2007 Toyota Yaris TS 1.8 Dual VVT-i

yarists1.jpg

Toyota has revaled the new flagship Toyota Yaris model called the Toyota Yaris TS at the 2006 Paris Motor Show. The new Toyota Yaris TS is powered by Toyota’s new flagship Dual VVT-i 1.8 litre engine which makes 130bhp at 6,000rpm and max torque of 173Nm at 4,400rpm, compared to the Yaris 1.5 litre‘s 109hp at 6,000rpm and 142Nm of torque at 4,200rpm. With the new Dual VVT-i engine, Valve timing is adjusted on both intake and exhaust valves. This engine is mated to a 5-speed manual gearbox. The little hatch goes from 0-100km/h in 9.3 seconds.

Other enhancements to the Toyota Yaris TS over the base model include suspension improvements – the front suspension has been reinforced, gains a thicker anti-roll bar and a linking rod has been introduced between the rear suspension members. The ride is also lowered by 8mm.

Other than ride height, further external differences include a new black mesh grille with a TS badge, darkened headlamps, a deeper bumper with integrated foglights, a new rear bumper with integrated exhaust tailpipes and fog lights, as well as new LED rear lamp clusters. Look from the side and you will see nice 17 inch alloy wheels that fill up the wheel arches as well as deep side skirts. There is also a roof spoiler for the rear.

Both three-door and five-door versions of the Toyota Yaris TS will be on sale from February 2007. More photos after the jump.

yarists2.jpg

yarists3.jpg

yarists4.jpg

yarists5.jpg

yarists6.jpg

yarists7.jpg

yarists8.jpg

yarists9.jpg

yarists10.jpg

yarists11.jpg

yarists12.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Whopper (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 3:31 am

Hmmm…1st to comment but got nothing to comment on the YARIS 1.8

• narrowband (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 4:08 am

This is nice. Very nice. But highly overpriced.

• sarawakguy (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 4:34 am

AAa……the car for the young & young at heart…..But to bring this one back to my place here……aaiiyoooo… sayang ooo….We "highlanders" here just have only our lips to bite over this one……

• BlueChaos (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 4:55 am

Now if only Honda respond and put a super engine on Jazz/City that can make it go 0-100 km/h in less than 10 seconds also… when?

• gowin (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 5:46 am

It nice to hear that from toyota. BUT it is unlikely coming to here. Even if this model with 1.8 dual vvti bring in and if build from thailand, the quality is very 'poor'. u can see if from the 1.5 g n s spec, not even worth that price!

compare to Honda Jazz!!!

• geforce (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 6:50 am

Basically, Honda Jazz and Toyota Yaris are over priced. Both of this car should be quoted at the range of RM50k. Thanks to government, our tax is more than 150%

• cyrixMX (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 7:18 am

1.8 dual vvti only 130bhp? i was expecting some 180 bhp like teg' DC5 region edi.

• joekwong1 (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 7:22 am

Tat's a great car…for those which dunno about toyota sure they'll said is not worth it…hv they own 1???or hv them driven toyota car's???hahaha

• DAN (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 7:34 am

the car was nice but is look to shot n to compact.

about this, the new dual vvti is way to good for there Toyota technology.

but prefer Auris more.

• king (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 8:02 am

what is there to brag about? even putra's 1.8L engine makes 140 bhp and can accelerate to 100km/h in about 8 seconds. and that was more than10 years ago's technology.

• Romaunt (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 8:13 am

king,

i kinda agree with you.. kinda sad to see big player come up with such offering.. i think it kinda confined in this region, take the new civic for example 155 bhp, 2.0 ivtec. US and europe got ivtec with 197 bhp. What is wrong here??

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 8:32 am

i tot Mugan Honda in Japan already have a super Jazz/Fit named Fit Dynamite, the engine is DC5 2.0 i-Vtec wif Six speed manual.. Anywayz Toyota is always want to made greener cars.. so less fuel comsuption = less hp = more torque..

Yaris is made for city driving not a sport car.. So dont think it is like a Celica.. If u want fast cars why not buy a Celica or MR-S..

• mystvearn (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 8:53 am

Nice design, though I hate how toyota and Nissan make center consoles. I like it to be at the steering not somewhere else where other people will nag me if I'm going to fast. BTW this is a fast car.Saving cost?

• armandd (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 8:53 am

the 1.8 vtec in the new civic makes 140bhp… a good 10hp more than this..

• whodz (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 9:20 am

confirm, this is my next car.

• cbljkkj (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 11:29 am

1.8 in this little Yaris?? This thing is gonna fly to heaven and back. Torque curve must be pretty impressive.

• xg9 (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 5:42 pm

agreed with narrowband… nice car, but highly overpriced… even the current yaris looks like a cheap car, but its not… sad to see its priced over 90

• Sleepyhollow (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 6:21 pm

YARIS is being market at the wrong market segment at 90K.

Price even higher than VIOS, no wonder the SA was complainting about poor sales for the YARIS.

Quality for YARIS is below-par for the price u've to fork out.

The materials used for the dashboard and the interior doors are very thin.

Definately, more cheapo compared to VIOS.

The material is thin that when u tumb on surface, u can feel the sinking in feeling.

Space allocation is fantastic for the mini-monster.

Probably NAZA will import a few units pricing it at 130-150k yo.

YARIS -a catchy car but the PRICE is WRONG.

market it at 65-70k, it will probably be all over town!

• mitlanevo (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 7:58 pm

Overpriced!!!!!!! But anyway, nice car….

• etw777 (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 8:48 pm

scorchin'! really like it. u make me wanna change car now. i think these guys shud stop making nice cars.

hmmph….

• szw (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 10:32 pm

shud be good power to weight ratio .

• redragon (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 10:41 pm

still prefer the first Yaris, so pure. I wanted that so much but wasn't available. Paid booking for this model ( not the 1.8) but cancelled after seeing the actual car. Toyota really have to work on the quality of its plasticky interior.

• fingercrack (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 11:42 pm

looks can be deceiving…its always about the price…the damn price….evrything around us…nowdays "mahalsial!!"…note this…once steps outside ur very own house…must got money in pocket..atleast 10bucks..,,youre not going anywer below than that….DAMN government!!..bullshit politics!

• raz_R (Member) on Sep 30, 2006 at 11:57 pm

even the current VVT-i engine found in altis/MR-s has better power than this NEW dual VVT-i engine =.="

whats with toyota i wonder

• motberg (Member) on Oct 01, 2006 at 12:05 am

of coz Yaris is over priced… but dun blame Toyota for it. It's the G that tax all these cars to protect P1. Unless miracle happen (very unlikely!) we will still continue to ENJOY overpriced cars until 2010 when AFTA kicks in. then again, who's to say the G wun come up with some other regulations just 2 protect P1? i wouldn't be surprised at all… in fact, i would be surprised if P1 didn't get any protection!!

so until tat day, let's just look at all the cool cars and drool…

• ingolstadt (Member) on Oct 01, 2006 at 1:03 am

Guys, when looking at performance, you should consider the power band as well. a 1300rpm-5000rpm 125hp is better than a 140hp/6800rpm (Satria GTi)

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Oct 01, 2006 at 2:28 am

motberg, be more optimistic, look at China, by 2010 they are able to produce 20 million cars (mainly by local-foreigner JV – Toyota, GM, VW, Hyundai, Honda, etc) and their market is expected to take 10 million. That means another 10 million to be exported to the world market. Do you think P1 say can produce 1 million car by 2010 at Tg Malim plant can export and compete with China. After 2010, if P1 still can't find partner, then I don't think G can face pressure and resist demand from foreign Gs to dismantle NAP. This is also because any extension of NAP beyond 2010 will affect and have adversel repercussion on our other products like palm oil, electronic components, etc that export to other country. They have a right under FTA to take counter measure similar to what NAP done.

Time is out for P1 and by 2010, the final nail on P1's coffin will be nailed and send to the grave.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Oct 01, 2006 at 2:43 am

noting great about the engine output…even the GTi gets very close to that with its old mitsu engine

• Jeffrey1977 (Member) on Oct 01, 2006 at 4:15 am

Not very impressive. Maybe remapping the ECU can produce more output.

Can ar?

• albagmane (Member) on Oct 01, 2006 at 6:07 am

well it has a nice look… love the improvement especially the lower ride and 17 inch rims… yummy! BUT…… the interior immediately turns me off… gosh… hate that center metre display!!!

• raybrig85 (Member) on Oct 01, 2006 at 6:13 am

performance wise…quite okla dis car…acceptable…dsg wise….not impressive but still ok…n notice the front grille like frm audi fam…4 me…i will go 4 swift rather than dis car…

• king (Member) on Oct 01, 2006 at 8:59 pm

ingy,

there is no such a thing as power band of constant power from 1500rpm to 5000rpm. can't say the same for torque though. Dual vvti is just over hyped and simply not impressive…..at least for this model.

• cutelittlekelisa (Member) on Oct 02, 2006 at 5:21 am

here come another NAP victim

• waimak (Member) on Oct 02, 2006 at 5:29 pm

BlueChaos said,

September 29, 2006 @ 8:55 pm

Now if only Honda respond and put a super engine on Jazz/City that can make it go 0-100 km/h in less than 10 seconds also… when?

————————————————————

Like the new look, the color. yeah, that's true BlueChaos, where is honda? Jazz is due in 2007.

• bobdbilder (Member) on Oct 02, 2006 at 11:30 pm

This is a gay car. A straight man would not be caught with his pants down in it. This is a continuation of Toyota's philosophy of minimal design change for maximum exposure, therefore minimal cost over an existing chasis. Uh and they would normally charge more than the 2005 Yaris which was much gayer than the Corolla Hatch. They would charge more for the Dual Cam Shafter thingy. Its not enough to shift your shaft on the intake but you need to modulate thine shaft during thine exhalation.

• u5 (Member) on Oct 09, 2006 at 12:46 am

ugly is an understatement … the right word should be fugly… this is toyota at its worst. the front looks like a tortoise or some mutated animal … and what a name …

• andyjyneo (Member) on Oct 16, 2006 at 11:48 am

to BlueChaos:

did you hear of Fit Dynamite?

you should do a search ;)

• Rus Scoffell on May 05, 2009 at 3:46 am

We all know that rear drum brakes became redundant in 1953 when D type Jags with 4 wheel discs wiped everything before them at Le Mans.

Therefore, why are manufacturers like Toyota perservering with rear drums.? God, even push bikes and ride on mowers have rear discs these days, so start looking after the well being of your potential buyers, Toyota

• Leo Pineda on Dec 20, 2009 at 2:49 pm

I have a 1.5 automatic Yaris and it can out run my Honda Civic 1.8S automatic. I own a lot of japanese cars and the Yaris is a nice car to own. I ordered the TS Body kit including the tail lights. The tail lights reminds me of the new Nissan GTR. My Yaris is what i use daily to go to work and the suspension, brakes and engine power is just right. You don't need a super fast car during rush hours.

• Yaris Driver on Feb 12, 2010 at 10:57 pm

Now driving my 3rd Yaris. Latest is the 1.8 TS.

Forget specs, they mean nothing on the tar. This little car is great fun. Its not built to be a hot hatch, just a fun filled hatch.

A very nice smooth ride and I've taken mine to 190KM/h and still stays smooth. Around the suburbs and bendy bits is where this comes to life with great handling.