VW Cars showroom opens, pricelist available

vwcarsshowroom1.jpg

VW Cars Sdn Bhd just launched Volkswagen’s first showroom in Malaysia at UOA Central in Jalan Pinang, right in the heart of KL. VW Cars Sdn Bhd is actually a company under the CarTrade group, which recently exited the BMW distribution business, hence all CarTrade showrooms have been converted into VW Cars showrooms, starting with the one at UOA Central. Another showroom cum service center will be located along the Federal Highway in PJ,which will also incorporate a training center for Volkswagen service personnel. Two other showrooms will be located in Johor and Perak.

VW Cars Sdn Bhd‘s service centers will also service Volkswagen cars from other distributors, for example the Wald GTis from Amazing Tempo Sdn Bhd – no discrimination there. This is in line with Volkswagen Malaysia’s philosophy to support all Volkswagen cars in Malaysia, so VW Cars does the same.

There has already been a few orders, and plenty of enquiries on Volkswagens, but perhaps the lack of a showroom and actual models to touch, feel and test drive is the cause for slow conversion of enquiries to orders, so perhaps with this showroom, the numbers will pick up. VW Cars Sdn Bhd targets 1200 units sold from now until the end of 2007, that’s about 14 months – about 85 cars a month, with the bread and butter models expected to be the Golf GTI, the Passat and the Touareg. The first shipment of cars will be arriving in three week’s time, so that would be early December 2006.

The price of the Volkswagen Golf GTI DSG looks promising – RM198,888 (RM200,083.00 on the road including insurance, road tax, etc) but the car is lower speced than the Wald GTI. Basically the VW Car Golf GTI lacks the Wald’s 18 inch wheels and sunroof – the VW Car version has 17 inch wheels, which is the stock size.

More photos and price list after the jump.

vwcarsshowroom2.jpg

vwcarsshowroom3.jpg

vwcarsshowroom4.jpg

vwcarsshowroom5.jpg

VW Cars Sdn Bhd Price List

Prices are on the road with insurance, road tax, etc.

Volkswagen Golf 1.6 FSI RM166,816.00
Volkswagen Golf GTI 2.0 Turbo FSI DSG RM200,083.00
Volkswagen Passat 2.0 Turbo FSI RM230,083.00
Volkswagen New Beetle 1.6 RM140,816.00
Volkswagen New Beetle 2.0 RM158,083.00
Volkswagen Jetta 1.6 RM166,816.00
Volkswagen Jetta 2.0 FSI RM184,083.00
Volkswagen Touareg 3.6 V6 FSI RM452,309.00
Volkswagen Polo 1.4 RM109,788.00
Volkswagen Polo 1.6 RM116,816.00
Volkswagen CrossPolo 1.6 RM125,816.00

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 2:14 am

Here welcome VW to Bolehland!

• raptorclans (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 2:22 am

Volkswagen New Beetle 2.0 RM158,083.00

err… 2 new beetles 1.6? hee hee

• protonGL (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 2:30 am

end of the year now, dont buy………., (cant afford though), in a few month they got new model, (this is BASI already),

(tie up with proton?—–this situation? buy proton GTI? ….MAT JENIN la

welcome to Boleh-tengok-saja-Land!

• protonGL (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 2:55 am

VW moto—CAR FOR PEOPLE,

( something wrong with the moto… )

• armandd (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 2:57 am

the golf is demn nice laaa… but at RM200k… :'-(

• cyborgx (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 4:15 am

Golf GTI 2.0 Turbo FSI DSG (200bhp) vs 2005 Subaru Impreza WRX STi (300bhp)

Impreza is faster, cheaper, bigger. For sure if I can afford these cars, I ll opt for Impreza.

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 4:32 am

What the f**k?! I can't believe the Golf is priced like an SUV in Malaysia. Here in Britain you pay £26k for the range-topping Golf R32. The GTI costs between £20k and £22k, and the 1.6 FSI from £14k to £15k… *SIGH*

P/S: protonGL – The Malaysian version of the motto should read: "RICH People's Car" :(

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 4:36 am

*GASP* 6-figure price tag on a Polo 1.4? It's a bloody POLO for goodness sake, not a midsize sedan! :(

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 4:41 am

VW won't last in our dearly beloved Malaysia. Give them 5 years and see if they can survive. It's a sad situation really. Because then we'll be missing out on LOTS of great things about VW cars (reliability and build quality, for instance).

• e-nabilll (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 4:53 am

i tink their sales target abit optimistic….here we have many japanese alternatives with much lower prices…malaysians wil always go for japanese….yess thy like europeans bt not many wil part their money for it…

• protonGL (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 5:02 am

i bet people who drive this very P R O U D!!!!!!! ……

proud for being smacked by a tax

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 5:37 am

This is an absolutely madness, cars for the people? How many of us can afford at this kind of price range, looks like see only can’t afford one for people like me…I am speechless partly because saliva dropping but not enough money in the pocket. Just look at the passat…pity and thanks to our p1 and its incestuous nap, it's totally beyong the reach of an average people like me.

• szw (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 5:47 am

vw ?

nice…

• armandd (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 5:53 am

smacked by tax or not, people will still buy them

• freeze (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 6:04 am

Can be considered as poorman's BMW.

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 7:45 am

will we see more price cuts for next year? better NAP?

• mitlanevo (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 8:55 am

VW Touareg!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! MUAKZ!!!!

But can't afford to have it in my garage…..

• V_NoZ (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 10:18 am

For those who bought the Golf GTi a year ago.. i pity them. It was priced at 280k. NOW! 200K?!?!?!?.. ouch!!

• mits27 (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 10:34 am

Better get used Audi A4 1.8, the new VW too expensive, scary expensive…

• topgunthang (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 11:28 am

dont forget, they are in a market that is desperate for a better car. they might survive.

• king (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 11:49 am

vw golf 1.6FSI priced at 166K ??? that's too near to Bimmer / Merc's territory (116i at 168k and merc A170 at 183K). even though golf is better looking, i doubt the price can justify for looks alone.

• aksMs (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 12:13 pm

protonGL, for your information, these VW that's available for us (Passat, Jetta and Golf), are 2007 model. Get your information right, before you blow any comment.

Akazamabamaboo, mate, you got that right (RICH People's Car). Even my C5 are considered a luxury car here. *Sigh*

Somehow I was hoping that Proton will choose VW as a partner. Maybe the parts for these new cars will be cheaper (cheaper maintainance). Day dreaming? Hahah! Maybe…

• protonGL (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 1:20 pm

sorry bro ASK, no heart feeling

by the way, 2007 is recent model, (releaseED in 2005).

know wht ,they re working on 2008 model (golf) NOW!!

…………..wadabout 5 or 6 month from NOW????, (look like left over model dumped here!!)

NAZA selling PUG206, now PUG207 is on the road.

get the picture , know wad i mean…..(dah la mahal almost EXPIRE even EXPIRED!!)

anyway i do welcome any correction..

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 2:50 pm

protonGL, only P1 can sell new car but old model for more than 20 years and not world class player like VW! VW will cease old model once new model come out. There are many companies under their R & D keep on working on new model even beyond 2008!

Anyway US price for Toureg is around US 37K and our price is more than RM 400K! No thank to crappy NAP, make "people car" become "elite car" that can afford by rich only.

• Gus-Gus (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 3:51 pm

VW makes cars with a good reputation in US, UK and Europe, also in SGP and is seen as more than a poor man's BMW or Merc. It's only really in Malaysia that the brand has a low perception.

It's not only because of the artificially high prices created by the ridiculously pro-Proton Malaysian car-policy but also because the previous distributor of the marque (Auto Dunia under Tan Chong) did nothing for the brand with poor after sales service and parts availability. It'll be an uphill battle for VW Cars to improve the perception of VW in Malaysia before they can hope to make any substantial sales.

Yes, the price is a problem but what to do? The pro-Proton policies of the past has spoilt car prices for the last 22 years and it won't be getting any better.

• aksMs (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 4:22 pm

protonGL, jangan mara haa…=) I get your point there.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 4:40 pm

My friend and I test drove the Naza 206 highway and twisties (thanks Mr. U) and it's excellent!! I would say still current cos it's still on sale in Europe, South America, Asia, etc. Europeans tend to keep their car 10 years – like 106, Mercedes-Benz W124 E-Class, BMW, etc. I think a newspaper or mag had a more in-depth article on this. Anyway at 68,888 the 206 is still Malaysia's best deal to get into European motoring. Once you go European anything else is a step down. Go out and test drive one, you'll see what I mean.

• motorhead (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 6:14 pm

The price list makes me smile… ok people, lets make huge patriotic contribution.. so the politician can get projects money to develope our country and later blown up their unwanted mistress….

ps: what kinda country msia has turned into?

• protonGL (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 8:34 pm

CHEEERS MATE,

no heart feelin' thanks for STRAIGHTENED IT OUT

look at the price they must be JOKING!!!!

stick to VESPA still..

• protonGL (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 8:50 pm

or 68 or72 BUG ………5k

without zero zero ..he he.(VW)

• notorpkcuf (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 11:45 pm

Boo hoo, tax high lar duty high lar…most ppl sore hai. We've been crying about this forever. It hasn't made any difference so can we please have a more constructive dicussion?

Why dont we talk about test drive experiences or the performance we felt?

• vague (Member) on Nov 12, 2006 at 2:30 am

A POLO….. at 6 figure.. oh my… those who bought it should be given a tag saying A BODO. HAHAHA!!

• Paul Tan on Nov 12, 2006 at 2:34 am

remember, even a jazz and yaris is 6 figures here.

• acwa238 (Member) on Nov 12, 2006 at 3:19 am

To me, VW's price list is as expected perhaps even lower than I thought apart from the 6 digit POLO.

VW, Audi, Merc and BMW are actually on a par with their price list. I don't have a doubt for VW's and Audi's technology advancement. It's just the brand that is hindering us malaysian to choose them for Merc and BMWs…

• flamed2 (Member) on Nov 12, 2006 at 3:43 am

I'm so totally in love with the Cross Polo. Am not a fan of big cars, but this is just perfect. The price is quite alright I think. The equivalent version of it in the UK (Polo Dune 1.4) is priced at £13,490, around RM93,318.66. Not bad right??

Paul, were there any Cross Polos at the showroom already, or better, if you have got a pic of it already, preferably with someone in the pic, just want to see if it's really THAT small :P

I prefer this to a Jazz or Yaris. Yaris is worst, looks super cheap minus the kit.

• J (Member) on Nov 12, 2006 at 5:02 am

Way over priced !

VW in Europe is just a common car. Isn't it more logical to get a Camry 2.4 than a Jetta or Passat ?

Not that VW is a lot more reliable than a Toyota ? :)

• SamGan (Member) on Nov 12, 2006 at 5:46 am

A Camry is also overpriced.

• layman (Member) on Nov 12, 2006 at 6:52 am

All cars in Malaysia are overpriced, so there is no need to mention it again. VW should priced very close to Honda and Toyota, but due to it is CBU, so the price is higher.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Nov 12, 2006 at 7:49 pm

So CBU unit with sky high prices, waite for tie up with P1 then the CKD price will slice down as much as 50%.

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Nov 12, 2006 at 10:44 pm

it is natural for people to compare vw to honda and toyota, or even audi, bmw and mercedez bcos price is a major factor when they consider buying a car.

I don't know if VW car sale will be affected in view of the latest development with regard to VW taking up a 50% stake in p1.

Anyone of us here saw the passat? Taken a test drive and write a review to share with us? Do you know that vw passat is in the same league as honda accord and toyota camry?

• jtshin (Member) on Nov 13, 2006 at 1:18 am

Polo 110 – 120k???? fuh…………………………………. Golf 160k – 200k???? faint…….. AMAZING price….

• vague (Member) on Nov 13, 2006 at 6:26 am

Adrian dude, i lived in UK B4 so don't ask questions like this , aite?

oh yes… i don't have to drive…. this company i work in, is kind enough to employ someone to drive me around.

• chun (Member) on Nov 13, 2006 at 7:12 am

There are two ways of looking at the Passat. It's a German car with comparable technology as the C Class, 3 Series and A4. On the other hand, it also competes with the Accords and Camrys for the family car catergory. However, IMHO, the Passat should be compared more with it's German counterparts. Look at the engineering behind the Passat. It has the highest torsional rigidity of any passenger car in the world (coming in at 32400Nm/degree) except for the VW Phaeton (which comes in at 37,000NM/degree). Furthermore, the Passat uses sophisticated 4-link rear suspensions. The Toyota Camry still uses old MacPherson struts for the rear. The 2.0TFSI engine in the Passat beats any of the Camry or Accord engines hands down and both Mercs and BMW's 1.8l and 2.0l engines.

So, the Passat still gives you that German feel and technology. The Accord is soundly beaten at the moment, and the Camry is catching up, but the Camry just cannot compare to the Passat for power and fun.

• layman (Member) on Nov 13, 2006 at 7:26 am

Adrian said,

November 12, 2006 @ 11:37 am

I don’t really understand those who compare Toyotas or Hondas with VW.

————————————————————-

Like it or not, that is how VW are comparing in other countries.

• SoMeOnE (Member) on Nov 13, 2006 at 11:04 am

hey adrian…although i would have to agree labelin people who buy a polo as a BODO is kinda harsh by the person who posted it but dude…its suppose to be an unltra affordable car…i mean the mechanics and underpinnigs are solid but common dude…polo's pricing here is tottaly absurd..and even there's the vw logo to back it up….well..its target market overall surely wont pay for it based on our prices …and yea..i have driven it….it is solid though…

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Nov 13, 2006 at 2:45 pm

we all know vw offers great cars like other makes do but bcos of you know what, they are totally beyond an average folk in this land. anyone of us here seen and test driven the mazda6? maybe paul would like to tell us more about the newly launch mazda6?

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Nov 13, 2006 at 4:23 pm

I've also driven a rechipped Golf GTi 5DR and I must honestly say it beats ANYTHING I've ever driven to date, including E-Class, S-Class, 530D, etc.

• gromol (Member) on Nov 13, 2006 at 4:27 pm

Is VW Cars selling the 3-door or 5-door Golf GTi?

Anybody here knows?

• layman (Member) on Nov 13, 2006 at 6:38 pm

Comparing Golf GTi 5DR with a S-Class ??

• acbc (Member) on Nov 13, 2006 at 7:10 pm

Subaru Imprezze is AWD and hence heavier than VW Golf GTi. Plus, the DSG gearbox will outshift a manual any time.

• cyborgx (Member) on Nov 13, 2006 at 9:58 pm

calculate power to weight ratio, Impreza is still faster than GTi DSG.

• protonGL (Member) on Nov 13, 2006 at 10:58 pm

not sure la mate,
    the numbers depend on the altitude (where) and engine compression ratio,
    if varies not too wide , modern engine management will take care of this small variable,

anyway manufacturer can tailor the car where they want to be sent,

• tokmoh (Member) on Nov 14, 2006 at 12:28 am

SoMeOnE said,

November 13, 2006 @ 3:04 am

hey adrian…although i would have to agree labelin people who buy a polo as a BODO is kinda harsh by the person who posted it but dude…its suppose to be an unltra affordable car…i mean the mechanics and underpinnigs are solid but common dude…polo’s pricing here is tottaly absurd..and even there’s the vw logo to back it up….well..its target market overall surely wont pay for it based on our prices …and yea..i have driven it….it is solid though…

—————————————————————-

AGREED!!!!!!! Its quite much the same case with 1-series and A-class, bt that BMW is much, much, worse than Polo to me.

I hv spotted 3 1-series before, and I must admit, I wanted to curse them so much, I'd also would like to destroy their BMW like Jeremy did to Kelisa, cuz they just spent their hard-earned $$ just to get a crappy car. I've sat in that car before, I feel a Gen2's rear passenger seat is more spacious than that. And the looks…..its hedious to me..

Nt sure abt the Polo, it shud be better, bt then again, the insane price……….

I oso pity the A-class cuz of the price :"(

• acwa238 (Member) on Nov 14, 2006 at 2:36 am

Correct me if i am wrong but i think the right comparison is between,

The Hatch List

Audi A3 – Vw Golf – Bmw 1series – Merc Aclass.

Honda Jazz and Toyota Yaris has a 6 figures because they wanna be in that league.

For a Polo, it is a Mini Hatch, therefore it is supposed to be cheap. The right comparison is to compare it with suzuki swift. Because of german technology, it is more expensive…

And did i mentioned the price for Yaris is way beyond my expectation? No, Thank You for me.

• protonGL (Member) on Nov 14, 2006 at 3:01 am

should choose this model far malaysian

golf 1.4 gt (with tsi)

got the SC and turbo togather,

power? equvalent to 2.3litre of the NA

minyak? 48 mpg. (very friendly on minyak)

not for me anyway,

PRE PET PET PET (vespa la….)

• tbcheese (Member) on Nov 14, 2006 at 6:21 am

I've sat in the Skoda Fabia before and its quite spacious at the back. If I'm not mistaken that Fabia I was in was based on the previous generation of Polo?

As for the 1.4 twincharger it would need 98-octane fuel for the 170HP version. What's the rating for our fuel pumps?

• chun (Member) on Nov 14, 2006 at 8:35 am

The Skoda Fabia is based on the current VW Polo "A" platform. In fact the Fabia came out on the new "A" platform before VW released Polo.

• tbcheese (Member) on Nov 14, 2006 at 10:39 am

Hmm it seems that the 170HP TSI isn't offered on the Polo. My mistake there. Anyhow we're still unlikely to see TSI engines in Malaysia since there are already complaints about the prices as it is now and the TSI would be an additional premium.

Yeah chun the Polo and Fabia are both on the A00 platform. I thought the Polo was on a new platform but turns out it was just a facelift to keep in line with the VW corporate gril.

• tbcheese (Member) on Nov 15, 2006 at 3:05 am

But when people buy larger cars they expect smoothness and refined driving. More on comfort. I don't think a small engine driven hard can be that refined.

• offroader manix (Member) on Nov 15, 2006 at 4:33 am

The price can fly kite!

• Chubb (Member) on Nov 15, 2006 at 7:11 pm

*tsk*tsk all also expensive to you guys. A 50cent underwear would be also be expensive to you guys. Cant afford one now dont try to put other people down by just complaining about it.

Its a beautiful car yes, expensive to some affordable to some. Lets just be thankful that we have more choices in Malaysia compared to years back where the only choice for a premium car was the WHALE- MerC and the SHARK – BMW.

Dreaming of owning one? work harder for it or even rob a bank if u have to but still these kind of cars is where we dream and set a goal to own one. At least we have a sight of what we want.

Expensive??!well to some of you please study the taxes in Malaysia . Iam sure VW cars S/B would LOVEEeeEE to lower down the price. But if they do , the'll close shop in 1 year for losing money for each car and the owners are left with no where to service and VW value goes down like a rock in water. Who suffers in the end?? Owners who really love the car and put aside their big chunck hard earned money for something they believe in.

Cant afford a new VW????? get a use VW. Iam sure there is a beatle selling less then 5K …. a 1976 one.

• chun (Member) on Nov 15, 2006 at 7:41 pm

Chubb, you're hilarious! :-D

• tbcheese (Member) on Nov 16, 2006 at 2:34 am

The engine is also more unrefined than the GTI’s 2.0-litre, especially at low engine speeds, which could also act against it.

Thats taken from this site here
    http://carcounsel.com/hid/index.php/category/mfrs…

Bummer opposite of what I thought. Was thinking it'd be worse at high speeds.

• Pendekar on May 03, 2011 at 5:09 pm

For a “orang kaya” it should be nothing to buy VW :-) ..120k for polo ?? ahh to small better topup till 700k.. buy gtr/m3/c65 amg.. anyway i owned GTI mk6 all i can say it worth the 210k the time i buy last year.. You have money no need to worry about the price or what so ever, pity on them who dont have money and start talking rubbish about price + performance and so on.. for example, why so many kl rich people buy ferrari rather than gtr ?? gtr is on par with that kind of ferrari name maybe more worth it with the half price ferrari but still they buy ferrari why ?? lu pikirla sendiri.. jangan banyak cakap you ada duit tarak kesah punya !!

• Pendekar on May 03, 2011 at 5:17 pm

First aim = VW GTI
    Second aim = Audi S5
    Third aim = m3/c65 amg/gtr-r35
    Last aim = FERRARI

life is all about money.. Cant afford one just sit back at home and relax dont forget to work hard to topup your finance.. Pity on those poor and talk rubbish about car price !!

• Thiagarajan on Jan 15, 2012 at 10:53 am

I bought BMW 46 320i few years ago. But its gave a lot of problem and stress me every day. 4months ago I sold the car. Now I tested Polo, GTI, Passat and Passat CC. For my bugget Passat is best for me. But I want book the car around August this year. Now they assembling in Malaysia. How is the quality and is it any spec changes to CKD to CBU.
    Any suggestion ????? Please ….