Alfa 147 Edizione Sportivo

alfa147se.jpg

Malaysian Alfa Romeo distributor Sime Darby Auto Italia Sdn Bhd has unveiled a new limited edition variant of the lovely Alfa Romeo 147 2.0 Selespeed hatchback – the Alfa 147 Edizione Sportivo, or in English, Sports Edition? Changes to the special edition include a customised bodykit comprised of a redesigned front air dam, side skirts, side strip, rear roof spoiler, and a stainless steel exhaust. The car rides on Alfa Romeo ET40 Silver Colour Tristar alloy rims with low profile 215/45 R17TL87W Pirelli Dragon performance tyres. Further enhancing the sporty look are Hotbits HBSC 10-203 Sports Springs, lowering the car by 30mm and enhancing handling and driving dynamics.

Auto Italia press release did not say how many units of this special edition will be produced, but general manager Lim Boon Leong says it will be a limited edition run. It comes with a 2-year warranty, free maintenance for three years and two years free 24-hour roadside assistance from AAM.

Just a recap on the specs, the Alfa 147 Edizione Sportivo is powered by a 2.0-litre 150bhp Twinspark engine, does the 0-100km/h dash in 9.3 seconds, and is specced out pretty well – four airbags, pre-tensioned seat belts, Anti-lock Braking System with Electronic Brakeforce Distribution, Electronic Stability Programme, Cruise Control System, Anti Theft Device-Key Code Immobiliser, Parking Obstacle Detection Device and others.

Read my test drive report on the Alfa Romeo 147 2.0 Twinspark Selespeed.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• protonGL (Member) on Feb 14, 2007 at 12:56 am

every T spark engined alfa comes with variable valve timing, and found no sticker badge saying about it,

but for honda and toyota this v-tech is such a big issue, its on the top of the engine written, more with the badge, and brochures,

• Paul Tan on Feb 14, 2007 at 1:01 am

protonGL: i suppose its because variable valve timing in this day of age should be standard on all engines. on the other hand, nissan's new 1.5 and 2.0 liter series engine has no variable valve timing – and this is a modern new engine family!

• KY (Member) on Feb 14, 2007 at 1:19 am

number plate placing is a bit odd imho

• tanasi (Member) on Feb 14, 2007 at 1:54 am

Shouldn't this kind of car be a rear wheel drive??

• e-nabilll (Member) on Feb 14, 2007 at 5:18 am

with this high price , and scary low trade in value,u need to use this car for a long time to justify the price…

• normal_user (Member) on Feb 14, 2007 at 6:59 am

The design of the alloys dissapoints me. At that price, it think its better to go for the Golf GTI 2.0 FSI DSG. The Golf is a much wiser choice, although its undeniable that the 147 is more exotic and sexier. The GTI has more power, smoother gearbox, better built quality, more security features and it's the mother of all hot hatch.

As for an average guy like me who couldnt afford either one, i hope the 'Lotus Neo GTi' is worth the wait.

• dawgHause (Member) on Feb 14, 2007 at 10:07 am

it is achingly pretty.

would love to own one.

only thing stopping me is the coming giugaro designed brera and 159.

when is those two coming? the singaporeans are already having.

• funbox (Member) on Feb 14, 2007 at 6:30 pm

Good car indeed. But, it's pricey for an old model.

• dzat46 (Member) on Feb 14, 2007 at 6:40 pm

What a car! those italian sure knows how to design sexy cars & bikes…look at those maserati, alfas, ferrari, ducati,MV agusta…

alfas will always be my dream car for sure. If only i got tons of money to ignore its high price & scary depreciation rate…

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 14, 2007 at 9:54 pm

Alfa Romeo is nice. They've always had good emotionally alluring designs. BTW Citra has CVVT (Continuously Variable Valve Timing). They should promote it more.

• topgunthang (Member) on Feb 16, 2007 at 5:44 am

alfa is relying more on its badge nowadays. take that away and they are crap. its left behind by the european marques. underpowered throughout the range and outhandled by its competitors which are alot cheaper. and also using the wrong wheels.

only saving grace is that its italian, exotic and looks good.

• protonGL (Member) on Feb 16, 2007 at 9:14 am

well alfa is great car, i have to agree that it used to be great, even jeremey clarkson was facinated by the old alfa SZ by zagato if im not mistaken,

just that lately when he tested the 147GTA it handles not as good as vw r32,

and vicky found 156 cant really take a quick reaction avoiding object at speed,

but

if i smack one of these alfa ,at my standard i would say its a good handler,

• jhuan (Member) on Feb 16, 2007 at 7:45 pm

Walau, the very first glimspe of it makes me think 'Hey, new Perdana V6?' ^_^III.

New 147 looks real good in RED colour…but hor, the price really sets me back

• raybrig85 (Member) on Feb 17, 2007 at 2:37 am

wow…such a long time i didnt drop d testi here…btw…back to the topic…for the new gen…159 and brera…both are really good…most of d journalist love it…btw…new episode of top gear…season 9 episode 2…last 2 weeks…coupe test between mazda rx8,new audi tt and alfa romeo brera…the overall winner was alfa brera…

ive own the alfa 147…still ok with it…not gimme any problem till now…2001 spec…still ok…love to drive it…4 me…dat car still not a crap…

normal_user…ure wrong by comparing this 147 2.0 with the golf gti…this car is not in the golf gti class bcoz lack of power…u shud compare the golf gti with d 147 ti….but sime darby not import dat type…147ti is in d same class as the golf gti…this car is jz a normal hatch…not a hot hatch…

• protonGL (Member) on Feb 21, 2007 at 9:57 am

just a an old school opinion, for me the past alfa is a great handler,

the secrect is weight distribution,

cars like alfetta, GTV, locates the tranmission on the rear axel, thus almost equal weight distribution front and rear for a nuetral handling,

and car like alfasud and 33 have a low center gravity with its boxer engine, corners good though looks tall

and intrem of power, its famous for twin carb feeding the fuel, until today the modern twin spark ,variator, tunable intake are good recepie,

well todays alfa is great, just that the germans and japs break the tradition for being batter than italians, but no one cant stop the love for the italian automobile,