Naza donates to Johor flood victims

nazaflood.jpg

Naza Kia and Naza Automotive Manufacturing has donated RM500,000 in cash and in kind to the Johor flood relief centres. They also sent a relief team consisting of Naza staff and it’s panel of doctors, including one who had helped in the tsunami relief efforts in Aceh.

In addition, the employees of the Naza Group of Companies will embark on a donation drive to collect necessary items, including clothing, food, and other essential items for the flood victims. Naza will also deploy their staff to help in the relief efforts in Johor to facilitate distribution of these items.

Pretty nice of Tan Sri SM Nasimuddin to help, pity the people in Johor. While some wail over the loss or devaluation of their submerged cars, others have lost everything they have, save for the cloth on their backs.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• aksMs (Member) on Jan 19, 2007 at 3:41 am

Yeah, it is very nice indeed. More corporate entities should do the same. I'm sure there are a lot more who did the same without too much hu-ha. But where are the giants? Where are the GLCs? It is really sad when some people misplace their priorities to concentrate on the winning the polls instead of sending more help to the needed one.

This afternoon, there was a convoy of relief team from Perlis State government stop by my little hometown for lunch. About 4 lorries or goods , food, clothes for Johor people and a few cars (4x4s). I mean…Perlis! A small state! What about Penang? Kedah?

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 19, 2007 at 4:35 am

It is really sad when some people misplace their priorities to concentrate on the winning the polls instead of sending more help to the needed one.

—————————————————————Unfortunately, this can be the case with our gamen too. Imagine nxt GE, I can picture an article abt Naza helpin the poors, and that Naza is a successful 'product' of gamen, so more of this successful product will appear if you keep voting for Barang Naik. Yeah rite.

The problem wit helpin the poor is that they are over-broadcast. Nothing bad abt helpin the poor, but it's just that it felt a bit dishonest sometimes. It's like "hey everyone, look at me!!! I'm donating RM1m to the poor!! I'm a gud guy, don't y'all think so?"

The media should tone down a bit. I dislike readin these kinds of craps in papers, instead of making their efforts look noble, it made them look like desperate opportunists trying to get publicity through helpin the poor.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jan 19, 2007 at 4:38 am

These things need to be broadcast, spur more of the profitable companies to do their part to help people. Its not about poor, its about 100,000 people displaced from their homes! Who's helping?

• J (Member) on Jan 19, 2007 at 4:51 am

Thumbs up to NAZA !

One other thing very important… is to make sure the donated money is not "eaten" along the chain to the needy !

RM500K become RM200K at the end :)

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jan 19, 2007 at 5:46 am

Good, NAZA show high level of Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR). Where is P1, asking rakyat protect them for the last 20 years +++. Now is the time for you give back to the rakyat! But look at Paul Tan posting, P1 still sibuk sana sibuk sini talking about tie up, confirm talking, possible collaboration, Savvy at Taiwan thingy, etc.

• w_lighter (Member) on Jan 19, 2007 at 7:39 am

ALERT !!! Attention whore ~~!!!

• offroader manix (Member) on Jan 19, 2007 at 8:19 am

What the helll is 500K ?

Other countries give out more than all those jokers who are in the n/paper.

They are trying to gain some publicity only that's all.

• wpq (Member) on Jan 19, 2007 at 8:45 am

offroader manix, how much do u have contribute to the victims?

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jan 19, 2007 at 8:48 am

P1 & Honda also contributed. Proton, offering repairs for ppl whose cars affected by floods. Honda announced 25% discount on parts from Johor dealers + RM10k contribution.

• shaif (Member) on Jan 19, 2007 at 4:12 pm

Thumbs up Naza. At least 500k is a large donation from the corporate company. Don't look down at their contribution. Eve if you donate rm1, 10 , its already a good deed. But agree that donation is the best activity to earn respect media coverage. Its all about projecting good image to the eyes of people.

• ChipS (Member) on Jan 19, 2007 at 5:26 pm

Great work Naza. Take a look at these nice people also…. Great thank you to all of them who have contributed to the flood victims and never made it to the front page.

http://www.tzuchimalacca.com/flood/index.html

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 19, 2007 at 6:23 pm

maibatsu_thunder said,

January 18, 2007 @ 8:38 pm

These things need to be broadcast, spur more of the profitable companies to do their part to help people. Its not about poor, its about 100,000 people displaced from their homes! Who’s helping?

—————————————————

I know, bt when I see more than at most 3 times the same ppl contributing, plus with the big cheques written SEJUTA RINGGIT MALAYSIA SAHAJA, don't you all tink that's a bit over the board?

Which is why I think they need to tone down a bit. I know it's great and noble, even I dun contribute a ringgit to those people, so maybe I'm not entitled to criticise them, but I felt it's the media which is over-doing it by over-highlighting them. The rich companies also no need to show off giant cheques lah……

• carlover (Member) on Jan 19, 2007 at 7:14 pm

i sort of agree and disagree. These big companies are offering some help to the victims but the media are portraying it like 'as if' these companies are pulling a publicity stunt. Or maybe theyre requested by the companies for the publicity :P he he

More people should help the poor. Heard YTL and Hong Leong donated as well.

Thumbs up to the contributors.

• tanasi (Member) on Jan 19, 2007 at 10:37 pm

the kelantan govt gave RM1mil.

• honda_driver (Member) on Jan 19, 2007 at 11:29 pm

"Now is the time for you give back to the rakyat! But look at Paul Tan posting, P1 still sibuk sana sibuk sini talking about tie up, confirm talking, possible collaboration, Savvy at Taiwan thingy, etc."

Joe Ooi… just curious.. how do you know that Proton did not do any charity work or flood relief work other than what you read in the papers?

• mattyboy (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 6:45 am

These kind of things always leave me in 2 minds….

Firstly hats of to them for digging into company resources and helping those that are so in need of any help they can get right now

But on the other had, don't go getting big cheques printed up and invite the press along – do it for the right reasons and not for the marketing spin you can generate.

Having said that, I'd rather they gave and took the hype rather than sat back and did nothing.

• offroader manix (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 9:33 am

wpq ,

You work for NAZA ?

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 2:16 pm

I think they did alright la. Nasimuddin didn't come down in coat and tie, invite dozens of press, cut ribbon, call politicians, do speech, etc. Just sent trucks with items (check out in background), doctors, etc. Good idea though, get your panel clinics to join in and help. I think they did just minimal publicity like "Get the word out, so other companies can follow our lead" or something like that. Either u pay Red Crescent, or you go to front line yourself. How much have YOU contributed so far? I cannot be there, but I already gave what I can afford.

• ... (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 4:46 pm

Kudos to a caring company like NAZA.

I heard from people on the scene that the NAZA relief team got down and actually go searching for the needy flood victims to distribute the food and clothing. We need more people to volunteer on the ground just like NAZA, not people who is just swinging huge mock checks to politicians in cozy press conferences.

• haroldz (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 8:46 pm

dun donate money to flood fund

remember tsunami fund?

where all ur donated money went?

better donate things like food stuff

y the relevant department in government did not anticipate d 2nd flooding?

cos they all to bz counting their year end bonus!!