Subaru says turbodiesel boxer nearly complete

small_diesel_boxer.jpgSubaru Europe President Hiroyuki Ikeda announced at the 2006 Paris Motor Show that the upcoming horizontally opposed 4-cylinder turbodiesel engine by Subaru is almost complete, with development at final stages now.

Subaru’s gasoline boxer won the top spot for the 2.5 litre category in this year’s International Engine of the Year Awards, and the new turbodiesel boxer will be the first oil burning boxer in the world.

The new turbodiesel boxer engine by Subaru is expected to be unveiled at the 2007 Geneva Motor Show.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mystvearn (Member) on Oct 03, 2006 at 10:49 pm

how many mpg will this use…?

• msmar_453 (Member) on Oct 03, 2006 at 10:54 pm

Diesel for future, more umphh!!

Hydroxene? cannot comment yet..

• geforce (Member) on Oct 03, 2006 at 10:55 pm

I think compare to petrol turbo, the diesel turbo will generate more torque but lower Bhp.

• motorhead (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 12:13 am

"..horizontally opposed 4-cylinder.." somebody told me this boxter engine has its own weakness.. can't leave idle for long period, the engine can wear out so easily & makan minyak hitam… subaru owners.. can verify this?

• Hikaru (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 1:03 am

I wonder how can service a boxer engine in Malaysia? Any subaru owners?

• Hikaru (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 1:04 am

Sorry I mean can anyone service a boxer engine in Malaysia.

• honda_driver (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 1:11 am

there are easily more than thousand subarus running around in malaysia. from early 80's models to version 2 WRX all the way to the current version 9 WRX, and other models, ie. forrester..etc. Subaru's are very reliable, in terms of day to day running. The engine technology surrounding these engines are not very complicated either, and can be serviced and rebuilt like any other engines. There are many people who can do the job. If in doubt, you could always bring the car to be serviced at the official subaru importers.

if you're just talking boxer engines, original VW beetles and porshe 9xx's use boxer engines as well.

• I my (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 1:25 am

Look forward to this new turbodiesel engine…it should hv better torque then the EJ20. BTW will Subaru used this engine in the WRC??

• szw (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 2:14 am

new diesel impreza.

shud be better then da petrol variant

• Jeffrey1977 (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 2:58 am

Yahooo….. Another engine suitable for our minyak sawit……

• aesthari (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 6:58 am

Cool, I love turbodiesels! Even Lamborghini and Subaru are into turbodiesels now, guess it's really the future for automobiles.

• motorhead (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 7:43 pm

thx for the info honda driver.. but my fren explaination was something like this…" subaru boxter punya pistons suma baring.. jadi sebab graviti itu piston dan block bahagian bwh cepat makan punya.. piston ring belah bawah cepat haus.. subaru x bagus idle lama2… tapi boxter engine power sbb graviti piston utk naik tak ada…." like that la.. he explain in BM.. & I think his explaination make sense oso.. but that's why I asked any subaru owners to verify… & maybe that's why most of the engines nowdays still vertical or slide a bit ( V engines).. and only subaru's horizontally… maybe its own trademark & for power advantage….

• kumagai (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 4:33 am

As a Forester owner, I feel compelled to register and inform the uninformed on the old wife's tales of boxer engines.

No, the piston rings on the bottom of the pistons do not wear out just because the engine is left idling for long periods. Think about it for a while. If that were the case, the engine revving at a constant 2500rpm on the highway would wear out even faster. DUH! BTW, there'd also be more engine oil on the bottom of the pistons for lubrication because of gravity :)

Have you seen any 4-pot V-engines before? They're mostly for 6 cylinders and above. Subaru only goes up to a boxer 6 on the Tribeca and Legacy. No 8-cylinder boxers. Not even Porche. I reckon its something to do with the natural frequency/vibration of the layout.

Motorhead, your friend needs to read up a 'little' bit more. Opposing pistons are more balanced than Vee and Inline engines. Its got nothing to do with the pistons going up against gravity.

I dont know about consuming engine oil, I havent had that problem. Any car if revved hard will consume a bit of oil. Drive it like you would a daily car, and a Subaru will last you a lifetime. My Forester is already 9-yrs old, it still takes corners like its on rails and it'll do 200kph on the highway.

Cheers

• motorhead (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 5:18 pm

kumagai,

Oh… finally i met with a subaru owner.. thx for da info.. yeah, i will tell ur story to my fren… u know la… not easy to find a subaru fren oso… & actually i am an admirer of subaru wrx, …look so cool.. price so cool oso… i am relief to hear ur side of story….

• intermilan (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 6:22 am

one of my collegue dump his honda accord (old version) for an older forrester after a non-commital test drive.

i asked him why subaru. he reply.. the driving experience is sooo different than his honda. luckily its a forrester, so 'home minister' find it hard to argue. lucky him. get it quite cheap pulak tu.

• MyBoy (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 8:20 pm

Paul,

Any power and torque figure (and graph) ?