2007 Toyota Camry CBU launched in Malaysia

newcamry1.jpg

As previous shots have indicated, the new 2007 Toyota Camry has been due on our local shores for quite some time now, and today UMW Toyota Motor Sdn Bhd has finally launched it, the 4th generation Toyota Camry. And this time, unlike it’s previous 3 incarnations, it is a fully imported CBU model from Thailand. Toyota has decided to take advantage of AFTA rates and import Camrys from Thailand instead of assembling them here, as part of it’s production rationalisation plan for the ASEAN market.

We’ve actually had a hint that the new Camry will be a CBU, previously spyshots have been available of the new Camry in port holding areas, now why would a fully built up Toyota Camry be sitting in a port if it were not fully imported from overseas?

More details and photos after the jump.

newcamry2.jpg

The new Toyota Camry is available in three versions – the low end Toyota Camry 2.0E priced at RM139,066, the Toyota Camry 2.0G at RM149,053 and the high end 2.4V going for RM168,303. This is a slight increase over the current prices where the 2.0E, and the 2.4V goes for RM134,700, and RM161,300 respectively. The 2.0G is a new addition to the Camry range, a higher spec version compared to the Camry 2.0E.

Looking at the Thai specs list, which is likely not too be too different from the one we’re going to get here, the 2.0 litre model gets a small power bump from 142 horsepower at 5,600rpm to 145 horsepower at 6,000rpm, but peak torque remains the same at 190Nm @ 4,000rpm. The new 2.0 litre model’s gearbox is a Super ECT 4-speed, similiar to the one in the previous one, with the same ratios as well so it must be the same unit.

As for the 2.4 litre model, power is now 165 horsepower at 6,000rpm, up from the previous range’s 150 horsepower at 5,600rpm. Torque is up from 218Nm between 3,800rpm to 4,200rpm – it’s now 224Nm at 4,000rpm. The 2.4 litre model has a new gearbox, instead of the previous 4-speed Super-ECT, the new 2.4 litre Camry gets a 5-speed automatic gearbox with Sequential Shift. 2 of the gears are overdrive gears, for better fuel economy during highway cruising.

There is a 3.5 litre V6 version overseas, but it doesn’t look like it will be introduced here any time due to unfavorable market conditions. So the Camry has no competitor to go against the small volume Honda Accord 3.0 V6 for the moment. UMW targets to sell 500 units of the new fully imported 2007 Toyota Camry a month.

newcamry3.jpg

newcamry4.jpg

newcamry5.jpg

newcamry7.jpg

newcamry8.jpg

newcamry9.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Isamu (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 6:43 am

Looks good.. How will Honda reply??

• stanleyshyeoh (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 6:48 am

It does looks good on the screens so far. I can't wait to judge it on the road. I hope it looks better in person :)

• sportcar (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 6:53 am

The price is reasonable.

• maxtek (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 6:54 am

Nice move Toyota… Making Lexus designs go on Toyota is really smart…

I like the rear design of this car though… It looks like Lexus GS… Is the satnav a standard feature too Paul?

• Paul Tan on Oct 07, 2006 at 6:57 am

To be honest, I don't know anything about this car other than the price. Was not invited for the launch, so this is the best I can do for you guys.

• albagmane (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 7:01 am

hmm… the new camry… lots of thing i don like… the name 'camry' makes me think of one drug group (if im not wrong) in malaysia… then the very old man exterior look… may suit for those old executives… lastly… i hate the wooden interior! gosh… though its CBU from the thai, i prefer an accord than this old man car…

• infinity (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 7:08 am

looks more aggresive than the 3rd generation model..the interior not "umphhh"enough..heheh..

• offroader manix (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 7:08 am

Wah price looks good too.

Still on Accord ? Sometimes, it's a new technology you are buying and not just styling.

For sure….there's supporters for each branding. Just taste.

• malaysiakeepdreaming (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 7:21 am

ah pek car

• chenyl (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 7:23 am

the rear look like bmw 3 or 5 series

• happymeal (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 7:26 am

looks awesome. at least this old man car has some real distinctive design cues. meter cluster looks darn cheesy though… watst the blue inserts for??? rear lamps definitely look more stunning than the 8g civic…. not to mention the accord.

if only new corrolla looked like this…

to each individual has his own taste…. :) old man car it maybe, its definitely a stunning camry. asians love wood insert, so we cant run away from that.. unless u got the moo-lah to get some faux carbon inserts …

at least the wood inserts here are appropriately placed.. unlike the city and vios…

• freeze (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 7:59 am

nice, rear aircond, start/stop button.

But dashboard area doesnt look modern enough

• aesthari (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 8:05 am

Now this is a nice car, much better than the 3rd Gen Camry, really, I've always thought that even the 2nd gen looked better than the clumsy 3rd gen. I think the rear looks similar to that of the current Honda Accord before it was facelifted.

• fookeatmin1989 (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 8:32 am

frankly speaking…it's really for those pensioner or resigned old people….

sigh…

• i'm run (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 8:35 am

Wow… that is one nice dashboard. Maybe some people who just bought the Facelift Honda Accord will regret when they see this.

• MyBoy (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 8:38 am

"Paul Tan said,

To be honest, I don’t know anything about this car other than the price. Was not invited for the launch, so this is the best I can do for you guys."

_

Why in the hell they dont invite you? Im sure paultan.org has the same if not more readership than NST-CBT.

• Paul Tan on Oct 07, 2006 at 8:40 am

MyBoy: I don't think so, CBT is in a newspaper lah, circulation is crazy high, internet sites cannot fight yet, since our internet penetration is not that great.

But then again, CBT's circulation is high, but from all the hundreds of thousands of newspapers that are sold, how many of them read the CBT section is a different story, that is not really able to be accurately measured.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 8:41 am

Congratulations to Toyota for launching 4th Generation Camry in our market CBU from Thailand, but no thank to our crappy NAP that make it unaffordable to even middle income group.

Toyota Motor Corporation is Japanese most respected world-class automobile manufacturer, second place only after General Motor in term of sales volume. Toyota offers full range of models from small car to large heavy vehicles. At global level, its vehicles are market in 140 countries under Toyota, Lexus, Daihatsu and Hino.

It’s extensive research lead to numerous innovation inclusive IMV platforms. IMV is abbreviation for Innovative Multipurpose Vehicle. IMV system enables Toyota to produce 3 models with one platform, e.g. Innova, Fortuner and Hilux. Toyota created this platform in order to come out with safer, cost competitive products to compete with especially low cost Korean carmakers and in response to produce people mover vehicles to replace dated models.

Look at Toyota, this world-class cars manufacturer are the trendsetter, innovative and continuous improvement in their products, which fascinated and become an iconic in their respective class, e.g. Lexus luxury cars. These entire endeavors achieved through their technological innovation by ultra modern advance Research and Development (R & D) facilities.

Toyota Motor Corporation (TMC) is the world 2nd largest automaker and expected to be no. 1 in the foreseeable future. Its products are well known for reliability and quality. It’s Chairman, Hiroshi Okuda’s message is “Toyota will realize sustainable growth while contributing to the development of the automobile industry worldwide guided by an overriding belief in the value of competition and cooperation”, whilst its President counterpart, Katsuaki Watanabe’s message is “We will step up growth through further innovation inspired by the Toyota Way tradition”. Both top management messages are very clear and laud, Toyota future survival is by sustainable growth on global scale is base on competition, cooperation and continuous innovation. This is so call a truly world class companies built up it business from strong footing, that is sustainable development of society and the environment.

They do not depend on Japanese government policy for growth, but rather base on competition, cooperation and innovation of products by response swiftly to market-driven forces, and of course built up customer loyalty. Toyota philosophy toward this market-driven industry is “Customer First” and tradition of forefront R & D culture creates innovative, safe and excellent products and services that enhance the quality of life around the world. Toyota continuously pursuing the “GLOBGAL BEST and LOCAL BEST” including won many quality awards on its wide range of products. Toyota is relentlessly in pursuit of technological innovations, which encompass aspects such as environmental friendly vehicles (hybrid Prius), reliable safety technologies and adoption of Integrated Transport System (ITS) technology to “increasing vehicle functionality” and “enhancing transport systems”.

In its Special Reports, Toyota IMV project is a new approach for production of vehicles at global scale in response to 21st century customer needs. It is to optimize manufacturing facilities and supply chain outside Japan but scatter around the world. The aim is to develop one chassis for few models to enable it to offer more attractive and affordable vehicles simultaneously to satisfy market demand worldwide. Other endeavor carry out by Toyota is training facility known as Global Production Center (GPC) by conducting benchmarking exercise to train mid-level plant managers in best practices.

Overall, Toyota is the envy of the automotive world. Their future mighty strategic growth is by utilizing every fiber of their ability to meet the customer needs at global scale through avant-garde innovation and best products! More information:
    http://www.toyota.co.jp/en/index_company.html

Toyota perspective on “global best” and “local best” are best described as producing cars for “world market” and “regional market” taken into consideration that may included but not necessary limited to specific geographical location, social-economic background of consumers, Purchasing Power Parity (PPP) and customer’s expectation in relation to price and quality.

“Global best” generally have best quality and safety features in it class and available in any part of the world where the Toyota vehicles are being sold. On the other hand, “local best” are certain products design for specific market, depend on the auto sector of that particular regions. If ASEAN and other developing regions, Toyota normally will come out with basic entry yet economical vehicles whilst developed market like USA, Toyota will market high end or luxury cars. This is to capture the market not covered by “global best” products.

Example of Toyotas’ “global best” products for world market are: –

– Aygo, Yaris, Corolla, Camry, Celica, Estima, MR2, Prius, RAV4, Land Cruiser/Prado, Hiace, Hilux, Wish, Ventury, Crown, etc.

Example of Toyotas’ “local best” products for specific market are: –

a) “Basic entry and economic vehicles – ASEAN regions: Vios, Avanza, Innova, Fortuner, etc.

b) “Luxury or high end vehicles – USA: Camry Solara, Avalon, FJ Cruiser, Highlander, 4Runner, Sequoia, Sienna, Tacoma, Tundra, etc. EU: Previa, Avensis, Verso, Amazon, Dyna, etc.

So, FAQs in this and previous posting are (below is just constitutes my “consumer’s” opinion on Toyota): –

Q1. Does Toyota/UMW take advantage of making huge profits in its initial launched of Vios or any other model(s)?

A1. The answer is solidly NO. There was “uncertainty” as to what final price to be approved by crappy NAP prior to launch a new model. Toyota/UMW in no way intended to sell at price higher than NAP allowed as the price approved by G is already “skyrocket”!

Q2. Does Toyota try “cut corner”, “strip down” versions, manipulate and/or force customers to buy their products to maximize profits when they start selling cars like Avanza or Vios that are categorized under “Local Best” in Malaysian market?

A2. The answer is still solidly NO NO. This is because “Toyota philosophy toward this protective market as well as other market-driven industry is “Customer First” and tradition of forefront R & D culture creates innovative, safe and excellent products and services that enhance the quality of life around the world”. So they are not provides minimum, but “more than adequate” if not the best quality in its class!

Q3. Why they sell “low end” Avanza or Vios in our market?

A3. This is “local best” products cater to our ASEAN region for low end market. This is basically to cater to “poor and ugly” group “created” by NAP that make them can’t afford Corolla, Camry or other models that price above RM 90K. In USA, their “local best” is Avalon which is better built quality specs than Camry to cater to “Mr. Average” in American open market!

Q4. Does Toyota make high end or luxury cars and sell it in Malaysia?

A4. Yes – car like Alphard or under Lexus brand are consider as high end cars. For Camry, basically it is mid sedan car design to capture “middle income group”. In Malaysia, it shall cater to RM 70 to RM 100K. But crappy NAP make it prices become “super luxury car” to middle income group in Malaysia! Really NAP make more than 90% of buyers become damn “poor soul” car consumers.

Sorry, a little bit out of topic!

• BlueChaos (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 8:43 am

The design is really good. When Honda is starting to make questionable and laughable designs, Toyota have upped the ante by making better designed cars. Just look at the rear design and compare it to the ugly New Civic and New Accord. I hate the taillamps design on both cars so much!

But with this, Toyota showed us how cars should be designed. Now if only they will offer this Camry with a sportier, black interior… (beige-wood is not my style).

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 9:41 am

Theres no sat-nav in the car, and come to think of it, only the 7-series has such a system albeit a limited range type.

I'm just glad that a lot of Lexus came out in the new Camry and less of Toyota-ness, which was in the old car.

Looked better in the flesh and very spacious and well-made inside

• king (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 10:30 am

what a confused car…..trying to be sporty and old fashioned at the same time. wood and beige combo ain't sporty and doesn't match the dashboard and engine start button feature.

but still a mega improvement on the exterior styling over the fugly elephant-butt camry. recent elephant-butt owners will really regret this…..

• ingolstadt (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 11:31 am

IMO, it loooks awkward because this Camry exists to differentiate itself to the 'ORIGINAL' Camry, a thing Toyota starts doing since the last version. I dunno why the hell this move is there but it seems pointless. But overall,as a mid sized exec sedan, it looked approapriate. Not like the 5 series….. stupid flame surface.

• MyBoy (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 1:35 pm

"Paul Tan said,

MyBoy: I don’t think so, CBT is in a newspaper lah, circulation is crazy high, internet sites cannot fight yet, since our internet penetration is not that great.

But then again, CBT’s circulation is high, but from all the hundreds of thousands of newspapers that are sold, how many of them read the CBT section is a different story, that is not really able to be accurately measured."

_

I agree with you Paul. However we can be sure that at least 99% of the people that come here want to read your raves&rants on the automotive industry. In the NST however, we cant we sure of the number, can we?

PS: NST readership/circulation has been on the downturn lately.

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 5:35 pm

solely based on pics, an improvement over the previous model in terms of design, but still tails behind accord.

Assembled in tongyamland? looks like p1 and its incentious sibling, the nap, is slowly chasing worthy FDI away.

At 160k, this gives me another alternatives, but i hold on to my hard earned money now bcos i don want to make patriotic contribution. I am waiting for the lower trim version of passat, if not, i will keep my money for now.

• motorhead (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 5:52 pm

"the low end Toyota Camry 2.0E priced at RM139,066, the Toyota Camry 2.0G at RM149,053 and the high end 2.4V going for RM168,303. This is a slight increase over the current prices where the 2.0E, and the 2.4V goes for RM134,700, and RM161,300 respectively."

Huh.. with CBU taxes they still can offer this price!!.. kira murahlah ni.. just imagine, minus 125% each models.. but i feel the last camry pun baru lagi, sudah keluar model baru lagi!! syoklah.. but syok tengok sajalah.. anyway just go forwardlah toyota sama juga dgn honda.. u two like twin brothers (tapi muka tak sama), mana2 beli pun ok… VVTI memang cool… memang best!!

ps: UMWT, PLEASE BUILT MORE TOYOTA SERVICE CENTRE!!.. TOO MANY TOYOTAS ON MSIAN ROAD ALREADY…

• Whopper (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 6:00 pm

Joe Ooi…you work for Toyota izzit ;-)

I would say that the Accord's dashboard is much more modern looking than the new Camry. Exterior wise, the Camry has a slightlier more edgy look to it.

If I had RM150000 to splash, I'd still go for the Accord 2.4

• MyBoy (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 6:00 pm

"motorhead said,

but i feel the last camry pun baru lagi, sudah keluar model baru lagi!! syoklah.."

_

The last Camry is OLD. The one that they currently sell is just a minor facelift version of the 2001/2 Camry. To me, this new Camry is right on time.

• motorhead (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 6:09 pm

NeedGoodCar,

How long u can wait?? until BN lose power??.. the gov r so comfortable with the policy oredi, in anyway even without NAP, I am sure we still need to pay the patriotic contribution (in another way)… but theres a chance to see the situation improve with the pressure from outside & the other auto companies.. but by that time cost will increase (so with the interest rate).. & at the end the price of the cars r just the same as today, but after 5-10years of waiting… is it worth??.. but this is my thought only.. it could be wrong.. but just think the possibilities.. bcoz i think like u do too before…. i grabbed the vios good offer, minus – low interest rate, cash discount, 55% NCB from my kancil, good FC, good trade in value, theres no much cost difference if i buy waja.. so u too can wait another good offer from honda, toyota or others & just grab the opportunity…. or u can just wait….

• narrowband (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 6:29 pm

LMAO@"Patriotic Contribution".

I think the Engine Start/Stop button is a real nifty feature. If only the engine produces an orgasmic grunt during each Star press.

• narrowband (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 6:30 pm

During each start press I mean.

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 6:31 pm

i have seen 407, mazda6, accord 2.4, skoda octavia, haven't seen this new camry and the passat (way too expensive for me at 228k, out of my budget) but would still prefer accord 2.4, everytime when i think of the patriotic contribution, my urge just die down, those @#$% doesn't deserve a single sen from me…i guess i just wait…just drive slowly and carefully with the p1 i have now…can't expect too much from it…everytime i read this blog, p1 and its incestuous (sorry wrong spelling in the previous comment) sibling nap, will come to my mind, i don like talk politics, sorry, it's far more filthy…

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 6:39 pm

actually, i have seen 407, mazda6, skoda octavia, accord 2.4 and looking forward to the passat 2.0 (but vw bring in the top version one which sells for 228k, out of my budget), will need to take a look at this new camry, but everytime i think of the patriotic contribution, my urge just die down, those @#$%^& don deserve a sinle sen from me. i guess i may just wait, what i do now is to drive slowly and carefully, can't expect too much from the p1 that i have now…everytime come to this blog, remind me of p1 and its incestouos sibling nap, we r deprived of having a decent car, but to look at it negatively, i think i didn't earn enuf.

• albert_gwm (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 7:11 pm

The 2007 Toyota Camry looks more macho than current one!

• Gallardo1988 (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 7:14 pm

Has anyone noticed how absurd the aircond control thingy for the left and right is? Its in the picture with the gear lever.. the dials for the aircond thing are sooo minute! Really looks like some afterthought thing.. Meter clusters look nice though.. SPICY.. If compared to the Accord.. ofcourse this car would have the upper hand.. the Accord is afterall.. 3 years old already? But even so, its design still holds some ground i guess.. And there was a comment bout how rear lights for the civic are ugly by some bloke named BlueChaos.. well, i beg to differ. I think they are bold and striking. =). In terms of overall designs.. toyota and honda have their share of peculiarness.. when it comes to the vios and city i guess.. Move a step higher to the civic and altis.. Civic looks better.. inside and the outside.. Toyota's interiors somehow feel abit bland. Expected something real cool in the latest installment of the camry but somehow it doesnt really stand out. Overall design.. i say kudos to toyota. Hope this camry's rear doesnt stick out like the previous one. (Could see the exhaust piping or wateva u call it.. made things look ugly for some reason)

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 7:22 pm

If you can bring in Thai Camrys at prices so competitive to Honda's Melaka-built Accord, what's the point of having CKD factories?

• MyBoy (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 7:24 pm

"maibatsu_thunder said,

If you can bring in Thai Camrys at prices so competitive to Honda’s Melaka-built Accord, what’s the point of having CKD factories?"

_

To provide job for local people lo!

• MyBoy (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 7:26 pm

I dont like the placement of its gear lever. Might touch your knee in some cases. ;)

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 7:35 pm

Whopper said, "Joe Ooi…you work for Toyota izzit"

I am neither work for nor supporter of Toyota. But Toyota is respectable world class organization barring any unforeseen circumstances like isolated case on the "unethical" action(s) by its distributors. Given an opportunity, if I want to "re-incarnate" my career, Toyota is the best organization to joint and work for!

For this Camry model, I do agree with NeedGoodCar that even basically can afford it but hold back the decision to buy because of don't want to pay that crappy NAP tax that make the AP King, crocs become bigger, fatter and richer.

My opinion for this car is the design cue is "contemporary mid sedan saloon for family". For sure, every new model by Toyota, there always the case that it is definitely an improvement from their predessor. However, this is mass produce car definitely is a craze among consumer. In US, this model is the best selling sedan car with over 400K units sold in 2005. In our country it is also the best selling car in it class. Respect is due where it is deserve. Good product from the best car manufacturer.

• weili (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 8:12 pm

Congrat! to Toyota Japan and local UMW Toyota for bringing in the new version of Toyota esp. the new facelift Avanza and the Camry…Hopefully thay will bring in more "hot version" such as the Caldina ,new Corolla sport and also the Harrier to our local market.I had been a big fan of Toyota…..

• exodust (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 8:35 pm

@BlueChaos: Design is a matter of preference, just because you do not like the look of the New Civic and the facelifted Accord does not mean they are laughable designs. Majority of people have shown positive feedback towards them, which is more than what I've seen for this Camry. I agree with most professional comments out there that have said its a car that cant decide what it wants to look like, because its trying to look both sporty and luxurious simultanaeously but just ends up looking screwed.

Don't get me wrong, its a beautiful car. But the front end and the taillights just dont fit well with the car's overall design. That's my opinion and at least it's constructive. As for your sense of style, woodgrain trim is considered a thing of luxury. So if you prefer a sportier (kiddier) then maybe you shouldnt be callin Honad's designs "laughable"

• exodust (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 8:37 pm

sorry, typos in my last sentence

Corrections: So if you prefer a sportier (kiddier) look then maybe you shouldnt be calling Honda’s designs “laughable”

• mitlanevo (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 9:02 pm

Headache!!! Which is better? The Camry or Accord???

• stanleyshyeoh (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 9:36 pm

exodust: " … sportier (kiddier) look … ”

That's a funny way of putting it. But I like it.

• motberg (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 9:40 pm

hey Paul, got a question for you. I am confused. Staying in JB we get to see the latest cars before anyone else in the country haha. anyway, the Camry driven by our singapore neighbours looks different. it looks like the Australian version. so which versio is Msia getting? is it the same car but with diff treatment on lights front and back?

On another note, I find it funny that some ppl tend to compare apple with oranges after reading their views. Some will say "it's not sporty enough" or "why use wood panelling?". Come on get real here guys – Camry is not a sports model targetted at the young man. It's all a matter of target market. Some say it's old man car, well, the truth is you maybe you are young man! :) young guys want speed, flashy bits. old men want luxury, prestige, etc.

Toyota didn't get so big by guessing their way to success. These guys know what they are doing and no matter what u or i say, at the end of the day, this Camry will be a success.

• DtG (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 10:00 pm

hmmm…. paint it black and it might do well as a mafia car….

• mantoyo (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 10:09 pm

v. nice… but i will wait for next Altis

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 10:34 pm

I have seen 407, mazda6, skoda Octavia, accord 2.4, c5 and was looking forward to the passat 2.0 but disappointed to learn that vw bring in the high version one that selling for 228k which is out of my budget, I guess I will wait a bit longer and just drive slowly and carefully with my p1 which I can’t expect too much from, till now, accord 2.4 is still my best choice, but whenever I think of p1 and its incestuous sibling, nap, my urge to change car dies down bcos I don wish to make patriotic contribution, those @#$%^ aint deserve a single sen from me. Motherhead, I do salute u for making the contribution, ha ha ha, I can wait. Off topic a bit, look at all this from a negative angle, I think I fail to earn enough to get the car I want.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 10:36 pm

motberg, 100% agreed with you. It is the target segment of the market by Toyota! "One size doesn't fit all", but Camry size make it a huge success!

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 10:41 pm

thousand apologies, pc got problem, when submitting comment, did not seem to work, sorry for that folks….

• samn (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 11:28 pm

I drive 2005 Altis 1.8G..I really love the VVTi engine…I used to be a serious fan of Civic and Accord till I decided to buy this model to replace my Waja…you see I've been driving Saga, Wira & Waja…then I had enough of Proton so I went for serious test drives for Honda & Toyota…yes there is always stiff comparison and competition between this 2 brands…I love Honda style and Toyota responsive and strong engine…when come to decision I chose Toyota coz' I like it's engine characters and performances which is more important that style…

it's not a perfect world…otherwise we can form a company and hire Honda Design Engineers and Toyota Engine Development Engineers than we definitely have a winning car.

Another note why Altis 1.8…coz' I can't afford for Camry 2.4…Camry 2.0 was too sluggish for my taste…I do suspect that the new Camry 2.0 will have the same fate…Toyota must sell this displacement to capture the market shares due to its lower and affordable prices to the 2.0 mass market…2.4 won't see much sales due to its higher prices…only if the excise duty is lower down by assemblying 2.4 in Malaysia…I bet a lot of consumers will go for 2.4 but of course if the oil price is cheaper…if only….

• szw (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 11:41 pm

da american n australia edition looks better.

got body kit 4 it d

• raybrig85 (Member) on Oct 08, 2006 at 12:31 am

wait 4 the replacement model 4 current accord

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Oct 08, 2006 at 1:01 am

The new Camry may look better (at least to me) than the current Accord, has more space (especially at the back) but the Accord feels more like a Continental car. It rides smoothly and the engine is hush.

The old Camry is not only badly proportioned but also has a cheap-looking interior (that means one that simply looks like a bigger version of an Altis's interior) which cannot give you the feeling of luxury.

The new one's better but the bright coloured cabin doesn't speak 'expensive'. it should've had a more darker tone

• accordmania (Member) on Oct 08, 2006 at 1:23 am

camry is still belongs to to 40 and above buyers in terms of looks and perception in malaysia market. camry is for those who kiasu and for those who want big and always use size as judgement to others… am i right???mmm….Pls give comments on my opinion…everyone.. Thanks

• accordmania (Member) on Oct 08, 2006 at 1:30 am

just look at its leather seat colour and design….urgrrr..like old classic ,antique cars. pls look at its dashboard from its colours to its lay-out…aiyoyo.. only old man can appreciate it lah. the rims!!!!!hai yah… huh…no taste punya engineer or designer..for its boby…too fat and clumsy!

• DAN (Member) on Oct 08, 2006 at 2:00 am

yes. even it look a bit old classic way , but it much more in practically product to introduce whit there technology n gadget to offer .

• topgunthang (Member) on Oct 08, 2006 at 2:57 am

the accord will still have the upper hand. accord euro as well even though its smaller but better quality product and fully imported from japan. even so, being a toyota, the camry will definitely trounce the accord and similar cars in its category in terms of sales even though on paper and in test drives it shouldnt win.

the black camry sportivo model looks good. seen alot of the basic ones and top models on the road already.

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Oct 08, 2006 at 3:58 am

Hey, I guess this time Honda Accord is really facing competition from Toyota. I will choose this Camry rather then Accord now. Good styling!

• offroader manix (Member) on Oct 08, 2006 at 4:47 am

LOL :) Funny, Toyota Camry like people said it is a Ah Pek car. Most Ah Pek are either executive and bosses sure……….different target market.

Honda is totally different market and each of them have strong supporter.

Regardless of design, I still think Toyota is the most reliable car in terms of reliability and low failure rate. It's suspension is one of the best in terms of comfort and Honda vice versa.

Toyota VS Honda is the same with Mercedes and BMW……….

AH PEK/OLDER EXECUTIVE VS STYLISH YOUNG EXECUTIVE

• azzareal (Member) on Oct 08, 2006 at 4:55 am

Reading the new Autocar Asean edition, the Camry looks impressive. However, one constant complain I have often encountered has been that the car floats on moderate to high speed corners. Hopefully that has been addressed in the new model. Autocar indicated that the steering has been tighten – maybe to allow better control.

It has been also disappointing that Toyota having relaunch the new 1.5 Avanza has gotten new info on their website, but the information on the new CBU Camry is still not available on the www.toyota.com.my web site.

Looks like we've all got to keep on counting on reliable paultan.org to give us the latest updates.

• offroader manix (Member) on Oct 08, 2006 at 5:50 am

http://camry.toyota.com.tw/

• mystvearn (Member) on Oct 08, 2006 at 7:03 am

Looks like toyota needs to improve the design in order to win die hard accord fans. Looks like the Azera to me.

• alamak (Member) on Oct 08, 2006 at 7:36 am

Toyota only has 300 AP for CAMRY CBU. They bring CBU in, but sell at CKD price (lose money).

Why?

Because they have no new offerings against their competitor. Look at previous paul tan post. Toyota isn't going to meet their sales target. They need something for people to say the Toyota name on their lips.

To wait for CKD to be ready and launch will be too late… Desperate… so launch CBU Camry at CKD pricing (marketing gimmick) and give car lovers something to talk about, something to see, to touch and to book (for future release of CKD).

my 2 cents.

ps. btw, nice car…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Oct 08, 2006 at 7:37 am

accordmania said,"camry is still belongs to to 40 and above buyers in terms of looks and perception in malaysia market. camry is for those who kiasu and for those who want big and always use size as judgement to others… am i right???mmm…."

The above perceptions perhaps come from Accord fans like you or it is possible the market at large have similar view. However, just to quote from http://www.edmunds.com/insideline/do/Features/art…

"From a styling perspective, the Camry was of the…ummm, utilitarian school of design. Not ugly but not something that turned heads, either. It was functional, however, with slim roof pillars and plenty of glass area that provided great outward visibility."

The above webpage give a good comment on Camry including very informative on the historical background since the first generation.

According to Wikipedia, "The Camry is consistently ranked as one of the most popular vehicles in the North American market. It is Toyota's "bread-and-butter" vehicle, so its marketing and sales strategy is cautious, aimed squarely at the center of buyer demographics, as most Camry buyers are not car enthusiasts." So if not targeted at car enthusiasts, the design for Camry is "conservative" vis-a-vis Accord "attractive styling". The target buyer shall be 30 to 40 in US and in our market may "late by 10 years" from 40 to 50 taken into consideration our relatively LOW Purchasing Power Parity (PPP) and but relatively HIGH pricing under crappy NAP.

However, wikipedia further commented "The Camry was less popular in Europe, where the design was considered bland and incompatible with European driving habits." More info, click on http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toyota_Camry

• yytellmey (Member) on Oct 08, 2006 at 7:39 am

i have seen the real car today

but it is still not open to public

• albagmane (Member) on Oct 08, 2006 at 7:54 am

BlueChaos: i strongly disagree with u… besides that my thought is totally opposite than urs… i find out that both civic and accord have the best looking rear compared to this old man car… hmm… maybe ur preference is more to older type instead of futuristic one… im quite disappointed to toyota coz for such a huge motor company, until now they still don have any much improvement on the design, still dull and nostalgia looking… terrible…

btw, i wonder the VVTi engine in this new camry will get fire, which is kinda similar to this: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=34087…
    have urself some laughs… haha!

• king (Member) on Oct 08, 2006 at 8:45 am

accordmania,

you got it spot on….the elephant-butt 3rd gen camry was so ugly that even if u give me free oso i wun drive. but it still can sell well due to the kiasu-ness of the general public i.e big = good…..they feel it is value for money but dun know how to value the important things of a car.

• J (Member) on Oct 08, 2006 at 4:23 pm

I am quite surprise this Camry is CBU !

Anyway, it's a win for Thailand again. Msia G should wake up (preferably faster) before losing too much on auto industry to Thailand.

Now less and less private car buyers want to do "patriotic contribution" anymore. Expensive cars mostly purchased as for company car use. If they don't spend, they are giving the revenue as tax anyway. So they might as well spend it on cars.

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Oct 08, 2006 at 5:09 pm

i haven't seen the real car yet, maybe we can save our comments until then, any of us here saw the real passat?

• DAN (Member) on Oct 08, 2006 at 6:27 pm

any way we r loosing n poor com pair to Thailand in term of reserve n earning money. we Malaysian do be to proud but weak up , we r loosing to Thailand.

not bad to Thai s we all can see the QC production car that assemble from Thai.

• notorpkcuf (Member) on Oct 08, 2006 at 7:45 pm

Sat in the car yesterday, must say it's pretty sweet (which is a huge compliment for somewone who was never a Camry fan) there was a blue coloured 2.4V that looked abit confused to me cos the colour says young but the car design says old :P

I liked the Plasmacluster Automatic 2 zone airconditioning tho

• aksMs (Member) on Oct 08, 2006 at 9:34 pm

Gallardo1988, you got that spot on! When I look at the whole dashboard, I knew that something wasn't right. From afar, it looks like you bought and installed some aftermarket switches you could find in Brother's. Sometimes, these tiny little detail that could spoil the whool look of it. I kinda dislike the interior color scheme. Kinda pale….they haven't reach the feel of luxuriness. Maybe they are reserving it for the Lexus family.

This Camry indeed looks better than the previous model. It maybe your old man's car. I guess I'll sing along with you all. My friend's dad bought the previous one, and he's retired! Hehe. But, so is Accord. They share the same fate as the retirees move about, in Britain. =)

Cheers!

• Lexus-IS (Member) on Oct 08, 2006 at 9:54 pm

Toyota good job smart ..

• KingKong (Member) on Oct 09, 2006 at 1:58 am

RM 139,999 ?

mama miaaa…. i will get one!

• cacing (Member) on Oct 09, 2006 at 6:07 am

anyone noticed that the pics of this camry doesn't have a hand brake? Was comparing it to the Australian model on the differences.

The asian interior is nicer and more "luxurious" looking, but seems to be in conflict with its exterior design, which has over the years tried to change and shed the "plain" image to a sportier one.

• layman (Member) on Oct 09, 2006 at 6:49 am

Does Toyota have design engineer? simply copy paste the bmw, end up the whole car never match, like an old man wearing a young man's jean.

The meter has so many colors, like a cheap toy.

Anyway, the AK PEK doesn't mind.

• aksMs (Member) on Oct 09, 2006 at 7:22 am

cacing, maybe this Camry is using Mercedes styled hand brake (or more like foot brake, actually). Definitely no E-brake turn with this. ;)

• kacman (Member) on Oct 09, 2006 at 7:48 am

not too radical not too boring. so european but still rich with manga looks. gonna get myself with this one, its worth the wait. and hey, its toyota.

• labuan_world (Member) on Oct 09, 2006 at 4:08 pm

……..sporty beb….too big laaa…….if painted black…..wait and see the real one loooo………labuan price for 2.0,around 8x,xxx………

• ChipS (Member) on Oct 09, 2006 at 4:49 pm

Avanza 1.5G launched last weekend, 2007 Camry this weekend. Looks like we gonna have a great DepaRaya, X'mas and a Happy New Year. Anything from P1/P2 ?

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Oct 09, 2006 at 4:55 pm

Well done Toyota! Now THAT is what a Camry should look like! :D

• cacing (Member) on Oct 09, 2006 at 5:31 pm

aksMs; Yeah i guess that explains it.

• offroader manix (Member) on Oct 09, 2006 at 11:24 pm

End of the day, I think:-

Camry vs Accord ( FAce lift ) = Camry

Civic vs Altis ( Face lift ) = Civic

New Stream ( New ) vs Wish = Stream

Odyssey ( face lift ) vs Estima ( New ) = Estima

Rav 4 vs CRV ( new ) = CRV

Our ASIAN mentality is always KIAASU so it is always a brand new car will out sell the older or face lift version.

Just my opinion.

• aaron_38my (Member) on Oct 10, 2006 at 2:59 am

camry's looking better and better with every new model came out but pricewise is also getting higher and higher making it less affordable to middle class. Can't blame them though, AFTA's the joy-killer.

This Camry must be very nice with all the Lexus-like comforts. Like the multi screen in the middle.Surprisingly price is still in the 130K-170K range. Thought it might cost more.

• zwei (Member) on Oct 10, 2006 at 6:08 am

I've actually seen the actual model last Saturday at the TTDI showroom. It was parked in the underground carpark at IBM (now VADS) tower.

This is one sexy looking car, as compared to the Accord, it looks much better styled and luxurious than what you see in the pictures. If you look at the mark X and compare it to the new Camry, you'd definitely see the similiarities in design. I believe the new generation of Camry will easily cause a huge dent in Honda's executive sedan market.

– Headlights are HID

– Rear windows and rear windshield have auto foldup sunscreen when/if activated (2.4V only)

– The photos for the dashboard meters which you see are split up in layers, which means there's a dial for the word camry with the red spindle, another dial behind it which features the blue meters and the final dial which features the speed/rev. It looks better in reality than in the pictures.

– Transmission is steptronic for the 2.4V variant

– Frontal collision alarm now comes included

– Leather Seats and wooden panel finish are standard in 2.4V

– VSC is a standard in 2.4V

– Rear seats have a hidden panel at the back of the rear armrest which allows access to the boot, a nifty feature.

– Cruise Control is standard

• oranglulu (Member) on Oct 10, 2006 at 7:42 am

this camry cbu from thailand,you guys wants to know CIF pork klang camry price? login to http://www.customs.gov.my/html/cbu2006warta.htm then you tell uncle we are suckers or not,all the duty and taxes and local importer high profits,somethings thats 60,70k now 170k!!!!

• reizan (Member) on Oct 10, 2006 at 11:14 am

I was hoping that this Camry is the same as the one launched here in US early this year. The one here in US looks nicer, especially the rear end which inching towards Lexus IS design. Front end is equally more impressive as well…..

However, at least compared to the previous generation, I think this new one is much more better………

• SoMeOnE (Member) on Oct 11, 2006 at 10:28 am

gosh…it seems like toyota expects us to play to their tune these days….to maximise proftis they just simply rotate stuff..i mean this thing looks like a lexus.whats the point of actually dishin al the money for a lexus then?….and the american version is sucha rip off from the mazda6!….i mean i love some of their models but somtimes i just feel they are gettin a bit too confident…yes…big company and all…but remember dudes..even ford and gm were thought to be untouchable….its just a cycle and we are ridin on it……

• Driven2020 (Member) on Oct 11, 2006 at 10:20 pm

Seen the car already. Its the exact same design as the lexus GS430 with revised front lights and single tail pipe.

Overall nice looking ride

• term_33 (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 10:17 am

hey all guys.im new member.

i think that u guys compare camry too much with accord.by the way i also agree accrod is look good.but pls think in more logic way.i got few friends all bought honda accord recently.5 out of 6 of them find that accord doesnt hav the quality at all.unstable when high speed,a lot of sound reach about 100km/h,the seat is not comfortable,etc.y u guys just comparing camry out looks with accord??

looks is depens on ppl taste only.so please dun always compare like that.if wanna compare out look i aslo can say that KANCIL is more pretty then camry.

n guys,dun think that honda engine is far more powerful then toyotas.on the road test that i had done with my friends,the honda(new civic 1.8) acceleration cant even win over toyotas(2004 altis 1.8).

pls pls pls ………………… if wanna compare pls compare with nissan cefiro also.if cefiro come in the accord is nothing

try it

sry if hondas fans think that hondas engine is NA king.time is change

• Igloo (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 7:31 pm

This camry is around in most Toyota's showroom, i think. The exterior design has definitely improved – younger approach. However, the interior really did not go well with the exterior. Not to mention about technology.

For most of you who think Toyota is more reliable – can't blame you, its inherited from the olds. But i think toyota & honda are very competitive in terms of safety features. No one knows about it – without having to own & drive one. I know & tested – City & Vios (Vios for the look, City for the drive, i hate vios high boot view & switches placement in the car). Civic & Altis – Civic by all means. Camry & Accord – Camry in terms of driving, Accord in terms of styling.

It really depends very much on individual preference in terms of what are they really looking at. The two rivals here are targetting similar user – but different proposition. It's all about what a buyer is looking for.

In 2007, toyota will the no. 1 car manufacturere in the world. But not UMW Malaysia. UMW sales has lost to HMSB in terms of passengar car sales (Honda does not have commercial vehicle like van or buses or pick up), but their figures are very close. Whether UMW can overtake HMSB, it depends on their newly launched Avanza & new Camry. Not forgetting they might not be able to achieve 100k units target this yr (mind you, Honda is approaching to its target set this year). But in terms of overall volume, you can notice that HMSB is only approaching to 100k units so far after 4 yrs.

Toyota has already laucnhed its new camry webstie: http://www.toyota.com.my/hid_232.htm but you'll also find similarity with one of the car website i have came acrossed – the civic website. Very similar concept & design, i wonder if it is done by the same people??

• term_33 (Member) on Oct 14, 2006 at 10:33 am

aiyo lgloo

u know y malaysia honda can sell more car??

honda still competitive???thats only happen in malaysia only.

u damm cute man.

did u turn arroud n see the seelling of the hondas n toyatas pesengger car in global market???

n 1 more thing u are so cute is u mention that civic is all about.what do u mean??ya,altis a little bit outdated compare with civic.u forget that the new civic also cant be more powerful then the altis.n the altis we having nowis not in the era of the new civic yet.if u compare like that.then i take a 1970s bmw compare with proton gen 2.can????????

wait next year the new altis come out then u only make the compare pls.

i honestly tell u that im also hondas fans last time.but time is change.

last time people all talking civic civic……………..but now civic got the challanger n in global market is proven civic losing to corolla.last time ppl also talking accord accord………now ler??global market also proven that accord losing.last time people also talking v-tec v-tec(honda pesengger car)……….now ler??proven vvt-i can stand in the same class as v-tec did n vvt-i is somemore more powerful then the v-tec hondas having in their passenger car.

the conclusion can be made is toyota was growth up.honda remain as the kid. but 1 thing that remain dint change is hondas type-R still remain very powerful engine.other then that hondas is really nvr grow as the toyota speed.

even now i also like honda(racing car) very much.but after i finished my degree in automobile enginerring i agree honda is outdated.the materia they use below the car totally sux(just u guys nvr know about it)u study in detail u will know.this point u can check out with any of the professional(except the 1 like racing)

• term_33 (Member) on Oct 14, 2006 at 12:20 pm

o ya lgloo

foget to ask u something

u say honda city is very nice rite?do u know wat will happen for the honda city in arround 6months old???will need to change the battery n also reset all the setting.this will cost arroud 250-300+.n this condition will continue.i had meet this type of case in all my client with honda city where u mention like very superb car compare to vios.other then that honda city will also face some gearbox problem after 1 year ++ n this problem u wont realise if u are not professional.after 3 years u wait n see la.i can back u that the gearbox will make all the city owner regret.but vios also got 1 very comom problem after 1 year ++sound(the back plastic problem) but the problem can be done without any cost.other then that vios doesnt exits any problem

u mentioned u tested n drived,but i think u test in brand new condition lo.

here is not japan,most of the people use to drive a car for long time pls dun so simply conclud the quality.actually city=sux(for who had own it for 2years).dun believe can ask the people arroud to prove wheather what i say is true or not.one more thing civic engine mouting problem actually havent being done by honda.civic is all about?????think before u say

• king (Member) on Oct 14, 2006 at 1:32 pm

another UMWT slave…

• bizzy (Member) on Oct 14, 2006 at 8:17 pm

term=33

i dunno how ur client or ur friend driving la.

well my ex gf all family buy honda cars. and i never heard they complaint about the car. and my ex gf she drove city and me are the 1 who drive mad on her car. cuz i love to drive fast. and i never heard anything like u said. NEVER!! well mayb ur client drive careless or never take care of his/her car. and heh is a good car compare to vios. really! so far i found out lot of problem more then city.

back to camry. well this design is more better then the new accord. i love the design but i heard malaysia spec are ways different from singapore and thailand. like dont have reverse cam, and bodykits?? and we malaysia sell kinda expensive too

• bizzy (Member) on Oct 14, 2006 at 8:19 pm

woot

• king (Member) on Oct 14, 2006 at 10:40 pm

mr. term_33,

pls dun tell cock and bull story here. Toyota pay for you degree izzit? my wife's honda city already 3 yrs plus and i dun have any of this gearbox or battery problems whatsoever. honda gave 3 yrs warranty and 3 yrs free service for the city. vios is a piece of crap using ancient technology if u ask me. something similar to iswara. dun support UMWT so blindly until u create stories. even some parts in vios/avanza is worse than perodua/proton's standard. Only "look" modern on the ouside but really cheap on the inside. Now even they start to cut cost on the exterior…….number plates of these 2 models of toyota especially….99% will turn very yellow after 1 year only. why are most of their parts so cheap to buy? bcos what u are getting is really cheap to produce….made of old tech and cheap materials. You should think b4 u say. If u still like to say talk rubbish, i won't waste time arguing with you.

• Driven2020 (Member) on Oct 15, 2006 at 10:55 pm

Term_33,

you seem to be very familiar with automotive tech since you mentioned you graduated with an automotive degree. mind to tell us which college/uni you graduated from?

I'm quite interested to know regarding the city gearbox. Mind to tell us what gearbox it is? developed by who? how it works? how is it controlled?

I'm sure it would have been covered in your degree if not why would you be so sure it will break down in 6 months? If your information is so good then by right we all should not be buying hondas right?

you mentioned the city gearbox will fail in 6 months. explain how and why the gearbox will fail in detail.

We are all humble users and well your knowledge may benefit us. So Mr Term_33 or whoever you really are, why not you enlighten us with your so called expertise and convince us.

• epep (Member) on Oct 16, 2006 at 5:46 am

The previous Camry was really an "old man" car, but this one looks a lot younger! Love the exterior, very Lexus-ish. But interior wise, is that wood or plastic? From the pictures it looks very shiny like plastic, hope it looks better in the showroom.

• J (Member) on Oct 16, 2006 at 6:24 am

Personally I don't quite like those wood trimming. The brown color is too "artificial". But I heard that after some time (1 year plus ?) the wood trimming color will change to darker brown (which I can accept). Not sure if it is true. Hopefully some Toyota Altis/Camry owners can share their experience.

Thanks

• andyjyneo (Member) on Oct 16, 2006 at 11:45 am

to term_33:

i agree with our local honda civic's mounting problem. do you kno why? it is because nowadays local honda cars are from thailand!

try mugen civic or honda civic from japan and you'll know what the differences are

the same goes to city – try mugen fit aria or honda fit aria from japan

why does our honda cars are getting degrading and lousier?

it's because of thailand made – cut-cost!

why people like city than vios?

1. because fully-modified city of mugen totally owns full-modified vios of TRD

2. because city comes with 2 engines – VTEC for performance or IDSI for fuel-consumption

3. because city has manual transmission gear

4. because vios dashboard sucks

i think you should think before you talk

• KL-ATR (Member) on Oct 17, 2006 at 2:22 am

term_33, you're a funny bloke. You wanted to tell the folks here who are clearly only looking at either Camry or Accord to consider the Cefiro, which is 1 generation older and then you go and say the current Civic with the new generation FUEL SAVING R18A engine is not as powerful as the Altis. Perhaps you have not been keeping track but R18A is Honda's answer for fuel economy, not outright power delivery. Then, you tried to shoot holes into Igloo's comments but you left yourself with grenade sized openings. Honda is not as large as Toyota BUT they are growing very well. They are posting record sales in the US because of their Fuel Economical Civic and City and they have overtaken Daimler Chrysler as number 3 in the US.

Later, you claim City's battery will fail after 6 months. Maybe you should open the bonnet and check if the battery is made by Honda or Century Battery??? As King mentioned, Honda would replace it under Warranty so the price is not an issue… even tho I have to say your estimation is almost RM100 more than street price. Plugging the battery will reset the ECU anyway so what sort of settings will RM300 provide? I am also like King, where my wife's City is running for 3 years + without any gearbox problem at all, and I know plenty of other City owners with no complains. Just because you heard 1 isolated case don't try to say that ALL City will have same problem. I have also heard of 1 month old Camry with a jammed gearbox but I know that's only a one off thing.

BTW, this is a Camry tread and most of the people here are commenting about how it is against Accord so why the heck are you talking about City, Vios, Civic and Altis??? Oh darn, why am I even bothered about someone who mentions about a Kancil before a Camry??? Enuf said.

————–

IMO, the 4th gen Camry is a step in the right direction. It doesn't look as dumpy as the 3rd gen and at least not as old fashion too. I never understood why UMW didn't choose the Singapore model which looked very much like the Lexus. That would have turned the tide against Accord. However, Honda did a reversal and created a really ugly butt on the facelifted model. I think this Camry is gonna sell much better than before.

• term_33 (Member) on Oct 17, 2006 at 8:04 am

haha

talk watever u guys like u guys really clever.ya, im stupid.i think non of u are working in the automobile world.all just mention like god.come work in this world n gain experince with the comom 1st only talk with me la.

no wonder y so many people buying hondas car.really know little little but then act like pro

• Driven2020 (Member) on Oct 17, 2006 at 8:55 am

Term_33,

We understand why you do not like Hondas and we do not blame you. Maybe you genuinely had a very bad experience with them. Mind sharing it with us? You're experience could be a valuable lesson learned to all Honda drivers in Malaysia.

from the start you have not stated technically what is wrong with the city gearbox. it seems you have a far superior knowledge than us so if you do so kindly please enlighten us.

• cacing (Member) on Oct 20, 2006 at 10:09 pm

Toyota Australia just launched their new Aurion, a replacement for their failed Avalon programme, which was meant to be in the Large car six cylinder segment, to fight the commodore and the falcon.
    http://www.toyota.com.au
    And guess what…. its a v6 3.5 like Paul mentioned earlier. AND it is our version of camry. Oz version camry slightly different in the front and back treatments. I wonder what the ozies will say when they find out the rest of the world called their Aurions a Camry!!

And….if you don't like the photos or comment that it looks plastic, maybe the aussie website will do some justice!

• alamak (Member) on Oct 21, 2006 at 2:12 am

Igloo : i don't think it's the same designer who did Civic and Camry. I know the people who did civic and of course they cannot touch toyota business…

• tokmoh (Member) on Nov 01, 2006 at 9:16 pm

Hey, I just noticed from the pics, does this camry hv a front sensor just the ones which will beep if there is something too close to the car? Observed properly, it does appear at the front bumper in this pic, bt does it appear in our local version?

• jasmani75 (Member) on Dec 11, 2006 at 11:04 pm

Haloo to Toyotarian!

Spacious=City

Tech + SRS 2units=City

Vios=small spacewise and dark interior (suitable for kid n children only)

• RM (Member) on Dec 12, 2006 at 10:24 pm

Had the chance to take the New 2.4V Camry out for a spin recently. Never driven a Toyota before and so first thing that got my attention was the steering feel which is extremely "light" to the touch, the kind that makes the car feel smaller than it really is. I caught myself swaying a bit on the fast lane of the MRR2 after awhile you get accustomed and adjust steering input.

The interior is brilliant – its not short of space. I found the the automatic folding rear sunvisor a neat gadget and it unfolds automatically when you go in reverse. The passenger windows also come with manual sunvisors which together with the rear visor makes the back a pretty cosy place to be when the suns out baking.

Found a few beefs with the large integrated radio and air-cond unit which isn't exactly aesthetically pleasing, comes with a typical "after-market" blue hue illuminating the facade, plus the button fonts are huge. Also, the six-bin in-built dash CD also makes quite a racket when it swaps CDs – the kind which makes you go " is this right ? ".

Also found the rear screen rake a little to steep for my liking so I guess it was a good idea that they threw in the rear (and front) parking sensors which by the way can't be deactivated when in Drive (not sure really) and goes beeping away especially in the MRR2 bumper-to-bumper crawl.

For me, the best thing about the Camry which is its key product strength is its external styling. I ain't a fan of Japanese barges but the Camry is a good looker and certainly much better than its predecessor. Too me I see a rebadged albeit lower spec'd Lexus LS460. Its got that all important Malaysian X factor i.e. looks more expensive that it really is. Seriously, I concur with the many reviews that the Camry offers tremendous value at its entry cost of RM139k.

Its either Toyota has widened its appeal or i'm just getting older. Not sure..maybe a bit of both.

• gajen (Member) on Dec 24, 2006 at 4:34 am

The new camry is one astonishing car….won the motor trend car of the year….americas top selling car for one of the years….

my dad test drove the 2.4 recently….engine was very smooth…quiet and responsive…all info are placed at the computerised speedometer [MID] and very practical…the cabin quality has been improved drastically…u can even adjust the lumbar support at the front passenger and driver seats…

toyota..told ull have to wait around 3 months for a camry…they launched it at oct…not even 3 months….there are plenty on the road

plenty as in seriously a lot…to me i prefer the Camry to the Accord…i also like the new Civic…..but i dont see anymore cefiros on the road….

only toyotas and hondas

• MU DAN (Member) on Dec 29, 2006 at 8:00 am

noticed discussion cooling of :O(

had Paul gotten to opportunity to test drive all new camry? eager to get more feedback. understand 2.0G without autocruise and is not an optional feature if you are interested since it was not included in the CBU specs ;O( anyone will new experiences driving one lately?

• keithksl (Member) on Jan 12, 2007 at 10:44 am

Will get my Camry 2.0E version in March / April. Love the new design but don't like the rims. I'm thinking of changing to low profile tyres. Would love some suggestions on the type of rims and size of tyres that would look great on this car.

• tpteoh (Member) on Feb 27, 2007 at 11:49 pm

lookin 4 a new car, can't decide between the 2.3 Mazda6 or the 2.4 Camry, Paul, any chance to do a shoot-out for salary earners like us who will only be able to afford a really good car in their lifetime. btw, still in the early 30s, so the wooden grain finishing on the Camry is a HUGE turnoff. any chance of changing the wood grain finishing to be more like the Mazda6.

• tpteoh (Member) on Feb 27, 2007 at 11:55 pm

Paul, any chance to do a shoot-out between the 2.4 Camry and the 2.3 Mazda6? Will really like to know which is a better car.

• TravelDriver (Member) on May 25, 2008 at 11:48 am

Hi everyone,

Any owners of the new Camry here in this blog? I am just an “Ah Pek” :D looking to purchase this car for the main family & biz. I am driving a Honda City VTEC at the moment & would like to upgrade to a car with more space.

Need some feedback if you can spare some: –
    – How is this car’s fuel consumption? Better to buy 2.0 or the 2.4 for efficiency?
    – How does the car perform in city? Start, stop, go. Does it drive like an elephant?
    – Costs of maintaining it? Major & minor services?
    – Any things I should be aware of when I buy this car? Hair raisng / concerning experiences?

Would really like to hear from you guys.

Thanks in advance ;)

• 1) 2.4 has better fuel consumption than 2.0.
      2) This car is considered heavy comparing with Sonata and Accord, including a not very powerful engine than others, you don’t expect any sportiness but subtle.
      3)Not sure, Toyota would deem to be having lower maintenance cost than others, this includes easier way to find spare parts. (But it depends sometimes)
      4)Cornering is quite good and controlled for Camry but not as good as Accord with the Camry’s dual link suspension instead of Accord’s multilink suspension. You should take note of that.
      5)I’m not an owner, but a car blogger. :)

My Opinion, I would choose Accord or Sonata over Camry, because they are cheaper, lighter and more powerful and more economical deem to more gears of transmission, means more options for the car to choose for power delivery. However, some say Camry is the most comfortable and rigid among others, that maybe a subjective review but i wouldn’t think it’s untrue. :)

• TravelDriver (Member) on May 25, 2008 at 11:55 am

Hi everyone,

Left out another important question.

Is there any performance lack-zones in the differenct models of this car? I had a 1997 Toyota Corolla 1.6 before and I was experiencing 65-85 kmph lack-zones in performance. Once I hit this zone, the car is feeble and less-responsive. Really hated this when going outstation carrying my love ones. I was sure then the Corolla was meant to be a 1.8

Is there such a difference between the 2.0 and 2.4? Is there anyone with similar experiences?

Thanks in advance.

• Mahendra on May 12, 2009 at 10:05 pm

Hi when is the 2008 model coming to malaysia

• Mahendra on May 12, 2009 at 10:06 pm

Singapore got theirs july 08 Naza been selling it for a while already

• Vivien on Jun 25, 2009 at 7:35 pm

I am thinking to buy a secondhand 2004 T Altis imported from Singapore.But I read a lot of negative comments about 2004 T Altis's brakes, sound proof problems, underpower, etc. Do you know which manufacturing country did Singapore gets its 2004 Toyota Altis model from? Is it better than those manufactured in Thailand or Philippines or Malaysia? Hope to get some advices as I have never tried buying secondhand before.

Thanks.

• Jason on Jul 24, 2009 at 6:36 am

New Camry facelift price (august 2009) : 2.0E=Rm144990 2.0G=Rm154990 2.4V=Rm174990 changes are as follows: built in with smart entry n smart start system for 2.4V. with aux jack for all 3 specs. (2006 model doesnt have it for any specs) cruise control for 2.0G & 2.4V (2006 model only for 2.4V) rim design. dual zone automatic climate control.

Read more: http://paultan.org/archives/2008/01/22/toyota-cam…

• Michael Ng on Dec 26, 2009 at 6:59 pm

I have a  Camry 2.4L  year of registered – OCT 2006 Model made in Thailand, use in Singapore. for city driving what is the average consumption km/l 

If travel on express way what is average fuel consumption?

• aremere on Apr 29, 2010 at 8:29 am

the nice interior with gps

• secret on May 05, 2010 at 11:04 pm

toyota camry best when we are hadling…. vvti is a silent engine….. i-vtec too… but, not silent too…..i-vtec is a sport engine… have u try ? vvti not…. toyota camry good in safety, and petrol… i mean it, petrol is saving more than honda accord.. safety is better than accord….. like a airbag, hid light… toyota camry have already HID light with projector but accord have not already hid light with projector… just a hid light…. this only i can say….. honda accord is more expensive than camry….. accord is advance than camry…. i like honda accord than camry…. camry too… but camry not like accord cause camry not enough advance like accord.

• mithiran ram on May 09, 2010 at 10:58 pm

i have this car……it looks awesome…..but this car has a lot of problems……allignment,vobbling……………..please test drive the car before buying this car…..pls..pls…..if any problem with ur car…..sue the company…..bloody toyota….

• LEO T. CERNA on Jun 18, 2010 at 6:24 pm

am a puzzled with my camry’s alignment. all four tires are aligned except for the front’s left side. its off-aligned by about 2.6 cm. i don’t think this is its original design

• XV20 driver on Aug 07, 2010 at 10:49 am

i want to change my rims on my XV20 (15 inch).

anyone know where i can get original camry 16 inch rims? those versions after XV20 model. can they fit my camry XV20?

i am around puchong, kl area.

• is considering camry 2.0G..anyone know good SA with lots of freebies..tq [email protected]