2006 Paris Motor Show Gallery: Audi R8

Here are more photos of the Audi R8, straight from the 2006 Paris Motor Show, thanks to paultan.org correspondent Ben Corley. As with the previous post with details of the 2007 Audi R8, click each photo for an enlarged version. For all the photos, check out the full post after the jump.

This particular Audi R8 has the sideblade painted. There are 3 differnet colours options which vary for each of the 4 body colours.

The Audi R8, side profile, with an unpainted side section.

Audi R8, from a rear 3/4 section view.

Rear view, note the nice quad tailpipes integrated into the bumper.

Audi R8, from a rear 3/4 section view.

A skeleton view of the Audi R8, showing off the Audi Space Frame construction.

Notice how the suspension strut is mounted at the firewall, eliminating the need for special strut towers, which are conspicuously missing.

Engine is visible through a transparent glass engine cover.

Spokes of feathery spiderweb-like aluminium show off dinner-plate sized brake rotors and massive calipers.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• purity (Member) on Oct 02, 2006 at 11:11 am

OMG! I'm in love!

• tbcheese (Member) on Oct 02, 2006 at 11:18 am

Much better than the wedge shaped gallardo.

If you go to the R8 microsite here you can customise the colour
    http://microsites.audi.com/audir8/html/index.php?…

There are 4 colours with a selection of 3 trims for the sideblade.

• armandd (Member) on Oct 02, 2006 at 2:24 pm

nice! i wonder why they 'only' put a 420hp engine there…

• Zgriffin (Member) on Oct 02, 2006 at 4:42 pm

Cool space frame construction.

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Oct 02, 2006 at 6:01 pm

I'm not so sure about the car's proportions. It has a short front overhang and a long tail, which makes it look like a typical Le Mans car.

I don't like the front treatment, especially the black strips beneath the headlamps. But the headlamps itself is super. As is the rear of the car, which works much better than the front.

No interior photos?

BTW: who's Ben Corley? Is he a Mat Salleh? How did he get into the Paris Motor Show?

• narrowband (Member) on Oct 02, 2006 at 6:55 pm

I think the overhang is longer in front, isn't it?

This car is superb. I love it!!

Front and rear are nice, although rear reminds me of Murcielago sometimes but this is curvier.

Highlight in the exterior has got to be the sideblade. I thought the early pictures had them unpainted beause they were made out of fibreglass or something. Turns out otherwise.

Anyway, I'd rather have them unpainted (black). Or else it'll leave a gaping empty space between the door and the rear wheel.

• ckengyo (Member) on Oct 03, 2006 at 12:02 am

although this bucket seats already feature in audi rs4, vw r32, it should put in Gallardo as well cos the current 1 look not so fit in it. this 1 definitely look more racing feel. hopefully lambo can offer this seats as accessory 4 lambo upgrade. like i really can afford.

• tbcheese (Member) on Oct 03, 2006 at 12:15 am

The black strips underneath the headlights house the LED daytime running lights I believe.

• iosis (Member) on Oct 03, 2006 at 12:41 am

SatriaGuy said,

October 2, 2006 @ 10:01 am

’m not so sure about the car’s proportions. It has a short front overhang and a long tail, which makes it look like a typical Le Mans car.

______________________________________________________________________________

This R8 design is based on Le Mans Quattro Concept released in January 2005. That's the reason it resembles a Le Mans car.

• acbc (Member) on Oct 03, 2006 at 1:29 am

Damn garang!

• Jiun 88 (Member) on Oct 03, 2006 at 1:55 am

Great car… Fast car… Livable car?? mayb…

Still i dont fancy the designs to this car.

=P

(NSX replacement… where art thou…)

• happymeal (Member) on Oct 03, 2006 at 3:23 am

nice cut out to show the ASF frame… when gallardo was launched, they just showed the entire chassis, rather than a beatiful cross section like this…

they also negrlected pictures of the lovely 4200cc 8250rpm V8….

• mystvearn (Member) on Oct 03, 2006 at 3:43 am

The light looks like the current civic, the rear looks exactly like the lambo which this car is based on…

• szw (Member) on Oct 03, 2006 at 5:07 am

i like da half r8, hehe !

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Oct 03, 2006 at 6:14 am

I still think nothing beats the next Lotus Esprit! Watch out for it

• topgunthang (Member) on Oct 03, 2006 at 10:10 am

the esprit is 5 years late. i wont expect much from the esprit. they'll just do thier normal weight shaving scheme.

would be interesting to see how this performs against the 911 carrera. its gonna be a good matchup. the porsches managed to beat just about everybody in thier class except for the f430.

they had the design way back when the film irobot came out. and it looks superb. except for the sideshot….esp those air intake side covers that you can change the colors.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Oct 03, 2006 at 3:35 pm

dis car main rival is porsche 911….agree wit iosis…dis car is base on le mans quattro concept….btw satriaguy…by d time esprit goes out….we'll c replacement 4 f430 and mbe others which will make esprit the car we dunno it exist…:)…dun expect much frm esprit…

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Oct 03, 2006 at 6:30 pm

Cut-out cars take a lot of effort, time, manpower, money, etc. to do. Audi did a good job for the show!

• DarkL1ghT (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 1:29 am

looking it part by part it is really an awesome looking car. however, as a whole the car doesnt really mesh well for me