for precise throttle respond.

Others standard accessories : Power Steering, Intelligent Power Window, Electric Door Mirrors, Air-Condition, Remote Control Window, Anti-Theft feature, Central Door Lock, FRT & RR Fog Lamp, FRT & RR Seat Belts, 60:40 Fordable Rear Seat, Rear Wiper, Keyless Entry, Side Skirt, Rear Spoiler and Alloy Wheels.

at least better than potong lah….

• julius on Feb 16, 2010 at 4:58 pm

This type of car is too expensive afterall its too dangerous on the highway along side trailer.

• This China car QQ 0.8 amt i have about it juz 3 years is coming is alot of problem.First the engine can stall anytime you drive it on the road.Second the gear got problem cannot go to third gear.I am very frunstrated.Now i convert normal plate to week-End plate.

• chrisonhue on Nov 13, 2012 at 3:43 pm

Hi,

my qq also like that. i think i dun wan AMT again. can i just change it to Manual. means that i want to modify it into fully manual gear. is it work? can you all tell me which workshop can do this?i always ask for the chery hq, they sais they cant do it. kindly tell me this.