Hyundai Sonata SXi Concept

Hyundai has kitted out their new Hyundai Sonata NF for public viewing at the Australian Motor Show 2006, which gives us a preview of a possible future high performance Hyundai Sonata model. The Hyundai Sonata SXi Concept is powered by a V6 engine driving the front wheels through a 5-speed automatic transmission.
Hyundai Australia put the concept together to gauge public response to the model, of which if favourable, could mean we could see a high performance Hyundai going on sale perhaps sometime in 2007.
Rear view after the jump.

November 3, 2006 @ 2:17 am
Wow.. looks much better than our current Sonata. This new sonata doesn’t have ‘grandfather’s car look’.
November 3, 2006 @ 2:29 am
clean
BUT a bit camry rear ,
still OUTDATED, because todays car got a almost higher waist line as it moves rearward, giving a small apature for rear window (camry for eg).
HYUNDAI…..try again
November 3, 2006 @ 9:04 am
Oh my goodness, the rear looks very much like a clone of the Honda Accord.
November 3, 2006 @ 9:18 am
hmmm….the side looks like some perdana with sport rims to me…
November 3, 2006 @ 10:13 am
isnt this the Azura ?
November 3, 2006 @ 10:44 am
This is lovely! I’m gonna buy this because I can’t afford an RS4 in our BolehLand…huhuhu…
November 3, 2006 @ 10:45 am
Changed the grille area and slap in 4 sport rims and they call it Sports edition?
November 3, 2006 @ 10:46 am
Obviously it’s nothing remotely close to the RS4, but I suppose the Sonata SXi offers a more affordable thrill? Hehehe…
November 3, 2006 @ 2:44 pm
wot the different between this edition and the older one?
just bodykit?
lawak le mereka ni
heheheh
November 3, 2006 @ 5:29 pm
i dunno.. but i find tat accord wit body kit looks more sporty.. y? its a honda!!! haha.. waja wit petronas e01?? waja gti.. at least it boast petronas f1 tech, lotus ride and handling.. alfa romeo nose!
November 3, 2006 @ 6:46 pm
Looks very much like the pre-FL Accord.
A FWD car, this has gotta be a joke for a sports cars.
November 3, 2006 @ 8:50 pm
Ok, still an acceptable exterior, but Hyundai should have new idea for the rear, looks similar to Accord’s rear.
November 3, 2006 @ 11:42 pm
Is Hyundai a copycat or do so many of their designs coincidently resemble one car or another?
November 4, 2006 @ 12:09 pm
outdated design…..try again……refer to kia design dept, they got awsome ideas
November 5, 2006 @ 7:39 pm
looks so much like accord
November 9, 2006 @ 2:52 am
it does look like a compilation of past model of other car brands….I dont think Hyundai has invested in an R&D department yet =/
November 11, 2006 @ 1:23 am
Umm… if you guys had read the article properly, it was never stated as a “Sports Edition”. It is just titled concept..
It was also not stated that its a sports car but just a preview of a possible high performance Hyundai.
Get your facts straight.