2007 Daihatsu Move launched

newmove1.jpg

Daihatsu launched the all-new Daihatsu Move yesterday, which is based on a new chassis and comes equipped with a new KF-VE 660cc engine from the Topaz range. The new KF-VE engine makes 58 horsepower at 7,200rpm, and 65Nm of torque at 4,000rpm. You can either opt for a 5-speed manual, a 4-speed automatic or a CVT gearbox and either a 2WD or 4WD drivetrain – these varies with the trim level.

The new Daihatsu Move RS is powered by the KF-DET, a turbocharged version of the new Topaz KF series engine, this boosts power up to 63 horses, which is only a meagre 5 horsepower more than the KF-VE, but it kicks in at a lower speed – 6,000rpm. Torque is up by a large margin and at a lower engine speed – 103Nm at 3,000rpm.

The new Move’s styling cues reminds me alot of the Mitsubishi Colt. Not sure if this will come to our local shores as a Kenari replacement, but Daihatsu are K-car specialists – they really know how to maximize the little space you have to play with considering K-car dimensions – so you can expect this new Daihatsu Move to offer amazing interior space in relative to it’s exterior outlook!

More photos including interior shots after the jump.

newmove2.jpg

newmove3.jpg

newmove4.jpg

newmove6.jpg

newmove5.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• armandd (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 2:04 pm

wahh, there's so much rear legroom!

• acbc (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 2:42 pm

Nice… but could do with a better engine… current Kenari is running on 1000cc already.

• jtshin (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 3:27 pm

well.. nice Move there.. I like it…

acbc.. original Move always runs on 660s… I think Kenari uses 1000s to suit Malaysians' taste… they might think 660 for a Kenari is small… well… just my 2 cents.. hehe..

• gmtgoh (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 3:30 pm

this car if launch Mal i m sure i 1st one to buy it!

• J (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 3:38 pm

Wow ! How long Kenari will take to get it replaced by this ? :)

• dragonslayer (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 3:50 pm

the front looks like miniature Merc A class. the front seats have no gap between them, can seat 3 lah…..

• skywalker (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 4:04 pm

Realised there's no gap at the front seat where most models used to place the gear knob. We'll see most Malaysian parent will tend to placed their kids in the middle and for most of us to squeeze in as many people as we can. An ideal 4 adults passenger car migh turn to 10 passengers minivan but with this feature, its a gift for a young couple ;-)

• Tracks (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 4:25 pm

Agree with 'dragonslayer" that the front looks like a Merc A class. As for the front bench seats, japs love them probably because it could be folded flat for what ever purposes. As for the small capacity engine, K-cars in japan need to have an engine with less than 700cc to qualify in that category.

• motorhead (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 5:09 pm

huh.. ok la.. spacious!!… its a economy car.. a practical car… not a performance car.. so suit with the cost rising situation now…

• edperdana (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 5:12 pm

Yup ditto with Dragonslayer and Tracks ..the facade looks like MB A-class..packaging looks fantastic..would be also great if this makes it as the Kenari's replacement..the model they are testing now..the Charade[Kelisa/Kancil] replacement model looks decidely mundane compared to this model..hope the designers at perodua can make it more curvy instead of so slab faced.

• KY (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 5:36 pm

looks like a super mini avanza

• whodz (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 5:41 pm

wow, it has turbocharge?It really is an efficient engine. BTW, I like the design of no 'small bumper' in the leg area of the back seat .

• kimikim (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 5:50 pm

wow, these people really pro in maximising the interior la. Nice overall design, come la P2 – bring this one in. Its sell volume, if not better, may be on par with myvi ;)

• Kaboda (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 5:51 pm

Does anyone know what POS stands for ?

Piece of Shit !

I think a hungry animal could run faster than the turbocharged version of this car.

• MyBoy (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 5:51 pm

The turbo charged version churn out pretty good torque.

Paul,

Any fuel consumsion figure for NA 2wd/4wd vs Turbo 2wd/4wd version? Do they have 2wd/4wd CVT Turbo vesion?

• cyder300 (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 5:54 pm

I this the next replacement model for the kanari/kelisa? Looks like almost the same from previous spy pix on the replacement model. Further, hav infor that the replacement model is from the daihatsu model….another winner no doubt. Cheers!

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 6:13 pm

Quite amazing if you ask me….

Wonder where they managed to sqeeze the fuel tank? Completely flat floor. Even the last marvel of pakaging Honda managed to get the fuel tank of the City and Jazz under the front seat.

• labuan_world (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 6:16 pm

ya loo. seems like merc….a class…how about safety spec ? ….i think this car is really suit for urban move…

• indigo (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 6:16 pm

Move is considered Kei-Car in Japan, ofcouse it has a 660cc engine.

• Phisto (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 6:17 pm

Have anyone noticed the gearstick is dash-mounted? Nice!! More legroom for front passengers. P2 has another potential P1 killer on hand…

• lowprofile (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 6:17 pm

Ooh!! The front bench seats have LOTS of interesting uses!! ;)

• MyBoy (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 6:27 pm

lowprofile,

Yeah, flat front seats……Me too think of the same thing ;)

• osh_kosh (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 6:29 pm

hmm… interior looks roomier 4 its class.. but i hate the back.. still look like kenari.. hate it..

• osh_kosh (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 6:33 pm

my boy… do u think what i think u think?? keskes….

• MyBoy (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 6:33 pm

osh_kosh,

The turbo version got the maximun torque comming as low as 3000rpm. Good for small car like this.

• Whopper (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 6:34 pm

Like what Paul said, it looks like a miniture version of the Mitsubishi Colt. The dashboard looks similiar to the found in the Citroen C8 and Peugoet 807

• Xoomie (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 6:39 pm

cyber300, at 1st glance it does resembles the kancil/Kelisa replacement that Paul posted sometime ago. But if u look closely it's not. This Move is much taller & narrow than the Mira (Kancil/Kelisa replacement).

Interior wise (look & space), Move is much much better than the Mira.

Anyway, that's just my another 2 cents

• MyBoy (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 6:43 pm

"Xoomie,

This Move is much taller & narrow than the Mira (Kancil/Kelisa replacement)."

I dont think its narrower than Kancil replacement. Think about this, if you increase the height of the Kancing replacement, it too will look narrower. Its a matter of proportion.

• sooaun (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 7:04 pm

hmm… i don't quite like the look… reminds me of the rusa… but the interior is definitely good…

• osh_kosh (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 7:05 pm

My Boy…

look like u r interested in this vic.. bro.. get a bigger car loh.. your frame moreless the same with me ma.. jgn jadi gorila dlm kotak kasut la.. haha

• MyBoy (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 7:07 pm

osh_kosh,

Its just for a "pergi pasar" car la bro. Takkan wanna balik kampung using this car. Sure enjing mati half way doe to overweight passenger. ;)

• MyBoy (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 7:16 pm

"sooaun said,

hmm… i don’t quite like the look… reminds me of the rusa… but the interior is definitely good…"

_

Nowhere near the rusa IMHO.

• osh_kosh (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 7:23 pm

My Boy…

bro better get a kelisa coz u r living in KL ma.. if banjir kilat u can sure 'swim'.. but if P2 actually produced this vic someday better hope they name it some kind of fish.. hahaha.. PErodua Keli? SEpat? or Puyu??

anyway.. overall this car look good, performance so so lah.. except the back.. hate it

• the koi (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 7:27 pm

wah! cant wait for perodua to launch it here…1000cc will be a sure hit.. where can call to make booking?

• geforce (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 7:43 pm

if this comes with 1000cc, twin cam, dvvt for sure it will rock!!!

• MyBoy (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 8:04 pm

"geforce said,

if this comes with 1000cc, twin cam, dvvt for sure it will rock!!!"

_

The turbo version has more than enough torque.

• engtaokia (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 8:27 pm

this looks nice! remind me of MB A-Class styling cues.

but i hate the back looks…

• cbljkkj (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 8:48 pm

The bench seats are back. Woo hoo!. L9 fans must be waiting to take this bad boy apart.

• lowprofile (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 9:07 pm

Guys/Gals,

Here's a link to the Move RS site within daihatsu.co.jp. Its the hotter version of the move. have fun looking.

http://www.daihatsu.co.jp/showroom/lineup/move_cu…

• lowprofile (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 9:12 pm

Use right click of your mouse to 'translate this page into English' and search for the left side panel and click 'grade price' (last box). When your cursor moves over the Japanese words, they will be translated into English.

For other Daihatsu models, look for the top bar and click 'car line-up' under the title 'online showroom'. Have fun.

• aesthari (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 9:29 pm

Wow, very different from the last Move, and I'd say it resembles a Mitsubishi Colt on the front too! I like the front seats and dashboard of the car, the dashboard looks like those you get with higher end models instead of a K-car.

• narrowband (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 9:51 pm

Wow very teh practical.kthxbai.

• bobdbilder (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 9:54 pm

hoookay

What's the Euro NCAP stars on this thing?

• lowprofile (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 10:03 pm

Looks like a squashed mitsubishi colt. Other interesting models are the COO (something like a smaller Toyota Bb), Sonica, Copen (mini Audi TT) and Mira Gino (mini clone). They've got cool accessories too. Don't think P2 will bring in these cool cars though. They also have their own Camry version called Altis!!

What will probably make it here next year is the Be-Go as the new Kembara. Can only wish.

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 10:22 pm

Did u ever stop to compare the current 1000cc engine with the new engine Daihatsu is offering? The current Kenari runs at 54bhp with 88.3Nm where else the non-turbo version runs at 58bhp with 65Nm but of course the 1000cc wins by torque measurement because of its higher cc capacity but if u take a look at the turbo version of it running at 63bhp with 103Nm, it only makes sense that even the 660cc without turbo can hold its own against the current 1000cc. U should take a look at Mit's new gen 660cc engines. They run harder than Daihatsu's new 660cc.

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 11:27 pm

Can't the Japs think of a new way to design these box cars? Man, the design is so familiar it's getting boring.

I prefer Mitsubishi's version of a typical Japanese townbox, the 'I' (stupid name, but nice car).

• Charger (Member) on Oct 06, 2006 at 11:49 pm

Those that can't afford an A-Class, can consider this. Looks just like a sandwich structure.

Slap in CVT, FC gonna be unbeatable. If they improve the NVH, this is gonna be a good buy!

• geforce (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 1:35 am

MyBoy said,

"The turbo version has more than enough torque.

Do u think Perodua will bring in turbo version? Hell no..that is why I say the engine spec comes with dvvt will be rock. I also know that the turbo version has more than enough torque. I ain't noob. =)

• andyyap (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 2:03 am

Nice , it is 2007 year new kancil ? 660cc , too bad , i think they will make the same like this for new kancil . right paultan ?

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 2:04 am

Let Perodua bring in replacement for Kelisa/Kancil, Kembara, etc and introduce sedan so that to increase it market share in Malaysia to as high as 65% + Toyota 17% + Other 8% and left at most 10% to P1 by 2008. By 2010, P1 take over by other and /or become contract assembler. Every consumers be happy……..

• neurra (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 2:04 am

the front reminds me of alphard.. miniaturized alphard

• raybrig85 (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 2:09 am

looks good…best of luck

• MyBoy (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 2:19 am

"geforce said,

Do u think Perodua will bring in turbo version? Hell no..that is why I say the engine spec comes with dvvt will be rock. I also know that the turbo version has more than enough torque. I ain’t noob. =)"

_

Since when i am talking about the Perodua? I am talking about Daihatsu Move, mr "I ain’t noob" ;)

• little_momo (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 2:23 am

nice, but copy mitsubishi – i

• transformer (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 4:18 am

there lots more K cars of you check on those japs maker website… Suzuki have, Nissan have too…

looks like a lot of "Legroom" but i think the seats r tiny… those seat cushion is too short…

• geforce (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 4:26 am

"MyBoy said,

Since when i am talking about the Perodua? I am talking about Daihatsu Move, mr “I ain’t noob” ;)

Haha..trying to tease me ya? All right, all right. anyway, Daihatsu move is getting more stylish and practical. Nice car.

• szw (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 4:57 am

yucks…

ppl nowadays donno how to make cars…

what a kamikazi move

lousy car

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 5:15 am

This MOVE in Jpn is actually KENARI in Malaysia model. Maybe it will be the replacement model of it.

The current KENARI is already bad looking, now this one even worst. Can't find a better word for it. :(

Anyway its look ULGY like a beast! Looks like Mitsubishi Colt and i compress version. The Head lamps looks too big and unmatch with it. Mmm…..Who did the styling for this model?

Somemore with a Center Meter IP looks bad! Looks bad at any angle at any time.

• lowprofile (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 5:28 pm

Try looking at the Move RS picture in the daihatsu site i posted and you may change your mind about the looks.

• MyBoy (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 6:38 pm

Here is the link for the RS picture. Is has a more good looking front end, read end, steering and good dashboard colour tone.

http://img89.imageshack.us/img89/5557/01an9.jpg http://img177.imageshack.us/img177/7799/02hc8.jpg http://img177.imageshack.us/img177/149/03mx0.jpg http://img95.imageshack.us/img95/6176/04sa2.jpg

• mitlanevo (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 8:56 pm

Nice!!! Very nice design and spacious interior, love this car!!!

• sarawakguy (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 11:05 pm

if this one is to be the next KENARI,boy oo boy…!!! U can see these cuties zooming all over big towns here in Swak…

• wes (Member) on Oct 08, 2006 at 3:52 am

great and little car.hope our perodua can take and resemble sell at our country in reasoble prcie.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Oct 08, 2006 at 6:32 am

hope it will b well and acceptable in our country…nice ma…d dsg look really better than current one…

• albert_gwm (Member) on Oct 08, 2006 at 6:02 pm

Love at first sight…But isn't the design quite same to Mitsubishi Colt?

• u5 (Member) on Oct 09, 2006 at 1:00 am

typical small car design.. what so special? the front does look a lil like merc A class..