5-door Subaru Impreza to be unveiled at 2007 NYIAS

b5tph_450width.jpg

Subaru will be unveiling it’s next generation Subaru Impreza in a few month’s time at the 2007 New York International Auto Show – 4th April 2007. what we’ll see is the conventional Impreza in 5-door hatchback form, as the mad turbocharged WRX and WRX STI variants are not expected to be ready for unveiling until 2008. The 5-door hatch design is expected to be similiar to the Subaru B5-TPH Concept shown above.

The bread and butter Subaru Impreza is rumored to be powered by normally aspirated 4-cylinder boxers in 1.5 litre and 2.0 litre displacements. The WRX will likely come with an evolution of the potent 2.5 litre turbocharged boxer engine in the current performance Imprezas.

Along with the new Impreza WRX, 2008 will also bring us turbodiesel boxer versions of the Subaru Legacy and the Subaru Outback (Legacy Stationwagon), a 4-cylinder turbodiesel boxer engine has been in development for quite some time now. Subaru announced that the diesel engine was almost complete back in October 2006. It is expected to make about 170hp and 340Nm of torque from a 2.0 litre displacement.

Subaru B5-TPH Concept
Next-gen Subaru Impreza: sedan and hatch
Subaru says turbodiesel boxer nearly complete
Subaru to develop turbodiesel boxer engine

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• analyzer (Member) on Jan 28, 2007 at 1:51 pm

somehow this impreza looks like a four wheeler… more like a nissan murano to me.. such radical change from the current impreza….

and the front.. looks as if the exhaust are placed on both sides in the front..

• jtshin (Member) on Jan 28, 2007 at 6:03 pm

not use to the new design.. hmmm.. looks quite strange.. maybe some time later it'll look better…

• jtshin (Member) on Jan 28, 2007 at 6:08 pm

but looking at the old posts… the rear really looks super ugly… it's one of the worst design I've ever saw… sad…. really sad… just hope the real butt of it wont be something like that…

• albagmane (Member) on Jan 28, 2007 at 6:29 pm

i wonder how will the wrc version of impreza look like… they say will have a new car in the mexican rallye… hope will be better and nicer lor… really have high expectation on imprezas…

• protonGL (Member) on Jan 28, 2007 at 11:20 pm

http://blogs.edmunds.com/Straightline/1470

if it this,,,, rather plain then, …

evo is more spanking, well let just wait.

• J (Member) on Jan 29, 2007 at 12:32 am

Basically a Subaru should look "garang" as this is how Subaru is born.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 29, 2007 at 4:32 am

looks like murano to me,and where is the air intake for the turbo?

• I my (Member) on Jan 29, 2007 at 6:05 pm

can wait to see their new diesel boxer ver….

• AmSouth (Member) on Jan 29, 2007 at 6:29 pm

It's outlook looks ok for wifey's car …. but definetly not for racing style… :)

Still Mitsu is the best…

• motorhead (Member) on Jan 29, 2007 at 6:44 pm

Sad, subaru has lost it's identity… i tak suka langsung this one.. why they can't just ignore the flying vagina mockery, the current subaru WRX style look just fine…

• Goniothalamus (Member) on Jan 30, 2007 at 7:24 am

I like the 2.5turbodiesel will be used for next WRX, i dislike much the looks of next Impreza.

Time for diesel is going to make boost!