Fiat Sedici wins towcar award

sedicitow.jpg

Remember the Fiat Sedici? It’s Fiat’s version of the Suzuki SX4, in 4X4 form as the SX4 in the Suzuki stables is available both in hatchback and crossover four wheel drive form. The Fiat Sedici recently won the an award in the Caravan Club Towcar of the Year 2007 Competition, pwning competitors like the Daihatsu Terios 1.5, the Kia Magentis 2.0 CRDi GS Manual, the Nissan Note 1.6 SVE and the Vauxhall Meriva Active 1.3 CDTi.

According to Caravan Club: “One of the great surprises in this years Competition, the Sedicis one of those cars you want to drive enthusiastically, and it pays off. The Fiat stormed up the test tracks long 14% gradient in the third of its six gears, braked nicely and handled a 17% stop and restart with no problem. Rear end styling makes the Sedici a useful load carrier – the test car took the whole of our typical load with all seats available. Operating costs are reasonable given the added complication of 4×4 transmission.

The Fiat Sedici comes in either a petrol or turbodiesel engine – a 107bhp 1.6 litre petrol and a 120bhp 1.9 MultiJet turbodiesel, mated to a 5 or 6 speed gearbox respectively.

More details on the Fiat Sedici by clicking here.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• i'm run (Member) on Oct 09, 2006 at 1:52 pm

A big accomplishment for a small car… Congrats to Fiat!

• sutheshkumar (Member) on Oct 09, 2006 at 6:09 pm

paul, i recall reading somewhere back in 1986 (or 87, nt dat sure), proton saga won this similar award in UK. can you get more info on that?

• motorhead (Member) on Oct 09, 2006 at 8:11 pm

why tow cabins & cars not popular in msia??.. r they legal on msian road??..

• v0ices (Member) on Oct 09, 2006 at 8:25 pm

Those blokes in Top Gear are gonna "love" this car …

• drM (Member) on Oct 09, 2006 at 8:29 pm

v0ices…did they vote the Kia (whats the series..???) as the best car for towing caravan? owwhh..thats for 2006, right? and, towing something..errmm? should the car/ tower has somesort of minimal hp? you know, the caravan's quite heavy…

• narrowband (Member) on Oct 09, 2006 at 9:51 pm

motorhead,

Would you buy one? ;)

• motorhead (Member) on Oct 09, 2006 at 10:38 pm

Don't know where to buy oso.. how to decide?… but i think its cool… now, i always keep my weather proof tent inside my bonet, i camp anywhere i like.. usually at the beach..

• DtG (Member) on Oct 09, 2006 at 11:35 pm

drM, i think it was the Kia Cerato… i remember the Top Gear crew tested it and mentioned something about it winning the award…

• szw (Member) on Oct 10, 2006 at 3:28 am

european cars always rox !