Peugeot 206 Escapade

206escapade1.jpg

Alot of manufacturers have been building soft-roader versions of their normal road going cars, seeing that there is a market for rugged looking vehicles that will never ever be taken off the tarmac in their lifetime. This works out to be alot cheaper than developing a small off-road vehicle from scratch. Hyundai has done it with the Getz Cross, and you also have cars like the Fiat Panda 4X4 running around.

The Peugeot 206 has many variants, a 5-door, 3-door, station wagon, coupe cabriolet and even a sedan! Now you can add a soft-roader to the mix – the Peugeot 206 Escapade, which as far as I know is being sold in Brazil. It’s basically the 206 SW station wagon with the bodykit tailored to give it a rugged offroader look. You also have a higher suspension by 25mm to be exact, but those wheel arches are filled up with 14 inch wheels wrapped with 175/70/R14 tyres. The Peugeot 206 Escapade is powered by Peugeot’s 1.6 litre 16V engine making 113hp, and is Flexi-Fuel ready, this means the car can run both on gasoline or alcohol.

Photos and video after the jump.

The original Peugeot 206 Escapade Concept

206escapade2.jpg

206escapade3.jpg

206escapade5.jpg

Video: Peugeot 206 Escapade

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• i'm run (Member) on Nov 04, 2006 at 5:56 am

Hate the background music.

• AMG (Member) on Nov 04, 2006 at 6:23 am

2nd:

Just Like The 206SW

• protonGL (Member) on Nov 04, 2006 at 6:36 am

should have this type for rugged car (not necesarrily this pug) to suit the unsettled road condition/or kampung road in malaysia, custom made unfriendly road hump and heavy loading life style (clearence most needed)

could be stylish wat….apart from sport suspensioned car.

rover have this kind. iv seen,

• chrisbangle (Member) on Nov 04, 2006 at 6:42 am

Getz Cross is not a Hyundai's effort. it was done by MS Design, and it apes the Polo Cross.

Malaysians do not fancy estates and this is a pity. Like many other third world countries, their people appreciate looks rather than function.

• aksMs (Member) on Nov 04, 2006 at 7:19 am

You're right chrisbangle. Generally, most of us don't. That's why you hardly see estates on Malaysian road. In the old days, we saw Galant Wagon, Corolla Wagon and Datsuns. Even nowadays, we still can find quite a few of these "old schools" being use for 'pasar malam' business or some small "gerai keropok." I know a few who drives Estates, today. But almost all, has been driving it abroad, when they brought the whole family for Masters and PHDs. Why? Different perception, I guess.

• aksMs (Member) on Nov 04, 2006 at 7:21 am

I won't mind buying and driving a Citroen C5 Estate. But this Pug? No way maaann! :p

• sewell (Member) on Nov 04, 2006 at 7:28 am

soon we will see this rebadge into NAZA…….haha…….

• aesthari (Member) on Nov 04, 2006 at 8:06 am

Estates, I don't mind em, as long as it's an Alfa or Citroen! I like the 206, but not in this form; it looks as if it's done half-heartedly.

• protonGL (Member) on Nov 04, 2006 at 8:12 am

there has been the AD resort, volvo T5, some sunny, around,

…………..well there market segment for this type, cant say people dont like it.

except J U A R A! (national bulldog)

• ingolstadt (Member) on Nov 04, 2006 at 8:45 am

RUBBISH.

• RM (Member) on Nov 04, 2006 at 9:20 am

Dodgy looking thing. PSA Peugeot-Citroen have gone overboard in trying to stretch the 8-year old 206s lifespan. Pity, as the french have traditionally made beautiful cars, e.g. 307 and 407.

• assimo (Member) on Nov 04, 2006 at 6:00 pm

ewww…don't like that wheel arch soooo fugly! Peugeot should redesign the front looks,not match at all….

• drM (Member) on Nov 04, 2006 at 7:19 pm

this is really disgusting. I want to puke straight away. I though the french design is all about flair and sexy curves and stand out appearance. but this is horrible. agree to some comment above, they just put a 206SW and longed the tail plus putting some height below..

The designer(s) should take responsiblity over this horrendous and rubbish creation and it is highly recommended to perform HARAKIRI to protect the good names of French Auto Makers.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Nov 04, 2006 at 9:22 pm

idiot car frm french company….

• protonGL (Member) on Nov 05, 2006 at 12:51 am

I LL BUY ONE he he he

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Nov 05, 2006 at 4:26 am

LMAO

• mitlanevo (Member) on Nov 05, 2006 at 6:11 am

One word…… UGLY!!

The subaru Forester is way better than this.

14 inch wheels and 1.6 liter engine are really the things that I dislike.

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 05, 2006 at 7:22 am

very ugly. From 206 alone very beautiful, this is downright ugly. Too lazy to make the lines correct. They just added the back part

• chrisbangle (Member) on Nov 05, 2006 at 8:54 am

There is market for station wagon? Good…care to tell us which estate is selling like hot cakes now? There are only two entry level estates now, which are the Optra and the Fabia Combi. The rest are premium models.

The 206 is a good car and is still being produced in many countries. Adding the estate bodywork to it will cater to those who need more space. The world is big and I am sure the car will find many homes if not here.

• szw (Member) on Nov 06, 2006 at 3:48 am

seriously dis car will be produce ?

• bobdbilder (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 12:42 am

Aiya what so special. Go to JB and see Satria with 15in rims and standard 60 profiles with Wira absorbers. Drive in JB and you know why they do it like that. Go to Pasir Gudang on old highway and you would appreciate it! Wira there don't pretend to be WRC Evos. They do it because they have to. Once you are off the highway, the potholes from Skudai to JB make sure you know that you have arrived!

My kampung lah.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Nov 09, 2006 at 1:40 am

This car is much better than Avanza 1.5 lah, unless you REALLY need 7 seats. If this car is maybe 5-10k more than Naza 206 1.4, with 1.6L engine, then can consider strongly.