Fiat to use Chery’s AVL-designed ACTECO engines

smallfiatlogo.jpgFiat and Chery have signed a Memorandum of Understanding that will result in Fiat using Chery’s ACTECO family of engines in it’s China-produced cars, with a possibility of the ACTECO engines finding it’s way in Italian models like the Bravo.

The deal involves Chery’s 1.6 litre and 1.8 litre ACTECO engines, though the ACTECO family has a wide range of displacements and configurations, from a tiny 0.8 litre to a huge 4.0 litre V8.

acteco18t.jpgThe ACTECO family of engines was developed by AVL, an Austrian-based automotive consulting firm. Despite the negative stigma surrounding China products, the ACTECO family of engines is actually quite modern, incorporating aluminium alloy cylinder blocks/heads and direct fuel injection, complying with Euro IV emission standards.

Pictured on the left is the ACTECO 1.8 litre DOHC turbocharged engine. With a bore of 81mm and a stroke of 87.2mm, the long stroke turbocharged engine makes 180 horsepower at 5,750rpm and a very healthy 250Nm of torque at 4,300rpm.

Chery and Fiat in talks

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• DtG (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 6:57 pm

Maybe our local manufacturers should do something like this. Prices should go down then. I Take Proton and VW for example.. Imagine Volkswagen Golf Campro! Will surely better if the price goes down around 20-30k.

• bolo (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 8:20 pm

We are lagging behind badly despite having a head start over Chery. They are already moving ahead with direct injection and euro iv. Both potong's and petronas's engine are not euro iv compliant. A Golf with campur engine? Not sure how buyers will receive that…..

• cbljkkj (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 8:30 pm

I never noticed how advanced the Chinese were in their engines. They range from a 0.8 liter to a 4 liter V8 built by AVL as said by Paul Tan above. They even complied with Euro IV for crying out loud.

Volkswagen Golf with Campro? That would be silly. Everyone would rather buy a Waja/Gen2 Campro as it is cheaper and lighter compared to the Golf.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 8:37 pm

At least these guys went to an engine manufacturer AVL (Austria) to get an engine done. You don't ask a race horse to plow a field or a plow horse to race a race, do you?

• szw (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 11:57 pm

stay at home lar stupid cherry

• volvolover (Member) on Nov 12, 2006 at 1:47 am

http://www.cheryglobal.com/Upcoming%20Products.ht…

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 12, 2006 at 3:54 am

That M14 was ages ago. Not sure in production or not

• protonGL (Member) on Nov 12, 2006 at 4:24 am

i dono la bout this, but if russia sells MIG, wont be one that can makan tuan,

• protonGL (Member) on Nov 12, 2006 at 5:05 am

long stroke nice ,.tad on the gas ,feels it pushes,

unlike japanese oversquare, buzzing……,

suitable for FIAT,

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Nov 12, 2006 at 7:47 pm

Definitely what Chery do is up to world standard, otherwise conti Fiat won't select their engine!

• DAN (Member) on Nov 13, 2006 at 2:13 am

yes !, like what u say.

• bobdbilder (Member) on Nov 13, 2006 at 6:08 pm

A lot of people jump the gun. Paul said ACTECO engines for the China produced unit. You'd think that the Italians would accept a China made engine, even though designed by Europeans? Well not unless they put a nice engine cover on it and give the engine a Japanese model no.

Well if Toyota keeps giving Italian (sounding) names to is cars, its only diplomatic that the romans do the same.

• honda_driver (Member) on Nov 13, 2006 at 7:32 pm

the engine specs sure look mighty impressive. definitely a long way ahead of proton in terms of engine development. the campro is definitely laggin behind in many aspects, but I do know one thing, the campro is euro 4 compliant as apposed to what 'bolo' said.

as to what the europeans will think of a china made engine? hard to say, after all, hondas and toyotas dont really sell all that well in europe to begin with.

• tanasi (Member) on Nov 13, 2006 at 10:45 pm

Proton's CAMPRO engine is euro step 4 compliant.

• ariz8 (Member) on Nov 14, 2006 at 6:59 am

At the end of the day, money matter most. All of you should be aware by now, globalisation comes in the picture. Multimillion dollar companies outsourcing from cheap labour nation like China or Brazil.

It's cheaper to produce engines or cars in China compare to Europe or Japan now days. Even if they ask us to produce the engine over here, it will be more expensive than China.

I just matter of time the quality will be accepted by the European as long as they practise the open market and williness to learn.

What is sad with our country is, we are very sensitive and very defensive to complains by others. Very slow to make progress and controlled by 'Certain People'.

Somemore by idolising the 'patriotic' terms- 'We must buy and take pride of our national car' . That's 20 years ago moto I do agree, But now you should have been realised that only the strong will survive. Those brands from UK – Jaguar, Mini, Rover to name a few succumb to other foreign company and yet the brand still thereand much better than its predecessor.

It just matter of time, we also should tie up with the foreign big company.

• tamannegara (Member) on Nov 14, 2006 at 7:10 am

we still not realize that we are lag behind ,is not you accept or not,is happen and nothing can stop them.

• honda_driver (Member) on Nov 14, 2006 at 5:07 pm

ariz8, Jaguar and Mini could survive as brands in the first place, because their brands still meant something to a lot of consumers. Because of that, they made sense for foreign companies to come in, and revive them and keep them going.

as for Rover, its dead la. and it was never a successful or desireable brand in the first place.

• ashsutcliffe (Member) on Nov 16, 2006 at 7:08 am

Looks excellent!

The Chinese car industry is really picking up!

• 12345 on Jan 28, 2010 at 12:10 am

I m Chinese.Do u know,most of Chinese think that Acteco is not good engine.Perhaps it is.What dou u think of it?

• 123456 on May 07, 2010 at 5:20 pm

support for campro engines!

• nemesio trinidad on Jun 14, 2014 at 2:13 pm

I OWN A CHERRY S-22 MINIVAN BOUGHT 2 YEARS AGO AND TRAVELED THE ROADS OF MINDANAO WITH SO MUCH IMPRESSIVE PERFORMANCE….MOST PEOPLE HAVE A MISCONCEPTION ON CHINESE CAR…THEY SHOULD TRY THIS ACTECO ENGINE..SUPERB!