Lexus M3 competitor to be called Lexus IS-F

lexusisf1.jpg

In order to compete with Mercedes’ AMG and BMW’s M divisions, Lexus has decided to develop a performance branding badge for it’s top of the line sports-oriented cars, and it’s decided to tag them with an “F” badge. Trademarks have been filed for the model name IS-F, as well as the F logo shown above.

Looks like some kind of shoe manufacturer logo to me, but anyway, while previously it was rumoured that the BMW M3-competitor Lexus IS-F (IS500) would be powered by a new 2UR-FSE 5.0 litre V8 based on the 1UR-FSE, it is also possible that there will be no new engine and the 4.6 litre V8 1UR-FSE would be used instead. The 1UR-FSE, a 4.6 litre DOHC V8 with Dual VVT-i and direct injection with a high 11.8:1 compression ratio makes 380hp at 6,400rpm and 498Nm of torque at 4,100rpm. The 1UR-FSE also comes with an 8-speed automatic transmission, that’s right – EIGHT ratios!

While Lexus is keeping mum on the issue for the moment, the new F-line of cars is expected to be announced at the Detroit Motor Show 2007. I can just see the advertisement taglines now – “You’ve been F-ed!”

Lexus IS500 Preview

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• raptorclans (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 12:31 am

hehehe… "you've just been f-ed" now that's sweet XD

• assimo (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 12:50 am

Toyota/Lexus still struggle to put their car on same level with that two giant (BMW & Merc). But they must come out something different from B&M, and that was a true challange for their designers. In middle sedan category, they can come out their own trademark, so why not in luxury also..no point if "its looks slightly like BMW….the line contour like Merc.."..I still remember when Honda/Accura come out the Legend/Vigor in 90's, its have same built quality with Bimmer or Merc that time, and the most important, its have strong Honda design.

• protonGL (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 1:09 am

agree with assimo, the 'bangle-ism wannabe' makes lexus inferior,

remember nissan, infinity Q45, in a style of its own, even todays nissan did in its own way i think,

• maxtek (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 1:23 am

You go Lexus! Beat them flat and show em' what the japs are capable of… Though one day I'm certain that there will be at least 154 ratios for a conventional sports car… XD But why the badge F? T least T or even W would be nice… Imagine IST or ISW…

• Paul Tan on Dec 07, 2006 at 1:58 am

maxtek: unlimited ratios are already available with CVT.

• renyeo (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 2:40 am

F for Finesse as in performance finesse.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 2:55 am

dynamically thy can neva compete with m3/rs4….i think this option is for those who r royal to the lexus brand…rather than draw customers who want a serious performace car…it wil neva be…beside..those germans have history n prestige in producing those type of single minded performace cars that no japanese manufacture have world wide…..how many hearts wil melt wen hearing lexus IS-F ?? compare to the xtreme diziness felt wen hearing anyting related to m3 or rs4 ?!!

no chance !

• king (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 4:38 am

why is everyone targetting BMW? can't they come out and define their own category of cars?

i agree with e-nabilll….my heaart skip a beat whenever i see or hear about an M3….but i got no response watsover to the souless lexus IS M3 wannabe challenger.

correct me if i am wrong….but as far as i know even F1 cars only have 7 ratios and that is optimum already. what is the point of having 8 or 9 or 10 ratios?

• e-nabilll (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 5:07 am

absolutly marketing…noting else…

• armandd (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 5:29 am

the logo looks plain..

• protonGL (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 5:50 am

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ExirpLn0iCc

'M' mode

• nizam80 (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 7:46 am

F = Flawless

• normal_user (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 4:23 pm

F for fuiyoo f***ing freakingly fast

• Deodorant (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 6:03 pm

"… those germans have history n prestige in producing those type of single minded performace cars that no japanese manufacture have world wide …"

Uh, mitsubishi's been making a sports sedan that is, dynamically, equal if not better than any of the german ones for years.

• topgunthang (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 10:08 pm

dont discount lexus yet lah. thier mid spec'ed (or baseline…im not sure) IS250 with all the gizmos trumps the bmw 3 series considering the same money only gets you a 1.8 litre base version of the bmw with nothing in it. you need to add about 20k-30k aud to achieve the same performance and comfort level of the lexus. you could buy an extra accord euro or a liberty with that type of money.

up the ladder the 3 series beats the lexus no doubt. buts its important what u get with your limited money to spend on cars. reliability is a plus on the lexus side. on the looks side i'd pick the lexus anytime everytime i get driven past by one.

prestige is achieved with time. you've got to start somewhere. of course it wont beat the M3. lets just hope it comes close.

my heart doesnt skip a beat when i see an M3. it does skip a beat when an f430 or a 911 or even a f360 screams by. and quite alot more when i see a pretty girl.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Dec 08, 2006 at 1:26 am

agree wit e-nabil and topgunthang…

let s hoping this chic comes close to m3…btw…btwn m3,c amg,rs4 and this chic…i'll choose rs4…more fun n sexy…