Proton and Chery CKD operations to begin mid-2007

Tan Sri Cam Soh, group executive chairman of Chery’s local partner Alado Corporation Sdn Bhd says Proton and Chery are expected to start their CKD program by mid-2007. The CKD program will involve Proton assembling Chery vehicles in Malaysia using Proton’s Shah Alam assembly facilities. The models in question are the Chery B14 MPV and the Chery Tiggo T11 SUV. It is said that Chery wants to make Malaysia it’s right hand drive market assembly and export center. A similar agreement is working well between Naza and Hafei, with Naza handling the right hand market for the Hafei Lobo with it’s reengineered Naza Sutera.

Proton’s agreement with Chery and Alado was previously extended in December 2006 to 28th February 2007. There is another agreement, one between Proton and Mitsubishi, that is set to expire on 2nd February 2007. We should know the outcome of that particular agreement soon. Look at the related posts for more information on the two Chery models to be assembled in Malaysia.

Proton to product MPV and SUV with Chery
Chery Tiggo (Chery T11) coming to Malaysia
Chery V5 Crossover (Chery B14) MPV

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• bugbear (Member) on Jan 16, 2007 at 12:44 pm

wow~ posted at 4.20am…

thx for d info ;)

• cyborgx (Member) on Jan 16, 2007 at 4:20 pm

Chery and Proton?

Naza and Hufei?

ahaha, "affordable" quality cars for Malaysian market is totally hopeless now. Congratulations Malaysians, you have just been screwed by the govt.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jan 16, 2007 at 5:33 pm

Wondering if the chinese cars would be worried about Thailand and others sanctioning against them due to 'unfair' taxation practices like what happened to Toyota.

It is a good thing. maybe some of that investment can be used to generate some income for the country (however where It goes probably would be suspect anyway)

I wouldn't be overly critical of chinese cars. Give them a few years. Almost everything you buy nowadays from china are cheaper and better quality than just several years ago.

If the chinese can CKD and sell a car similarly sized and priced as an Iswara, would you still buy the 25year old Iswara?

Besides, with 2nd hand value dropping like a stone, why would anyone buy a new car is beyond me.

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Jan 16, 2007 at 6:29 pm

Another desperate move by the Proton. Doubtful with their built quality and safety features.. Proton + Chery = 'Pro-Che' sound similar to Porsche.. :)

I definitely not risking my life to own one.

• Goniothalamus (Member) on Jan 16, 2007 at 9:06 pm

Poor to Proton, kesian. This is another foolish government project. This is not coorperation, this is to use Proton facilities here. For the the man behind this, that call the money. So, what the benefit to Proton, and to us as well. Proton, why u sacked ur previous CEO (T.Mahaleel) that bring you as a profitable company. He's effort that can built the ProtonCity. Poor to him too.

..and the government say, 'we do this to make low cost car'..Cheap price? em… all the car today is going cheaper.. the true low cost is joint venture, not like this.

• cyborgx (Member) on Jan 16, 2007 at 9:51 pm

4G63T DSM

We dont have much choice do we? unless you are willing to fork out money to buy better cars. Hufei and Chery our local automotive partners = gg Malaysians.

• oversight (Member) on Jan 17, 2007 at 12:31 am

Proton : the brand name that gives headache to most malaysian.

maybe you have to change it into neutron first then you can have a good car?……..lol XD

• azhargoth (Member) on Jan 17, 2007 at 1:02 am

oversight,

How bout Cheryton?..

• Hikaru (Member) on Jan 17, 2007 at 1:07 am

So long as they don't slap the proton badge on a chery, then i don't care who they produce cars for. If they do, shame on them.

• protonGL (Member) on Jan 17, 2007 at 1:20 am

chery share? 51?

• protonGL (Member) on Jan 17, 2007 at 1:32 am

like produa

• offroader manix (Member) on Jan 17, 2007 at 1:37 am

To be honest….rakyat shud be buying 2nd hand Jap car from now on…..at least safety is better.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 17, 2007 at 4:53 am

Shah alam plant, good luck to Cherry running it :D

• stanleyshyeoh (Member) on Jan 17, 2007 at 3:00 pm

Sigh, ciplak cars always. The public deserves better than this. At much better value for money.

• haroldz (Member) on Jan 27, 2007 at 8:08 am

apuu, another joint venture to produce cheap quality car?

we'll wait 4 tis car to be launched tis year then condemn ramai2.

yeah!

who said previous proton ceo make profit?

i tot they r just ignorant 2 customer complaint.

dun worry, his son tengku djan still in proton

race driver/test driver for proton