New toll rates effective 1st Jan 2007

imageUPDATE #2: Read this post for a nice analysis.

The government has announced the new rates for five highways, ending our anticipation ever since the announcement back in late November this year. The list below shows 7 new toll rates, as some of the highways have more than one toll points.

Cost of living is going up, and this is our new year’s gift I suppose, hopefully this is the only new year’s gift we’ll get – another rumoured one is a petrol price hike of which RON97 grade petrol is expected to hit the psychological limit of more than RM2 per litre. RON97 petrol is currently priced at RM1.92 per litre.

LDP – RM1.60 (previously RM1)
KESAS – RM2.20 (previously RM1.50)
Cheras-Kajang, Batu 9 – RM 1 (previously 70 sen)
Cheras-Kajang, Batu 11, 90 sen (previously 60 sen )
KL-Karak-Gombak – RM5
KL-Karak-Bentong – RM3 (previously RM2.50)
Guthrie Corridor – RM1.40 (previously RM1)

UPDATE: Brace yourselves, for the toll rates for the following highways will come under “review” for 2008, and you know what are the results of reviews, always a hike!

North South Highway (Plus)
Ampang-Kuala Lumpur Elevated Highway
North South Expressway Central Link (Elite)
Seremban-Port Dickson Highway
New North Klang Straits Bypass (Shahpadu)
Malaysia-Singapore Second Link
Butterworth-Kulim Expressway
Penang Bridge.

Tolls to go up
Toll hike amount yet to be determined

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mystvearn (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 3:39 am

it had to happen…

• economist (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 3:53 am

wonderful………we can send ppl to space to make teh tarik n spin gasing…but innocent working class ppl end up wif toll hike…something to ponder on

• e-nabilll (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 5:08 am

pathetic…..we pay road tax already….so theoratically we have no right to pay any toll in the first place…wats hapening here??

its really depressing…dont tell me those who build those highways are not getting their worth..with the HUGE amount of cars pass their cursed tolls every single day….

we cant really do much sadly..jus have to swallow it n put on a happy face…

• afroiq (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 5:10 am

what the ****…the ldp increase 60cent..i always use ldp to go to pj..as i am from putrajaya..now i must pay rm3.20..huhu..for the jamm..jamm..jammmmmmmmmm…foook u g..

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 5:15 am

Hey Paul, out of topic. Just asdk why on top of your Proton advert, the …….. DREAMT OF ……… shall be spell as DREAM!

• volvolover (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 5:16 am

I think this increase in toll will be a gift to the car industry in Malaysia. Lesser people will buy car to save money. Some savings from not buying a car will go to the toll.

• i'm run (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 5:17 am

Well, at least we have the cheapest toll in the world. So, we can't say that our government is a blood sucking. :)

• volvolover (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 5:19 am

This is a toll in US

http://www.state.nj.us/turnpike/Class1Cars2006.ht…

1 mile = 1.6 KM

If you use the exchange rate, it's still cheaper than Malaysia, and whatmore they earn their money in USA and spend in USA.

Labor costs, material costs to make the road are USA costs. COsts of Labour, tar and material in Malaysia is cheaper and we also use Indonesia as labour plus the USA toll, the toll company must have built the road. See how much we get shortchanged!!

• volvolover (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 5:20 am

And they got different prices for offpeak too. I based my previous price for peak. If you pay cash, the price is same regardless peak or non peak. If you use their highway card, price for peak and non peak is much cheaper.There is somebody and you know who :-) says our toll is one of the cheapest in the world. Yeah right!! Those without internet would believe that!! Sorry mate, I now got internet to find out!!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 5:22 am

All UK highway tol free!

• volvolover (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 5:26 am

Joe Ooi, look at this,

http://www.motortrader.com.my/asp/forum/topic.asp…

• volvolover (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 5:44 am

Joe Ooi said,

December 14, 2006 @ 9:15 pm

Hey Paul, out of topic. Just asdk why on top of your Proton advert, the …….. DREAMT OF ……… shall be spell as DREAM!

Speaking of dreams, my dream is too see proton bankcrupt.

• nuggyn (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 5:57 am

Thank you Pak Lah and the malaysian government for making our lives pathetic and miserable.

Thank you!!!!

• Jay (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 6:44 am

Goverment is killing us in an amicable way. More people to get stress. Bullshit toll hike for LDP & Kesas especially ! Ridiculous. The rich morons are definitely okay with it, what about the middle & low class going to do ? Enough of voting …… strikelah ! Actually i don't see us heading in the direction of 2020…Soon alot of them are going to strive 10* harder to even get a job. Are we all going to be like Indonesia in the next 5 – 10 years. I have given up hope on our goverment long time !

• cbljkkj (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 7:00 am

My 2007 New Years resolution is for toll and petrol to be cheaper….Wait a minute that didn't turn out right.

• MyBoy (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 7:36 am

volvolover,

I second your points.

• SamGan (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 7:48 am

There'll be roll on increases in the price of goods due to additional cost of transportation. More suffering for the rakyat.

• MyBoy (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 7:51 am

SamGan,

What do you think we should do on 2008/9? Any advice anyone?

• MyBoy (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 7:59 am

Eat grass? Anyone?

• e-nabilll (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 8:12 am

wen costs are passed to consumers…items will be more expensive that the rate rise of the toll….greediness seeks even more greediness…atleast if our salaries and incomes are raised as well… it wil be more equal…..how about raise sting n reduce othr tings to compensate…?

i really cant believe this….no words to describe….we consumers are bottom of the list thy care about…n dont believe all that bullcrap that its stil the cheapest toll in the world n all that…if we care n do a good research..the result wil be otherwise..bt no point wasting time…deaf ears all around…

this is so unfair…yess we stil live alot beter than othr ppl in othr countries..n we should be thankful in a way….bt that doesn not justify to squeeze us to the max…

• familyman (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 8:17 am

playing futsal in Sunway is gonna be damn expensive now… Damn u G, Damn Damn Damn Damn!

• mits27 (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 8:18 am

Thank you, Pak lah, another BS 2007 year…

BN = Barang naik!!!

• kvinlim (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 8:29 am

We had enought!!!! Make the right choice during election. We have superly under qualify G, tht uses their ass to make deals; policy; etc. Forget 2020, we will soon be the sick man of Asean under all this bull shit G.!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• king (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 8:51 am

stupid G……crazy kesas 2.20 x 2 = 4.40 just to get to subang from MRR2…damn LDP tol already no point paying coz its jammed all the time. you call that a highway? somemore can increase to $1.60? …better increase it to $16.00 then no one will use LDP …..can solve the traffic jam one shot.

just wait for the next election n see…..guys i hope you should know what to do.

• offroader manix (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 9:04 am

wah lan………increase by so much……this is bad..man for the rakyat……the spending power going down too…….

I am sure they will give everyone a surprise and annouce a drop in car prices soon….2nd hand car dealer looks koyak again…..property also koyak…..raw materials going up……more individual and companies bankruptcies…….SPENDING POWER GOING DOWN……..LOOKS LIKE ATOUGH YEAR IN 2007

• king (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 9:18 am

BN = buaya national

• cutelittlekelisa (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 2:52 pm

ok… skip puchong toll from cyberjaya you can use puncak jalil/seri kembangan road…. this one practical…

skip sunway toll use federal highway.. thats very far away anyway.. this one not practical…. haha

i got one map to skip puchong toll http://www.hugolim.com/?p=19

• ed0r (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 4:08 pm

Joe Ooi said,

December 14, 2006 @ 9:15 pm

Joe Ooi prolly Paul been busy calculating how much toll he has to pay everyday hehe j/k. Ok the advert says "that you HAVE always DREAMT of!". HAVE and DREAMT = past participle and that irregular verb.

Ok back to the topic: This news is very frustrating. I felt like kicking the TV last night lol! I bet it hurts us so badly. Last time this one person said in this blog that the people evaluating and signing the concession agreements should be really careful and concerned about the effects of such agreements to us the rakyat as we will either suffer or benefit from them @ agreements.

Works Minister (should I type his name? lol) said: "the government still has to pay RM75mil. in 2007 and RM75mil. in 2008, that's RM150mil. in total to the concessionaires… bla bla still low compared to the ASEAN countries bla bla…" STFU! As if we don't know how to calculate that simple figures!

Oh does it mean that we will have to pay more in 2009?

• TheGunner (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 4:12 pm

Whenever Samy Vellu opens his mouth, we are all in trouble.

• linuzri (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 4:18 pm

wtf!

• kl55 (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 5:08 pm

can anyone tell what G have done any good thing to us for this few year~

where is the F*** election. . i wanna vote NOW~~~~

GRH~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

• motorhead (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 5:25 pm

stupid sport complex project = on, send jackass to space = on, subsidy on tolls = off

kesas RM2.20??.. how many r them on LPD?? X 2, 3??… mampus la the gov!!! the recent gov is worse!!! I don't want to see poklah in the next election!!!

• concerned motorist (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 5:31 pm

This is bad…. this year is the the year where everything goes up except our earning power and freedom of speech.

The Gov is really pulling one over our eyes… sure, our toll rates are cheaper than other countries… but we have more toll booths than any other country. Go figure. Comes to the same or more…. also.. other countries have better public transport, cheaper vehicle tax and better roads….

Dont forget that the Govt is only stablising the pertol prices till the end of the year…. there may be petrol increases next year.

• michly (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 5:43 pm

WTF.. Sami must be crazy. i use LDP Everyday .. goshhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

• e-nabilll (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 5:44 pm

u guys all talk abt the election…bt any idea wat vote r u giving?wat is the alternative?the neva tried and never tested formula?

any party out thr which is a viable alternative? i dont tink so…change is fine..bt not for the sake of change…bt for the beter…i dont see the 'beter' out thr…thy all talk only…

• renyeo (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 5:44 pm

That makes it more expensive to drive from Singapore to KL. Is AirAsia cheaper?

• avanza (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 5:58 pm

This last two years have seen so many essential items gone up! Inflation rate will go up and economy will go down. Sigh ……

• KL-ATR (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 6:13 pm

Ahh… his famous "We are still the cheapest in the region" but never in reference to our BELOW PAR salary. I will never ever forget his most famous statement in reply to toll rate protests… "Why not ask for 2sen toll?".

• ceteh (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 6:22 pm

Isn't the price for RON97 is RM1.92? Not RM1.95 Paul.

I have fed up keep hearing that our toll rate in Malaysia is the cheapest …. This is so lame … not an excuse for toll rate increase …all other factor has to be factored in la like living costs, wages etc ….

I also heard that from next year onwards the government won't intervine in the toll rate hike???? SO that means no more subsidize from next year onwards??? .. gosh …

• stewpid (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 6:34 pm

and then again pass the 'beban' to the consumer

toll price hike -> transport fees hike -> harga barang naik loh!

petrol price in m'sia will not go cheaper even the world oil price is goin down. we must remember those oil company got contract per year(s) basis. they always estimate the world oil price will always rise.. and the end we as a consumer rugi but those oil companies will make huge profits.

and the last issue that i still angry a lot,

use old road -> no pay tolls ->slow moving and lots'a traffic -> traffic jam

we use highway ->pay summore -> still stuck in traffic jams?

• raverus (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 6:46 pm

Ah u guys…..vote…vote lah, vote blindly and the price will raise again………..damn u ppl deserve this.

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 7:03 pm

Thank you BN. Sometimes I wonder, it is good we gain independence from the British..? Our beloved country has been ruined by a bunch of Monkeys..

Look at our neighbour Singapore and Hong Kong, what they are now after gaining independence from the UK? They are much better developed than us.. and our G still staying this cheaper, that cheaper bla bla… ALL BULLSHIT. I thk our G really don't listen to the Public voices. They just do what they think 'RIGHT'. Building the tallest building, sport complex in UK, sending someone to make roti canai in space, protecting 'OUR PRIDE' national car etc..

• chris_the_germ (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 7:47 pm

At Joe Ooi

You said: DREAMT OF ……… shall be spell as DREAM!

DREAMT OF is gramatically correct

and your own wording "shall be spell as" is gramatically wrong, too.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 8:29 pm

chris_the_germ, noted your comment. Thanks for your correction.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 8:31 pm

It seem that G think of all ways possible to suck rakyat every RM they can!

• motorhead (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 8:33 pm

e-nabil,

Why u r so naive??.. we all know opposition can't win the election, but at least more of them will be in parlimen, so they can bash the gov. for our sake!!.. can u dig that???

ATTN: POKLAH, SAMY & GOV.

NO MORE HIGHWAYS!! NO THANKS. OLD ROAD ARE FINE TO ME!! WE ARE TIRED FEEDING UR CRONIES. CAN'T AFFORD TO KEEP PAYING INCREASING TOLLS!!! JUST MAINTAIN THE OLD ROAD, THEY ARE STILL RELEVAN!!

• e-nabilll (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 8:49 pm

thyve been making so much noise in parliment specially this yr…any decent results?? bashing anybody can do..bashing wont change a single ting..all we seek is actions…not bashing…

• pirate (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 8:51 pm

This is what irks me most…of course the toll increase quantum (especially LDP) is just as acrid!

All the english dailies today playing down the impact and JUSTIFYING these toll rates increase! More irritating is the NST Q&A session with Mr. Semi Value himself. Sounded very fishy…like a bloody press release from the Works Ministry. Wondered who interviewed him?

Also, where are the public response and comments to such announcements?

Paul,

Good report and coverage of this toll hike issue…BRAVO!

Keep up the good work!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 8:53 pm

BN – Barang Naik

BN – Brainless & Non-brainer

BN – Bodoh & Naive

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 8:56 pm

So, how true is main stream media in reporting news? Or how balance they are when they just write from one side and cover up the nay sayer. At least Paul Tan here, we can see the response of rakyat biasa, not only cakap2 VVIP sahaja.

• Hikaru (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 8:59 pm

Sigh. Honestly there is a current beneath the calm waters on this issue. This is a not a crowd pleaser action by the govt. they better justify why are we, after paying taxes to the govt, still have to carry the burden of the price of constructing these highway and now carry an even heavier burden. A big percentage of us are not high income earner and we have to carry a bigger burden now beside the usual, house, car, family burden.

Congestion is likely to remain unsolved, woes of the citizens remains and increases. The papers report that because there is a shortage of user going through the tolls, therefore the govt have to compensate teh concessionaire for the short fall, wouldn't increasing the price decrease demand? Simple economics. That's why the govt's explanation is hardly acceptable. Decrease it by 0.50 cent see how many more ppl use it and the income generated?

• osh_kosh (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 9:58 pm

yeah… way to go :)

i'm speechless… really love Pak Lah & his lovely crews

we'll always behind you… cayalah.. malaysia boleh.. go go power Lahgers

what all this crap about ''beban kepada rakyat"??? there r no such things… we all rich ppl ma.. (at least that what the gov think).. cheer up, our toll still the cheapest ma… hahaha what a joke… Fuc* this G!!!!

• soporific (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 10:05 pm

Hey Joe, out of topic. Just to say that on your comment to correct Paul/Proton, you should've have used the phrase, "should be spelled as DREAM" except that it makes no difference anyway, because DREAMT is correct and DREAM is wrong. maybe you ought to call your friends at Oxford about this.

• motorhead (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 10:13 pm

e-nabil,

if u feel bashing is not important, that's up to u.. if u want to keep quiet like katak bwh tempurung or corpse, oso up to u.. so u can start keep ur mouth shut oso.. ok??

opposition no need to win 100%.. but if they manage to win 40% (or more) of peninsular parlimen seats. I gurantee u, the BN gov. will affected so bad. It may change leadership as well… sure byk ministers have to go. We can kick out Samy as well.

• faizulamin (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 10:33 pm

aiyo.. a bit funny coz in the middle of hot discussion on toll price, there are some post on english lesson. haha.. it's okey.. just gave the scent.. =)

government is really sux.. waaaaaa… don't wanna live at malaysia anymore with this government…. please guy, eliminate all this moron.

• transformer (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 11:58 pm

Terima Kasih "Banyak Naik" !!!

saya sudah tak tahan "Banyak Naik",

nak balik kampung…. ( balik Siber-tron )

when vote time, i'll be back!

• motorhead (Member) on Dec 16, 2006 at 12:07 am

IF… just if the opposition can win at Kepala Batas.. it will be a biggest hit to BN…, the senario will change for good!! This move hurts the people.. by keeping hurt us they r digging their own grave…. it happened before to BN ministers (Megat Junid & Mohd. Rahmat).. it is possible to happen again….

• darkwizard (Member) on Dec 16, 2006 at 12:26 am

It seems like we will need to be pay higher and income tax abolished for those earning RM3K and below.

Other options would be (Time to change the Government in the Next Election) Give them the big hit to wake them up.

• Jeffrey1977 (Member) on Dec 16, 2006 at 1:22 am

Any suggestion on who to vote next election????

Since everybody so hot about the current G.

• Jeffrey1977 (Member) on Dec 16, 2006 at 1:33 am

Haiya, only complaint. Nasi sudah jadi bubur.

I think everybody sould talk less liau. If not, ISA come knocking at your door.

• stanleyshyeoh (Member) on Dec 16, 2006 at 1:36 am

Who to vote next election? Anything BUT BN!

e-nabilll said,

" thyve been making so much noise in parliment specially this yr…any decent results?? bashing anybody can do..bashing wont change a single ting..all we seek is actions…not bashing… "

Imagine giving your badminton opponent a pingpong bat, and telling everyone he's a lousy badminton player.

• Jeffrey1977 (Member) on Dec 16, 2006 at 1:39 am

Moon? Rocket? or Eye?

• hotwheeler (Member) on Dec 16, 2006 at 1:39 am

undilah p

• Jeffrey1977 (Member) on Dec 16, 2006 at 1:41 am

Paul. You got any party?? I sure vote you. But promise to make Malaysia free of tax (At least the cars)…

Hehe.. Can get my self a beemer….

• Joe v2.0 (Member) on Dec 16, 2006 at 1:46 am

those as*holes!!.. damn, still saying the 'cheapest toll rate', saying want free road use the stupid federal roads and all the cabinet agreed with this.. i just cant think what nicer/polite word that i can say than they are all SOB leaches who know only to suck peoples money when they them selves were paid by the peoples money.

Another thing is guys, this not 100% samy vellu fault la guys, the toll rate hike is what the gov, i repeat THE GOV AGREED and a SIGNED agreement with the concession company, even the new ones as if Plus agreement is not enough to rob the rakyat. We should be more like europe or american, be more matured voters, KICK out whichever shitty gov. governing this country. Make it a lesson, shitty governance = kick in the ass, but here in malaysia, we are to chicken to accept gov changes, up until now, up until we are being rob leaving only our underwear, also do nothing..

So be more smart and matured on the next election la.. please la.

• Jeffrey1977 (Member) on Dec 16, 2006 at 1:46 am

I suggest maybe a steering wheel is a good logo for your newly develop party.

Just imagine,

$0.10 fee at every toll,

$1.00 /liter pertol

$70,000 for a Beemer

When is the next election again har???

• Malaysia BoXXX (Member) on Dec 16, 2006 at 1:50 am

We have the cheapest toll rates among countries???

But we have to pay extra long life for any consession.

$1.60 toll times 30years is $48 (and can be extended if found 'necessary')

$3 toll times 10 years is only $30.

Most malaysian are really stupid, and easily cheated…..that's why majority of us vote for a rat to guard our rice field.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Dec 16, 2006 at 1:58 am

pak lah troublemaker…thanx n samy velu…buncit lagi prut…susah…susah…minyak naik..tol naik…

• Paul Tan on Dec 16, 2006 at 2:49 am

UPDATE #2: Read http://balajoe27.wordpress.com/2006/12/15/toll-hi… for a nice analysis.

• motorhead (Member) on Dec 16, 2006 at 3:48 am

Don't worry guys, this time the next EC sure will be hot… it will be opposition + The Super Basher (our ex PM Tun), let see how poklah can handle them .. poklah has crossed the line when he called Tun as Satan, monkey etc….Save ur breath Tun… save it for the next EC… it may be Tun's last shoot against poklah.. even Tun is not my favorite person, but he did make us happy sometimes.. even opposition have more says during his time.. opposition bashed him so bad also sometimes.. but he stayed cool….

So, Tun… pls take care… save ur breath… be our hero…& become The Super Basher among us to make sure poklah out for good… if Tun become opposition ally, poklah shud be sweating now… it will be easy.. the opposition just can give Tun one of their stronghold & let the people vote for him… & Tun can be back in the parlimen, but this time with opposition!!!!… we just ve to wait if Tun willing to sacrifice his UMNO membership!!!.. Tun just go for it, u have nothing to loose!!!!.. no point stay in UMNO when they didn't respect u anymore…

• kvinlim (Member) on Dec 16, 2006 at 4:04 am

All these increase in our cost of living is due to one factor-inefficient and incompetence gov. All the failure such as Proton; MAS; have spiral effect to our cost of living, cause gov can't find other easier sources then toll; petrol to finance all their failure. The worse thing is they never feel malu or dare to admit it. They feel it is always others fault that cause them all their problem. Mr.R, don't say the country have not success in the pass 400yrs due to colonism, i strongly doubt they can achieve much in the next 400yrs to come. Cause they never take a serious look at their weakness. Our Gov have fail us……………….

• J (Member) on Dec 16, 2006 at 4:41 am

Welcome to the land of crony :)

OK guys, since we don't have a choice, why not think the bright side of it ? Toll increase, less people will prefer to drive (overall will show some percentage drop), so it is less congestion on the road and less petrol to consume. You get to office quicker, you get back home earlier. Feel better now ? :)

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Dec 16, 2006 at 5:23 am

soporific said,

Hey Joe, out of topic. Just to say that on your comment to correct Paul/Proton, you should’ve have used the phrase, “should be spelled as DREAM” except that it makes no difference anyway, because DREAMT is correct and DREAM is wrong. maybe you ought to call your friends at Oxford about this.

—————-

"Good Engrish teacher" – got more for you to correct lol, you kick up a lot of dust! Anywhere and everywhere! Huh, huh, very iritating and need Eye-more.

You still got a lot of chance to Ox-fart if you want………release obnoxious methane gas…

• transformer (Member) on Dec 16, 2006 at 5:30 am

use toll, G earn… then if take alternate route, use more petrol… G still earn $ from petrol too! both side also win-win…. from both side, G wins!

i think only ONE way to teach them a lesson…..he he he….

that its CAR POOL !!!

save petrol

save toll

longer service period

save money

save the earth also!

find colleague, rotate(alternate) drive to work… oneday you drive, the next day your fren(colleague) drive…

simple math: if you don't need drive 2days in a week, one month its 8days…thats a 1 weeks petrol free… if you have more colleague, the more you save… i had already did it with my 2 colleague!!!

We live nearby, 10min drive with 2 Traffic Light. We had to drive 45min to reach workplace, consist of T.Jam & T.Light & not forgotten d DAMN Tolls…

So one day you drive, the other day i drive…

So, i suggest go for CAR POOL! Go Go Go!!!

Lesser car on road, lesser T.Jam… this save petrol too! save earth too!

• transformer (Member) on Dec 16, 2006 at 5:32 am

Dear, Paul

can you make an article about car pool ?

Thanks!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Dec 16, 2006 at 7:45 am

tranformer, another suggestion, used motorbike on shining day, save petrol and toll free. Come rainy day only use car.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Dec 16, 2006 at 7:50 am

motorhead said,

"Don’t worry guys, this time the next EC sure will be hot… it will be opposition +"

This is good idea, I fully support you. More info on opposition, visit MT: –

http://www.malaysia-today.net/index.shtml

Got a lot of hot-hot and cili pedas news. For "Protonian", they may get heart attack if reading the comments by bloggers in MT given the "intensity and high impact bashing"!

• motorhead (Member) on Dec 16, 2006 at 7:52 am

"less congestion on the road??""

I don't think so… federal highway wud JAM, like HELL!!!… ppl wud try to avoid LDP!!!!

• motorhead (Member) on Dec 16, 2006 at 8:02 am

Joe,

Now it will be; oppositions + Super Basher Tun M + paultan's bashers.

I am ready for election.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Dec 16, 2006 at 8:07 am

Ladies and Gentlemen, this is same topic on toll appeared in MT thread, log in to "see-see-and-read-read" the cili pedas bashing and enjoy yourself. Discretion is required for those weak heart to refrain from reading!

http://malaysia-today.net/blog2006/newsncom.php?i…

This is the first salvo of this thread: –

"These concessionares bring highway robbery to a fine art, aided by the BN government of course.

We have the most expensive works minister in the world. Everytime he opens his mouth, it cost the rakyat millions."

This is the last post at the time of this posting: –

"BN stands for Burden the Nation. The country's economy has not really recovered from the 30% petrol hike, which plunged the entire nation into a nightmarish economic slumps which catapulted the crime rate to an all time high. When I think of the future of this country under Burden the Nation, huh? What future? And while some people were worried sick of the impact of globalisation on their business, lemme tell you this, you should be worried till your face turn blue and pray to God that you don't be the next 'fatal' victim of a vicious crime! And guess what, the crime rate is set to increase…Worried you may have no jobs? Worried of not having enougfh to spend? Worried lah for once, you may fall victim to the rising crime!"

or more to come…………………..

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Dec 16, 2006 at 8:11 am

motorhead, you have choices of rocket, moon and the eye but not the 3 main musketeer in BN – Burden the Nation!

• Initial D (Member) on Dec 16, 2006 at 9:12 am

oooo………hikes………G shud remove those GLCs, i tink its killing them……..duno y they dun wanna release it……….although knowing it is a pain to hold them……

• Joe Cole (Member) on Dec 16, 2006 at 11:16 am

its finger licking good…..

jgn beli rumah di puchong

kiri kanan tol !!!

• motorhead (Member) on Dec 16, 2006 at 6:02 pm

pucklah really donno how to take back our heart… selalu bikin sakit hati.. what is wrong with him??.. always bad news.. no good news.. what kinda PM is this?? he thinks ppl love him so much ka??? dun worry Joe Ooi.. i know what to do.. as far as i know.. even all my frens, none like this pucklah… something is very wrong with him.. he said don't want to be popular, but he likes ppl hate him ka, but bash him tak boleh pulak.. apa ni?? wire putuskah?.. dulu Tun pun screwed up also, PAS bashed him so bad & called him with many names…

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Dec 16, 2006 at 6:29 pm

to achieve 2020 vision.. we need Bullet Train From Penang Island to KL Sentral and then to JB!!!! Pg to KL in just less than 3 hrs, KL to JB in less than 3 hrs. One-Way ticket less then RM 50. that's the real benefit public can have!!! no tolls to pay, no petrol to pay, no car accident to look at, no traffic jam n no delay in stupid Air Asia filght!!!! Pls use money to spend on bullet train!!

• osh_kosh (Member) on Dec 16, 2006 at 7:28 pm

hmm.. they said that the current road user(on toll h/way) not as much as expected & the concessionaire lose their money…

okay.. i tried to give a simple calculation just to proof it..

we try LDP:

1) current rate RM1

2) i think there is about 8 toll both at one toll exit.. we use half of that… so that 4 toll booth

3) estimate 20second to pay toll.. so its 3 cars per minute times 4 toll booth equal 12 cars/min

3) that give us 720 cars per hour…

4) toll operates 24hr/day & 7 days per week… we use 12hour full & 12 hour 1/2 for car passing the toll per day.. that give us 12960 cars per day

5) in a year they should have about RM 4,730,400 in their pockets

6) roughtly we estimate 8 workers to operate 4 toll booth by rotation.. says RM1,000 per month.. that give us RM8000/month or RM96,000/year

7) says there are 2 officer to look after them at every toll exit with a salary of RM5000/month.. that give us RM120,000 per year

8) says every month they spend about 1/4mill for maintenance works of the highway… so its RM 3,000,000 per year

9) so when we minus what they've earn againts the operating cost that leave us with a balance of RM 1,514,400 per year

10) says there is some additional cost that we can't see… i just minus another RM 1mill… still they have about RM 1/2mill to play around

so.. they still make profit what?? its my simple/fast calculation just to get the picture of what they claim.. maybe i'm wrong.. dunno…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Dec 16, 2006 at 8:01 pm

So, this and that increase, especially tol and fuel that directly hit the usage of car for consumers. Let have new year resolution by "change our lifstyle" –

1. Stop buying P1 – stop the sucking.

2. Car pool – save on petrol and toll.

3. Change to motorbike – save petrol and toll free.

More threads from MT related to toll issues: –

http://malaysia-today.net/blog2006/letters.php?it…

But look at the toll highway at sub-urban area like LDP, KESAS, Cheras-Kajang, ELITE, Sungai Besi Highway, etc. The design is base on "fish-net" concept like Kelong that ensure most of the traffic have to flow thru the toll gates "very conveniently". Some have alternative route and some not at all. Even there is alternative, the condition is "pathetic" in term of single, windy, potholes, small one lane thru housing estate or existing kampong road that irritate motorist when mototrist used it.

Some "alternative road" even not constructed although it is form part of concessionaire highway. For e.g. long uncompleted are approx 10 year interchange at Taman Kinrara Puchong for direction going to Kg Medan (PJ) side whilst to Puchong side is completed by Developer. Another alternative road is a conneciton between Puchong and USJ also still not constructed. This alternative required to built bridge by developers having projects behind Tesco Puchong as part of their building plan approval and/or D.O. requirements (Malton, YTL and Globmac). However, look at completed houses by YTL and Malton for more than 6 months, there is no where we can see let alone to use this alternative in the near foreseeable future. The cost for this bridge is estimate at RM 20 million only, where is the money contributed by these developers and where is the bridge? Does the government unable to allocate RM 20 million to built this bridge but can spend RM 11 billion to bail out ailing GLCs and RM 400 million for new istana?

For concesionaires (LDP & KESAS toll operators), their view is these alternative, especially the proposed two-lane dual carriage that connecting Puchong-USJ, if constructed will have a huge impact on thier revenue for toll collection at Sunway & Puchong Barat (LDP) and USJ (KESAS) toll gates! Where there are toll highway in sub-urban area, the issues of alternative route always neglected by G in favor of toll operators. Even alternative route at Taman Sri Mahkota at Cheras connecting to SILK is closed by toll operator for simple reason of lost of revenue. Even SILK does not allowed housing behind 3V factory connecting to their highway for the same reason (which the developer promised to house buyer and initially verbally agreed by SILK as part of agreement for acquiring developer land for highway construction)!

We, the rakyat are being srew up by BN and its gang like cronies, VVIP, etc, etc! Really BIG SUCK on our living standard being eroded by these blood sucking entities!

• triplesaber (Member) on Dec 16, 2006 at 8:21 pm

a friend at Litrak told me tht its the G thts milking the big money, and put the stress and blame on Litrak..

Im a frequent user of KESAS, and this hike is really digging a hole in my pocket. I knew the hike is inevitable (says the G), but i didnt expect such a drastic move, imagine from RM1.50 to RM2.20?! I thought it would be like RM1.70 or so..

Majority of Msians r working class people. Sammy says he 'feels' the burden, how does he know? How would he know the burden when they the ministers dont pay tolls? Even if they do, the money dont come frm their pocket (duit Elaun Perjalanan)..

This move, as well as others frm the G (another example = my Father-in-law who lives in a kampong is 'geram' at a sudden 'tax' imposed on all kampong houses in the area, even a pondok is also taxed! Hes been living in the village all his life and this is the 1st time such tax is seen) proves tht the G is suckin our blood dry, to cover their crazy expenses on crazy projects..

• king (Member) on Dec 17, 2006 at 12:15 am

osh_kosh….

your calculation is highly inaccurate when u end up with the figure 12k plus cars passing LDP a day. semi-vellu himself said there is an average of 400k cars a day passing through LDP. thats y they need to subsidize Lingkaran Trans Kota Holdings Bhd ( owner of LDP ) 75 million a year.

400k times 365 days = 146 million cars or ringgit a year.

divide that figure by two becomes 73 million ringgit a year. cos accoding to their stupid agreement they are still subsidizing 50 sen per car.

Quote from the Star:

On the LDP, Samy Vellu said concessionaire Lingkaran Trans Kota Holdings Bhd had the right to set the toll at RM2.10 for private cars from 2007 to 2010, when another increase was due.

However, the Government had decided to allow an increase from RM1 to RM1.60, with the 50 sen shortfall being paid through subsidy.

“We will pay RM75mil next year and another RM75mil in 2008 in compensation. We will also allow the company to extend its 30-year concession for another year in lieu of compensation for the remaining two years,” he said

i hate this shit when they always say petrol,toll etc. still the cheapest in the region. i think the G better send their cronies back to school as they are such idiots making fools of themselves to think the public is so stupid. take for example kesas highway from bukit jalil to puchong. the distance is 7km and the are now chargin $2.20….. thats 31.4 sen per km.

i quote the idiot talking again:

Semi Vellu said toll rates in Malaysia were one of the cheapest in the world, with PLUS charging an average of 13.6 sen per km, compared with 35.57 sen per km in the Philippines, 27.62 sen in China, 22.76 sen in Thailand and 14.8 sen in Indonesia.

Every year there is an average of 400k new vehicles being registered on the road. lets say i take away 200k vehicles off the road as due to accident or scrap etc. The balance 200k cars each pay a road tax average of RM100 per year. That equates to RM20 million. but this is compounding every year.

meas if during year 1990 the G collects RM 20 million in total from rd tax. on year 2006 alone they would have collected RM360 million from rd tax. And with this they expect us to squeeze in the same old jalan kampung 10 years ago as alternative to toll rd.

BN = Bully the Nation. better change to NB = Naik Bulan. Reason? coz they rather spend RM500 million to send a bunch of clowns up to the moon to make roti canai.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Dec 17, 2006 at 1:33 am

king said

"take for example kesas highway from bukit jalil to puchong. the distance is 7km and the are now chargin $2.20….. thats 31.4 sen per km."

——-

Luckily there is good alternative route toll free Bukit Jalil highway (Puchong-Sungai Besi Highway), where a lot of "fishes" can avoid this "kelong inspired design toll gate". Otherwise it will be like Sunway toll jam like hell!

Semi-Value once open big mouth, it cost motorist million yet still claim the rate is the cheapest, but never and dare not to mention there are many highway in many countries are toll free! ……. pathetic junior musketeer from BN………..

Actually KESAS highway from Sri Petaling to Puchong and LDP from Sunway to Penchala is part of Middle Ring Road 2 (MRR2) but once privatised as today, its become a "dragnet to haul more fish to feed the hungry corporate crocs" …………

We rakyat partly to blame, why vote these musketeer in ?????

• protonGL (Member) on Dec 17, 2006 at 1:43 am

wont pay money for a toll, ill give the toll guy or gal like food , chiken, rambutan, used baju, racket, garden hose, for the equvalent price, but if a long distant on plus could cost me a boot of durian thats difficult…. damn!

• oranglulu (Member) on Dec 17, 2006 at 9:04 am

walauhuy!….uncle pocket got less then 50ringgits…better dun drive out…..50 ringgits seems to look like 5 ringgits years ago……..sad uncle…

• domoteka (Member) on Dec 18, 2006 at 5:19 pm

Itu samy vellu ada cakap jugak, kalu it tempat ldp toll jugak tada, itu tempat worang mau masuk pun tada boleh!!! Itu pembangunan jugak tada boleh masuk!!!

:- Apa ini orang cakap? Itu PJ itu apa? Padang pasir kah? Mesti ada LDP baru boleh masuk?

Lagi samy vellu jugak ada cakap, kalu tada mau bayar toll kalu, jangan pakai itu toll jalan lah!!! Manyak jalan ada lagi……

:- Kalau dari Puchong, kamu nak masuk (tak payah jauh lah) Sg Way dekat Motorola ada jalan lain ke? Mesti melalui Toll LDP Bandar Sunway.

Lagi samy vellu jugak ada cakap, itu toll kalu,tada sesak punya, manyak bagus, manyak kurang itu kesusahan, manyak senang, manyak jimat itu masa jugak……

:- Yang saya tau, Toll Bandar Sunway tiap tiap hari bekerja, pagi dan petang jam berkilometer. Tak tau lah toll kat Cheras tu. Jangan nak ambil toll guthrie bodoh tu nak cakap takde jam la, takde sesak lah…. memang pun toll guthrie bodoh tu siapa nak pakai???? sama je pakai plus……2X5 jugak.

Ayoyo ada satu jugak samy vellu tada cakap…… itu toll jugak share ada manyak ka?

:- ye le, tau tau aje le….. takde share mana dia mau kasi syarikat konsesi perjanjian berat sebelah punya? takde share mana dia mau kasi naik suka suka sampai 60%? Kalau kira kat LDP satu tempat (Bdr Sunway) sudah cukup satu hari tak kurang beratus ribu kereta/bas/lori lalu. Berapa juta masuk? sekarang tamnah 60%, ayoyo pakcik kayo!!! Boleh beli tanah dekat india ribu ribu hektar lagi lo.

Lagi itu samy vellu jugak ada cakap, itu beban jugak tada boleh kasi itu kerajaan jugak, itu beban jugak mau kasi sama itu rakyat jugak…..

:- Ye le tu, dah rakyat undi kamu semua jadi kerajaan, kamu semua buat perjanjian tak masuk akal berpihak pada syarikat konsesi lepas itu, cakap rakyat tak patut bebankan kerajaan? bagus la tu, makan gaji buta, makan duit haram semua boleh. Tapi beban kasi rakyat juga. Sial punya BN.

• motorhead (Member) on Dec 18, 2006 at 9:41 pm

Hail domoteka!!! they will pay for the craps they made.. & what they have said betul2 buat org sakit hati!!

• WIRA (Member) on Dec 18, 2006 at 10:00 pm

comparing to the other neibouring countries! How about comparing the pay that they are getting too! …. Our friend up north can drive from south to north with a normal road which is 4 lane FREE …. option is the highway …. consider that

• osh_kosh (Member) on Dec 18, 2006 at 10:11 pm

where's my post??

• osh_kosh (Member) on Dec 18, 2006 at 10:13 pm

wira,

they only compare with others when they have the upper hand…

• sn00py (Member) on Dec 22, 2006 at 7:42 pm

sell your car. rent a room nearby your office, after work tapao economic rice, after eat then sleep… repeat the step until you die!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• forestcat (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 9:39 pm

KLItes..ur RapidKL bus tickets is like RM1 and RM2 for one whole day..USE IT DAMN IT it’s already subsidized ALOT..and u have LRTs and KTM Komuter …..u r still luckier than people in other states who dun even have basic public transportation.

As for interstate travel…next time..use the train..Rawang Ipoh double track line will open next year…so the journey will be faster..a safer alternative to our deadly express buses.

• KS Lim on Feb 27, 2009 at 8:17 pm

Federal Highway Route 2

Batu Tiga old 1.10 new 1.20 ->9.1%

Sungai Rasau old 1.00 new 1.10 ->10%

It is more than 5%!

The calculation method is very unfair to open toll system!

if not mistaken, very early days Bt Tiga RM0.50 and Sg Rasau was 0.40, it is now 140% increased and 175% increased!

• XRumerTest on Dec 01, 2012 at 9:12 pm

Hello. And Bye.

• Blouson moncler homme on Dec 13, 2013 at 11:00 pm

Parfois caprice: être une bonne chose voyous, hors de la ville ,moncler femme /homme.
    Blouson moncler homme http://blouson-moncler-pas-cher.moonfruit.fr/