Government sets new Euro II standard for fuel

Petronas Station

We might see another fuel hike soon, or we might not, but whatever happens, ultimately we are going to get better quality fuel in this country.

The government has amended regulations with fuel, and by the end of March 2007, sulphur content in diesel will go down from 0.3 percent to 0.05 percent, and for petrol, it will go down from 0.15 percent to 0.05 percent. All oil companies in Malaysia will have to adhere to the new standards.

This also means we might be seeing a new price of RM1.96 per litre for petrol and RM1.62 per litre for diesel by the end of March 2007, as the extra refinery process is expected to cost an additional 3 or 4 cents more per litre of fuel.

We’re finally moving to Euro II, from the current MS123 diesel and MS118 petrol standards. Euro II, or EC96, limits car emissions to 7 g/km of NOX and 0.15 g/km of PM (Particle Matter).

European Union countries put Euro II into effect back in 1995, more than 10 years ago, and it was phased out with a new Euro III standard in 1999. Europe moved to Euro IV in 2005, and diesel trucks will have to comply with a new Euro V standard in 2008.

So, everyone hold your breath for 31st March 2007. We might be seeing another fuel price hike. But in return, we’ll get a cleaner environment with less hazardous pollutants!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• maru (Member) on Feb 15, 2007 at 11:05 am

hmm…paul's perdana

• normal_user (Member) on Feb 15, 2007 at 4:09 pm

Any developments on car dealers which interested to bring in diesel cars? Now its a good time to sell non-premium diesel saloons; with slashed diesel road tax and better fuel quality, the timing is aint better than this. Maybe DRB Hicom can start assembling citroen diesel supermini/family cars or perhaps Inokom to offer the diesel Getz…

• Charger (Member) on Feb 15, 2007 at 5:05 pm

An excuse to hike the petrol price again?

So much for promised-no-hike-in-petrol-price-in-2007 huh?

• whatsoever (Member) on Feb 15, 2007 at 5:53 pm

if G plan to go for euro IV, i don't mind to pay for the price hike. at least i pay for environment or my next generation!!

• 8918 (Member) on Feb 15, 2007 at 6:50 pm

Price hike again!!!YMGC……will it benefit for naza ria/citra that consume ngv?

• lembagatanah (Member) on Feb 15, 2007 at 6:53 pm

y not go for euro iv instead? still looking for more than 10 year old standard kah?

paul, if euro II have 0.05 sulphur in petrol, how much does it in euro iv?

• Mayonaise (Member) on Feb 15, 2007 at 8:14 pm

OK, I see this as a good news. At the very least we're getting cleaner fuels, that also means our engine performance will have a bit more improvement and of course much better exhaust emission.

• chun (Member) on Feb 15, 2007 at 8:33 pm

Euro IV diesel has 0.025 g/km of particulate matter, six times less than the Euro II standard. My guess is that refining diesel to that level of refinement probably costs quite a bit and so will entail a significantly higher price increase, something I don't think the public will accept at this point.

It would be great if the government could provide a timeframe for progress to the higher fuel standards. Nevertheless, moving to Euro 2 is a belated and significant step to take towards a cleaner environment and I for one am happy to pay a little bit more for that.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Feb 15, 2007 at 9:34 pm

i dont tink thy wil raise petrol prices…oil prices are stil around $55…its so low…no reason to raise at all…i tell u the public outcry wil be sting to behold! ppl stil adjusting to the last petrol hike….

but its a good move generally,specially for the beter quality diesels….i bet u will see alot more companies be offering diesels here…

• tokmoh (Member) on Feb 15, 2007 at 10:34 pm

Yeah, I suppose this will give confidence for car companies to bring in the diesels. Also, perhaps the environmentalists also will stop blaming us for causing the polar ice cap to melt, the panda bears for being sexually inactive, and start thanking us for bringing back life to our planet, bringing in the rain and the Earth will smile happily once again.

If ever there's a price hike, they sure are getting smarter in giving excuses. Expect Semi Value to come out with statements like "Suddenly, the Cabinet ask to increase quality, so the cost will be higher. We hv no choice, we're doing what the Cabinet told us to do. So stop blaming me, you critics. Grow up!!"

• vexus (Member) on Feb 16, 2007 at 12:41 am

i don't think the price of petrol will increase.

The world crude oil price has drop, but ours still remain same.

new euro2 fuel is another gimstick from the govt, so they will not drop the price by saying, we are using better quality fuel.

• drM (Member) on Feb 16, 2007 at 1:21 am

why only now we do this thing? this euro compliance thing? after all, do we need this? alah..we gonna die sooner or later. I lived without euro II compliance petrol for all these good 24 years. no problem loo. mo mentai!

hahahahaah.. happy CNY people.

• cyber (Member) on Feb 16, 2007 at 5:22 am

What is the use of having cleaner fuel if most of our vehicles here are not kept in good condition especially the commercial vehicles? How many percent of our vehicles on the road today have engine comply to the standard?

My advise to the government is to spend your effort and money into making sure our vehicles engine comply and being kept in good conditions – revamp the whole Puspakom first etc…

• faizulamin (Member) on Feb 16, 2007 at 6:17 am

sh*t… this might be a good reason to remain the RM1.92/L for petrol!

so, the g will have an excuse to say NO to decrease the petrol's price! The G is sux..

• nmh (Member) on Feb 16, 2007 at 9:14 pm

gov still hold da price when the world oil price goes down recently…..so why rise it up again 4 this……greedy gov

• e-nabilll (Member) on Feb 16, 2007 at 10:51 pm

i tink telling indonesia to cut out the forest fires that occures every year is a beter way to clean the environment….and do u know that polution that comes from cars is very very small percentage compare to polution that comes out from factories …? i dont understand the media hype thats going on regarding this…even UK now thy r charging u if u drive on a congested road…rediculous

• transformer (Member) on Feb 17, 2007 at 6:32 am

Gov would start encourage diesel usage until P1 comes out with one…

or just sell P1 to VW which offers great diesel motors!

We'll just have to keep our finger crossed!

Anyway, well done Renualt for bringing Kangoo 1.5TDI for a start!

More are welcome!

• firdaus72 (Member) on Feb 18, 2007 at 4:39 am

The irony is increasing price for new fuel will indeed make the world a better place for the next generation. Unfortunately, there will not be enough money in my pocket to sustain this increase and no more good food for my children. Good air quality but poor health standard… Way to go Boleh land…