Toyota Aurion TRD – Australian Spec

toyota_aurion_trd_1.jpg

Australia is the land of kitted up mid-sized sedans. Toyota’s Aurion is basically our local Toyota Camry, and they have a TRD kit for it now. Someone enterprising should get some PU bodykits modelled after this look real soon, then we can see some really nicely done up Toyota Camrys on our local roads soon. However, they would most likely be all show and no go, unlike this Australian market Toyota Aurion TRD which features a 320hp supercharged 3.5 litre V6 under it’s hood.

Somehow the colour scheme that Toyota Australia’s TRD division chose reminds me alot of the usual Ralliart colour scheme, and Mitsubishi’s latest Lancer also carries a similiar colour scheme, so this ends up looking not very Toyota at all to me.

More photos after the jump.

toyota_aurion_trd_2.jpg

toyota_aurion_trd_3.jpg

toyota_aurion_trd_4.jpg

toyota_aurion_trd_5.jpg

toyota_aurion_trd_6.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• jtshin (Member) on Mar 04, 2007 at 2:02 am

Cool…. When will camry has a supercharged 3.5L V6??? Seems like impossible in Malaysia right..? I love Aussie models…

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 04, 2007 at 2:15 am

trying to go Vauxhall Monaro

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 04, 2007 at 3:07 am

i think R3 should sells that red piece of thing on the engine, just a sraight foward piece of technology,

• cbljkkj (Member) on Mar 04, 2007 at 4:53 am

Proton GL:

Red thing on the engine? You mean the throttle body?

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Mar 04, 2007 at 5:07 am

Hei! That red thing is the supercharger, if i not mistaken it is a twin screw supercharger. Can you see the belt attach to pulley on the red thing far left of the throttle body? TRD and TOM's usually use supercharger and not turbo, even Mugen are following them… And i think the next generation of Proton Satria GTi will be fitted with Kleeman twin screw supercharger. Hmm.. maybe is just rumour.. i also heard about turbo..

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 04, 2007 at 5:31 am

cbljkkj

supercharger,

• ingolstadt (Member) on Mar 04, 2007 at 5:35 am

320HP, FWD on some low tech drive train. (I don't remember Aurion/Camry had such high tech slip differentials or whatever) …. this will be a pig to steer around.

NONE THE LESS … I freakin love it !!!

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 04, 2007 at 5:50 am

http://www.worldcarfans.com/news.cfm/newsID/20610…

even now the simple technology moving toward 2 speed supercharger, maybe next variable ratio speed s.c., what ever ….

its nice to adop the tech availabled

……its available i mean,

• giyzmo (Member) on Mar 04, 2007 at 6:50 am

Im sure , there is a way we could bolt on the supercharger to our current camry models here in malaysia…Malaysia boleh maaaa!!! :P

• albagmane (Member) on Mar 04, 2007 at 7:36 am

nice lar… it looks juz different with those bodykits… so hope that the accord can have bodykits and upgrades from mugen too…

• cbljkkj (Member) on Mar 04, 2007 at 7:44 am

Whoops, my bad. Looked a lot like a throttle body. Didn't really look at it properly. Yeah, it kinda looks like a twin screw supercharger.

Imagine bolting on a roots-type supercharger. Those things are heavenly. 40-50% effective on higher boost levels. Mmmm boost

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 04, 2007 at 9:42 am

so much my posting, here is some more to share, of how things progress and improves,

many car maker want it for OEM,

http://cars.blogs.ca/2006/05/11/antonov-invents-w…

nite…

• Mayonaise (Member) on Mar 04, 2007 at 11:49 am

I hate Toyotas but I surprise even myself when I say, God damn! This car looks good!

• mitlanevo (Member) on Mar 04, 2007 at 6:37 pm

The new Camry is already nice enough, no need extra bodykits or custom wheels. But I like the exhaust pipes on the Aurion TRD, hehez

• topgunthang (Member) on Mar 04, 2007 at 9:29 pm

at 50k aud i think will compete against mazda 6 mps.

in flesh the camry sportivo does look better than the aurion.

• ACES (Member) on Mar 05, 2007 at 3:52 am

nice one Toyota! this camry looks gorgeous! Luv it!

• acbc (Member) on Mar 05, 2007 at 5:35 am

Nice! Unfortunately, we won't see it here… :(

• kei9 (Member) on Mar 05, 2007 at 6:30 am

cool bods !!!

• transformer (Member) on Mar 05, 2007 at 9:11 pm

COOL !

but wonder, based on its size, weight and the power from this supercharged engine… can its beat a 2.0L 4WD EVO ?

what about the new 2.0L S204 Impreza ?

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 06, 2007 at 5:07 am

nice, but won't see here at all I guess.

• acbc (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 5:41 pm

On straights, it will definately beat an Evo or Subbie because there is no replacement for displacement.

Try chasing a Cefiro 3.0L on NKVE with an Evo and u will know… first 400-500m, u can overtake easily but after that… it's hopeless.

• jazz1011 (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 8:56 pm

Real neat bodykit.

All souped up and ready to go.

Never thought I'd say this – I'm never really into Toyota's designs but this "Lady" is gorgeous – insideout.

Cheers!

• FG FPV F6 Typhoon 41 on Feb 20, 2010 at 4:01 am

its ok, i guess, howsa bout you all look at an a nice aussie bred straight 6 turbo, with more grunt than almost all other cars? f6 typhoon..

• does anybody know where i can buy that body kit? and if yes do you guys also know the price range? thanks