Toll hike amount yet to be determined

imageA promised update to the previous post on the upcoming toll price hike, the highways that will be affected are the Guthrie Corridor Expressway, Karak Highway, Grand Saga Cheras-Kajang Highway, Lebuhraya Damansara Puchong (LDP) and Kesas Shah Alam Highway.

Estimated toll subsidies for all the highways are expected to be RM2 billion if toll subsidies are not reduced. As for how much we’ll suffer, that amount is still under study, but the last toll price increase in early 2005 saw the Plus Expressway toll rates going up by 10% on the North-South Expressway, while previously Kesas upped prices in 2002.

Assuming the subsidies of RM2 billion are to be cut in half or a quarter, that would be a savings of RM1 billion (a palace, a foreign sports complex and a space trip) or RM500 million (a foreign sports complex and a space trip) respectively.

Well, the choice of where to spend the money was obvious, as the other projects are so much more important than keeping the toll rates affordable for us!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• motorhead (Member) on Nov 28, 2006 at 10:30 pm

Still the gov always claim no money to keep the subsidies… come on la.. just say la, NO MONEY FOR THE PEOPLE, BUT GOT MONEY FOR CRONIES!!!…. I challenge them to expose those who involved in the mentioned stupid projects (a foreign sports complex and a space trip)!!!.. main bola dgn vietnam pun bole kalah, mau sport compleks kat London… roket pun tak tau buat, mau pergi space.. suma ini nonsense punya projects siapa yang propose??.. kalau berani pls tell us here!!! or DON'T dare to say not enuf MONEY!!!

• powerhaus (Member) on Nov 28, 2006 at 10:37 pm

sammy vellu boleh.

• apexg2 (Member) on Nov 28, 2006 at 10:40 pm

alwaz like this…

alwaz spending,not income…

how we gonna live in 5 years time…

wuts more coming?

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Nov 28, 2006 at 10:44 pm

motorhead, i salute you. i vote u for the next general election.. hehe..

hope the fuel price won't increase next year, if not will be double blow to most of us.

• mazaofficial (Member) on Nov 28, 2006 at 10:49 pm

I like to rephrase what Mr motorhead said: "NO MONEY FOR THE PEOPLE, BUT GOT MONEY FOR CRONIES!!!" ==> "NO MONEY FOR THE PEOPLE, BUT GOT MONEY FOR FAMILI!!!"

• xsaraloeb (Member) on Nov 28, 2006 at 10:55 pm

I also don't understand la…..we have lots of brilliant people in the G but never can understand the agreement they had signed. whatever it is, RAKYAT are the one to suffer. already petrol cannot reduce…have to wait when the crude go down Us50, what a BOLEH joke. VERY SICK AND FED-UP.

• pikirsejenak (Member) on Nov 28, 2006 at 11:00 pm

emmm MALAYSIA apa2 pon BOLEH kot

traffic jam tak diselesaikan tapi harga tol naik aje

SYABAS MALAYSIA

• honda_driver (Member) on Nov 28, 2006 at 11:11 pm

haha.. i was half suspecting to find someone blaming proton for the toll hike.. since everyone blames proton for all the troubles we face. ;)

anyways.. what i dont understand is why the govt have to subsidise companies, that are given the job of building the highways and then later toll collection.

shouldn't the deal be, you pay for the highway, we give you the toll collection contract, and all that money is yours?

• motorhead (Member) on Nov 28, 2006 at 11:29 pm

REDDEVIL,

thx for ur support man… but unfortunately I am not interested to join politics (even in opposition).. not until Datuk Rashid is still the bos of EC..

ps: Our democratic system needs overhaul also.. sudah byk karat, minyak byk hitam, byk parts kena buang!!!

• Hikaru (Member) on Nov 28, 2006 at 11:39 pm

The G has once again restricted motorists' movement by once again increasing the price of traveling. Sometimes we don't use the whole length of LDP yet we get charged because we went pass this abitrary point that they set. As a motoring enthusiast it really saddens me to see this. So Mr S V, where are the rest of the money going? Developing Johore? Keeping portholes out of sight?

I really wonder sometimes who is running the country, the highway contractor or the government. It sounds like the G had made a very bad deal with the highway contractor (HC) that the HC can do whatever they want. C'mon, G, you run the country, can't you bully these ppl once in a while? Make this small section of M'sia's population suffer, take away their Ferraris so that you and me, that is the bigger population can suffer less. Where does your interest lie?

• engtaokia (Member) on Nov 28, 2006 at 11:50 pm

guyz, you know what should do in the next election.

• drM (Member) on Nov 29, 2006 at 12:14 am

what to do? now, one thing for sure. the chinese, go and look whether J.P Chin / Lim Keng Liat got daughter or not As for Indians, find out whether Samy Vello got daughter or granddaughter or not. And my Malay friends, you got lots to choose from! – PakLah's / Najib's/ Nazri's/ find out lor.what to do, untuk hidup maa….

rising the toll rates really a bad move la Samy. this time, they said will save about 1billion. that petrol price hike saves THEM 4billion. oledi 5billion maa.. where the money goes?

who can answer that?

• Celicazz (Member) on Nov 29, 2006 at 1:41 am

you are true paul…

they got maoney for that shits…

why cant they spend it for good? (fuel price n toll)

those billions, where did they go? U said it, the palace and the empty 'space'..

we can assure now that our money will definitely sucked by those 'black (ass)holes'…

• Jeffrey1977 (Member) on Nov 29, 2006 at 1:59 am

If they increase the toll, can they increase the speed limit kah?? Like german Autobahn. At least no need to pay for saman laju…Then maybe justify….

• xg9 (Member) on Nov 29, 2006 at 2:02 am

tol naik, sudah kaya, boleh kasi kurang itu lubang2 atas jalan

• J (Member) on Nov 29, 2006 at 2:02 am

Guys… all these highway subsidies are all bull shitting one la. We will never finish paying the "highway companies" (which consist of cronies+families). No transparency as of how much we still owe them and why the figures are so high.

• Jeffrey1977 (Member) on Nov 29, 2006 at 2:14 am

Wondering why they never expose which families owns all the highways in Malaysia like they expose APs……….

BN logo = dacing mah. Then cannot berat sebelah what….

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Nov 29, 2006 at 3:12 am

I just don't understand the 500 Million Sports Complex in London. If the excuse is to train in cold weather, what for? Olympics is in Summer what? Malaysia wants to enter Winter Olympics? Go outdoors can what. No need Sports Complex.

• protonGL (Member) on Nov 29, 2006 at 4:08 am

pay road tax already, …what more?!

• h2k (Member) on Nov 29, 2006 at 4:49 am

G save $2billion from toll subsidies, $4 billion from oil subsidies? Are they printing money? Does entire population taxpayer money got up to few billions every year???

Not logic la…how can they subsidy a few billion? Money drop from sky?

Somemore, their accounts are not subject to public scrutiny…how can they say any amount without evidence….no transparency!!

• Deodorant (Member) on Nov 29, 2006 at 6:49 am

Well I don't know of any government in the world that fully discloses its finances. Even America … as far as I know you can only really obtain summary information, not detailed expenditure.

• intermilan (Member) on Nov 29, 2006 at 8:17 am

Then use touch n' go and smart tag to ease your suffering.

althrough not ant cheaper, there is no or very short queue, save time and petrol.

its cost vs. convenience lah using the toll highway.

imagine travelling from puchong to kepong in 2006 if LDP not exist. sanggup ka kita?

• normal_user (Member) on Nov 29, 2006 at 8:21 am

Our highways are congested, bumpy and poorly designed. Does that justify the proposed toll hike? They should give a discount instead! Why use a highway when its jammed and bumpy.

I wish I could just kick Samy's a**.

• mits27 (Member) on Nov 29, 2006 at 8:27 am

So where all the money has gone??? RM400 million dollar, I sure this money can use on building more schools, hospitals, recruite more polices, but it used to build some dumb sport complex in uk?????????????

• Prem3377 (Member) on Nov 29, 2006 at 9:07 am

i dun understand y G cant afford..or the toll company r not satisfied wif the rate!!!every year more cars r using the highways..so more income…dun tell me more car more pothholes n etc…or they highway is growin in size every year!!plus waste their money in keepin their toilets shinin..flush it 5 times after each person use…i m realy sick of all tis man…v pay road tax for wat then?wat r they doin with tat money?v r payin tax for everyting….almost double the car price v buy….so each car sold G makes so much money..where tat money goes???our petrol sell higher than most petrol in da world..then y must increase?if world increase ok la its acceptable…now decrease dy..so y dun the G decrease?they 4.4 billion they save..half for the signboard,billboard n etc on da road la…rest masuk pocket PL….Proton going bankrupt,tenaga nasional losin money,puas losing money,toll companies losing money..goverment losing money…i realy wonder how…v r payin for wat v use….xcept for petrol and maybe toll…rest of the money????where is it goin??????????how can all lose money la???who is not paying their bill???rakyat ar??hahaha..soon they gonna blame us….they say save water n electric..but they r too stupid la…they neva tink 1st i guess….v r paying for wat v use….so even if v waste or never waste..it will make no diff…G is full of crap…DR M is da best la….he kept us all happy in many ways…his time then highest petrol increase mayb 7 cents….not 30 cents…v must start being rough on the G…election v let them lose..

• aliBaPa (Member) on Nov 29, 2006 at 12:11 pm

BARISAN NATIONAL dun cry if one day lose election to opposition.

simply bcos so long time of making wrong policies.

and dun play trick to causing racial riots, declare emergency and then regain power.

just like the last time 5.13 incident.

I VOTE FOR OPPOSITION A FEW TIMES OREDI!!!!

• rosdi (Member) on Nov 29, 2006 at 5:02 pm

You think you got choice to vote opposition is it? Hah?! hahaha… sorry to spoil you guys.. hahaha…

Arrogant 'G'.

• rexis (Member) on Nov 29, 2006 at 5:03 pm

http://www.state.gov/r/pa/ei/bgn/2777.htm

Malaysia have about 25.6 million people, gov spending:

– 400millions to palace

– 400millions to sportcenter

– 90millions to pay taxi fee for a bolehnaut into space.

So each of us, from those dying on bed to those just borned, each of us are paying some 34 bucks to G to spend on luxury things. So that means all of us just need fasting for 10 days then we will have teh money to build another palace, another sportcenter in another country, and another two bolehnaut blasted into space.

Malaysia boooodleh

• lowprofile (Member) on Nov 29, 2006 at 5:04 pm

i will join you aliBaPa. there are potholes everywhere in kl now. the gov is not bothered because they travel round in expensive cars that don't even feel the roads. plus, they would also never drive around the inner city to experience the bone jarring pot holes. too busy rushing for meetings from precinct to precinct. and they want to raise toll rates??!!

• raverus (Member) on Nov 29, 2006 at 5:51 pm

What to do? it's the G you guys vote!

Dig your own hole……hahahahahaa….

• motorhead (Member) on Nov 29, 2006 at 6:51 pm

raverus,

Watch ur words man!!… u dunno who vote who!! lu tahu ka?? Lu kerja dgn EC?? Lu kawan Tan Sri Rashid ka?? Don't simply assumptions!!!

• antaras (Member) on Nov 29, 2006 at 7:16 pm

motorhead… no need to get all hot up… he din say it's you. Anyway, perhaps for them wasting a fortune on a blardy SPACE TOURIST is a way to show the whole wide world Malaysia is a very advance country. LOL!!! Any rich bloke can do that! and to think that we pay our annual taxes for this space tourist to enjoy… hmmmm… MONEY WELL SPENT!!! LOL!!! oh… perhaps someone should renovate my house too or at least a satay stall will do.

• andylkw2004 (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 3:21 am

badd..

most malaysians is suffering from the bad debt & economy is shaking. But some G people is still pretending nothing happens.

what we can do for 90million is create more job by investing to R & D. our country is lacking of school & facility. But G people not caring. Letting our people is dying for job hunting. Any explaination?? spending almost 90million for sending sucker to space & doing circus things. Any benefits for the Rakyat..Nothing.. after the bodohnout come back then they got fames & money..

where they got money.. from our pocket lor.

another things is the 400million. Pls lar, give this money to the rakyat to share lar. I still remember the goverment slogan. Improved poorer citizen..

but now…is burden the rakyat..

• intermilan (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 4:09 am

i want a satay stall please..

• megahyper (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 7:02 pm

Put opposition in power just once. And all the skeleton will fall out from the closet. All AP, petronas spending, contracts, and whatnot of ex-G will be exposed.

I bet all consessionaire will be down to their knees, begging for project. Any toll increase no project. If G wanna strongarm them, any corporation will buckle, even to the extent of amending contract term.

But I dont see how that can be done if people still get blinded by rhetoric and racial card played. Cemerlang (millions to play batu seremban in space), Germilang (Build Istana and Mansions to show how Germilang), Terbilang (Toll consessionaire/AP consort "Terbilang" the money that fall on their laps.)

Malaysia boleh? or Malaysia Bodoh?

• osh_kosh (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 10:25 pm

megahyper,

yeah.. me to wonder why G so 'soft' with this consessionaire.. dunno why… as far as i know, client (gov) always hev the upper hand… why must 'sujud' with the contractors.. like my chinese friend told me "kita telur ma, dia olang batu.. macam mana lawan pun kita pecah"… adat, that's business.. if u can't agreed with my term then don't do the job, others still hev & waiting for the job.. why give it to u at the first plase… En Samy, tolonglah jawab :)

• Romaunt (Member) on Dec 03, 2006 at 11:57 am

Puhlease..

this is crap

I am 100% sure that somebody getting extra $$ out of this..

I am tired of paying everything extra for those people in power, they want more $$ and we need to provide for them..

It is their responsibility to provide us good roads and free..

I guess we all know what to do in the next election…

• aliBaPa (Member) on Dec 04, 2006 at 9:56 am

i must say our G=barisan nasional.

unlike US or maybe taiwan, the G can be rule by different parties.

i just scare if opposition wins, maybe those civil servants dun listen to them.

• domoteka (Member) on Dec 08, 2006 at 9:44 pm

thats why you people every time general election, tak pa lah, kasi dacing lah but dunno the dacing already berat sebelah with all the cacing……

so what opposition win! who tell you the civil servant dun listen to them?

the party change but they still work for G, just new management only what?

eh, if i see party basikal next to party dacing in next election,no other opposition like roket or bulan for me to vote also, i vote party basikal lah…..

if roket or bulan put a real life monkey as the candidate also i vote for them lah…better a real life monkey than a dacing candidate acting like monkey….