2007 Honda Civic Type R Sedan Concept

typersedan1.jpg

The Honda Civic Type R will not be restricted to just the European market – we will be seeing a 4-door sedan version of the Type R this time! Honda has announced a prototype Honda Civic Type R based on the 4-door sedan model that will be used as the official car (red flag car) for the Japanese Formula 1 grand prix.

The prototype is expected to finish development and be released in Spring 2007, in the Japanese market. The Honda Civic Type R sedan will have a specially tuned sport suspension and will feature the legendary K20 i-VTEC high-revving engine, over 220PS.

Honda seems to have noticed a demand for cars that are somewhat practical (4 doors!) and can also go at a comfortable pace, this began with the introduction of the American market Honda Civic Si Sedan Concept at the Chicago Motor Show.

typersedan2.jpg

typersedan3.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• exodust (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 2:24 pm

Wow, looks great! Altho I'm not really interested in the four door tho, so is there a 2door coupe or 3door hatch version? If not, then its a good thing I havent bought myself a Mugen Civic. :P Was really interested in their Civic Dominator concept.

Btw, 1st comment! xD

• raybrig85 (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 3:19 pm

nice…gt type r sedan…btw…im still prefer the european version…gorgeous…kinda bored with our civic version…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 4:07 pm

Paul, what is the top speed for this car?

• honda_driver (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 4:45 pm

in a way, this reminds me of BMW's attempt with the 4door sedan E36 M3 in the 90's.

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 5:29 pm

Will this monster hit our road here??? Please bring in some, Honda Malaysia..

• raz_R (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 5:41 pm

this thing looks integra-ish

so now some people's dream came true

couple of weeks ago i saw a civic 1.8(the beige interior is easy to identified) with the back spoiler and also the type-R badge xD

• motorhead (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 5:47 pm

Told ya.. 4 doors car is more practical.. Honda has learned it oredi…. btw, i always admire the look of the new civic… look very broad & handsome.. but patriotic contribution is too much…

• narrowband (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 6:28 pm

The Civic is such a beauty.

But how come the new CRV and Stream have some bold, radical design pulak?

By the way, what's a red flag car?/

• ckengyo (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 6:45 pm

well, it just reinstate the long absent of SIR. after ek series, dohc vtec have vanish from civic range. i think most of the civic fans can feel that the es series is the car that less attractive n powerless. a big contradict from honda racing image. cos even other series sir didnt introduce here but they still can look 4 half cut here. es series never launch any powerfull model & civic selling so bad that it have 2 facelift 3 time during it life span. isnt it obvious. i read from car magazine from HK stated that new civic is not doing well in japan either cos a nissan sylphy if not wrong is selling better especially 2.0 model. so is practical 2 launch a type r sedan, then sir. but base on current sentiment in malaysia how many can afford a civic more then 110K when the ek & eg was less then 100k.

• honda_driver (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 7:09 pm

if ever they launch this type R sedan civic to the public, i can imagine the car ending up here in CBU form, for more than RM200,000 easily.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 7:21 pm

Bet you it won't be introduced to Malaysia, ever. Not officially in any case.

Honda has killed off the Prelude, the NSX and the Integra. The only sport models left are the Civic Coupe, the 3DR Civic Type R and now the 4DR Sedan Civic Type R.

Don't hope on seeing any in Malaysia soon.

• cbljkkj (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 9:04 pm

Very nice concept. Sporty yet practical. Something a racer boy's wife would say yes to. For the young at heart.

Would be very interesting to see a new Accord R/Euro R. Love that car, looks so nice. The Asian Accord model isnt very nice looking IMHO, too conventional.

• yientau (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 10:05 pm

I wonder how much would this cost. I still prefer the BMW's backlight instead of this. Anyway, it's the Power Of Dreams~!!

• Driven2020 (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 10:21 pm

But still dun have double wishbone suspension :(

• aesthari (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 10:23 pm

Another car you can drive to the market and racetrack hehe. More and more cars are being designed for style, performance and practicality nowadays, just look at the RX-8. Way to go Honda!

• Ricc (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 10:45 pm

I'd say the sideskirt kinda sucks..

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 10:50 pm

In that case, I wanna to be a policeman with only one conditions…….I can drive The Honda Civic Type R F.O.C (Free Of Charge) around the town everyday! Ha…ha…ha…..cheers!

Watch out you guys! Don't ever let me see you speeding at any places……I will catch YOU for sure.

• citroenhan (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 11:00 pm

Wow.. I fell in love wif this civic!!! The white paint suits this modification!

• Xoomie (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 11:27 pm

The official car, eh? The Japas obviously don't mean the official pace car because F1 cars would overheat if they were forced to move at that Type R pace…

• Paul Tan on Oct 04, 2006 at 11:29 pm

It's being used as the red flag car. I think a safety/pace car is the yellow flag car.

• Xoomie (Member) on Oct 04, 2006 at 11:35 pm

Anyway, here's the specs

Civic Type R Prototype (4-door) Specifications

Engine: 2.0L DOHC i-VTEC

Output: Over 220PS

Dimensions (L x W x H): 4,540 x 1,1771 x 1,425mm

• Jeffrey1977 (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 2:21 am

I am sure it will be the most targeted car by thief. At least some may take it for a joy ride or even scraped for their parts.

My friend's Civic 2.0 i-VTEC was hijack at a petrol station.

• armandd (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 2:55 am

jeffrey, sorry to hear that. when & where did it happen?

• happymeal (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 3:05 am

i think all the safety vehicles used at FIA F1 races are mercedes benz, even the medical car…. well at least when it involves the F1 race.

support races u can use your own stuff.

nice mix of colours…. but never a fan of the g8 civic design theme.

• transformer (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 4:02 am

Dear, Paul

Its seems you had A LOT of fans here!

Have you ever considered to test drive and make a comparison on

Civic 1.8 vs Altis 1.8 vs Sentra 1.8 ?

– On Drivability

– On Highspeed Stability (150-180Km/h)

– On Pickup

– On Braking

– On Fuel Consumptions

– On NVH

Thank you,

• szw (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 4:57 am

dis coming in to m'sia ?

• drM (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 5:07 am

this type R 4 door is a bit modulo-yish..but I am not complaining – with 220hp on the wheel.. droolll….bring it on, Honda! Ada berani? cheerrrs!

• AmiR (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 7:05 am

cooool….everything in this car rock except rear lamp…i dont know y i dont like it….

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 8:09 am

Honda CiviC MuGen Coming SooN!!!….

• sloth (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 1:58 pm

AmiR said,

October 4, 2006 @ 11:05 pm

cooool….everything in this car rock except rear lamp…i dont know y i dont like it….

————————————————————–

I think they should replace it with either the DC5 or current JDM/Euro Accord rear lamp

ps1: Anybody now the price of brand new grey imported JDM Accord (2.0 one, not the Euro-R..)?

ps2: Will they bring this in officially? Gonna start saving now, maybe by 2020 I can afford one..

ps3: Yeah.. the current Euro/US Civic look better..

• superman (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 4:27 pm

The US Civic, JDM and the one in Our Country are the same.

Euro Civic has a diffferent front. Lights, Grille etc

• mynnDAWG (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 8:28 pm

bet wthere will be TONES and LOADS of type R wannabes with the new gen Civic…pity sigh man!..pity sigh!

• It's me! (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 9:57 pm

Paul,isn't all the official F1 safety cars supplied by mercedes?Like AMG SLK and AMG CLK?

• Romaunt (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 10:52 pm

one sweet ride.. drool

i bet a million bucks that this car will never hit our shores… CBU will cost a bomb..

dream on guyss….

• kimikim (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 1:17 am

rear light really spoilt the image… using LED-like, hmmm

• transformer (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 4:02 am

Recently a fren(a matured petrol head) camed back from Japan quote that he felt the sound insulation of Bolehland Civic is different from JDM's. He is an owner of the 2.0. In his stay in Japan, he dirve his company car which is also Civic. So he can comment and justify on his quote.

I feel that due to NAP/ED the price already high, manufacturer had to make their cars sell with a acceptable price bracket and their final resort is to costdown on their material… this is where thier profit comes from…

• Paul Tan on Oct 06, 2006 at 4:54 am

transformer: of course i've considered it, but where am i going to get toyota or nissan test drive cars?

• KingKong (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 6:47 am

should come out with 4WD Civic to rival Evo/Impreza

• albagmane (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 4:50 am

i prefer this version of Type R rather than the european one… looks more sporty and clean… btw, i notice whether its a carbon fibre spoiler on the car… looks very cool…!!! the taste… kinda similar to the Japanese version of Integra Type R… HONDA oways makes brilliant tunes to all its car models… wonderful! i think this car will give a huge competition against the evo and impreza… hmm.. looks like it has fallen into one of my dream cars list now besides the R34 Z-Tune… nice nice!!!

• happymeal (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 5:03 am

can always count on NAZA… if a limited edition 1 in 50 units maserati MC12 can make it in malaysia, what is a civic to naza???? they even imported the cooler EP3 few years back.

rm200k …alot of rich kids can fork it out…. but when its in this bracket.. u will start thinking..shits.. u can get an STi with that money…. 4wd , 280bhp… u wont look at a civic anymore… thats y we dont see many integras around compared to rexs n evos

• happymeal (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 7:18 am

just to clear the air… mercedes power for F1!!!! woohoo!!! a civic… u gotta be joking…. even the JGTC SC is some high end car…
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hGT1AHyP3YE

• topgunthang (Member) on Oct 08, 2006 at 3:12 am

this model is gonna create alot of interest.

happymeal. the big dilemma, get an integra typeR or typeS or pay a few k's more to get a wrx or just add 10k more for sti or evo. now its a bit different, coz of the gti and many would opt for the golf gti over the wrx.

now the civic has taken the integra's spot. and i expect an integra model to go more upclass.

however with the price about the same now, just wait for the evoX. if it remains at its current price.

• winnie (Member) on Nov 15, 2006 at 1:15 am

You know, the first thing that struck me when I saw the pic was…

… Ultraman. Strange I know, but kinda reminded me of the sort of cars they used to drive around in. Very futuristic. Nice…

• Dwight (Member) on Dec 14, 2006 at 1:19 pm

This is my dream car. Honda please bring it to North America for the '08 model year! 220hp stock for a 2.0L NA FF sport compact = wow!

• AcuraVtec (Member) on Jan 27, 2007 at 10:04 am

I see a hensem fast looking, fast go, but not fast enaugh to stand among others RM2++..coz i bet the price will b tht high..

I need 2 agree with some fellows here about the price…makes the turbo-powered+4w+>270hp+Ssqv psssiinggg!!!!+rally specs/// a better choice.

Only if u wannabe seen as one of a kind.

Its jst..u feel sucks when some cheapers sometimes old, eat u on the road for a brakefast..awful huh. Rm2++k….sape nak jawap.

So, just 4get about to race ur dream hensem t-R. U jst wnt 2 own it for a control macho drive alike..

I owned a pimped '89prelude 2.2cc/200hp Vtec.spoon & a black humble '97civic 1.6cc/250hp Vtec-turbo. Those r cool rides u knw. No ccm. Now i'm waiting for my WISH, is the time to have a family ride. STREAM/no beauty. 2 Hondas/1 Toyota la. Vtec kicks the VVTi's ass anyway.

Accord Coupe 2.4Vtec-Turbo edition..even cooler thn this civic t.R, but the price is also became a highlight everywhre..u can afford a beautiful BMW Z4 with it..which is among th lagendary icon.

As an addition, the Civic Mugen based on the 155bhp 2.0 civic priced at RM141,800. Available only in a Neutron Blue and lightweight 17" Mugen GP dark rims.

• Protejah on Nov 30, 2009 at 6:59 am

I saw a gold 4 door Type R in Jamaica.. that's my dream car now so please Honda bring the JDM spec to Canada.