2007 Proton Savvy facelift at A1 GP Sepang

smallsavvyfacelift.jpgProton showed us a sneak preview of the upcoming Proton Savvy facelift at the recent 2006 A1 Grand Prix event in Sepang. This photo is from a paultan.org visitor from Savoc.net. While the strange shoulderline is still there, the awkward rear end design that looks like the front of a Proton Waja is now gone – though the rear hatch still sinks in between the two rear lamp clusters. The Proton badge has been placed slightly upwards. Originally scheduled for public release this Friday, because of certain circumstances it looks like we’ll have to wait a little while longer than that for the new 2007 Proton Savvy facelift – just a little bit longer!

More photos at Savoc.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• weili (Member) on Nov 29, 2006 at 7:10 pm

same shit different day!

• nizam80 (Member) on Nov 29, 2006 at 7:16 pm

weili said,

“same shit different day!”

same bashers anyway!

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 29, 2006 at 7:27 pm

same face, why change, it looks ok. Looks like standard rims to me.

• faizulamin (Member) on Nov 30, 2006 at 12:51 am

hehehe… i'm savocian.. savvy is my first car (and my first loan as well) haha..

well, just waiting for the launching.. hopefuly proton won't delay the birth of facelifted savvy..

• e-nabilll (Member) on Nov 30, 2006 at 12:54 am

any more pics for those who cant wait for fri ??

i mus admit the savvy is seriously good solid car to drive..its really fun…i admire it actually…although i jus test drive only…

• nizam80 (Member) on Nov 30, 2006 at 1:03 am

Yes, agreed. Savvy is a solid car. Stable at high speeds. Till now, it amazes me. Has that heavy continental feel. A solid car in it's class. Just my opinion based on experience owning it.

I wonder why Proton delay it's launch? It's only a facelift. No major engine tweaking or engine change right? Then why took so long. How long have to wait? Till next year? Maybe, I'm planning to buy 1 more. :) Maybe AMT with airbag and ABS.

• normal_user (Member) on Nov 30, 2006 at 1:04 am

Hmm looked like Proton replaced the rims with sportier ones, new rear headlamp design and skirting. Have to wait a little bit longer? Perhaps a little bit longer to proton means we end up waiting forever like what happened to the neo. But a couple of months is acceptable for a launch of a better looking car.

• osh_kosh (Member) on Nov 30, 2006 at 1:06 am

i was at sepang last weekend… still not impress with those savvy & neo when they hit the track… facelift??? still look the same to me… weird look

• Celicazz (Member) on Nov 30, 2006 at 1:29 am

how bout the face? only the butt being 'butt'lifted or it include the face?

• osh_kosh (Member) on Nov 30, 2006 at 1:40 am

celicazz…

better not talk about it… :)

• e-by (Member) on Nov 30, 2006 at 2:11 am

the rims look quite similar with Satria Gti. Bigger spoiler.. :)

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Nov 30, 2006 at 3:32 am

I reckon the lense on Savvy's rear lights look a bit too medieval, if you know what I mean. I really hope the facelift will rectify this.

• Cire (Member) on Nov 30, 2006 at 3:36 am

I thought such black stripes from the bonnet to the rear is not allowed by the authority – JPJ.? No?

Anyways, Savvy feels like a conti car because it is actually a make-over of the Renault clio. All else are the same except for a few cosmetic features. Its good as it does not loose out the conti car feel of stability and comfort at high speed. If it were to clone entirely from the clio, it would be much more nice looking.

• Malaysia BoXXX (Member) on Nov 30, 2006 at 3:50 am

How much powder and lipsticks you can put to make-up an ugly frog ?

Hahahaha….memalukan bangsa

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W7JITRVRDPE

• ilmondo (Member) on Nov 30, 2006 at 6:18 am

wow.. y not hav several variants? like sportswagon, x-over, savvy gti, savvy convertible? fiat panda cross 1.3 td entered paris dakar rally.. small car big race.. chun!

anyway.. hope proton makes it nicer this time. its already a nice car.juz my view

• cosmohybrid (Member) on Nov 30, 2006 at 6:22 am

another 'turnabout' move by proton…

if they can truly come out with a descent car, they would not have to come up with all this face lift, special edisi or whatever edisi juz to move the sale…

…same old mindset… i truly grief for you, my dear proton…

• Johny.Rico (Member) on Nov 30, 2006 at 7:38 am

Sorry…but this is the worst car ever..I mean manufactory…but stil better then China's vehicles

• dzqwr (Member) on Nov 30, 2006 at 7:52 am

another ‘turnabout’ move by HONDA CITY…

if they can truly come out with a descent car, they would not have to come up with all this face lift, special edisi or whatever edisi juz to move the sale…

…same old mindset… i truly grief for you, my dear HONDA CITY…

• cyborgx (Member) on Nov 30, 2006 at 8:18 am

seriously, savvy looks more like a turtle than a frog.

• offroader manix (Member) on Nov 30, 2006 at 8:56 am

Another face lift……another crap…another junk……

Got anything new to offer or not ? Asyik goreng pisang aja…..cuma kulit lain……BOSAN BETUL

• peYno (Member) on Nov 30, 2006 at 1:22 pm

cyborgx said,

seriously, savvy looks more like a turtle than a frog.

========================

yes…fog is for another Vy

• peYno (Member) on Nov 30, 2006 at 1:29 pm

Got anything new to offer or not ? Asyik goreng pisang aja…..cuma kulit lain……BOSAN BETUL

———————–

some ppl don't know what is the meaning of "facelift"…Japs car. normally.every 2 years they will come out facelift model and they called it "minor change ", just change the rear taillight like vios and honda city facelift…opss forgot .kelisa imago n kenari RS facelift..BOSAN BETUL..

• peYno (Member) on Nov 30, 2006 at 1:33 pm

Johny.Rico said,

Sorry…but this is the worst car ever..I mean manufactory…but stil better then China’s vehicles

——————————–

how do u know???

ur auntie told u arr?? or u heard from ur neighbor or ur friend's friend???

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Nov 30, 2006 at 4:16 pm

Another show see how far it will translated into sales! Hope Paul can post more photos including interior and front.

• faizulamin (Member) on Nov 30, 2006 at 4:32 pm

for photo, you may come to savoc.net.. there were few pix to be viewed.. but than, u say it is frog? forg pun frog la.. it is a good car.. why bother, since VW has Frog! haha..

as savvy user, i can say that, this is a good car, but than, proton assamble and manufactured it, so, you may see a misallignment at door hatch, missallingment at dashboard, and some more faulty. but it's ok.. i have to admit it, because it is proton! what can u expect from this crap company?

• osh_kosh (Member) on Nov 30, 2006 at 4:51 pm

What?????

Missallingement here,missallingement there & they sell it at 40k plus…??? u must be kidding me… what's 'PROTON LULUS' for??? a joke from BOLEHLAND crap company… i'm not laughing

• honda_driver (Member) on Nov 30, 2006 at 4:55 pm

Heard that the savvy won supermini car of the year last night.

• shaif (Member) on Nov 30, 2006 at 4:55 pm

Hopefully proton will rectify the quality issue and make sure the car hit the market perfectly assembled. The workers could be sent for training or just replaced with better workers. Lazy workers fired, lazy boss send to icebox. Let him freeze to death. Stupid vendor, kick his ass. Just my 2 cent suggestion.

• Mb_321 (Member) on Nov 30, 2006 at 5:06 pm

more than agree wth Shaif..! nice constructive comments..! :-)

• khimfoh (Member) on Nov 30, 2006 at 5:20 pm

Personally, I like the new honeycomb front grill but the rear looks kinda bland and stale.

• kimikim (Member) on Nov 30, 2006 at 6:15 pm

Missallignment here & there were bcoz their QA is lousy. a matter fact is that we, the purchasers, MalaysiaN of bolehland are the true QA officers for their cars…. for FREE plak tu (yeah, free for P1 but we have to pay a hefty 40K above)

• assimo (Member) on Nov 30, 2006 at 7:06 pm

still cannot compare with 'ah beng' savvy one….hehehe

• assimo (Member) on Nov 30, 2006 at 7:22 pm

owh i notice about the colour, is it same as a A1 yellow version?…eww that black stripe really not match on it..Err..Mr Paul, why i cannot find the Umno Show car posting anymore?..

• osh_kosh (Member) on Nov 30, 2006 at 7:56 pm

yeah Paul… r u gonna post it back??? or just 'drop it'… enuff alredi :)

• faizulamin (Member) on Nov 30, 2006 at 7:59 pm

yup, savvy won the COTY2006 for super min category.

umno show car? could you not to write it name here assimo? it's disgusting! ;-)

by the way, when i first got my car, i check the door, (as somebody posting on how to fix gen2 door problems at paultan.org) and the same thing happen at savvy..

anyhow, still happy driving savvy and become a svoc member. haha..

• Hikaru (Member) on Nov 30, 2006 at 8:32 pm

Actually beside Paul telling me what's the difference, i can tell from my eyes. Savvy i really a step behind other supermini and is only selling because of its price. I am so tired criticising proton when the problems are the same old one at the higher level.

Anyway, congrad paul on your article ran on the newspaper a few days ago. If only i wished i remember what it was on (sorry, was in a hurry, didn't have time to read properly).

• osh_kosh (Member) on Nov 30, 2006 at 8:43 pm

owh???

make me wonder… what's the sale figure for savvy till now? 10k?? 20k?? just want 2 know :)

• osh_kosh (Member) on Nov 30, 2006 at 8:45 pm

yeah Hikaru..

u r absolutely rite dude…

• sazz (Member) on Nov 30, 2006 at 11:54 pm

nothing new…just a little bit at front n back….next year maybe come new model….gen 2 sedan n compact car but not so compact like savvy…maybe mitsubishi colt….just maybe….

• lowprofile (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 1:30 am

looks oklah. not ground breaking but wonder how the interior looks like.

• andylkw2004 (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 2:57 am

this is sucks man.. no need to modify facelift or anythings.. just change the whole model & redesign agian ..bad bad bad….

this face lift model cannot sell at all.. Proton will brankrupt soon.if not come out with good design car..

• raybrig85 (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 3:46 am

won supermini category???which source???and another candidate 4 supermini???

• peYno (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 3:58 am

no laa..savvy didn't win COTY

anyway I don't respect any award or title given by malaysian.

• Johny.Rico (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 4:38 am

To peYno:

Nothing against you man, really, but…

Heve you ever tried it? Words can't exlain my feelings(bad feelings).

I heve a scale: The worst: China's v. tehn Proton, then Dacia…ever heard about? I've tried Dacia…ufff…Can't breathe when I'm talking about it. And Proton…for your curiosity…I have heard about Proton from both of them. But!!!!This is my sub. opinion, ok?

• stevarac (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 7:14 am

Paul ,

I've notice the posters here like to jump the gun where Proton's car is concerned.Same thing happened for Satria neo spyshot case. The bloody facelift car is yet to be in the showroom and we have expert critics here bashing the car look,appearance and so forth. But I have my doubts how many of them have actually test driven it and how many have use it for a more than few hours.

On the other hand , there are some actual Savvy owners who are pleased with the car so far.

I bought one in March for my wife to send the kids to school ,market etc and I use it once a while for the sheer pleasure of stretching the AMT while it is still under guarantee. I can only say that it is a car with substance and fun factor. The stability at high speed is really great for a car of this size.

Sure , P1 sucks big time on many models and I have countless nightmare with my previous Protons but where credit is due , it must be given. It is only fair. Since my Iswara , wira and waja , Savvy has so far been truely great and believe me when I say it is FUN to drive especially the AMT model.

As for those who have not driven one yet , go borrow one or test drive one before you give your " expert " opinion that focus too much on the butt appearance but nothing on the substance.

Cheers !

• king (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 8:42 am

i agree with stev…the savvy amt is especially fun to drive. i don't own one but like to take the wheel when my fren fetches me in his savvy.

anyway…isn't all savvys inspected by TUV? shouldn't have excuse for misalignment here and there.

• jeanloo (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 8:43 am

If you have been following the journal of Paultan on savvy, you would know that the failure of Savvy to attract buyers is the ugly design of the butt and the low passenger head room. So the facelift is off course a natural path and nothing groundbreaking. To all the Savvy basher, I wonder have you ever drove one? I found the front of the Savvy is really attractive, and many Savvy owners are actually very pleased with their cars. I am disappointed with the facelift though, been really looking forward to it. Why can't they just make it plain like Paultan's post that many ppl dubbed the Ah Beng's Savvy, I found it really nice and pleasing to the eye. I really want to get a Savvy, but i guess I will get a Neo.

• Deodorant (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 9:58 am

As a first batch Savvy owner, I'd say the good and bad of the Savvy is:

Good: Handling. Fun to drive. Best high-speed stability and cornering for its' price range.

Bad: QC (as usual). Despite TUV, my car has/had quite a number of faults, which makes me wonder wtf TUV really did here.

Neither: Looks … I kinda like it, but then I also kinda don't. Looks are subjective anyway.

• Deodorant (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 10:01 am

Honestly, I don't really understand the "low passenger headroom." My head touches the roof in my friend's Vios back seat as well, but I've never read any complaints about it (probably cos it's not a Proton).

You want low passenger headroom? Go sit in the Satria Neo. I swear if you're above 5'8" you CANNOT fit in the back for any reasonable length of time (and if you're above 5'10" you'll barely fit in the front, too).

• powerhaus (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 3:33 pm

i really doubt Savvy can win anything lar….in fact i think i see more mini coopers on the road than Savvy…..the minister's wives should buy it as their shopping car…

• waimak (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 4:49 pm

Good to see that Savvy is going through facelift. I personally feel that Savvy needs a smother and cleaner 'nose job' and maybe a little bit more of 'meat' in the rear.

• owaief (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 7:09 pm

what's wrong with the waja front on the back of the savvy?? i actually like it…

• osh_kosh (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 10:00 pm

owaief,

it looks weird (for me loh)… like design ppl don't do their job.. but anyway like others said,looks are subjective…

test drive= no thanks.. :)

• faizulamin (Member) on Dec 02, 2006 at 1:16 am

hi.. savvy owner again..

you know what, when i drove my savvy behind my savoc friend's savvy, then i realize, what it looks like.. the 'waja-looking nose' is like an underwear! haha.. mybe i'm so tired and sleepy that night! that's why i become naughty!

savvy=good car! believe me! dont bash savvy, but proton, it's ok ta bash! hahhaha

• osh_kosh (Member) on Dec 02, 2006 at 1:52 am

funny.. when i type savvy its look like sawy..or sawi? haha more froggie than vegie..

• ilmondo (Member) on Dec 02, 2006 at 3:37 am

hmm.. i kinda like red savvy wit r3 kit. especially wit vw nose. golf, polo style. savvy users.. can i know its fuel consumption? service interval is evry 10000km?

• jeanloo (Member) on Dec 02, 2006 at 3:53 am

Savvy win a place in the Malaysian book of record for the lowest fuel cinsumption car in this country. Given the decent power (quite zippy for city drive) and the stability of the car at high speed, I think it's quite a record. Try doing 120 km/h with a stock Kancil on the highway and you will know what i mean.

• szw (Member) on Dec 02, 2006 at 4:55 am

savvy still better den myvi

• Driven2020 (Member) on Dec 02, 2006 at 6:37 am

the performance of savvy is definitely better than myvi.

http://www.vespa.com.my/savvy/

fullstop

• peYno (Member) on Dec 02, 2006 at 3:05 pm

powerhaus said,

December 1, 2006 @ 7:33 am

i really doubt Savvy can win anything lar….in fact i think i see more mini coopers on the road than Savvy…..the minister’s wives should buy it as their shopping car…

===========================================

if u think the no. of car on the road is an indicator showing that the car is good..then wira from proton was considered a good car as well

• oranglulu (Member) on Dec 04, 2006 at 7:58 am

recently…uncle driving around klang valley…notice lots of abundent tiara…in front of workshop…roadsides…flats parking lots….jungles edge…kampung compounds…really hope…years later…savvy don't suffer the same fate…..once bitten twice shy..many ex tiara owner words of mouth…

• gabanpolis (Member) on Dec 08, 2006 at 1:49 am

there will be a version with twin airbags and abs called the high line eventually

• al (Member) on Dec 08, 2006 at 5:40 am

hahaha…..another Proton prank,

what? a 2007 Savvy?

hey, it`s a racing curcuit la,

not for small engine car,

if it with nitrous,

can lah……

• kamal faNEOtic (Member) on Jan 19, 2007 at 8:02 pm

hey faizul, how dare u call proton a crap? damn! they're still young, give them a chance to improve.. well, we are almost the same age as proton.. just a bit older, can i call u a crap? they can improve & it's proven but nobody can be perfect.. proud to be Malaysian!