EON Dealers want EON-Edar merger

eon_logo.gifThe EON Dealers Association of Malaysia (EDAM) is supportive of a merger between EON and Proton Edar, as the current market situation has caused 80% of EON dealers to be unprofitable losing between RM15,000 to RM50,000 a month., with the remaining 20% seeing sales of 20 units or more a month.

There are now 400 Proton dealers in the country, comprising of both Proton Edar and EON outlets. An optimum number would be about 250 outlets after the two dealerships have been merged. EON previously closed down 10 sales branches and 4 service centers, as part of its rationalization exercise for greater efficiency.

EON closes down branches

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• protonGL (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 3:01 am

EON ?!

remember!! 13 inch alloy of 4 ,,,RM1500.

-forced buy accesories- DIRTY..

• andylkw2004 (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 3:01 am

i think proton can boost up sales but improved their service quality ..

they had the best service equipment but lowest work attitude there.

try to improved design & work efficiency,

proton fames is fading away.

• DAN (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 3:57 am

close down s down is better, Malaysian dont need it!

s long there have it only slow down our Malaysian economy, is like forcing us only to , to this car . there r doing like 3 years old children business, n better is for just a minority but not to all of there color type!. stupid! .

• offroader manix (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 4:21 am

Yeap……most agree.

Better closed shop………….waste of time after so many years.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 4:34 am

Expected, and this is just tips of the iceberg! Later VSS, MSS and finally ZZZzzzzz………….

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 5:57 am

Nahhh…rest assured that Proton will always survive. I'm pretty sure someone's gonna push the government to chip in some cash to save Proton's desperate arse. Then of course Proton will continue producing cars to make money, not because they're passionate about cars. After all, most of the average Malaysians are somehow "forced" to buy Proton & Perodua cars. I mean, not a lot of us can afford Japanese & Korean cars, let alone continental marques. It's a sad situation, but there's not much that we can do because we're relatively poor and helpless. And the top figures in Proton will continue to smile each time they see their pay-slips.

• Jay (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 6:59 am

AIYO CLOSE SHOP ONLY LAH ! NO NEED TO GIVE ANYMORE HEART ATTACK. USELESS PRODUCT YEARS AFTER YEARS. CUSTOMERS ARE ALREADY SWITCHING TO TOYOTA & HONDA. BETTER PAY A BIT MORE FOR PEACE OF MIND ! BYE BYE POTONG

• RM (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 7:13 am

Reminds me of a nursery ryhme which goes something like, "..Humpty Dumpty sat on the wall…Humpty Dumpty had a great fall…All the King's horses and all king's men couldn't put Humpty Dumpty back together again".

EDAM wants EON to merge with Proton Edar? That's wishful thinking. How long did it take for EON's status to be re-affirmed as a super dealer for Proton when Proton Edar emerged? I think its going to go right down to survival of the fittest and Proton is not likely to interfere cos' this way it will weed out the weak.

• Deodorant (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 9:54 am

I don't really see a need for Proton to improve their Sales.

I mean, how many people buy Protons because they [b]want[/b] to? I bought my Proton because (financially) I had no choice, and I don't think it would be unreasonable to assume a high %'age of Proton owners have the same motive in buying.

Therefore, they might as well just have like 2-3 Sales centres per city/town. I mean, the worst that can happen would be people saying "bah, proton sales shop is so far away, I guess I'll just take my RM50k and buy a … WAIT A MINUTE I CAN'T AFFORD ANYTHING ELSE."

• protonGL (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 10:07 am

buy 2nd HONDA ACCORD, way way batter than brand new proton.

• powerhaus (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 3:31 pm

if rafidah,KJ, Hishamuddin sammy vellu, ong kating, najib drive waja, gen2 & PV6, i will buy a proton. if it is not good enough for no brainers like them, what makes proton good for the rakyat?

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Dec 01, 2006 at 5:30 pm

Proton is killed by the former bunch of monkey management staff, lousy and inefficient, only think of sucking our money. They are not really doing their homework and don't care about the end users. They thought they are the best.

Look at the Korean, they are having the similar situation as us. They are very hardworking, dedicated and creative, now their cars is selling all over the world and some models are well received by the overseas market.

Proton is destined to doom unless they get a reputable partner such as PSA, VW etc soonest possible. Let's put aside those stupid 'no face' or 'Malaysia Boleh' mentality. Proton is really need help from other car manufacturers.

• mystvearn (Member) on Dec 02, 2006 at 4:11 am

EON still miss P1?

• DG (Member) on Dec 02, 2006 at 4:34 am

Ohh ya….EON the "Mini Meeeeeee" miss his papa and want to meet him soon…….ohhh papa I miss ya when you come back bayi sudah kenut lima puluh kali to his DOCTOR EVIL "PROTON EDAR" ! ohhh yaaa

• shaif (Member) on Dec 04, 2006 at 3:59 pm

Proton salesman should be trained to know inside out of the car. They can't sell the car if they themselves don't know anything about the car. Thats my impression when I ask them about airbag, ABS and other car's jargon, they turn blank…ayo you don't know your product yet wanna sell.

I believe with passion, knowledge and down to earth attitude Proton Edar or EON Salesman can sell a lot rather than thinking Malaysian customer don't have choice and need to buy car even if they talking crap.

• mukhtar on May 29, 2011 at 10:21 pm

MACAM SAYA NAK TAHU TEMPOH WARANTI KERETA SAYA NO DBH 7567