Proton Satria Neo A1 Special Edition

neoa1_1.jpg

PROTON and A1 Team Malaysia unveiled the Proton Satria Neo A1 Team Malaysia Special Edition yesterday, a model that was developed with intention to go on sale next year. There are no prices and specifications yet, and the final model might differ from the one you see in this post.

I was not at the launch, but got these photos from Proton’s Corporate Communications. From what I see so far, the model comes in a special A1 yellow, has some new non-bling bling design wheels, a big spoiler at the rear, yellow meter panels, leather sports seats with yellow stitching, a sporty MOMO steering wheel, A1 special edition mats as well as a special edition plague near the gear shift.

More photos after the jump.

neoa1_2.jpg

neoa1_3.jpg

neoa1_4.jpg

neoa1_5.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• jeanloo (Member) on Nov 25, 2006 at 5:10 am

Special edition? What's so special? just add in some ecessories?

• i'm run (Member) on Nov 25, 2006 at 5:26 am

I hope the real model will have more cosmetic changes on the exterior. Sportier bumper, side skirts, and rear spoiler.

These days, there are so many special edition model.(NAZA, Perodua, Honda) They become not so 'special' anymore… Hahaha..

• transformer (Member) on Nov 25, 2006 at 5:39 am

too much already!!!!!

all come with makeup only!

all for girlies!!! (sorry girl!) Bolehland have Getz, Bestari, Civic, Sentra…

wait for the real "Special Edition" to debut with upgraded engine!!!

wait only la….

• intermilan (Member) on Nov 25, 2006 at 5:40 am

Hi all,

look like the special edition is to commomerate the A1 GP or launched to ride the hype..

fair enuff since potong is one of the team sponsor.

the usual make-up is there..

look like no modification to increase performance in term of BHP.

it's still fulfilling the special edition concept i guess.

special edition that not really special.. sadly.

But many car manufacturers released special edition with just cosmetic upgrades only. they just dont rarely called it 'special edition' but give other specific name to link the car 'special edition' concept with the name given..

Example that can think of rite now is Peugeot 206 Roland Garros released circa 98-99. Roland Garros is the name of the fashionable stadium in Paris where the French Open Tennis Championships are held each year. Roland Garros, himself, was famous in France in the early 1900s as a pioneer aviator.

The Roland Garros (car) was offered with some luxury additions and extras to separate it from other 206s.

Think potong done the same here.

The question is whether all the upgrades enuff or not to the customer?

IMHO, all the additions, althrough welcome, does not give the feeling of 'exclusiveness' adequately in order to be crowned special edition.

The linkage to A1 GP is alsosorely missed. the 'i also can stick' badge just won't do.

but again this is not the final product. hopefully, they hear our voice as constructive comments.

• womencantdrive (Member) on Nov 25, 2006 at 6:04 am

oh man do we have too??

• Deodorant (Member) on Nov 25, 2006 at 6:19 am

Not interested.

What I AM interested in (and hoping for), is a R3 Satria Neo. Not a pussy MME edition mind you, a genuine R3 like teh Satria R3.

No idea if they ever gonna put the concept into production though.

• protonGL (Member) on Nov 25, 2006 at 6:19 am

look that mateal sticker A1 team mal(just imfront of gear stick) almost peeled off already. come on laa….

try to elevate spirit, but no substance….

anyway neo r3 concept not bad, more.. if with kleemen supercharger,

• Mike V (Member) on Nov 25, 2006 at 6:20 am

What we need is a SVTeam … see what they did at Ford … Now THAT's something to look forward too ….. :-)

• Mayonaise (Member) on Nov 25, 2006 at 6:35 am

Another cosmetic job… Way to go, Proton, way to go…

• bolo (Member) on Nov 25, 2006 at 6:41 am

Rip off!

• RM (Member) on Nov 25, 2006 at 6:42 am

Notice how the unveiling is such a sedate affair. Same old same old from team Proton. Going great guns they are.

• albagmane (Member) on Nov 25, 2006 at 6:46 am

way to go protonGL, u spot it right! haha! i think this has a deep meaning for proton le… it may mean tat proton is still lack of quality in building cars… the carelessness of sticking the A1 emblem is a very clear example of it…

i think its such a silly move for proton to make these cars… they are not RENAULT lar… team a1 still has a long way to go, theres no rush in producing any a1 special edition cars anyway… gosh… silly!

• Initial D (Member) on Nov 25, 2006 at 6:59 am

right on………..many special editions, but most , if nt all r just external makeups, nt internal performance upgrades…………..( > .

• transformer (Member) on Nov 25, 2006 at 7:13 am

like what i mentioned earlier these SPECIAL EDITION is just external makeup!

IMHO this "A1" Edition is for sisies, maybe in future P1 would come out with another version called " F1 ", turbocharged ? or maybe supercharged ? or just drop a Perdana V6 in….. ha ha ha ha….

M'sian had started to getting tired, and sick of these "EDITION"…. all appearance only!

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Nov 25, 2006 at 7:32 am

"Ladies and gentlemen, we are proud to present Proton's latest innovation – the Yellow Car!"

I mean look at the "Special Edition" emblem. Just look at it – they stuck it there with a kindergarten glue stick. Dear me, that is brilliant! With a couple of spray cans and some masking tape, they somehow managed to churn out some amazing go-faster stripes, adding approximately 145bhp to the front wheels. And the fat-arse spoiler enables you to take hairpin corners at break-neck speeds of up to 5km/h. Have I mentioned the use of re-badged, cheap aftermarket alloys? I want this car. Desperately now. But I thought April Fool is still about 4 months from now? :)

• w_lighter (Member) on Nov 25, 2006 at 7:55 am

Suck….

• intermilan (Member) on Nov 25, 2006 at 8:09 am

evil evil commentors….

look at the bright side…

this might well be the FIRST CAR IN THE WORLD that will be released to commemorate A1 GP.

might be collector items in 70 years from now.

collect all now!

• offroader manix (Member) on Nov 25, 2006 at 8:18 am

aiyah…..same story line again.

I am wondering who the hell is interested in the special edition…….the extra make over doesn't goes well to a majority of drivers…….

End of the day…..Iswara still having make over…over …over and over…..again until people get sick of the damn road. That is why they are switching to other cars.

Quote: Pretty woman doesn't need much make up…….it is the ugly woman who put lots of make up but and the best part is…..she is still ugly.

• whodz (Member) on Nov 25, 2006 at 8:45 am

why special edition must be yellow like its previous model satria..

offroader manix,

I think not-special-edtion one is not so uglylah.. but this yellow..uuurrghh.

• ergo_etc (Member) on Nov 25, 2006 at 12:08 pm

If only they put in, say 1.8L or 1.6 turbo, say 140hp? I would grab this little bad boy to compliment my main ride.

• iosis (Member) on Nov 25, 2006 at 12:11 pm

the special edition plague near the gear shift seems to be glued untidily and can peel off anytime. and mind u, this is a concept car. don't know how worse it can be in a production car.

• rexis (Member) on Nov 25, 2006 at 3:58 pm

Hey, the plastic skrew ring still around the gear knob and on the steering. Those the first thing I want to take them off.

• transformer (Member) on Nov 25, 2006 at 4:00 pm

Dear, Paul

Thanks for giving us this post especially the enlarge "special edition plague near the gear shift"!!! Kiddo!

P1, pls use 3M VHB tape lar!

• siacw (Member) on Nov 25, 2006 at 4:11 pm

later we may have a hari raya SE, chinese new year SE, deepavali SE, merdeka SE…… So many SPECIALL EDITION.

• J (Member) on Nov 25, 2006 at 4:51 pm

Cosmetic Special Edition easy to do ma, no need engineering works or technical calculation. The need technical documentation filing and approval if any technical issues are modified from the previous approved model. That take times and involve big team of workmanship.

I heard that Myvi Sports Edition is coming early next year la. Orange color as the one you saw in KL Motor Show.

• aesthari (Member) on Nov 25, 2006 at 5:38 pm

Oh duh, the leather seats look so cheapo, like they just wrapped something over the original seat, it's all loose. The plague at the gearshift looks like it could come off anytime, so much for quality. Haha, nice try Proton, but not quite yet, still haven't gotten any smarter from what I see; still relying on "special" editions.

• DtG (Member) on Nov 25, 2006 at 5:44 pm

Black and yellow again??? They just did that with the old Satria a few years back…

• foecy (Member) on Nov 25, 2006 at 5:59 pm

ha ha

special for the yellow color la ….

or else nothing much special …..

• motorhead (Member) on Nov 25, 2006 at 6:01 pm

apa nih??.. cosmetic only!!!.. I can make a better modified neo at Ah Chong workshop tepi jalan punya, plus engine upgrade… but this car sure can sell to those who likes to show off (tapi hampeh)… most of us here r performance drivers.. we want performance!!.. not cosmetic craps!!

• KY (Member) on Nov 25, 2006 at 7:40 pm

yellow color is because our A1 car is yellow. bah.

• nizam80 (Member) on Nov 25, 2006 at 7:54 pm

Wonder how the rear spoiler look like as i can't see them clearly.

The yellow meter panels look terrible. Luckily, the rims are not yellow!!!

Love those leather seats and the MOMO steering though.

• rexis (Member) on Nov 25, 2006 at 8:14 pm

Basically I like yellow, but just hate that plastic skrew ring… a pen cap also have better quality plastic.

I am a practical driver, that means my car must have enough space, and can get me from point A – B in one piece without trouble, and best if cheap.

• u5 (Member) on Nov 25, 2006 at 8:42 pm

another ah beng workshop product

• johanbey (Member) on Nov 25, 2006 at 8:47 pm

guys, easy on the comments. why bother? if proton was to listen to the paying customers, they would have done it 20 years ago. our puppet CEO seem to be enjoying the fat pay and all the perks w/o much complain. its a soon to be defunct national project. remember all those promise p1 to go global and all the medals they won in UK with the saga back in the 80s? i remember to ads from Autocar UK, 3 gold medals for quality, value for money and after sales service. remember the shot a red wira driving up a ramp in to a carrier bound for turkey? remember satria GTI quoted as the best hatch in Aust? all that and now Zainal dont even screen through the press release photos before sending it out. so much for a guy who initiated the QC plan to turnaround the fortunes of p1. its a known fact p1 quality still sucks, ask any season p1 salesman honest opinion, but at least make us feel better when we see the pictures, altough we know we all going to be ripped off. this must be irony at the best.

for a carmaker who are selling less car than a foreign brand, shouldnt they should save the sponsorship cash to buy better glue? and thank god, after 20 years i can finally see more toyota (+p2) on the road or carpark than those silly sagas.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Nov 25, 2006 at 10:38 pm

I dont know which is more sad. Proton with another 'special edition' car or the people who will actually pay more to buy them…….

However, I would cut Proton some slack this time around. Its just a special edition….not a sports version. All manufacturer's do that as another trim level, but not at the 'hot air big event' way that proton does.

• QRizTOBurD (Member) on Nov 26, 2006 at 2:44 am

i see there are 3 different designs..

• offroader manix (Member) on Nov 26, 2006 at 3:08 am

Btw it will only spur my interest…….if there's a CLOSED SHOP EDITION.

:)

Basically, whenever they do now is a lose cause and definitely not when consumers confidence is at their lowest.

• offroader manix (Member) on Nov 26, 2006 at 3:09 am

whodz,

Yaloh……I can agree.

• DAN (Member) on Nov 26, 2006 at 4:06 am

what so spacial? is that a amber that not stick properly that u call special!.

• DG (Member) on Nov 26, 2006 at 4:24 am

CAUGH**proton really go all this way for cosmetics…..*clap *clap but who wants that A1, I can do better with the cosmetics….just buy one satria neo and change the bumpers, momo sterrings, jackspeed leathers from italy….bla bla and advan tyres and rims from k-speed….who needs this bullshit lolz…..by the way it depends on the individuals anyway…..i won't get this for the design of my OWN STYLE…..take care proton…..lolz…..way to go before citreon buy it over…………I MEAN OVER AND OVER

• vexus (Member) on Nov 26, 2006 at 4:27 am

Why proton get A1?

How about R3?

proton plan to cancel relationship with R3?

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Nov 26, 2006 at 6:52 am

Another special edition from P1 = another crap talk show from P1

What and how Satria Neo to do or related with A1. Yes, A1 is patriotic car race represent coountry for world champion, P1 also patriotic car crap represent jaguh kampong!

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 26, 2006 at 8:41 am

Thats it? yellow panels taken from savvy? Not something I would boast about

• cyborgx (Member) on Nov 26, 2006 at 9:29 am

um.. I ll reserve my comment before they reveal the spec.

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Nov 26, 2006 at 12:46 pm

Aiyo. So typical of Malaysians. Mention Proton je, kena kutuk. Chill out people.

The A1 Team Malaysia edition may be cosmetic work but it is special because it commemorates Proton's sponsorship in the motorsport event.

The cars are to be driven moments before the race in Sepang and that means it will be televised all over the world to see. And imagine if you get to drive the car that was made to celebrate an international race event. That should be something innit?

Don't be so close-minded lah.. Renault celebrate its F1 win with the Clio, so kita pun want to do something like that, even if it's on a very, very low scale.

Remember that you are a Malaysian too, so its pretty stupid and irresponsible to not get behind our people's efforts (even when its a little weak in the beginning)..

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Nov 26, 2006 at 5:28 pm

vexus said,

"Why proton get A1?

How about R3?

proton plan to cancel relationship with R3?"

————–

Why P1 get A1, simply because to attract "cheapo" publicity! to boost Satria Neo sales, forget about it since some one out there even spot they can't stick "A1 Team Malaysia Special Edition" plate properly. To be more exact, just glue job also can't do it properly.

How about R3? R3 is abbreviation for Race, Rally and Research. So far, no one "Edition(s)" produced by R3 including MME edition live up to all the "R3 technical performance specs" in term of new products (research), off road or long distance race (race) or perhaps H-P-6 rally at Sepang. Rather it just another R3 – "Risky Ride on the Road" vehicles!

SatriaGuy, you shall know how to differentiate between "kutuk" and "+ kritik". If they are really good, credit is due where they are the best. But to make "+ criticism" (you may not agree with my comment but you still have your right of opinion balance with respect to other) as show above, P1 should take into consideration if it is relevant or applicable to improve themselve.

• bmpower (Member) on Nov 26, 2006 at 8:33 pm

bright side.. that gonna boost up a little sale for current 'down' all car sale.

it's normal for any car maker make face life.. avanza, crv, etc etc.. what wrong with that? to build another car took millions buck. you all already knew that.

so dont have to Barking loudly bashers. Else.. this paultan.org gonna change = bashers-lair.org.

Bad side.. not enough cosmetic loo.. better them to make a GTI version of Neo . That gonna impressed more.. (but basher's remain the same). What about 2.0 Satria Neo GTI?.. Bigger SportRim. Tuned engine for more HP. Etc..

Anyway.. this already had a best look.. I personally dont had any idea how t make it more better look.. Agree?

tired looking nonesense basher here.. make me tired to visit here anymore.

• armandd (Member) on Nov 26, 2006 at 10:26 pm

whenever the name PROTON is mentioned in any forum or blog, especially in m'sia, it will automatically become a bashing subject.. and it never fails to do that.

• offroader manix (Member) on Nov 26, 2006 at 11:17 pm

Why ? It's the frustration which took us consumer on for so many years…..it is not a badge we are willing to buy…….we are force to buy it……due to all the protective given.

Other motor industry compare with us………there's none we could even proud of and PROTON been made fun by other country manufacturer……….

Remember TOP Gear…….those are some unkind words……but if PROTON take it seriously years ago………PROTON…..will be much better than it is now.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Nov 26, 2006 at 11:21 pm

Special Edition? Not special at all…..

Bucket seats?

Bodykits?

Carbon fibre hood?

Engine tune up for extra horsepower and torque?

ABS and EBD?

Bi-Xenon headlights?

Intermilan, will this Neo A1 Special Edition be so-called collectors' items? Rather collect Levin, Trueno, Silvia, RX-7, Skyline, or even Mini Cooper……

• megadisc (Member) on Nov 26, 2006 at 11:54 pm

nothing special about the special edition lah . . .

just want to add something fresh to the satria neo since they didnt get a very big positive response from the public !

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Nov 27, 2006 at 1:41 am

bmpower said,

"Anyway.. this already had a best look.. I personally dont had any idea how t make it more better look.. Agree?

tired looking nonesense basher here.. make me tired to visit here anymore."

—————-

Dude, how to make "71 year old lady" to look like pretty sweet 17 by virtue of do some cosmetic and add-here-and-add-there-a-little-bit!

Tired! You will need a much more amount of "general anesthetic to numb your tireness in order to boost your concentration and ableto differentiate whether it is bashing (i.e. judgement problem) or P1 is actually not doing a good job.

seldom

• jeanloo (Member) on Nov 27, 2006 at 3:05 am

I always thought the SE stand for Stupid Effort.

• cbljkkj (Member) on Nov 27, 2006 at 3:16 am

For a company like Proton to produce really good manifold sealant, screwing up a plaque-stick job is really laughable. For those who bashed the Naza Sportivo kit, this is a bigger laugh than the Naza.

Cosmetic upgrades are alright once in a while but when it happens so often and this blatantly, it gets old really quick. I'd rather they spend time fine-tuning the chassis and suspension and release that as a special edition. I know thats how they would get me to spend my hard-earned cash.

• superman (Member) on Nov 27, 2006 at 4:55 pm

Joe Ooi said,

November 26, 2006 @ 9:28 am

Why P1 get A1, simply because to attract “cheapo” publicity! to boost Satria Neo sales, forget about it since some one out there even spot they can’t stick “A1 Team Malaysia Special Edition” plate properly. To be more exact, just glue job also can’t do it properly.

How about R3? R3 is abbreviation for Race, Rally and Research. So far, no one “Edition(s)” produced by R3 including MME edition live up to all the “R3 technical performance specs” in term of new products (research), off road or long distance race (race) or perhaps H-P-6 rally at Sepang. Rather it just another R3 – “Risky Ride on the Road” vehicles!

Joe Ooi,

You might wanna do some REAL Research and get correct facts first before putting words to the keyboard. Your Misguided Info just shows how uninformed you are.

Proton's involvement in A1 aint no cheapo publicity. Alex Yoong has gone on record to say "without Proton it would not be possible" after he won in Brno. Considering A1's multi million budget, and Proton's huge logo on the A1GP car it can't be cheap.

And your R3 Bashing is pretty baseless too. They finished 3rd in Class C(1.6cc) with their MME Waja. In case you didn't know, the Merdeka Millenuim Endurance Race last 12. That pretty anwers your question about "long distance race". What the heck is "H-P-6 Rally". Do you mean HPC (High Performance Challenge)? That is Track Experience for newbies and experts alike. Go here to learn more – http://www.hpcevents.com/

The Satria Neo A1 looks to be a conceptual idea. 3 different designs as seen yesterday in SIC. So nothing is finalised. How can some of you judged the quality and looks of the leather seats just by looking at a computer screen defies belief…

Naza's Special Edition or the Renault Kangoo Sports are more daft . Kangoo is a van/mpv for chrissakes. And Naza tarts up Chinese takeaways. I dunno wat's worse..

• superman (Member) on Nov 27, 2006 at 4:59 pm

Meant to say- the Merdeka Millenium Endurance Race last for 12hrs.

Typo

• kimikim (Member) on Nov 27, 2006 at 5:09 pm

come on P1, is that all u can do? Splashing neo all yellow with some make up here & there? Well, if those 'extras' can give a boost to quality control/ assurance and engine performance, then something lorr… wha a joke, really

• krolanuar (Member) on Nov 27, 2006 at 5:53 pm

quality? quality? quality?

ada ka???????

• johanbey (Member) on Nov 27, 2006 at 6:36 pm

superman,

if proton is going to learn anything out out A1 technically or sell more cars, then the millions of ringgit is well spent, for instance Petronas developing engines even they dont have a automobile division (presently) and sold the IP rights to to china car makers, mind you, though they make questionable cars, still look at the economic of scale, 1 years sales of china cars could have equale P1 a decade of sales. if Petronas going to earn royalty for each engine unit, kindly do the math. so F1 sponsor deal may seem like a logical investment, plus Petronas got plenty of cash to spare.

A1, well i dont follow closely, but the last time i read was that all cars are built the same, engine and all, so what can P1 really benefit other than a publicity stunt? with some same old marketing techniques done and redone for ages, have the marketing director(s) came out with any brilliant ideas for the past 20years? even its a concept, even the spec is uncertain, it would be fair to say from a POV of everyday consumers, not all the "professionals" in this blog, Naza did a better job with the 206 and Sutera, (btw the design IP was brought from an italian design house not china, i thought they are proffessionals petrolheads here). and mind you, avanza look utterly different with latest nip/tuck job, coz my dad own one. even the P2 RS look much better than this A1 SE.

but what is totally baffled here is the QC culture of the entire corp, even if you make really bad cars, i mean even Alfa, Dodge, Pontiac, GMC etc have the same dilemma, the least you could do is to make 1 bloody good show unit, just for the press, if im working in PR, i would have casually note my PR MD the photos are faulty, if not the event floor manager, the engineer who prep the car, the driver who drove it to the showroom, the guy who wax it b4 the event, the CEO who would naturally inspect it b4 passing the mock key, or the multiples PAs of the CEO office, of the newly form QC elite team, someone would have spotted that one lousy badge before it reach to us. so its not the car, its not the design, its the ppl running the place, its an entire corp management breakdown. and its translated to the product we spent half of our savings and entrust with our lives (plus family and love ones).

lets just say save Nike who make more products, distribute more countries, hired more staff, have more decentralised management team, more so-called high-profile sponsorship and we all entrust our foot, heel, knee, pelvic, spine and heart with it, still we buy more quality with that RM300 (though it nly took 1/10 of the price to make it) than of the RM50k high-precision engineering feat with SE yellow paint there.

so, those who still dont understand the hoo-haa about our nation most treasure, symbolising the advancement of the country….. blah blah blah, lets just say we all dont understand you either, except you are one of the PAs of the CEO office, or even better you might just be the CEO of P1, hmmm…..

footnote: can you imagine, a product which cost more if you buy the 2nd hand as to a new one, just bout 10 years ago, i remember all the Wira hype, now have to resort to a sad 4ft table at the entrance of Giant Mall, Kelana Jaya, with one half-the-time-sms-ing saleman, giving out photo copies prices list with a hand written manila card backdrop stating you can actually drive a Proton-Pride of our Nation out of a showroom without a single cent paid, picture that. what happened between those 10 years? your guess is as good as mine.

• McPadey (Member) on Nov 27, 2006 at 8:10 pm

another bull s**t from proton…. lol

what so special? a new colour?

• Cire (Member) on Nov 27, 2006 at 10:19 pm

Ppl must understand that for a car manufacturer, they cannot do much to the engine nor its performance conveniently. They are restricted to certain guidelines as car manufacturers, and is not allowed to modify anything to the engines especially.

Unless ofcourse the car is under the catergory of a sportcar with a predetermined bhp, and better sporty handling. Like Satria GTi, or the limited edition Proton Putra WRC homologated variant.

So, the best they could do is some fancy trimmings, and catchy labels.

• kenninaz (Member) on Nov 27, 2006 at 10:40 pm

Just a question for all… are there any reviews out yet on the Satria Neo? I mean things like petrol consumption, handling, etc…??? Sigh, with the current sucky conditions we are in practicality has bcome the priority in place of luxury.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Nov 28, 2006 at 12:37 am

superman said,

Joe Ooi,

You might wanna do some REAL Research and get correct facts first before putting words to the keyboard. Your Misguided Info just shows how uninformed you are.

Proton’s involvement in A1 aint no cheapo publicity. Alex Yoong has gone on record to say “without Proton it would not be possible” after he won in Brno. Considering A1’s multi million budget, and Proton’s huge logo on the A1GP car it can’t be cheap.

—————————

Good comment and you have your right of opinion!

What do you mean I don't do some REAL research and get correct facts! Asked you, do you rally understand what is research stuff, some more "REAL"? Research is not limited to correct facts! Definitely it is more than sponsorship and win the race. I can easily proof your understanding of REAL research is very low!

Can I say after I do a "REAL research" on superman and the correct facts is superman wear red underwear outside? Damn shame fly all over New York sky do-this-and-do-that super strong but can't wear red underwear properly.

OK, back to topic, research may encompass but not limited to conduct quantitative/qualitative experiment/test/study in search of new findings/discovery that may form part of continues improvement and betterment of existing practice/products.

By this statement, do P1 products become new or better for the last 20 years in relation to other manufacturers. Do P1 products are the best of its class in term of cost, quality and safety? Let alone to say best of the best.

As per Alex Yong statement on “without Proton it would not be possible” …… This is likely refer to RM million budget financial support rather than P1 come out with the A1 racing car!

What you mean by my R3 Bashing is pretty baseless too. They finished 3rd in Class C(1.6cc) with their MME Waja doesn't mean it is live up to all R3 (see my explanantion on R3).

Now you say "In case you didn’t know, the Merdeka Millenuim Endurance Race last 12. That pretty anwers your question about “long distance race”.

Dude can you do a simple math calculation, Sepang race track is 5.543 Km long. That means 12 laps x 5.543 Km = 66.516 Km. Are you mean say I drive my Waja for 67 km (approx. from KL to Tg Malim) @ 40 minutes drive considered as "long distance"? You must be greatest super(man) joker on the earth! Some more finish 3rd place in Class C with this 67 km race! What a shame. Remembered, long distance race mean thousnad Km like Dakar-Paris rally. So, ask you, what I comment about R3 is accurate or your description on long distance @ 67 km is correct? Be honest to judge and take the correct one.

——

superman – What the heck is “H-P-6 Rally”. Do you mean HPC (High Performance Challenge)?

Joe Ooi – Wah your imagination for HPC is totaly different from H-P-6 as mentioned by me. H-P-6 is stand for Half-Pass-Six, he, he, he …… Why not HP6, 67 km race considered as long distance rally lol. Log on below to learn more about "Rally": –

http://www.wrc.com/page/FanSurvey/0,,10111,00.htm…

Most of rally is off road or on country side rugged road, but for P1 it is on F1 Sepang circuit, don't know what the actual reason(s) behind it.

• Deodorant (Member) on Nov 28, 2006 at 2:03 am

Joe … the MME is a 12 HOUR race, not 12 lap race …

Anyway I remember reading some interview with R3 people, apparently for them to make a Limited Edition vehicle, without Proton support they'd have to sell 2,500 units to make it commercially viable.

Thus it's probably the case of not that R3 WANTS to come out with these minor-mod MME editions, it's that they have no choice.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Nov 28, 2006 at 4:43 am

Deodorant, as for WRC definition (log in as I posted above) on race, it is distance-based it as "long distance race" and I don't disputed it, but not "long TIME race" as mentioned by you.

If what you mentioned is accurate, then this is another P1 cheapor show that set its own criterion in term of time-based as well as super flat F1 Sepang circuit for such race. Another criteria shall be Class C (1.6) which I don't think is set by WRC or other reputable motorsport body. P1 must be truely Jaguh Kampong by setting its own criterion for the sake of cheapor show!

• thow (Member) on Nov 28, 2006 at 8:33 am

omg…..look ugly….XD

• chrisbangle (Member) on Nov 28, 2006 at 11:21 am

Joe Ooi…..so how about the Waja BTCC can tapau all the E46 in the races. and how about the stupid Nemo Waja by R3 that tapau a few VTECs?

And not to mention the stupid gen2 that won the Felda Rally.

And of course, the famous incident where a stock Savvy won an autokhana against a modded Myvi.

On the road, i am sure you have been out cornered by the Waja, the Gen2, the SAvvy and the Neo. Of course, they still cant fix their power windows but when it comes to road handling, they got it right.

And you think Hyundai Accent RX-S is a better deal lah? With two FAKE tail pipes, they are better than this Neo which gives you original momo and Recaro seats at a price you wont get outside. but of course, you would prefer the Infra steering wheel and the "leather" interior in the Accent. Not to mention, that non functioning hood scoop.

i dont like the way proton is sucking up my tax money too but credit should be given where it is dued. There are so many japanese companies who are selling made in balakong parts at mde in japan prices but get away with it because we are blinded by the badge.

• Paul Tan on Nov 28, 2006 at 11:28 am

u missed out the accent rx-s's super aerodynamics enhancing gullwing doors.

• nizam80 (Member) on Nov 28, 2006 at 5:12 pm

Paul Tan said,

"u missed out the accent rx-s’s super aerodynamics enhancing gullwing doors."

Yes gullwing doors on a 1.5 liter korean sedan. Muahahaha…I would not want to be in that car. Probably looked silly too. Gullwing doors are for exotics…. :)

• superman (Member) on Nov 28, 2006 at 7:18 pm

Joe OOi ,

My last post did state my typo error. This blog doesnt allow editing hence following that I did state "12 hrs" long

!2 hr race on a 5.543km circuit is quite a LONG DISTANCE, Example being this year where some teams completed over 250 laps which means close to 1,400km of hard charging driving. 4 figure mileage in a Race enviroment. You wouln't be drving to T Malim as hard.

By the way the MME Class C had mostly Honda Civic Vtec in the 26 cars in that class. The fact a Waja beat most of them speaks volume. Again pls get your facts correct first .

I must say your posts wavers from dumb and illogical to weird mind warp thinking. But hey every one is entitled to a opinion.

• superman (Member) on Nov 28, 2006 at 7:37 pm

johanbey said,

November 27, 2006 @ 10:36 am

superman,

if proton is going to learn anything out out A1 technically or sell more cars, then the millions of ringgit is well spent,

A1, well i dont follow closely, but the last time i read was that all cars are built the same, engine and all, so what can P1 really benefit other than a publicity stunt?

..Naza did a better job with the 206 and Sutera, (btw the design IP was brought from an italian design house not china, i thought they are proffessionals petrolheads here). and mind you, avanza look utterly different with latest nip/tuck job, coz my dad own one. even the P2 RS look much better than this A1 SE.

so, those who still dont understand the hoo-haa about our nation most treasure, symbolising the advancement of the country….. blah blah blah, lets just say we all dont understand you either, except you are one of the PAs of the CEO office, or even better you might just be the CEO of P1, hmmm…..

A1GP is more a Marketing exercise for Proton so the name is carried worldwide. Especially in markets where Proton are still growing like Aus, UK etc. Just like why many companies enter F1. Global Brand Awareness.

The IP may be Italian but the actual vehicle came from china hence my Chinese –takeaway quip.

The Perodua RS was formerly a Daihatsu Move RS circa 1999. Nothing new there. And how could Naza go wrong with a car that Peugeot has produced for 6 years?

And your dad drives a Avanza. So are you the dribbling kid in the passenger seat? hahaha

Hey, I too wonder why Proton can produce a higher quality car , having visited the High Tech T. Mialm Plant, visited and seen the workings of their R&D facility, but there are those trying hard. At least give these poor folks a chance.

PS. I’m not The CEO, but I wouldn’t want his job either facing the Public who clamor for better quality products at cutthroat price, while managing a disparate group of employees from true enthusiasts to lazy ex govt staff.

• honda_driver (Member) on Nov 28, 2006 at 7:45 pm

Joe Ooi: As per Alex Yong statement on “without Proton it would not be >possible” …… This is likely refer to RM million budget financial support >rather than P1 come out with the A1 racing car!

Proton did not build the car, but proton's sponsorship helps the team in more ways than that. There is a whole lot more things going on within a race team to win races than just building a car. Getting the right people for the team costs money. Getting the right equipment to get the most data out of a 1 hour practice session also makes the difference because of A1 rules of no testing. There are many many more other reasons.

Joe Ooi:What you mean by my R3 Bashing is pretty baseless too. They >finished 3rd in Class C(1.6cc) with their MME Waja doesn’t mean it is live up >to all R3 (see my explanantion on R3).

The waja, with no variable valve tech, big heavy body, outran more than 3/4 of the honda civic 2 door vtech brigade to get that hard fought 3rd in class. Thats is a success whatever way you look at it. credit should be given where it is due, not just mindless bashing that you continue to show from day 1.

Joe Ooi:Another criteria shall be Class C (1.6) which I don’t think is set by >WRC or other reputable motorsport body. P1 must be truely Jaguh >Kampong by setting its own criterion for the sake of cheapor show!

Are you saying there is no such thing as a 1.6 class for racing in the rest of the world but malaysia?? Thats one of the dumbest statements I've ever seen you make.

• zass (Member) on Nov 28, 2006 at 10:37 pm

Ha ha ha …….. new code name for proton the special edition A1GP 2006

Next year special edition R3GPA1 how about that …… me also cofused

• Paul Tan on Nov 29, 2006 at 1:07 am

yes, stay tuned for updates on that this friday.

• protonGL (Member) on Nov 29, 2006 at 1:53 am

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ErOO37nlcvU

just for fun……..

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Nov 29, 2006 at 7:00 am

superman said,

12 hr race on a 5.543km circuit is quite a LONG DISTANCE, Example being this year where some teams completed over 250 laps which means close to 1,400km of hard charging driving. 4 figure mileage in a Race enviroment. You wouln’t be driving to T Malim as hard.

———————–

So you or P1, have to termed it as "LONG HOUR" drive not to test the performance of the car, but maybe to test the mental stress of the driver! That is why you termed it as "HARD CHARGING DRIVING".

Pertaining to the statement on KL-Tg Malim argument, I retract this comment as I over look your last post!

So back to biz, by same "context", can I conclude this race is not to test the car, but to test the driver? Just like I on my house aircond for 12 hour that doesn't mean it is to test the compressor or it motor, but to make me cool and feel comfortable (antonyme of stress).

honda_driver,

"Are you saying there is no such thing as a 1.6 class for racing in the rest of the world but malaysia?? Thats one of the dumbest statements I’ve ever seen you make."

———

You have a problem to interprete my statement, I re-post it again and read carefully: –

"Another criteria shall be Class C (1.6) which I don’t think is set by WRC or other reputable motorsport body. P1 must be truely Jaguh Kampong by setting its own criterion for the sake of cheapor show!"

I said " …… don’t think is set by WRC or other reputable motorsport body."

I never mean as what you said. If not sure or can't understand (or "pretend" to be that way), then ask don't simply guess.

Anyway , both of you entitled to your opinions and enjoying the P1 "mediocre cheapor show"! That is your right and choice and in no way I can tell you what to choose or enjoy. No offence …. peace

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Nov 29, 2006 at 7:48 am

superman said,

"12 hr race on a 5.543km circuit is quite a LONG DISTANCE, Example being this year where some teams completed over 250 laps which means close to 1,400km of hard charging driving."

————————-

Further comment, based on the above statement by you. We may derived more question than answer out of this.

At 5.543 Km Sepang circuit driving for 250 laps (approx 1,400 km) with time-based 12 hour race means on average, the speed is around 115 Km per hour.

Ask you to think and see it in the right perspective. With this "normal" highway speed, what P1 intend to test on the car except the likely outcome are make the driver become stress/tire and/or burn fuel for nothing! Too much fuel to burn for nothing and too much free time and nothing to do by orgainze this kind of "cheapor" race! It is like drive from KL up to Bukit Kayu Hitam and back for nothing? Except waste petrol and toll money. At the end what you "achieve" is "stress"!

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Nov 29, 2006 at 9:40 am

The Savvy facelift will be announced this Friday (1st Dec). It addresses some of the visual 'anomalies' that had plagued the car, at least in the eyes of some buyers.

In the end, the Savvy remains the most fun you can have for RM40k or less!

• topgunthang (Member) on Nov 29, 2006 at 11:38 am

ah yes…. purex toilet paper is the most fun you can have for rm3. in the end. ..

• honda_driver (Member) on Nov 29, 2006 at 4:28 pm

joe ooi,, i cannot understand your recent postings at all.. it just shows that you have nothing else to argue but for arguments sake, which is, as usual for you since you first started posting here anyways.

you are trying to argue about motorsports, when you obviously have no understanding or knowledge of the subject. even if 10 guys were to post the facts against your arguments, you are, and always be right. So i suppose we shall all just concede and I will end here with my last post , "Yes, Joe Ooi, you are correct and always will be!"

• catchcart (Member) on Nov 29, 2006 at 5:02 pm

Hey Joe,

Do you know something about Le Mans?

Get the fact about Le Mans first and please come back here with your comments.

Didn't I told you to refrain yourself from posting a comments?

• rps13 (Member) on Nov 29, 2006 at 5:17 pm

Joe Ooi, please stop making this amateur comments on motorsport. I don't think you have any idea on the matter at all. Any of us who have been a regular in the motorsport scene would have known that 1400km with an average speed of 115km/h in a track is not the same as driving to bukit kayu hitam and back on normal roads. Come on man. Have you ever driven in sepang before?

Your statement "…… don’t think is set by WRC or other reputable motorsport body…." for your knowledge, the MME race is sanctioned by FIA (Fédération Internationale de l'Automobile) which is THE international motorsport body. So for you to assume that the el-cheapo Class-C was created by Proton, well that's pretty dumb. MME is not even been organized by Proton in the first place.

• Tracks (Member) on Nov 29, 2006 at 5:44 pm

Dear Joe, why is it that you always try be the "You are always right guy". The average speed of 115km/h may seem low to you but the fact is that in a track you don't just drive in a straight line. There are corners and hairpin turn. Could you take a very sharp corner at 115km/h or not brake at all before a taking sharp corner?

You said, "Ask you to think and see it in the right perspective. With this “normal” highway speed, what P1 intend to test on the car except the likely outcome are make the driver become stress/tire and/or burn fuel for nothing! Too much fuel to burn for nothing and too much free time and nothing to do by orgainze this kind of “cheapor” race! It is like drive from KL up to Bukit Kayu Hitam and back for nothing?"

Common on now, if you were cruising on the highway at 115km/h your car rpm would probably be around 3k or slightly above for a 1.6L car. But on a track, you rarely use the overdrive gear as you would want to maintain the engine above 4k rpm or atleast within its powerband range. Trying drive long distance and not using the overdrive gear and definitely you be stressing you engine besides wasting using more fuel. At high rpm, the loads and stress of the engine and corresponding components are tremendous for any car. So therefore, an endurance race is definitely a hard charging driving to the man and machine.

• rps13 (Member) on Nov 29, 2006 at 5:49 pm

Joe ooi, stop making this amateur comments on motorsport when i think you have no knowledge of it whatsoever. Anybody with a basic knowledge of motor racing would have agreed that 1400km at an average speed of 115km/h is not the same as driving to bukit kayu hitam at that speed. Come one man, have you ever driven in sepang?

Your comment “Another criteria shall be Class C (1.6) which I don’t think is set by WRC or other reputable motorsport body. P1 must be truely Jaguh Kampong by setting its own criterion for the sake of cheapor show!”

For your knowledge, the MME is sanctioned by FIA (Fédération Internationale de l'Automobile) it is THE international motorsport body if you didnt know that already, even WRC is sanctioned by FIA. And for you to say that Proton created the el-cheapo Class C (1.6) to win it, well that's pretty dumb. Proton is not even the organiser for MME.

Even if Proton did created the Class C just to win it, it's pretty damn confident of them to compete against all the 1.6 VTEC Honda's dominating that class.

• Nathan Scott (Member) on Nov 29, 2006 at 8:04 pm

hahaha.. Joe Oii is a very funny guy, pls ignore him, he's maybe 13 years old, there's no way it came from over 15 years old of brain.. I mean the comments. what an idiot "wannabe" ..

• TeoPunk (Member) on Nov 29, 2006 at 8:39 pm

The design is ugly what! Same with Gen2… Just copy the Lotus car la…

• nizam80 (Member) on Nov 29, 2006 at 11:10 pm

Nathan Scott said,

"hahaha.. Joe Oii is a very funny guy, pls ignore him, he’s maybe 13 years"

C'mon guys, stop making fun of him la. There's no way he could be 13 years old.

How could a 13-year-old drive a Waja with busted power windows????

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Nov 30, 2006 at 3:35 am

So who is funny? 13 year can drive car? Must be Nathan Scott idiot wannabe lol. Now what you said is reflected you.

Yeah Nathan is 13 year driving "bang-bang" electric car at Genting Highland!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Nov 30, 2006 at 4:34 pm

rps13 said,

November 29, 2006 @ 9:17 am

"Your statement “…… don’t think is set by WRC or other reputable motorsport body….” for your knowledge, the MME race is sanctioned by FIA (Fédération Internationale de l’Automobile) which is THE international motorsport body. So for you to assume that the el-cheapo Class-C was created by Proton, well that’s pretty dumb. MME is not even been organized by Proton in the first place."

———

Read my statement and interprete it properly. I just write it in a very simple "Engris/Manglish". Read all my posted stataments again?

1. Or let me ask you, do I challenge or described this thingy race is illegal like Mat Rempit carried out illegal race at public road that endenger other motorist?

2. Neither me said it is orgainize by P1 nor name any other party!

3. Yes I assume the Class C is created by P1, then if this is not accurate hope you enlighten me if you have the info. No harm or lost face on my part to learn from you!

Pay attention, I never said it is not valid or illegal. Yes, good info that MME is santioned by FIA. Our football body, FAM also affiliate to FIFA and we are one of the best in Asia during 1980s under Santokh Sigh, Soh Chin Aun and Mokhtar Dahari. That time we even can compete with Korean. But today it is minnow ranking at around 146, and Korean go to semi in world cup in 2002.

What I write is mainly focus on what P1 doing are do their performance really fulfilled or truely live up to excell in R3 – Rally, Race and Research. But look at the public complaint on P1 cars, the general consensus is Risky Ride on the Road – "Expensive car but low quality yet unsafe that put Bolehland consumer life cheapor on the road". This is the real issue P1 have to settle (of course MD SZ pay attention on it) before claim this-and-that like centre of excellency or "unlimited/never ending" limited/special edition(s) of all current model of its car.

• catchcart (Member) on Nov 30, 2006 at 7:29 pm

Hello everybody,

let's give Joe Ooi a big clap to him and congrate him because he is the man of truth. he is always right. whatever he say is the truth, nothing but the truth.

"It's true"

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Nov 30, 2006 at 11:17 pm

catchcart said,

"Hey Joe,

Do you know something about Le Mans?

Get the fact about Le Mans first and please come back here with your comments.

Didn’t I told you to refrain yourself from posting a comments?"

————

About Le Mans, I am lack of info. Could you enlighten me!

Refrain myself? You go to court obtain restraining order or court injunction to prevent me from posting comments? Dude you must be joking if you do it, not even the court at Wisma Denmark Jalan Ampang want to accept your request since this is internet borderless world, Bolehland law can enforce just limited to M'sia territory! Ha, ha, ha …… you are "virtue superhero"!

What you mean by "its true", read and pay attention on my posting that I clarify something need to be corrected and superseded. You must be greatest joker in this blog, give you a big clap hand and bravo! hulala,…….

• catchcart (Member) on Nov 30, 2006 at 11:44 pm

whatever Joe….whatever

people understand about what I'm trying to say…..but you still don't get it.

you see, you argue with people who really have the correct facts and you still keep on arguing with them. I don't know why…

about Le Mans, it is actually 24 hour racing in the other part of the world. try to Wiki about it. MME is 12 hour racing. seems like the white guys like to burn fuel more than Malaysian Proton people (with refer to your assumption of MME racing). Maybe Le Mans racing is just to a test of stress to human more than MME (based on your assumption also).

Joe,

Sincere advice from me, get the correct fact first about something you don't really know before giving a comments.

You see, a lot of people here don't really get along with you. So who do you think have the problem? The others or yourself?

• Nathan Scott (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 1:28 am

Aiyooo… joe oii.. this is what happened when people give a driving license to an adult with a 13 years old brain. stop giving your idiotic comments, people here are getting sick of it… hahaha..

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 2:03 am

catchcart, good info and thank for the info on Le Mans, 24 hour ah? But what car they use? Very interesting!

I think better find out my self, sure they have website. Find up what variable(s)/criteria they test for 24 hour driving.To test limit of the performance of machine or human mental strength or both. Western people do thing always with aims and/or objectives. But we sometime copy/mimic blindly and bluntly!

I am not try to divert your attention or cover up my weakness. Just to share with you, we can see long bathtub at bungalow, condo or hotel. For us in tropical country, we perceived it as luxury or "rich man item". However, for temperate countries like UK, USA, Canada, etc. (where this stuff originate) the long bathtub main functional aspect is for the user to soak in hot water during cold winter time. Can the perception of "rich man item" = funtional "soak in hot water".

Do MME mimic blindly or bluntly on Le Mans just like the above example? I will find out, he, he, he ……. because I can't see this will test anything on the performance of the car on world class F1 superflat circuit with 3rd class car, but only make the driver tire/stress only! If you have info, hope you willing to share!

Sorry for the never ending jabbering ……..

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 2:06 am

Nathan better shut up if you can't or not willing to share info yet keep on "katok-katok" on me like woodpacker!

• catchcart (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 2:27 am

Hey Joe,

a few years ago there are some race for motorcycle (EX5 exactly) which last for 12 hours on batu 3 race track (I'm not too sure about it, if you guys have the info, please help to share). I don't remember the organizer of the race. But based on your comments, it also just to give the rider more stress and not to test the motorcycle.

Got the info about Le Mans yet?

you see…

drifting started in Japan where bunch of japanese youngster race in a different way illegally on mountain winding road. and now it became an organized race and it became a legal event worldwide. what i'm trying to say is, this race start illegally (maybe just to burn more fuel and tyre and make the driver tired) and now it is a big event anywhere in the world.

if you could find out why the westener race in Le Mans, please help to share it with us.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 7:25 am

catchcart said,

November 30, 2006 @ 6:27 pm

Hey Joe,

a few years ago there are some race for motorcycle (EX5 exactly) which last for 12 hours on batu 3 race track (I’m not too sure about it, if you guys have the info, please help to share). I don’t remember the organizer of the race. But based on your comments, it also just to give the rider more stress and not to test the motorcycle.

——————-

This is so call "mimic/copy blindly and bluntly" just like example of long bath tub as I mentioned above.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 7:31 am

catchcart, talk about history of certain events, Olympic in ancient Greco time, the runners were completely naked!

OK, now back to Le Mans or the like, log on below: –

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/24_Hours_of_Le_Mans

http://www.americanlemans.com/home/ALMSHome.aspx

and its official webpage,

http://www.lemans.org/accueil/index_gb.html

For Le Mans or Uncle Sam version, we can summarize up few important salient points: –

1. The 24 Hours of Le Mans (24 Heures du Mans) is the world's most famous sports car ENDURANCE race.

2. The race is run on a semi-permanent track which utilizing mostly country roads.

3. The overall winner is covers the GREATEST DISTANCE in 24 HOURS of continuous racing.

4. Top speed of 398 KM/H, or about 249 mph.

5. The most successful marque is Porsche, followed by Ferrari. The early years were dominated by Bentley and Alfa Romeo. The 1950s were dominated by Jaguar. The turn of the century saw a new power arrive in the Audi R8 V8 powered and Bentley Speed 8 (2003). Ford won the race four times (1966 to 1969) with its GT40.

6. American Le Mans Series – World Class.

7. Teams from the United States and around the world will vie for one of the most prestigious titles in the sport. Along with familiar Series favorites from Audi, Corvette, Porsche, Lola, Ferrari, Panoz and others, the race will mark the much-anticipated debut of three Acura-powered LMP2 entries.

8. The American Le Mans Series showed increases in most all categories including attendance, TV viewership, manufacturer participation and corporate sponsorship revenues.

9. The A.C.O. (Automobile Club de l'Ouest), the leading automobile club in France, creator and organiser of the "24 Heures du Mans", originated in 1906 from the passion of men who saw in the car a major invention which was going to revolutionise the 20th century.

10. The A.C.O. is the spokesman for road users in front of the authorities and professionals of the automobile world in France.

11. The A.C.O. represents 100,000 members to whom it ensures the implementation of services so that they can take to the road in the knowledge that they are safe (in France : breakdown/towing, assistance to private individuals, obligatory technical control, legal protection, …).

12. On the occasion of its centenary, A.C.O. is publishing two books of references in order to recall one hundred years of speed and endurance.

13. 3 – Sport: Mechanical sport has always been considered by the A.C.O. as a true testing ground for technology. It is with a view to encouraging innovation for better reliability and especially greater safety of the vehicles, that the A.C.O. has been organising the "24 Heures du Mans" since 1923.

Finally, we log in our beloved MME website: –

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Merdeka_Millennium_E…

and,

http://www.malaysiangp.com.my/motorsports/mme/his…

1. The Merdeka Millennium Endurance Race is an annual 12 Hours endurance motorsport event held at the Sepang International Circuit in Malaysia in late August as part of the Merdeka festivities.

2. The race is divided into 4 classes:

a) "O" is Open for modified racing cars.

b) "A" for production road cars with engine capacity exceeding 2000cc.

c) "B" for production road cars with engine capacity exceeding 1600cc.

d) "C" for production road cars with engine capacity below 1600cc.

3. In the late 90s, Malaysian auto manufacturer Proton used to organize a 500km race at Shah Alam circuit for local racers racing with Protons, to celebrate Merdeka in Malaysia. When Sepang International Circuit was built the race was shifted to the F1 circuit, with the winners of the race entitled to a new Proton road car.

But after the 1999 race, a dispute happened between Proton and Sepang International Circuit, resulting in Proton's sponsorship withdrawal. Sepang therefore decided to host a replacement race by itself and started the Merdeka Millennium 12 Hours Endurance Race in 2000. The race also opened up for non-Proton entries.

4. The regulation to compete in this event basically follow FIA rules and can be log in here – http://www.malaysiangp.com.my/motorsports/mme/MME…

5. The Merdeka Millennium Endurance (MME), the brainchild of the Sepang International Circuit Chairman, is one of the premier local Malaysian events with strong international recognitions. It has made its mark in the national’s motorsports history by being the first 12-hour endurance race organised and promoted by locals.

For the local motorsports enthusiasts, the MME is much awaited for every year since 2000. The 12 – hour endurance will definitely put the drivers’ skill, teams’ management and the machines to the limits. The team will have three drivers who will race for at least 70 minutes being before allowed to switch.

MME has been regarded as catalysts to the national motorsports development. Here, the competition is fierce and indirectly will produce racers, team managers and crew with world standard.

———————————————————

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

With the above facts, now we may draw the following conclusions.

Le Mans Series: –

1. Le Mans and its Uncle Sam series is of world class standard and run on country road and race track respectively.

2. Both versions have very clear objectives and aims – To test the men and machine to the limits in term of achieve top speed (398 Km/h) and longest distance within fix time frame (24 hours).

3. Participates by the best performance cars in the world, e.g. Porsche, Mercs 320, Ford GT40, Ferrari, Bentley, Alfa Romeo, Jaguar, etc.

4. High commercial value in attract attendance, TV viewership, manufacturer participation and corporate sponsorship revenues.

5. Spokesman for road users in front of the authorities and professionals.

6. A true testing ground for technology, encouraging innovation for better reliability and especially greater safety of the vehicles. That they (the motorist) can take to the road in the knowledge that they are safe.

7. Ultimate test of car’s speed and man’s endurance.

MME

1. Divided into 4 Class – “O” for modified, “A” > 2.0L, 1.6L>“B”

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 7:35 am

Continued ………

MME

1. Divided into 4 Class – “O” for modified, “A” > 2.0L, 1.6L>“B”

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 7:40 am

Sorry catchcart, I don't know why part of my posting can't go in. Try one mor time, hopefully can go in. Otherwise, don't know what to do.

Continue ………

2. Make local history by become the first local 12 hour endurance race.

3. Put the drivers’ skill, teams’ management and the machines to the limits.

4. Regarded as catalysts to the national motorsports development.

5. Produce racers, team managers and crew with world standard.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 7:40 am

Continue ……..

CONCLUSIONS

1. The Le Mans and MME when make comparison, it may be apple to apple comparison. But Le Man’s is “shiny and crunchy Washington apple” by attracting best of the best top speed cars compare to MME’s “dwarf local apple selling at Tapah town” that attract limited participation.

2. Fair to say Le Mans is world class standard that put man and machine to the limits. Whilst MME is local competition, which if for Class “O”, it might be participated by the sons of few local VVIP as well as foreign drivers as their favorite “big toy”. But for Class “A”, “B” and “C”, it is participated by small production cars like Civic, Waja that is no where to test the machine or the driver to the limits. If MME has only one World Class category like Le Mans, there is no way Proton car can ever have the opportunity to participate in such endurance race. So, Proton is not a world class player and its car like Waja at most can become jaguh kampong. Log on to see the MME result:

http://www.malaysiangp.com.my/motorsports/mme/def…

3. Le Mans and its Uncle Sam clone achieve not only ultimate in testing man and machine, it promote safety as well. But the most important is it achieved commercial success and gain world wide recognition as the “de facto” endurance race. But for MME, I have the benefit of doubt that, do all it class (O, A, B & C) really put the man and machine to the limits as claimed by them?

4. Does the Proton promote safety? How to test unsafe machine to the limits? The general public consensus is still R3 – “Risky Ride on the Road”! So, Proton achieved a “wrong R3”. Whatever never-ending “Limited/Special Edition” for their cars is indeed ‘gimmick/chepor publicity and waste of public fund”, rather than catalysts to the national motorsports development.

5. Perhaps after say VW take over Proton or similar event taken place, Proton and MME may achieve greater high in automotive arena and put Malaysian name on the auto world and well respected by world class players.

Good night, just to share the little info on Le Mans and MME that I can extracted from relevant websites!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 7:41 am

Yeah, …….. finally I managed to post all my comment, Thanks to Paul!

• catchcart (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 5:16 pm

i'm tired joe…..

i'm getting sick of your attitude….

whatever joe….whatever

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Dec 02, 2006 at 6:07 am

Friend relax, me take more than 3 hour to compile it. You should accepted the facts since you are one of loudest to ask me to get facts first before post comment, even to the extent requested me to refrain from posting comments! Ha, ha, ha, ………. now what happen!

Dude, be cool, just ignore it if you can't face the reality. Nothing to lost and perhaps we will meet at other section again. Pray next time we are at the same side rather than this one on opposite!

"[email protected]" , "tok tok tok tok tok ………. where are youuuuuuu!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Dec 03, 2006 at 7:40 pm

catchcart – the facts and reality is don't "compare Selangor football team with Manchester United". Both wear red jearsey playing same football with same rules and ultimately affilated to FIFA. But remembered, MU is at the highest and world class standard, whilst Selangor team is minnow on international level! Good luck to you, can always disgree with me and no oofence ya, we just put forward our right of opinion.

• hotwheeler (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 9:25 pm

joo ooi bodo…

• swarty (Member) on Jan 10, 2007 at 4:25 am

i am not sure if I got the worth buying Protoon Neo. I paying for 800 every month and plus the petrol 300; total up RM1100. Feel I could have got VIOS or Honda for that price with lesser fuel consumption.

• mieza on Sep 01, 2010 at 4:30 am

pergh…gler cntk neo nieh..x sbr2 ase nye nk pkai neo..ahakz..!frenz,,dOa2 kn le thn dpn ley pkai k!hehee…