Naza Suria – locally assembled Kia Picanto

newnazasuria1.jpg

Naza has unveiled a new minicar, the Naza Suria, which appears to be a locally assembled rebadged Kia Picanto. At a glance from the image of the Suria appearing in the local dailies, the new Naza Suria gains a slightly sportier facelifted bumper with a different foglamp design as well as a new mesh grille sporting the Naza logo.

The advertisement says the car has a 1.1 litre SOHC engine, which should be the same unit in the CBU Picanto; a 1,086cc unit making 65PS at 5,500rpm and 99Nm of torque at 2,800rpm, this is coupled with a 4 speed auto.

There are rumours of prices floating around, the car is reported to be in the mid RM40,000 to RM50,000 range, but I’ll get official prices before putting it up here. In other news, mStar reports that Naza will be releasing another 3 cars in the year 2007, one of which will be a 1.5 litre saloon model.

UPDATE: Prices are confirmed to be RM43,888 for the standard version, and RM45,888 for one with a sporty bodykit, think Novus.

UPDATE #2:

There is not much difference between the lower spec and the higher spec version of the Naza Suria. The additional RM2,000 that you have to fork out for the high spec version gives you a front lip, side skirtings, a rear spoiler, sportier foglamps in a black insert, as well as rims similiar to the one available on the Naza Sutera. You also get this black piece of plastic at the rear window as you can see in the image above. On the interior, the high spec version gets cloth trim on the doors for both the front and rear doors, while the low spec only has cloth on the front doors, the rear is just pure plastic! The Naza Suria will be launched on the 20th of November 2006.

UPDATE: More photos after the jump.

newnazasuria2.jpg

newnazasuria3.jpg

newnazasuria4.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Nov 02, 2006 at 10:18 am

Hmmmmm

I sure love to see this

Being spoilt with choices

• Joe Cole (Member) on Nov 02, 2006 at 10:56 am

good job naza…..give more tekanan to proton!!

• protonGL (Member) on Nov 02, 2006 at 3:00 pm

last time rode COMEL (c70) then upgrade to JAGUH (kawasaki)

looking that at the top surely ill get NAZA (kia) for my next upgrade.

but still thinking SURIA or SUTRA batter?

• sewell (Member) on Nov 02, 2006 at 4:47 pm

with just a modification, new name and locally assemble to earn easy money.

• Tracks (Member) on Nov 02, 2006 at 5:14 pm

Good job to Naza. Now, lets see what spec could they offer for the Suria. They have been generous in the past so I hoping to see airbags and ABS this time as well. Hmm, a 1.5L saloon possibly the Kia Sephia. That should be interesting too. Lets wait and see.

• waimak (Member) on Nov 02, 2006 at 5:19 pm

Do it once, twice, three times, its still OK. Do it more and more, I tend to get bored with it..

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Nov 02, 2006 at 5:27 pm

hope naza can bring in more models such as rebadge alfa, renault, subaru, volvo.. etc.. so that the car industry in malaysia can flourish.. hehe..

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Nov 02, 2006 at 5:28 pm

No such thing as 'easy' money my friend Sewell, the automotive market now is extremely competitive, some dealerships (Chevrolet) have actually closed down, and even mighty Toyota is giving big discounts … previously unheard of!

As for rebadging, Perodua must be the king in this sector, rebadging Daihatsu products, Inokom too with their Getz, Matrix and Atos. When Naza does it, it's a big sin isn't it?

Bottom line is, Perodua/Inokom/Naza or whoever, at least it gives us customers better choice. More competition = better for us, so what's the point of complaining?

• azhargoth (Member) on Nov 02, 2006 at 5:33 pm

hurmm..maybe a RIO to be appeared next..

• king (Member) on Nov 02, 2006 at 6:13 pm

a good alternative to myvi….at least p2 won't get to monopolize in this segment

• honda_driver (Member) on Nov 02, 2006 at 6:29 pm

funny thing is, when the pug 206 was launched, they didn't sell very well, maybe because the price was also high, but when it was rebadged as a bestari, it still isn't selling well at all..

same goes for the kia rio, it never sold well in malaysia, and now rebadged as a naza suria, i'm also starting to wonder how it will do in the market.

but i will personally never buy any naza cars. their resale value is horrible.

• ... (Member) on Nov 02, 2006 at 7:07 pm

On the road selling price is :-

Naza Suria 1.1 LS (A) – RM 43,888.00 (private reg.)

Naza Suria 1.1 GS (A) – RM 45,888.00 (private reg.)

the GS is with the nice bodykits.

• pirate (Member) on Nov 02, 2006 at 7:13 pm

Errr…the Suria picture so blur.

Scanned from the paper ad, is it?

Sub-standard quality lah Paul!

• indigo (Member) on Nov 02, 2006 at 7:22 pm

I don't see this overpriced supermini to be a big hit. The market is so bad now. Consider the size and the specs of this car, I would still consider a Myvi rather. I wonder why we still think think Korean car is better. If you heard what Jeremy Clarkson's review. The Korean cars are still just as "good" as Malaysian cars. I don't mean to offend but this is the fact. I am wondering why people will buy Picanto or even Sephia as their quality doesn't seem to be impressive. I think just because they are "Korean imported" cars. So think again before bashing up P1 or P2, they did tried their best to improve and try to compete. Although P2 is offering re-badged Daihatsu but they still are good enough to be called local cars. Kancil was a good example of an attempt to stay away from the re-badging image. I would like to say they had done a great job. Naza is just changing the badge on most of its so called local car and I will still consider them as Korean. Please bear in mind that the development of Myvi/Passo/Boon was parcipated by Perodua. Atleast they know that they are not good enough to develop and atleast they had tried. Please give me a break..Naza….

• Hikaru (Member) on Nov 02, 2006 at 7:52 pm

Initially I was excited about this entry on the cheaper Picanto because it's a cute car. But then when i look at the price arrange it seems to be putting itself at a level market in terms of pricing with Myvi. As we all know Myvi is hugely popular and now that is left for this Naza Picanto to compete is the car itself. Both has nothing much to shout about, but the engine size might be a point of consideration. Of course it is also a matter of choice but taking all things into consideration (assuming looks are the same), as the fellow commentors here as highlighted, Myvi might make better financial sense. Maybe it was only intended for ppl who want a Myvi but want to be different.

I wish Naza every bit of success. and a word of advice, don't be too greedy and you might just make more money.

• drM (Member) on Nov 02, 2006 at 8:36 pm

naza has done it again! rebadged engineering!

• haroldz (Member) on Nov 02, 2006 at 8:40 pm

This wot naza is all about.

rebadge foreign cars n claim it as msian made car.

the price is cheaper but wot about the quality?

i read that our fellow bloogers have bad experience with naza sutere.

nyway, the 1st a few batch of new cars produced will encounter some problem.

so dun buy the car rite away after u c in 1st time.

i think naza released this car to encounter the new perodua kenari RS.

Any post about it paul?

just a change of bodykit.

the original picanto received good rating when it was released.

those of u who will receive annual bonus this year will have a great time deciding which car to buy…

hehehe

• xg9 (Member) on Nov 02, 2006 at 9:11 pm

chevrolet has closed down?

• u5 (Member) on Nov 02, 2006 at 11:36 pm

good move , again .. naza.! ur a real competition to proton, which is very good. rebadge more cars n sell it at a price on par with proton's n perodua's . in fact, price it even lower n u will have a bigger portion of the sales compared to our boastful local automotive industry.picanto might not be the best car, but its a stepping stone .

• osh_kosh (Member) on Nov 03, 2006 at 12:37 am

hmm… still to expensive 4 a small/campact 'local' car

• calvin5189 (Member) on Nov 03, 2006 at 2:19 am

hey honda driver

naza suria=kia picanto

not kia rio

• Paul Tan on Nov 03, 2006 at 3:40 am

pirate: yeah, unfortunately i dont know where else to get photos, so just scanned the newspaper.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Nov 03, 2006 at 3:43 am

Indigo, where do you get this information? "Please bear in mind that the development of Myvi/Passo/Boon was parcipated by Perodua. Atleast they know that they are not good enough to develop and atleast they had tried. Please give me a break..Naza…. "

What makes you so sure, and how do you know Perodua didn't just stick badges on, and what makes you think Naza didn't commission some market studies and fed back to Kia Motors for the development of Picanto?

Jealousy and envy is always coloured green eh? ;) Hehehehe!

• infinity (Member) on Nov 03, 2006 at 9:19 am

hey hey…the photo…the exterior not bad eh….but the interior a bit plain and outdated la…btw…i dun seems to c any exhaust pipe at the rear…

• thorrel (Member) on Nov 03, 2006 at 9:43 am

Just some thoughts.

Correct me if i'm wrong.

P1 – was supposed produced 1.3 vehicles and above

P2 – was supposed to produced 1.3 vehicles and below

NAZA? – all kind of vehicles?

• protonGL (Member) on Nov 03, 2006 at 10:10 am

i think people reall love that RPM DIAL , reall can feel the rpm as their head turn along with the needle to read the number….5000 6000 7000 8000 snapppPP!!!…..

………………..really a neck breaking engine speed ,

• assimo (Member) on Nov 03, 2006 at 11:14 pm

come on naza…we already going to year 2007 and you still rebadge car looks like come from 90's model…..this is not a new car laaa…!

• justworld (Member) on Nov 03, 2006 at 11:16 pm

I strongly agree with Indigo comments on the development with Myvi as a collaboration with Toyota & Daihatsu. For your info, Perodua is actually a sister company of UMW Toyota, where Toyota had 49% share in it.

Daihatsu on the other hand is also a subsidiary of Toyota and all part of Toyota Japan. There is a link between all 3 companies and Perodua is the local manufacturer for Toyota. Different market has different preference and Perodua was asked by Toyota to provide them the market situation in Malaysia to come out with the Myvi.

In the case of Naza, they are actually the local distributor of Kia models and the agreement currently is to locally manufacture Kia models to rebadge it as Naza's product. Try & check the back of each Naza models, all bears "Licensed by Kia" and for Peugeot's will be "Engineered by Peugeot". Naza models would be exported to other countries but will retain back their original brand. This means that the main vendor (Kia or Peugeot) assigns Naza to source components locally and rebadge the vendor's products to be sold or exported to reduce the cost of production or manufacturing costs. There are actually no input from Naza whatsoever to influence the specifications of the original models for the local market.

• carlover (Member) on Nov 04, 2006 at 3:37 am

well said – maibatsu_thunder.

We should all be thankful to companies like Naza and P2. As much as we hate rebadging, theres no other way Malaysians can afford such cars under the duty structure.

Love it or Hate it….this is the right way to go, especially since our market is SO SMALL.

• chrisbangle (Member) on Nov 04, 2006 at 7:27 am

Naza is doing what the current government wants, which is to CKD all the cars sold locally.

The government also believes that the local market is strong enough to one day allow us to see CKD versions of Ferraris, Lamborghinis, Porsches and many other brands.

You need around 2-3k of sales volume to justify a CKD project. It is a big hint that the government wants Malaysians to pay for its dream as a motoring hub in its own region. The problem is, our market is still too small and car companies are not brave enough to straight-away CKD its new model here.

Whatever it is, Honda, Toyota and even the China corps are heading towards Thailand and Indonesia for their ASEAN car projects. Failing to see this will result in a closed market condition, which is what they claim will not happen with NAP.

I personally think NAP stands for nap..as in tidur.

• BrieCampro (Member) on Nov 04, 2006 at 11:49 pm

Go Naza..I don’t care about rebadge or patriotic or proton.. it’s only politicion joke.. what we need is a nice car with low price.. so we can used it and buy it with own money.. kami bukan korga latok z……………… nice move naza.

• szw (Member) on Nov 06, 2006 at 3:25 am

hows da quality ?

• BrieCampro (Member) on Nov 10, 2006 at 2:53 am

I own a citra. for me Naza?..,it's much better than proton.. my gen2.. heh.. nice looking.. but krok krek sana sini belum umor setahun….

• mrsakit (Member) on Nov 10, 2006 at 4:01 pm

NAZA has fully paid royalty for KIA Licensing that can change the name/brand of any KIA product. So that's mean, no specialist engineer in NAZA staff including designer. Then, sell it to up the NAZA name. Malaysian citizen looking for lower price. But this model is not worth it only 1.1cc almost 50k.

I don't think so the petrol will save because the body part is heavy that the engine cannot afford to bring up the body. Why NAZA choose KIA, because of cheaps and no current technology such as VTEC, MIVEC, VVTI and so on. NAZA was selling the PUG206 but the selling is going down. Peugeot is the high quality of euro kar that NAZA scared to bring the lower priced. NAZA Sutra is the compact car but the engine was made in china. It is not guarantee for the long term asset. This kind of business which is not to target proton that the proton will let going down but they killing himself. NAZA is not concentrate of major quality as long as copy design and sell it as long as all people looking for the lower price. As a result, NAZA cannot be popularity because NAZA is not made the car only handsover from KIA and sell it to malaysia and change the NAZA name. That's why NAZA cannot send to his any model to any competition car at euro, japan and USA. They scared if foreigner condemned to their product. Not like proton, they all comdemned the proton product except the proton satria more popular in euro. Atleast proton car have an award winning better than NAZA. Finally, NAZA staff is considerd lazy bump that their job only for rebadge and no challenging at work.

• zanggief (Member) on Nov 10, 2006 at 7:35 pm

why they assembled now????

this may affect d previous sutera….but korean1 betterla…

d chinese model 1(sutera) no good…

is tat d rio sedan will b d latest 1.5 model????

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Nov 10, 2006 at 7:42 pm

Keep it up Naza! Hehe…silly tail-lamp extensions…I would get rid of that as soon as I get my Suria delivered… :P

• zaidan (Member) on Nov 10, 2006 at 8:10 pm

NAZA just don't have their own identity. They were copycat. No point giving national car status to them.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 8:44 pm

Perodua same what, just rebadge, change cosmetic a bit from Daihatsu but no one complains. Anyway, bottom line is bring more competition. Inokom Hyundai, Naza Kia, Naza Peugeot, Perodua Daihatsu … WHATEVER lah. Bottom line is Malaysian citizens get more choice, not such a captive market. Badge you yourself can change back to Hyundai, Kia, Peugeot, Daihatsu later what … just buy from Brothers.

• xfresh (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 6:37 am

P2 MyVi rebadged from toyota/daihatsu???? no la guys, dont say like that…i'm one of the person involved in the project….it started few years back when a group of our own malaysian R&D people went to japan to design on a new compact car together with toyota guys and daihatsu. then you guys might asked why passo or boon launched earlier than myvi? the answers is…VENDOR…our vendor were not in the same capability as toyota/daihatsu counterpart in japan..P2 was struggling to find the right vendors for this project…..so when we launch out late, people tend to called it rebadged..it was not actually..it was what we called simultenous engineering or SE..our local engineers ideas were on that car..pls give a credit to them..

• aini (Member) on Dec 14, 2006 at 7:45 pm

i juzt book a suria..n mayB my suria will come to me by next week..i don't know how to say..tapii kn….the 1st time look at suria tu..i dah ter tawan teramat sgt dh..even i hear some coments from my fren about it..ishhhhh..dh tak peduli dhh…suria ..is cute 4 meee…

• miracle (Member) on Dec 30, 2006 at 10:59 am

i like the car but from what i heard,naza cars consume lots of fuel.anyone has any idea whether is that true?

• haroldz (Member) on Jan 27, 2007 at 7:52 am

miracle said,

December 30, 2006 @ 2:59 am

i like the car but from what i heard,naza cars consume lots of fuel.anyone has any idea whether is that true?

naza ria consume alot of fuel.

dat wot i read from this blog.

just search nor naza cars.

see wot the bloggers' comment.

any1 test drive tis suria?

• nizam73 (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 8:14 am

copy & paste care model… just changed top mark???? how could become national cars??? ha ha ha…. quality same like china car maker.. Sutra… I still LOVE PROTON… Malaysian designed… no copy…..

• Is Naza Suria a good buy compared to Viva ?

• 1.1 o_O" how fast this car can go? i mean in standard mode

• naza suria price has reduced

• I bought the Naza Suria on 15.7.2009 and now the 'brake pump' broke down and I took the car to the Naza Service center – what the service man said " OH IT WILL TAKE ABOUT 3 TO 4 MONTHS TO GET THE THE PART' , BUT IF YOU WANT TO PAY BY YOURSELF WE THINK WE CAN DO IT TODAY" that is it NAZA.

• I had been experienced the same problem of the brake pump broke down with my Naza Suria. I had to pay RM200 (RM100 each for left and right brake pumps)

• iskandar on Mar 24, 2014 at 4:04 pm

read my comments far down below :)

• I faced Gearbox prob, replaced a new one for RM3200. Now driver side door cant open, have to get down from passenger’s side. Full of problem!!!!

• I got the same problem with the gear box can you please give me the reference from where you changed the gear box?

• iskandar on Mar 24, 2014 at 4:02 pm

My wife owns Naza Suria 1.1 GS for 6 years already (bought March 2008). At the moment, market value is quoted at highest RM13K while lowest RM7K. Mine is running fine without major problems. Gearbox have to maintain every 20K with Apollo lubricants (RM220), while engine serviced using Petronas fully synthethic 3000 + oil filter (RM200) at 10K interval.

Regular service just around RM200+, except if change ATF, coolant, spark plugs, air filter etc. Major service usually doesn’t exceed RM800.

If you happens to own one, please refer to these shop/mechanic for reliable & affordable service using original/OEM spare parts and lubes:

1. Kamal (ex-Naza pomen using original Kia parts) 012-6883806 @Salak Selatan, Cheras [quote my name]
    2. Elwin (https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/606576/+0) @Rawang
    3. Korean Car Mates (https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1619828) @U1 Shah Alam

So, my message to 2nd Hand Car Dealers, this car is NOT THAT BAD AFTER ALL. It’s affordable to maintain & is a lot better than Viva, yet u guys are trading it below Viva’s price.