Siemens VDO Traffic Sign Recognition

siemens_sign_small.jpgLet’s not talk about the times we’ve speed intentionally, as no amount of technology can prevent that – but what about the times where we slowly found ourselves creeping above the speed limit, but never realising it until the speeding ticket comes? Siemens hopes to help us a little with this problem, with their new Siemens VDO Traffic Sign Recognition technology (click image to enlarge)

The Siemens VDO Traffic Sign Recognition technology can read road signs which display speed limits, and can warn the driver if he is driving over the speed limit. The car’s adaptive cruise control (if any) can also be configured to adjust cruising speed according to the speed limit. Production is expected in 2008, and the system is part of the many Siemens driver aid technologies, part of it’s pro.pilot program.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• It's me! (Member) on Oct 17, 2006 at 10:52 pm

Hmm..In the future,we doesn't need to drive anymore.Everything will be computer controlled…

It's a good move to have this kind of technology for road safety,but hopefully it won't keep bugging the driver to slow down.

Btw,I'm the first!

• v0ices (Member) on Oct 17, 2006 at 11:31 pm

In my opinion.. don't think it will work.

If we already have cruise control, we would've set to the speed limit already. If we set it higher, means we intentionally did so!

• drM (Member) on Oct 17, 2006 at 11:56 pm

it is one of the many already existed driving aid. period. nothing more.nothing interesting.

if I am driving a AMG CLS 55 with 500 brake horse power at the disposal, my right leg will 'unintentionally' become heavier and as a result, I'll just dont give a damn about speed limits or speed cameras (or police cars – how on earth a Waja to catch up CLS 55 AMG? hehehhehehe)

the thing with these driving aids is that they actually serve as a reminder that normally we just dont care with. how do you aid the 'unaidable'? (petrolheads with monstrous machines)

the only solution is that, education. you can educate the educatable human beings. but how about 'uneducatable' ones? hahahaha.ccheerrss!

• offroader manix (Member) on Oct 18, 2006 at 12:13 am

Wah…..this is a good system

Better still, if can upgrade to computer do the driving and imagine no hands on wheels instead holding hands all the way to Kayu Hitam. That's romantic…….. :)

• outspoken (Member) on Oct 18, 2006 at 2:21 am

police.. start crying…

racers,.. rejoice!!!

but i don't think it will happen.. its down to the "battle of morality", or "the greater good"

• tbcheese (Member) on Oct 18, 2006 at 2:37 am

Its a good idea but the drawback is that the signs can at times be damaged or hidden behind some tree branches.

A friend of mine here has a little box called the Road Angel. This GPS based device contains positions of speed cameras and the speed limit at each camera and warns the driver accordingly although it doesn't include the locations for portable cameras. If this can be expanded to provide warnings on all roads it'd likely be more succesful than the Siemens solution. It can also double as a navigator too.

• mystvearn (Member) on Oct 18, 2006 at 3:33 am

this will take the fun out of driving…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Oct 18, 2006 at 4:19 am

This driving aid device is that practical or can perform effectively in say heavy rain?

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Oct 18, 2006 at 4:25 am

I thought the AMG version of the CLS has a 6.2-litre V8 rather than a 5.5-litre V8, which is why it is named "CLS 63 AMG" instead of "CLS 55 AMG"…hehehe… :P Aaanyway, I reckon this traffic sign recognition device is somewhat pointless. I suppose many of us would trust our own eyes, right foot, and most importantly our common sense? :D

• narrowband (Member) on Oct 18, 2006 at 6:52 am

Wow sophisticated stuff. IMHO, not very practical. Interesting innovation, nonetheless.

• BlueChaos (Member) on Oct 18, 2006 at 8:09 am

Hahaha, it's better to come up with a system to warn drivers of upcoming speed trap cameras, so we can slow down before the speed trap and after passing the speed trap we go vroom vroom again. That would be a great system!

• shooter (Member) on Oct 18, 2006 at 10:42 am

it would be better if the system is linked to an in-built speed limiter device of some sort, in a/the vehicle, and limits the speed up to what the sign says, that way regardless if you have a million hp you cant break the law!

• myviRS (Member) on Oct 18, 2006 at 2:10 pm

Seriously.. I really like the meter panel display. The speedometer seems like the Alteeza's.

• nulltrix (Member) on Oct 18, 2006 at 3:34 pm

good idea.. but not practical..

• honda_driver (Member) on Oct 18, 2006 at 4:09 pm

will definitely not work here in Malaysia. The system can't see any of the road signs because they're either obstructed by bushes/trees or something else ;)

anyways, on a slightly separate but related topic, just read somewhere that in the UK, they now several thousand fixed position speed cameras or GATSO as they call it installed all over the country. But suprisingly, their fatalities on the road actually increased. Our govt also seems to think that installing these type of cameras will help reduce fatalities…

• demio121 (Member) on Oct 18, 2006 at 5:49 pm

Nice idea but may not work in many country. Bushes and trees are one problem. Like the Citroen lane-departure technology, it need the lane marker to be made of special material for the sensor on the car to work.

Probably the road sign need to be of specific std before the snsor can read the speed limit too.

everything start with an idea. one day this tech may be common in all car.

• motberg (Member) on Oct 18, 2006 at 6:32 pm

it's a great invention with one fundamental flaw – the driver. i agree with drM. we need to educate the driver first. i've seen enough 'F1 drivers' on our roads…

• msmar_453 (Member) on Oct 18, 2006 at 6:44 pm

cool

• kimikim (Member) on Oct 18, 2006 at 6:44 pm

eeerrr dun think its good for the nation's economy coz later can't achieve its yearly summons quota and tats not good for bolehland country. U think reducing limit can reduce accident/ death toll? it can rise the summons toll = yearly summons quota/ target… hua hua hua

• kimikim (Member) on Oct 18, 2006 at 6:46 pm

isk isk… paul, 2nd line above off topic a bit, sorry lorr :(

• KY (Member) on Oct 18, 2006 at 7:03 pm

dude, you never speed unintentionally. :P

• aesthari (Member) on Oct 18, 2006 at 7:23 pm

Good system, but how many people really speed unintentionally? The main factor is still the driver i think hehe, but the adaptive cruise control will come in handy; just steer and brake, good for long drives.

• Paul Tan on Oct 19, 2006 at 12:35 am

KY: on the contrary to what you think, alot of people speed unintentionally, for example they dont know when its changed from a 110kmh zone to a 80kmh zone, or to a 60 kmh zone.

• protonGL (Member) on Oct 19, 2006 at 1:17 am

apart from the issue of speed precaution , we never come across the speed precaution over the low crwling speed of the vehicals infront of speedy car.

think that cars should have an automatic flasher or brakes light automatically on when travelling at certain low speed or any precaution light turned on when the car stop completely, just as a reminder for someone who still in speed from behind… just to reduce kiss asses.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Oct 19, 2006 at 1:34 am

Our naked eye already can do a good judgement and why need this additional gizmo? Somemore we can see anything across our view rather than limited ot spped sign only. Better not implemented in our country, because lastime lorry and bus required them to installed "black box" to remind them over-speed but eventually still back to basic – educate the driver to be a carefull and responsible person when driving on the road.

• happymeal (Member) on Oct 19, 2006 at 4:47 am

wont work in msia… will msia rather uninspiring 70.. sometimes 60 even speed limit zones…. u see the sign says 70.. and start cursing :P

akazabamboo…. when they were still making tonnes of the 5500cc blower V8s, they were called cls55 …

now they have moved on … the CLK safety car in this years F1 is actually using the 6300cc motor… not sure about the medic C classe though…

i think as for speed limits…common sense prevail… but then…alot of ppl are selfish too… still see few cars zooming down a housing area at 60km/h… some even dare to honk u even if u r doing a decent 40…

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Oct 19, 2006 at 11:43 am

CLK is a 2-door coupe whereas CLS is a 4-door (also a "coupe" according to Mercedes-Benz) :P

• pro54 (Member) on Oct 19, 2006 at 3:12 pm

In Malaysia we need a device that automatically moves the car to the inner lane on the highway if it's clear and can easily be retrofitted to Protons, 20 year old Toyota Corollas, Nissan Sunnys, etc.

• Felix on Nov 16, 2009 at 4:18 am

Where can I get it? I would like to install it in my car like a navi gadget on the windscreen. Thanks for info, Felix