2007 Honda CR-V Crash Test

The new 2007 Honda CR-V received a 5-star crash test rating from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration across the board – which means frontal crash passenger, frontal crash driver, side crash passenger and side crash driver test results were excellent. Similar good results were obtained from the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS).

Two videos of the frontal and side crash tests as well as links to the results pages for the two institutes’ findings after the jump. The new 2007 Honda CR-V is expected to reach our local shores soon next year, so if safety for your family is your top priority and you’re looking for an SUV in that range, you might want to hold out for the new CR-V. While the CR-V tested by the two American institutes are the 2.4 litre version that will likely not make it to our market, crash test performance of the R20A engined model that we will probably get should be similar.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• fookeatmin1989 (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 8:34 am

very safety indeed..

• AmiR (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 9:20 am

GOOOOOOD…….

• e-nabilll (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 12:29 pm

so?? with that violent crash sideways…ur head wd be spining like a tomato in a mixer machine….probably ur neck n spine break into pieces…no human can take a crash like that….no matter wat airbags u put…its jus beyond a humans capacity…the state of shock u wil be after a crash like that is enough to probably paralize u for life….

• normal_user (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 4:25 pm

em makes me wonder how valid is the claim from US based NHTSA? Does its crash test standard/method match to the euroNCAP?

The Kia Carnival scored 5 in NHTSA, but did poor in Euro NCAP. So did its korean counterparts.

• kington (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 4:32 pm

True. The NHTSA tests are based on US standards which are, of course, easier to obtain high scores from the EURO NCAP.

Many are turning to the NHTSA to obtain high ratings but for the case of the CRV, i guess it should warrant at least, a 4 star rating, judging by the video here.

• labuan_world (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 6:25 pm

—use your safety belt all the time, dude…

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 7:23 pm

This new CR-V looks a bit more Korean, like the new BMW 3 … maybe they are hiring Korean designers now? Reminds me of the Ssangyong Stavic!

• ed0r (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 7:41 pm

eh the videos are too short or this computer i'm using is being funny with me? lol

that kind of frontal crash? yea it's good that the cabin and the body of this CRV still remain intact. But the whiplash (or whatever you call it) of the crash can be very unpredictable. Seat belts and airbags should help. Do we need HANS device here? Heheh

Drive safely everybody (borrowing F1 commentator's on ESPN, his favorite piece of advice).

• Paul Tan on Dec 07, 2006 at 8:07 pm

ed0r: guys, are u forgetting there are sensors on the dummy to measure things like whiplash and everything else you mentioned?

• ed0r (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 8:23 pm

yea Paul i agree with that too, but then again… aiyaah hard to explain le bout road accidents and those kinds of crashes. But in a way yeah those facts and figures help alot. True. Thanks to science :)

Later.

• offroader manix (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 11:44 pm

I don't know you guys or the m'sian take notice…..new CRV, stream and etc…..many people in the public unaware of the new cars coming.

Overseas, before a new car is due arrive….advertisement campaign seems like 3 mths before…down here STAR paper still advertising….HM 2006 CRV Night hawk edition…..I don't know they are stupid or they think M'sian are plain stupid.

Car manufacturers…..NOWADAYS THERE INTERNET ACCESS EVEN IN KAMPUNG AREA. BE RESPONSIBLE LAH.DON'T JUST CLEAR STOCK ONLY WITHOUT CONSIDERING CONSUMER SENTIMENT. OUR CITIZENS GOTTA PAY FOR 5 YRS LOAN….NEW CAR ARRIVE THE CURRENT MODEL LOSE SO MUCH VALUE.

• wmzhaffran (Member) on Dec 08, 2006 at 3:22 am

as hard as savvy :p

wow

• Mitsu (Member) on Dec 08, 2006 at 12:45 pm

@normal_user

That Kia Carnival is old model, pal.

Kia sedona is perfect safety minivan in the world.

• Mitsu (Member) on Dec 08, 2006 at 12:56 pm

@normal_user

That kia carnival is old version, pal.

2006 version kia sedona is saftest car.

In euro ncap honda cr-v is poor, too.

• apek (Member) on Dec 09, 2006 at 7:33 am

Whoever buys the CRV Blackhawk better know that the new CRV is already launched in Thailand. Common… pay RM145k for a old model? 10k extra? It should have been given free!

Check it out the new CRV at:
    http://www.honda.co.th/crv/

Nice. They have the 2.0L and 2.4L version. Price also attractive. Only B1.47 million or about RM150k. Nice… some more comes with 4 airbags!

• apek (Member) on Dec 09, 2006 at 8:02 am

The 2006 CRV Blackhawk is a real rip off. Charging RM145k for it? Common on…

New 2007 CRV is already launched in Thailand. Check it out in the Honda Thailand website. Very nice.

• dzat46 (Member) on Dec 12, 2006 at 10:35 pm

I'm disgusted wt honda….My 6 months old Honda City wiper motor had already broke down!…what kind of safety is this? None of the so called authorise service centre currently kept stock…teruk le honda malaysia QC…Proton is way much better!!

: (