New 2007 Mitsubishi Lancer specs and photos

newlancer1.jpg

[UPDATE: Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia has launched the new Lancer. Click here for more details on the fully imported Lancer 2.0 GT that’s available in Mitsubishi showrooms now.]

Mitsubishi Motors has released details on it’s new 2007 Mitsubishi Lancer, set to make it’s global public premiere at the 2007 North American International Auto Show (the Detroit Motor Show) at the Cobo Center in Detroit.

The new Mitsubishi Lancer is based on Mitsubishi’s new GS Platform, which is also the underpinings for a few other models like the latest Mitsubishi Outlander as well as the Dodge Caliber, Jeep Compass and others. The new Lancer is larger than the current model, with an overall length of 4570 mm (35 mm longer), overall width of 1760 mm (65 mm wider), overall height of 1490 mm (60 mm taller) and wheelbase of 2635 mm (35 mm longer).

The engine for the American market version will be from a new family of engines by Global Engine Manufacturing Alliance, a joint venture between Mitsubishi, DaimlerChrysler and Hyundai. The new 4B11 engine, also used in the new Dodge Caliber, is a 2.0 litre DOHC 16 valve engine with MIVEC variable valve timing, making 152hp, mated to a 5-speed manual transmission. There is also an optional CVT transmission with a 6-speed virtual gear mode called Sportronic(R). Cogs can be swapped via magnesium paddle shifters on the steering wheel.

The European version will come with 5 engine options, including a 140hp 2.0 litre common rail turbodiesel from Volkswagen AG. The performance Evo version is not out yet, but it’s expected to be powered by a 4B11T 2.0 litre MIVEC Turbo making over 300 horses equipped with a dual-clutch gearbox. Dodge used a different approach with it’s Caliber SRT-4, turbocharging the 4B12 2.4 litre instead. Rumours are that the Lancer Ralliart is also expected to come with a turbocharged engine, detuned to position it between the 2.0 MIVEC and the Evo’s 2.0 MIVEC Turbo, or it might just use the 172hp 2.4 litre 4B12, up from the current Ralliart’s 2.4 litre 4G69 SOHC making 160hp.

More photos after the jump.

newlancer2.jpg

newlancer3.jpg

newlancer4.jpg

newlancer5.jpg

newlancer6.jpg

newlancer7.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• nazuaf (Member) on Dec 12, 2006 at 4:51 am

Nice car.

• bpkid (Member) on Dec 12, 2006 at 4:56 am

lovely looking car. but the rear lights looks mazda-ish.

• BobMarley (Member) on Dec 12, 2006 at 4:57 am

I think I like the old Evo look better. This looks a little too suttle… kinda looks like a mazda 6. But im glad the cheaper ralli art comes with turbo now! Any idea on how much $$$?

• BobMarley (Member) on Dec 12, 2006 at 5:11 am

… and the base model really looks like a chevy cobalt = ugly

• Bbingbong (Member) on Dec 12, 2006 at 5:21 am

wow,amazing,marvellous!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!slurppppppppp

• Bbingbong (Member) on Dec 12, 2006 at 5:22 am

huhu the front grill look like volvo-ish..huhuhu but nice

• claxxion (Member) on Dec 12, 2006 at 5:28 am

It looks good even when its stock, cant imagine the evo version.. the rear lights looks similar to alfa 156..

• MyBoy (Member) on Dec 12, 2006 at 5:56 am

For those who thinks the new Mitsubishi Lancer is too soft. Wait until you see the Evo version. For your information, the red one is not an Evo version.

• Din (Member) on Dec 12, 2006 at 6:25 am

For the longest time, I told myself if I ever have to buy an good sedan car, I would buy a Toyota Corolla.

If the above (maroon spec) New Lancer were to be available in Malaysia, I would surely go for it. Plus, within the next 2 years, I will be in the market for a good sedan. :)

• iosis (Member) on Dec 12, 2006 at 6:25 am

looks like the front design is taken off from a nissan skyline gtr and the rear from a alfa romeo 156 as said by claxxion. i'm a huge fan of the evo but this lancer doesnt look appealing to me. lacks of originality. somehow this design is too americanish rather than japanese. anyhow that's just my opinion.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Dec 12, 2006 at 6:51 am

looks like a typical cheap korean design ..looks are taken from many cars…looks too 'stiff'…no subtlty…dont like it…

• DtG (Member) on Dec 12, 2006 at 7:18 am

The rear end is practically destroyed in terms of looks by the oddly angled rear lamps… different indeed but just plain ugly. the rest of the car looks ok… definitely better than the present lancers which are quite soft… but that rear end, man is it ugly..

• DarkL1ghT (Member) on Dec 12, 2006 at 7:25 am

well, all i can say is *droool*. it has such great potential to be a killer EVO! if u guys think that this is kinda tame can u honestly say that past lancers are not? dont compare the lancer to its evo versions la. lancer to lancer n evo to evo n i can say that i cant wait for EVO X!

• Grey_Fox (Member) on Dec 12, 2006 at 8:00 am

Fuhyo..can't wait for EVO X.

• Mayonaise (Member) on Dec 12, 2006 at 8:28 am

I'm a tad disappointed with the design. The rear looks so similar to the Alfa 156.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Dec 12, 2006 at 8:30 am

The rear light doesn't look nice at all!

• eric (Member) on Dec 12, 2006 at 9:09 am

it's the rear lights that spoil it for me too.. =(

sigh.. sticking with the evo 9 then. :P

• offroader manix (Member) on Dec 12, 2006 at 9:19 am

making 152hp, mated to a 5-speed manual transmission. There is also an optional CVT transmission with a 6-speed virtual gear mode called Sportronic(R).

Power looks good…………….Civic only 5 speed…..

• Paul Tan on Dec 12, 2006 at 9:23 am

technically cvt = unlimited speeds.

• infinity (Member) on Dec 12, 2006 at 9:28 am

paul, what bout interior shots?

• Paul Tan on Dec 12, 2006 at 9:36 am

no interior shots, probablyhave to wait until detroit.

• MyBoy (Member) on Dec 12, 2006 at 9:36 am

Paul,

Technically, CVT = Unlimited ratio

• protonGL (Member) on Dec 12, 2006 at 9:41 am

rear number plate mount on the bumper spoilt the bumper shape,

its 2006 towards 2007, cant they think of a well design ,number plate mount as part of design as a whole,

seemed like part of the bumper is chunked off because they just realised that a car need reg. number, camon la nearly 2007 now..

• Paul Tan on Dec 12, 2006 at 9:52 am

speed, ratio, same lah what i meant.

• MyBoy (Member) on Dec 12, 2006 at 10:02 am

Paul,

Sorry sifoo Paul, i thought you mean other thing. My mistake.

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Dec 12, 2006 at 12:21 pm

Damn boring la the design. I'll wait for the motorsport version

• KL-ATR (Member) on Dec 12, 2006 at 3:20 pm

Actually, the front design is quite similar with the previous Galant. I think it's a nice progress. The rear sure looks like a 156, especially the unit with the wing. This should be a nicely sized sedan, with the huge increase in width and length. I hope that doesn't flab up the Evo.

• normal_user (Member) on Dec 12, 2006 at 4:22 pm

The rear lights are placed a bit too high, makes it look out of place. If they can lower it a bit in their design, i bet it will look good just as the mazdas and alfas.

No problem of having rear lights like that, because nothing is perfectly original when we look at all design nowadays, even from top car makers.

• h2k (Member) on Dec 12, 2006 at 4:49 pm

Geez, the car look so…..Americanized…..old 1 is definitely looks better

• waimak (Member) on Dec 12, 2006 at 5:36 pm

Mitsu is very quick – good. We're all been told on the concept through the media not so long ago, plus its big hoo-ha in all auto mags and the next thing we know is this model, ready to rumble. Big hand to Mitsu!!

• narrowband (Member) on Dec 12, 2006 at 5:58 pm

Rear reminds me of Alfa Romeo.

Anyway, let's wait for the Evolution to be released.

This car looks too tame.

• whodz (Member) on Dec 12, 2006 at 6:09 pm

Grey_Fox,

I've seen EVO XI(well, it says EVO XI), is it true it is EVO XI or it is just an extreme modification of EVO X?

• weiling (Member) on Dec 12, 2006 at 6:18 pm

look very ALFAs…….at the back…front….too sisy to be a sport car……need more aggresive looklah……

• transformer (Member) on Dec 12, 2006 at 6:19 pm

i like the front, seems a little bit "shark-y"

(a tamer and softer version of Gallant VR4 perhaps)

from the side(rear to front), i see something like a Volvo S40 but still fine…

its an Alfa butt incorporates Mazda 3 light at the rear

(its totally out of this world!!!)

the engine bay look very full already……

• waimak (Member) on Dec 12, 2006 at 7:06 pm

I like the front look but the rear is towards Hyundai for me..

• avanza (Member) on Dec 12, 2006 at 7:22 pm

The previous Lancer and Lancer Evo were actually quite different cars. The dimensions were totally diferent. The Lancer was tame in looks while the Evo was fierce.

But this new Lancer looks fierce to begin with. Wonder how much more fierce will the new Lancer Evo get? Hope they wont just plonk in a 2liter turbo and 4wd.

• mnadzli70 (Member) on Dec 12, 2006 at 9:36 pm

Look ok but how about the price Paul? If proton can improve waja like this what a dream………….

• aesthari (Member) on Dec 12, 2006 at 10:48 pm

The front looks like a cross between a Volvo S60 and a Skyline, the rear, an Alfa 156 and Mazda 3; the whole car doesn't look japanese. It doesn't even look Lancer-ish anymore, but what the heck, it's so darn sexy! This is one sedan that looks at home at the track, the office, even ferrying kids to school! Can't wait for the EVO version, see how they inject more brute into the car! OMG i must stop drooling already hehe "p

• mitlanevo (Member) on Dec 13, 2006 at 12:13 am

OH NO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

OH GOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

DISASTER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The new Lancer basic version is not nice at all, looks ugly compared to the Concept-X !!!!!!!!

Really hope that the Evo version will look better than this, at least exactly the same as the previous Concept-X, or else I'll just stick with the current Evo IX with 4G63……

• cbljkkj (Member) on Dec 13, 2006 at 12:26 am

Does anybody here feel that the width of this Lancer has been squashed to the dimensions of a Toyota Vios? I think it looks ridiculous from every angle. Its one of those cars that even their mothers couldn't love.

Although Mitsubishi had to comply with the minimum height of the front fascia for pedestrian safety regulations, I'm pretty sure they could have come up with a better design than that.

That rear wing is just atrocious and looks like it came from a Celica. Those tail lamps well, reminiscent of the Alfa 156? I think alot of people would agree.

• protonGL (Member) on Dec 13, 2006 at 12:32 am

enlarged version of ferrari enzo nose,

• albagmane (Member) on Dec 13, 2006 at 2:13 am

hmmm… i think it looks ok from every angle… looks even nicer with skirt… maybe coz its lancer lar… got lots of respect towards lancers, especially evo… really wish to see an evo 10 very soon, got high expectation towards the car… sure its mind-blowing! btw, dono the new evo 10 will have foglights??? since the previous 7,8,9 do not offer any foglights… when malaysia will get to have the new lancer???

• wmzhaffran (Member) on Dec 13, 2006 at 3:24 am

volvo (front) + mazda (rear) = new lancer

good job :p

• J (Member) on Dec 13, 2006 at 3:27 am

Nice enough for me though….

but if they have a 2.0 non-turbo with 6-speed manual gearbox … wooo… I want one !

• albert_gwm (Member) on Dec 13, 2006 at 5:20 am

Not interesting like previous model…

Front alook like volvo s40 and rear alook like mazda-3

• indigo (Member) on Dec 13, 2006 at 5:22 am

1 word, ugly

• dawgHause (Member) on Dec 13, 2006 at 9:55 am

they had so much promise with the concept X and the following concept car that was born from it.

this is just soooo boring, so mitsubishi designing. What happened? Honda could make their imaginative Honda Civic from concept straight into reality without much changes, why can't Mitsubishi do the same?

• raybrig85 (Member) on Dec 13, 2006 at 11:24 am

dis is a standard version ma…not d evo one…4 sure la looks not hotter than d evo version..but still ok than d previous lancers which looks really ugly and stupid…4 me…i still can accept d dsg..but didnt hv feeling to buy one…cant wait d evo version…sure really hot dat one..

• albagmane (Member) on Dec 13, 2006 at 5:47 pm

strongly agreed! cars wont look interesting when its on stock version… need some tuned up so tat it looks stunning… i oso cant wait to see a ralliart tuned version of evo too! i was so stunned when the evo9 ralliart was introduced last time… looks so much more amazing than i expected with tat red car and some square decals!

• chuamike (Member) on Dec 13, 2006 at 8:00 pm

Lovely. Looks like a tamer version of Evolution X.

• pycazu (Member) on Dec 13, 2006 at 8:51 pm

The front look weird, kinda of disguise from Volvo + Evo but seem ugly to me.

• raptorclans (Member) on Dec 14, 2006 at 1:45 pm

beautiful car… looks really good… even with gt-r front and alfa rear…

• Bbingbong (Member) on Dec 14, 2006 at 6:36 pm

geez this new lancer got so many copy arr..this lancer got 4 tire and they copy from beemer arr…kekekekeke

• mynnDAWG (Member) on Dec 14, 2006 at 7:49 pm

dont have dat Lancer/Evo feeling la…its like viewing a conti car instead…Alfa anyone???

• Joe v2.0 (Member) on Dec 14, 2006 at 8:16 pm

hmm.. not as a shocky as i expected. really some boring element is there.. especially the rear. it has an ugly butt.. something tak kena.. and with this size, if this car is going to the rally, personally, i doubt that they can win the wrc.. but well just have to wait until the car really comes out to the street though..

• yasith (Member) on Dec 14, 2006 at 9:27 pm

This is the best looking one i saw after the evo 6. Stunning. sporty looks all around. Suits the lancers sporty image.

• Leo (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 9:45 pm

The back look like alfa lar.

• rodimus (Member) on Jan 07, 2007 at 8:42 am

Great designed!!! I love this babe!! Better then what so call WAJA or GEN 2 hee hee. For them they will never learn this kinda design?! Mits design rule!!!

• rodimus (Member) on Jan 07, 2007 at 8:47 am

I love this designed dude!! This is what i call a well desined car n the Proton never gonna make it. Cool!! Mits rock!!!!

• rodimus (Member) on Jan 07, 2007 at 9:06 am

Proton will never learn!! They just know to copy from other car manufacturer, after more then 20 over year in market still can even design a good n quality cars. But what to do Malaysia ma…….

• irv126gtc (Member) on Jan 16, 2007 at 10:12 pm

ok for those sayin da tail lights r odd n all dat, they are goin to change by the time the production ones ocme out, and yes,albagmane they will have foglights

• gooseman (Member) on Jan 22, 2007 at 6:19 pm

simply don't look like a lancer….

still prefer the tradisional lancer look…

• keiichi_col (Member) on Jul 12, 2007 at 5:46 pm

I have checked out the mitsubishi showroom at section 19, PJ. There are 2 specs i.e. 2.0 GLS (normal spec) and 2.0 GT (full spec) at estimated RM 112k and RM120k respectively. Not bad huh…really into consideration.

• hugago (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 11:38 am

Looks like the Japanese people are out of idea…….
    Now i lost all my repect to Mitsubishi……

• vinelrit (Member) on Feb 13, 2008 at 10:15 am

its not that sporty as other’s Mitsubishi models………….

• alfi (Member) on Oct 13, 2008 at 4:36 pm

hi Paul,

Hav u got reviews for the one earlier version then this lancer?

• hussein ali on Apr 14, 2009 at 4:18 pm

i want good photo for my mitsubishi lancer 2007