DRB-HICOM confirms Proton share purchase talk

DRB-HICOM said today in a reply to a Bursa Malaysia query on reports of it’s interest in purchasing Proton shares that it has submitted a proposal to the government in regards to the prospect of acquiring some of the shares in Proton Holdings Bhd.

At least now we have confirmation right from the company itself that someone wants to take off a portion of the large percentage of shares Khazanah Nasional is currently holding in Proton. Other companies rumoured to be interested in shares are the Naza group and Mofaz.

Read the Bursa Malaysia announcement.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Nov 15, 2006 at 6:48 am

we want a foriegner to rescue proton NOT Local Companies…wont make any diff at all…thats y VW is perfect bcos thy already rescued skoda ,so thy know how to do it…wat can DRB hicom do ??

• DAN (Member) on Nov 15, 2006 at 6:48 am

that will b good, late the better 1 to teach that who spoon feedings how to do a good feeding.

• Dogster (Member) on Nov 15, 2006 at 7:06 am

Haih, so sad. I taught they ar targeting in the next 2-3 years to start making money?

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Nov 15, 2006 at 7:11 am

For how long P1 can come out with such LOI LOI here, MOU MOU there news to support it share price. Look like kedai kopi talk won't last long and tommorow another similar news come out is not a surprise. See this kind of news for the last 9 months also ZzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzZZZZZZZ………

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Nov 15, 2006 at 7:46 am

Confirm share purchase TALK only!

• mits27 (Member) on Nov 15, 2006 at 2:17 pm

I still don't think gov will so easily to let go 51% of share to vw, but whatever it is either sell to vw, or prefer to die slowly. Whatever, I only care we will have open auto market, and get cheaper car.

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Nov 15, 2006 at 3:23 pm

Tell you a sceret, that is the TRICK of the G. What trick?

Just before the share are sold to VW, someone from the G or CRONY should get some free easy money lah. HOw? At first sell it to NAZI or MOFAT or DRP-HECOM from The G and then sold it to VW with HIgher price loh.

This old trick has been used from long time, don't you all Forgotten?

Like you all said before, sell to Local company makes no different, all of them know nothing about AUTOMOTIVE!

LOL

• waimak (Member) on Nov 15, 2006 at 4:30 pm

..Leave it to the private sector, then only you can see the success.. the rest, no need lah..

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Nov 15, 2006 at 5:06 pm

All are GLCs, there is no different at all. DRB-HICOM, NAZA or MOFAZ, they just interested in making fast money. Another SAD story for the auto industry. Better let Proton die now rather than dying slowly and painfully..

• motorhead (Member) on Nov 15, 2006 at 5:50 pm

P1 for sale!!!.. mali mali, sapa mau beli.. manyak murah murah punya… sapa beli bole untung punya.. rugi pun bole juga.. jgn beli mahal mahal.. 20 sen satu syer pun bole punya….

• cyborgx (Member) on Nov 15, 2006 at 9:16 pm

eh, nice one there auctioncenter2u.

• RM (Member) on Nov 15, 2006 at 11:09 pm

The Big G is laying out its plans for Proton. Seems to me that VW will get to control the manufacturing and R&D arm of Proton while Sime and/or DRB will manage the distribution channel. It has been reported that Khazanah will selldown its 40% stake in Proton Holdings to the winning bidder of this block who will then lead the negotiations with the foreign partner. DRB and Sime are arguably the countries leading automotive conglomerates so their choice is sensible.

For joe public, it will be more of a question of how the whole deal will be executed. What is Proton's fair value ? Will Khazanah (the government) take a loss on the selldown given Proton's shares are trading at a discount to Khazanah's original entry cost of RM8 ? How much does DRB and/or Sime stand to gain from the sale of Proton assets to VW ?

• rexis (Member) on Nov 16, 2006 at 1:25 am

But seriously for me, this is just "more talk", proton has made too many talk. But this is talk from people other from proton, sound more promising, but then again, people eying proton for what? To build better hooha cars? Hahahaha….