Euromobil gets Volkswagen Shah Alam dealership

Euromobil has secured an exclusive Shah Alam dealership for Volkwagen cars, a deal that will expire in June 2008. Euromobil, an EON subsidiary, currently distributes Audi cars here in Malaysia, and with this new deal you can now see both the Audi A3 2.0 TFSI and the Volkswagen Golf GTI side by side in the same showroom.

Cars like the Polo, Cross Polo, new Golf, Golf GTI, new Beetle, Jetta, Passat, Touareg and Touran models will be on display at Euromobil’s Audi Hangar in Glenmerie.

Volkswagen previously announced a trio of dealers – Wearnes Automotive Sdn Bhd, More Cars Sdn Bhd and VM Cars Sdn Bhd. The Volkswagen cars to be sold here in Malaysia are CBU units fully imported from Europe, South Africa and Mexico. Local assembly is in the plans, but still at exploratory stages.

Volkswagen Malaysia appoints 3 dealers, sales to begin immediately
Volkswagen and EON close to dealership deal

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• SamGan (Member) on Oct 01, 2006 at 3:05 am

Exclusive dealership in Shah Alam? Does that have any meaning? A little weird don't you think?

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Oct 01, 2006 at 3:05 am

Too pricey the cars, and may have difficulties competing with other non-local cars apple to apple. Looking forward to CKD.

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Oct 01, 2006 at 3:07 am

SamGan, you beat me to the first comment, a 30% discount for any VW model is yr reward…ha ha ha

• Paul Tan on Oct 01, 2006 at 3:29 am

It probably means no one else can open another dealership in the area.

• mystvearn (Member) on Oct 01, 2006 at 3:59 am

hope they CKD this soon

• Jeffrey1977 (Member) on Oct 01, 2006 at 4:39 am

Any CBU from China? I heard they have plant there as well. Maybe can be cheaper by 30%.

Dunn mind if the plastic is lower grade. As long as is a VW.

• oranglulu (Member) on Oct 01, 2006 at 6:11 am

when DR.Porscle first design and set up volkswagon,in german means folkswagon,cheap and economical transport for all peoples,but sad to says in malaysia,due to high euro exchanges rates and our duty,taxes,it now call elitewagon,for the rich and famous only!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Oct 01, 2006 at 6:47 am

Exclusive at Shah Alam until 2008! Afterward, if no CKD units, then close shop …….

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Oct 01, 2006 at 7:19 am

You r right, Joe, check out the trims of the models they are bringing in and their prices. It's outlandish!!! A passat 2.0t at 228k? No doubt the features are excellent, but if you can afford 228k for a car, would u go for a Passat? A Jetta 1.6 at 165k? What do VW have in mind? Try to position VW in the luxury segment? Can't they bring in the lower trims?

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Oct 01, 2006 at 7:21 am

or best still, do CKD like Honda does here

• tishaban (Member) on Oct 01, 2006 at 2:22 pm

Those prices are crazy. FWIW, Auto Dunia used to charge RM160k+ for the Passat 1.8T and ~RM120k for the Jetta/Bora 1.6. How can they justify their new prices when compared to the equivalent Skodas?

Euromobil with VW should be going after the Citreons and Peugeots, not BMW and Merc.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Oct 01, 2006 at 8:23 pm

NeedGoodCar, Whatever model bring in and allowed by G to be imported and sell in Bolehland by VW, G will in one way or another use crappy NAP weapon to slaugther it and make sure it will price RM 90K and above. Honda Jazz and Toyota Yaris is good example!

Where in this world and which G put a conditions that for FDI to set up car assembly plant, the condition is they cannot assemble car 1.6L and below. This is clearly to be more precise protect AP King, Crocs, and certain individual in P1 (used or riding P1 as "vehicle") in keeping and continually suck and leeching the rakyat……… What NAP do is make P1 car expensive and make all foreign cars into "luxury segment".

These group of bunch in G try anyway and everyway possible to use any tactic in their possesion to ward off any onslaught of foregin competitors to keep them richer even at the expanse of rakyat become poorer. What in their mind is sucking RM $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$ from rakyat, rather than give incentive and nurture P1 to be world class player to conquer the world market to earn USD, GBP, Yen, Yuan, SD, Rupee, Rupiah, Won, etc to bring back to ennrich Bolehland and benefits the rakyat.

• chun (Member) on Oct 01, 2006 at 10:00 pm

AutoDunia used to sell their VW Beetle at RM199k, Bora at RM149k, and Passat at RM199k. So the prices that VWG is pricing most of their cars at is actually quite reasonable. Look at the Beetle at RM140k and GTI at RM198k. The RM230k for the Passat might seem a little high, but you are getting a lot of car for that money, especially when you compare with the base line models of BMW and Merc (320i and C180K. Plus the Passat is CBU, the others are CKD. IMHO, the VW has every right to be compared along the likes of the 3 series and C class. In terms of engineering and quality the Passat is right up there and even surpasses them in some respects.

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Oct 02, 2006 at 1:15 am

Chun, u r right that passat is no lesser than the bm and mers, but in today's world, it's the brand that people want, people r paying a premium for what they think should worth, it's the perceived value rather than the real value.

Joe, share yr view 100%, at the end of the day, it is the majority of people who suffer, p1 and its by-product, nap, r real @#$%^& (no word to describe how bad they r).

• SamGan (Member) on Oct 02, 2006 at 3:00 am

In our crazy, distorted market, I think VW prices are "reasonable" in the distorted sense of the word. I think Skoda prices are high considering the brand name. Audi's prices are cut throat. The Audi A3 which is a Golf GTI rebadge is RM255K compared to VW's GTI at RM198K. Is Audi's name worth that premium?

The Passat 2.0 TFSI is a much better car than the CKD entry level C180 or 320i which are underpowered, cut corners and uses shockingly cheap material to let you know that you're driving an entry level model. Those who can put aside the brand snobbery will reap the reward.

• notorpkcuf (Member) on Oct 02, 2006 at 4:06 am

SamGan, you're right. If anyone were to read up on foreign publications esp. European/German mags. You'd realise their view (I'm not saying it has to be true) is that the Passat is as good a car as the BMrs and Mercs.

To quote Clarkson.. (Jeremy not Kelly :p)

If u want safety get a Volvo

If u want reliability get a Volkswagen

If u have a small penis get a BMW

• sonia2chin (Member) on Oct 02, 2006 at 5:41 am

vw's challenge to the hi-end models of bmw and mercs is their model 'phaeton'.

• szw (Member) on Oct 02, 2006 at 6:16 am

faster open da showroom lar

• layman (Member) on Oct 02, 2006 at 6:19 am

Will, I can not afford a VW, so I feel the Japanese cars is as good as VW and Volvo.

• johanbey (Member) on Oct 02, 2006 at 6:35 am

this is totally out of topic, but for those who are keen to know.

UMW is lauching the upgraded avanza soon. basic info is 1.5 vvti (not the unit in vios). beige interior – leather seats, similar to innova. new chrome grill (v-shaped), headlamps, brakelight cluster, side steps, chrome door handles, full body kit, lowered overall height, new rims.

some of these facelifts will go into the 1.3 as well, but not the interior, expected to be out in the 13/10.

the not so secretive new camry will be out soon as well, either nov or jan 2007.

• honda_driver (Member) on Oct 02, 2006 at 4:29 pm

its not so easy to CKD a car as some of you here as asking.. you have setup an assembly line, meaning, getting the use of someones spare assembly capacity. then you need to train manpower, setup jigs… etc. etc. i'm no engineer, but i bet its going to be expensive… and with VW not even sure of selling a decent amount of cars, i don't see the point of them investing so much to CKD. If they can move their targetted amount of CBU cars in a year or so, then i'm sure their management will start to look seriously into CKD.

and joe.. pls lah.. you are really starting to sound like a parrot.. you think no one here knows the unfair taxes on imported cars and all the other dozen or so points that you mention EVERY single time ANY topic appears in the blog??

• tishaban (Member) on Oct 02, 2006 at 7:41 pm

OK on the pricing side, VAG places the VW cars lower in the scale (pricing and prestige) compared to their Audi brand. So the Passat should not be compared to the equivalent BMW or Merc, the Audi is the premium brand for VAG.

So in case anyone wants proof, check out the custom's gazetted CBU list. The Passat 2.0 is valued at RM56k, compared to the 407 at ~RM65k and the Audi A4 1.8T at RM103k. If taxes and profit margins are the same, then the Passat should be cheaper than the Peugeot 407 or the Audi A4 which as far as I can tell, it's not.

My only conclusion is Euromobil is gouging their potential customers.

• SamGan (Member) on Oct 03, 2006 at 6:00 am

Actually the customs gazetted price list has a lot of mistakes and contradictions in it. If you look carefully you'll find many of the prices doesn't make sense when compared against each other. It should not be taken as the authoritive guide to car prices. Also politics may have something to do with VW's prices being listed much lower than Wald.

BTW, VW prices in Msia are set by VW, not Euromobile or other dealers.

Nevertheless I think their markup is high and there is a lot of room for discounts and promotions. This will depend on demand. Good demand means prices will stay the same but poor demand may see substantial discounts as in the case of Alfa Romeo now.

• layman (Member) on Oct 03, 2006 at 6:22 am

notorpkcuf said,

October 1, 2006 @ 8:06 pm

SamGan, you’re right. If anyone were to read up on foreign publications esp. European/German mags. You’d realise their view (I’m not saying it has to be true) is that the Passat is as good a car as the BMrs and Mercs.

To quote Clarkson.. (Jeremy not Kelly :p)

If u want safety get a Volvo

If u want reliability get a Volkswagen

If u have a small penis get a BMW

————————————————————

The quote is meaningless!! He is only telling us that his girlfriend has been sleeping around with many BMW owners????

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Oct 03, 2006 at 6:53 am

there is no way based on custom’s gazetted CBU list the Passat 2.0 is valued at RM56k and cheaper than the Peugeot 407. Please check out the Passat 2.0T FSI VW is offering here, you can see the features fitted onto the car compared to 407. their local website is up and i checked the UK website, the passat 2.0T is very similar to that passat 2.0T SEL model in UK, which retailed at about 23k pounds.what a beauty the passat is. what a rip-off to the local people….luxury you can afford…is the tagline for passat in UK.

• honda_driver (Member) on Oct 03, 2006 at 5:58 pm

".luxury you can afford…is the tagline for passat in UK."

its also interesting to note, that in the early 80's, this is exactly the type of marketing strategy that Audi was using to challenge BMW and Mercedes in the export markets.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 5:36 am

SENARAI NILAI-NILAI KENDERAAN MOTOR YANG DIIMPORT

PASANG SIAP (CBU) (BARU) 2006 YANG DIWARTAKAN

Dikemaskini sehingga 28 Julai 2006 (535 model kenderaan)

1. VOLKSWAGEN Passat V6 2.0i Car, 1984cc, RM 59,044

2. PEUGEOT 407 Evente Car, 1997cc, RM 63,867

3. PEUGEOT 407 SR CF 2.0L Car, 1997 cc, RM 61,000

4. PEUGEOT 407 STSP 2.2E Car, 2230 cc, RM 74,093

5. PEUGEOT 407 Coupe PK 3.0E Car, 2946cc, RM 94,935

Click on for further info:

http://www.customs.gov.my/html/cbu2006warta.htm

honda_driver said, "and joe.. pls lah.. you are really starting to sound like a parrot.. you think no one here knows the unfair taxes on imported cars and all the other dozen or so points that you mention EVERY single time ANY topic appears in the blog??"

.. you think no one here knows the unfair taxes on imported cars can be related to sound like a parrot? Aiyoyo,…… You sound like the most "weirdest" I ever see in this blog! Come on friend, are you felt "upset" and "emotional interference" on my previous criticism on you related to issue on –=+ or something related to your statement on aeroplane …….. aiya cool down and relax, OK sorry lah if my criticism "upset" you! So, no parrot ah …. disagree with you!!!!!!

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 6:50 am

VOLKSWAGEN Passat V6 2.0i Car, 1984cc, RM 59,044??? Need to confirm if this is the current model, to me this is ridiculous, if this is true as stated, it can mean either or all of the following:

1. VW is really value for money as it is cheaper and many timew better than 407 in terms of features and it is a V6, V6? are we sure?

2. Those came up with the senarai harga really are without brain

3. Typo error

I do believe there will be new people reading this blog and I think it's OK we bring up the issue of unfair taxes once a while to create awareness as well as to kept us reminded, it's OK if u know but other people might not, just think it is a advertisement, to continue remind people of the unfair tax.

we must learn to accept other people's view and if you don agree, you may present your objections with valid reasons, nothing personal…

i am not sure if the senarai harga for passat V6, man, it's a V6, cheaper than 407, still very confused. can it be old model? i am too lazy to check the current passat v6 against 407 in uk just for comparison.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 8:02 am

Check on MSN Auto Section:-

http://autos.msn.com/research/vip/overview.aspx?y…

USA Base Retail Price (MSRP) $22,950 (Value Edition 2.0T)

Standard Engine: 2.0L 200 hp I4

Horse Power: 200 @ 5100 RPM

Torque: 207 @ 1800 RPM

USA Base Retail Price (MSRP) $23,900

Standard Engine: 2.0L 200 hp I4

Horse Power: 200 @ 5100 RPM

Torque: 207 @ 1800 RPM

Compare to the above, the price look "weird", but can't find Peugeot in US market. Any under declared? Last got one time hu hu ha ha about "under declared" price. Any one can confirm on this!

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 7:45 am

i check the UK website, there is no such model passat 2.0t V6, the V6 comes with higher cc, 3+litre.