Nice Proton Savvy bodykit

hardcoresavvy.jpg

I spotted this very nice kitted out black Proton Savvy at the Mentari Business Park in Sunway this afternoon. Looks pretty nice, the owner went around what’s considered one of the Savvy’s biggest design “defect”, the Waja front lookalike embedded into the rear. Didn’t manage to get a photo of the front though, but it had a mesh grille.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 12:32 am

Like black turtle!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 12:38 am

Some more exhaust pipe modified to 2, left and right. How on earth 1.2L engine required 2 exhaust pipe to release the smoke? Funny kitted up car.

I "modified" one item in my Waja car only – replace original absorber (kong around 1 year) with used kereta potong Honda Accord absorber (at least 3 year at time of fixing), now using for more than 2 year still in tip top condition.

• OOOO (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 12:50 am

Probably Proton should take note from this owner on how to do the boot. Plain and pleasant to the eyes..

• òmn&Ati (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 1:05 am

WOAH! sweet… nice… kick arse…

its no ordinary black turtle… LOL! its a black ninja turtle (pimped)…

• yinglwong (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 1:05 am

Great for giving credit where it is due, Paul.

This dude managed to raise the appeal of the car a couple of notches.

Two thumbs up!

• Wai (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 1:25 am

wow this savvy got the pocket rocket looks…time for a bolt on charger to complete the cycle

• protonGL (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 1:30 am

aiya….this mod make it a LESSER car……….normally bought this car got another front for FREE,

any way, mod the not a good looking car to a (not a good)er looking car,

….NOTHING to APPRECIATE about.

• dcwhz83 (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 2:05 am

hey…

that's an illegal tint…

did not even have 1% out of the 50% required vision from the rear and side windows…

breaking the law to get a 'pimp' ride is not cool…

• fastcx (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 2:27 am

perhaps people who comment should read Paul's paragraph…Paul said "I spotted this very nice kitted out black Proton Savvy at the Mentari Business Park in Sunway this afternoon", so just look at the kit dude ;) not tinting! hehe

As for Joe Ooi, perhaps u should look at couples of Myvi i saw lately, they also did dual pipe, so do you think 1.3 need such setup? they just have extra money to spend on cosmetic stuff, so why not just let them be? :) when there are anything related to Proton there will be flaming in comment area, why? Paul have hard time doing filtering guys…be considerate, you aren't kids anymore :)

I do give credit to this dude, the kit do looks nice, just the bumper part have some odd feeling at the top which is just around the back light. For the rest, i wouldn't need to comment as people will come in and fill in the blanks soon :)

• DG (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 2:35 am

fastcx i agree with your comment but too bad some people were born to speak like a loose cannon! =) lolx

• Joe v2.0 (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 2:37 am

two thumbs up for losing the waja nose one the savvy's but. nicely done.

• QRizTOBurD (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 2:39 am

Need For Speed Underground / Underground 2 / Most Wanted / Most Wanted 2 Black List / Carbon material??

• pheonix_comet (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 2:40 am

i'm sure that he have spend sometime to do this mod.. it really is nice…

form the back angle it looks like jazz…. well done…..

if got the front even better…

proton should have more ppl like this… at least they can come out as additional..

can ppl post this to any other webpage that whole world will know how savvy can really turn into after this mod.

• armandd (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 2:46 am

hmm, quite nice..

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 2:49 am

Not bad. I like what they did with the rear hatch. Now just fix the rear doors with that 'step up' – I see no point for it, ugly. Other than that, looks very nice. Plunk in some 1.6 Turbo engine lah, Proton … like the VW Lupo GTi.

• azolkipl (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 3:20 am

Here's a list of things I hope R3 would consider as items to make a Savvy R3:

1. 100bhp 1.2l Renault turbo engine (like the one in the Renault Twingo Concept)

2. uprated front and back disk brakes (possible cross drilled)

3. sports tuned absorber and spring set

4. All the equipment from Zerokit

5. A free-flow exhaust system (including the Zerokit muffler)

6. Take out all unnecessary weight (if any)

With all those mods done, the car should be good enough for a one make competition like the Renault Clio Cup in the UK. :)

• jawa5281 (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 3:39 am

beautifully done… i think better w/o the rear windscreen wiper.. ooohh btw.. can someone enlighten me on why hatch/aero back model will have rear windscreen wiper? i just can't think of the logic.

• kakimotor (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 4:00 am

See even the Ah Beng can do better than the Potong design team. The Sawi got the worst rear design I even seen, in other words damn ugly. This Potong should consult talented designer not simply 'syok sendiri' design laughing stock…

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 4:19 am

This is pretty nice, although I would prefer just a little more subtlety. Then again beauty is a subjective matter. ;) Hey, who says breaking the law is not cool? It's one of the coolest things you can do, especially when you can break the law and get around it! Hahaha… :D Aaanyway, do you think R3 should perchance take a hint from this guy? I really fancy the smoothed-out tailgate. Tune the engine for extra muscle, and tweak the chassis to allow enthusiastic driving. Go, go, R3! :)

• Chapree Da Grande (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 4:33 am

It looked like a rally car…i might be day-dreaming but if i ever build a rally-ready Savvy, this is how it should look like.

• Dogster (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 4:39 am

Proton should give the public a preview of their new designs during their design phase, and note the comments of the public. Just do a bit more hardwork and the rewards are very rewarding in the end.

• DtG (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 5:09 am

Nice… BTW, Kakimotor, please don't assume that ALL people who spend a lot of money and effort into making their car look nice (to themselves at least) are Ah Bengs (no offense though).

• szw (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 5:44 am

at least it looks better than myvi

• kacman (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 5:57 am

i've seen OZs tambah their backpipes as well, so wats the problem meh. Sure it looks awesome, those p1 dudes should take note of this mod and export it here instead of the normal dreary looking sawi, er i meant savvy. Kina kutuk one here lor, onli GTi sold like hotcakes

• Aileron (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 6:40 am

this is nice…

if the number plate was placed in the middle like the satria..

• bmpower (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 7:20 am

yeah..

this model (savvy ) is hotcakes in UK.

better than myvi.. paul, no frontside pic meh?

anyone here his/her neighborhood?

i think i should get 1 for my daily used coz petrol's scary thingy nowaday.

• inv (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 7:22 am

if you think the back is good looking, u'd be surprised it's even a savvy if you manage to look from front. this shud be the same savvy i saw a few months ago… really shud have taken the front pics paul…

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 7:46 am

there are more pics at savoc.net

• AkuDotCom (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 7:47 am

I heard the savvy production were on halt right now. they are designing new facelift. the back one surely change one.

• Lexus-IS (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 8:14 am

ohh shit i never see ugly car modify like this ,however no standard of the car how to modify also useless …

• cyborgx (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 8:38 am

Paul are you kidding?

lol, yea probably if you compare this to stock savvy, this one is better. To me, it looks like a piece of crap. I ll even say the same thing to any car which is totally black. No taste ler..

• cbljkkj (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 9:18 am

Actually the kit is nice, better compared to the stock savvy as the nasty waja front is gone. The diffuser on the bumper isn't bad and not as ricey as other bodykits you see on other cars (shivers)

The only things i may not like is probably that rear spoiler which i think is the passo kit's spoiler and probably the overwhelming tint.

As for the exhaust set up in reference to Joe Ooi's post, even the 660cc Turbo Daihatsu Mira's of the past had twin exhaust pipes. It isn't a problem. Its not as though there are two exhaust manifolds connected to the engine.

• ezralimm (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 10:50 am

em.. call me blur.. or shortsighted.. but, what's the "big difference" with the stock bodykit?

• aesthari (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 10:55 am

The rear spoiler looks like a TRD one, not too sure, but the car looks way better and sporty now. The owner must have put some thought in to pull this out!

• topgunthang (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 11:57 am

certainly looks better. the color also helps as well. but its still a savvy. it will still feel like one and drive like one.

an yway, hope the owner enjoys the car.

• protonGL (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 1:59 pm

i got my vespa moded to twin tail pipe, each side have different size silencer.

it it puffs smoke alternately LEFT RIGHT LEFT RIGHT LEFT RIGHT .

WOOOO…SYMPHONIC! with FOGGY effect…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 2:36 pm

cbljkkj said,

"As for the exhaust set up in reference to Joe Ooi’s post, even the 660cc Turbo Daihatsu Mira’s of the past had twin exhaust pipes. It isn’t a problem. Its not as though there are two exhaust manifolds connected to the engine."

————————-

I am neither Mechanical Engineer nor experience Ah Beng in mod car. But I would like to clarify my comment is as follow: –

1. Do the 2 exhaust pipe just mod it for aesthetic only – "decorative feature"?

2. Do such a small cc subcompact car (or "lawn mower" engine) in term of engineering performance requirement, 2 exhaust pipe is "over provision"?

I think the former is applicable in this case! and the owner is not wrong if his intention is this. Just like MME edition for Waja also pack with "decorative feature" for rally/race car – "imitation" for aesthetic but not for performance like EVO or Imprezza! Sigh!!!!!!!!!

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 4:45 pm

Change the door 'step' …. must have one smooth line from front to back. Front grille/bumper do something more bold. Maybe like Audi or something but DON'T ape them. Do something unique. Engine, something hot – 130-160PS (No need any EURO emissions – not needed in Malaysia, cut cost), rear bootlid smooth like this Ah Beng car one. Disc no need cross drilled (old thinking, now days no need at the most 3 mild slots). Steering column, change to tiltable, maybe MOMO steering, pedals, handbrake, meter cluster change to black/white not the kindergarten style it has now. Ask JBL, Bose or Infinity to do sound system. Forget Blaupunt. Wheels – Some tasty super lightweight 14" (Magnesium) and sticky rubbers. :)

• òmn&Ati (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 4:47 pm

duh… =(

the previous comment sounds like george bush or donald rumsfeld talking…

why compare when there are not equal? pimping is a culture nothing wrong; why talk abt muscles all of a sudden?

• Ralliace (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 5:00 pm

Tastefully done.

Has anyone considered if there are two exhaust tail-ends, could one just be a dummy (for cosmetic reasons only)?

• fastcx (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 5:03 pm

yup agree with òmnícp, pimping is like a culture or trend..just let people express their creativity, they have extra money to dump into their car just let them be, creativity shouldnt b limited..modders have their different taste, sumtimes people wants performance, others like good looks or nice sound..dude, cheers, dun need to always kutuk-kutuk at wrong channel…no offence…just my 2cent :P boleh beli candy la :D

• karheng (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 5:42 pm

i tot it looked a tad bit flat at the back now that he's taken it away. Has that 'cut off' feel. Seen it a few times in Subang already, but something makes me dislike it….

• nizam80 (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 7:52 pm

Looks EVIL and MENACING!!!!!!!!!

I agree Savvy looks much better without the Waja-shaped rear end. Looks waaaaayyyy better than any other tricked out Myvi.

• QRizTOBurD (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 10:16 pm

nizam80..

Savvy looks tons and tons of times better than a myvi anytime..

myvi looks like a turtle.. more turtle than savvy..

• QRizTOBurD (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 10:19 pm

Ralliace..

many ppl do dat.. i saw one Toyota Vios.. tricked out damn nice..but only saw smoke come out one exhaust.. ahha

• penguin (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 11:11 pm

Savvy rear – like a turtle

Myvi rear – like a big punggung woman

so…now fair or not…

not fair? make car by your self laaa…

• cbljkkj (Member) on Nov 12, 2006 at 8:23 am

Joe Ooi:-

Twin exhaust pipes do not only compliment cars with a larger displacement. Like I said in my post before even smaller cars have them. In the very same case as "decorative feature", twin pipes can be both functional and decorative.

By calling it a "lawn-mower engine", it is a derogatory stance you have taken against people with sub-compact cars such as myself and others. Are you implying that only people with cars of a higher displacement deserve to put on accesories on their cars?

Didn't think so. I'd rather drive my subcompact anyday in a traffic jam or town commute with my "lawn-mower engine" as you call it.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Nov 12, 2006 at 8:46 am

cbljkkj, "lawn-mower engine" – I don't mean derogatory but just implied "small cc engine". Even my Waja 1.6L also consider as the same "lawn-mower engine". Those 2.4L and above only consider as "power-pack engine".

On accessories issues, even last time my Honda EX 5 have some minor accessories. The case here is people's preference at their own money to dress up their car but my comment is just limited to whether they mod their car for engineering performance or "decorative/aesthetic" purposes only! Even my niece mod his venerable Wira car with flourecent light at bottom of car complete with race/rally features (inclusive EVO sticker) but the engine still remain the same – Magma 1.3L! For him is enjoyment, but for me is a waste of money.

No offence, just share my though!

• bmpower (Member) on Nov 13, 2006 at 5:00 am

joe oi.. u're selfish, degrading many peoples in you post. if you dont like savvy, to tell and push everybody to agree with you.. different people has different taste. as myself.. i don't like Japanese car.. it's all same (in my eye). from honda to Toyota etc. The design remain the same. same curve, same bumper style… typically japan design.. bla bla blah.

you think that savvy owner feeling good reading your post? i also had a friend those plug double exhaust into their 1.1 myvi. but im not telling that he is a stupid person.

the nice one is nice.. u dont have to tell it ugly if you dont like it. it;s not your car.. it's their car and their money. do you car look UGLY joe?

please.. dont be donald rumsfield and bush… donald trump is okay.

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Nov 13, 2006 at 4:47 pm

Honestly I don't like ppl modify the car sometime is OVER design. But, I think this DUDE is doing great, he change the ULGY Looking Savvy into a Black Dragon or Monster look. KUDO him!

The rear double exhaust looks just match with it. Paul, shot the front someday, just hope that the FRONT is match with the REAR.

Out of 10 points, I give 6 points if just the REAR looks. Another 4 points depend on the FRONT look.

• honda_driver (Member) on Nov 13, 2006 at 6:04 pm

nicely done.. looks like he must have spent quite a bit of money.

i'm thinking of getting a savvy as well, as a run-around car..

• acbc (Member) on Nov 13, 2006 at 7:14 pm

Wow. Tastefully done. Now makes me want to buy one and do the same thing. If only they can turbo-charge the stock engine. Couple with AMT, it will be the cheapest and fastest shifting pocket rocket.

• catchcart (Member) on Nov 14, 2006 at 1:31 am

Hey Joe,

Please refrain yourself from posting a comment. It's just a sore to the eye reading this blog.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Nov 14, 2006 at 2:31 am

bmpower & catchcart, noted both of your comments and your right of opinion but simply can't agree with what both of you saying!!!!!!!! Say what both of you want to say about me or on other, but do it on your own peril………

• yytellmey (Member) on Nov 14, 2006 at 5:25 am

best proton savvy mod i'vs seen so far, still, not very nice for me

• raybrig85 (Member) on Nov 14, 2006 at 7:39 am

still crap but nicer than standard one…

• Joe Cole (Member) on Nov 14, 2006 at 8:04 am

awesome!!cool…

• cratzelogy (Member) on Nov 14, 2006 at 8:10 am

Not bad looking, but I just found out recently there is a new project the boys at P2 is running. Looking forward to Myvi latest sport version, thou I heard it much likely to the Myvi sport on KLIM'06

• superman (Member) on Nov 14, 2006 at 4:51 pm

Paul,

Not too far in the distance The Savvy will do away with the Waja snout.. I've seen the car and it looks rather good. Fitted with ethe R3 Bodykit and soem nice wheels can look quite "garang"

I've been driving a Savvy AMT since August. Once you get used to the fact it ain't an REAL auto, but a manual Tranny with auto clutch, it's quite enjoyable to drive. Though the engine is rather boomy around 4000rpm.

• superman (Member) on Nov 14, 2006 at 4:56 pm

azolkipl said,

November 10, 2006 @ 7:20 pm

Here’s a list of things I hope R3 would consider as items to make a Savvy R3:

1. 100bhp 1.2l Renault turbo engine (like the one in the Renault Twingo Concept)

2. uprated front and back disk brakes (possible cross drilled)

3. sports tuned absorber and spring set

4. All the equipment from Zerokit

5. A free-flow exhaust system (including the Zerokit muffler)

6. Take out all unnecessary weight (if any)

With all those mods done, the car should be good enough for a one make competition like the Renault Clio Cup in the UK

My car has the R3 tuned springs and rear muffler to complement the R3 bodykit. Quite an attractive car & a hoot to drive.

Anywqay for arguments sake, the mods you listed is quite interesting. But that car will cost quite a bit. I doubt malaysians would pay more than RM50k for a 1.2ltr National car. I'm sure Renault won't sell the engine cheaply.

• honda_driver (Member) on Nov 14, 2006 at 5:16 pm

"but do it on your own peril………" ?!?!?! joe.. relax la.. sounds like you "almost" threatening people already.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Nov 14, 2006 at 7:00 pm

honda_driver, not "almost" threatening people lah, but just to give them "gentle reminder" that any cocky talk and/or wild accusation without just cause and excuse, there is a "risk" ……… he, he, he, …..

• honda_driver (Member) on Nov 15, 2006 at 1:11 am

topgunthang "but its still a savvy. it will still feel like one and drive like one."

i think thats the best part of it actually. the savvy to me is still one of the most fun cars to drive around town.

• darkteror (Member) on Nov 22, 2006 at 9:44 pm

i still prefer the normal backhood it look very unique like a mix of european and some asian this bodykit just look 2 comment its boring

• Citroeneer on Jun 01, 2011 at 1:39 pm

Not too bad and not overly done. At least, he didnt’ paint the car yellow. Thumbs up !

• i like this pic…means the bodykit of proton savvy…where we can get this woooo……