Toyota Corolla Super 2000 Rally Car

corolla_super2000_1.jpg

This is Toyota’s latest entry into the Super 2000 Rally, based on the new Toyota Auris, also known as the Corolla hatchbacks in other markets like Australia. The 1,133kg front wheel drive vehicle is powered by a 2.0 litre normally aspirated engine that revs up to 8,500rpm and makes 255 horsepower, which is really a pretty impressive horsepower to displacement ratio.

The new Toyota Corolla Super 2000 Rally Car will make it’s racing debut at the Rally of Canberra in June 2007, driven by Neal Bates and 2006 Australian Rally Champion Simon Evans. Two more photos after the jump.

corolla_super2000_2.jpg

corolla_super2000_3.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• kei9 (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 12:13 am

a new entry to the super 2000 rally car!! nice carbon inlays !it will not crack even though more than 200 hp …..

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 1:19 am

what is the details for on road COROLLA HATCHBACK? any one can help to explain, just want to share your opinion;-)

• ACES (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 1:40 am

Wow 2.0 NA engine for this car already produce 255 hp. Now imagine what the number will be when force induction is use.. yummy

• cbljkkj (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 2:39 am

This is probably more powerful than the VTEC engines because it produces 127.5 horsepower per liter. Wish they would install this engine in some of their road cars. Yummy.

• motherker (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 2:54 am

bro ACES,

this must already be a high compression engine, u wanna sumbat turbo somemore meh?? haha… surely have to lower the compression ratio if u wanna play turbo…

• Cire (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 3:01 am

Toyota thus have officially re-entered the Rally world. Welcome back.

As the msian would call it " the chili padi"…

• gawieong (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 5:25 am

mycar_stolen:

I'm currently in the UK, and the Auris' "best" petrol engine offered is 1.6 Dual VVT-i at 124 hp and "best" diesel engine is 2.2 D-4D at 177 hp.

With Toyota Australia now having their own TRD division, who knows what they might produce for their own flagship Auris aka Corolla hatchback.

• w_lighter (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 8:31 am

Errr…. front wheel drive rally car….?? XD

Nvr i heard before….

• KL-ATR (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 5:03 pm

Whoa… 2.0 NA pumping out 255hp is the most powerful to date, beating Ferrari and BMW for the most HP/liter! Awesome!

• acbc (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 5:28 pm

Back in the old days… majority of rally cars are RR or FR and some such as the Mini are FF.

Anyway, without AWD, it's no fun… :(

• transformer (Member) on Mar 08, 2007 at 1:05 am

i had doubt with this 2.0 NA pumping out 255hp ???

this engine must had been fully optimised for POWER rather than LONGTERM use…. just like F1 2.5L…. 800-1000hp…. RELIABILITY wise, 1 or 2 GP only…

IMHO, this engine is for RACE use only and not for everday use…

• exodust (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 12:04 am

@ KL-ATR: You forgot to mention it also beats the F20C from first gen. Honda s2000, 2.0l engine that makes 240hp. Thats a power-displacement ration of 120hp/L.

I'm glad its not street legal though, that way the s2000 still has the highest displacement-power ratio among 2.0l engines (correct me if I'm wrong)

• honda_driver (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 1:51 am

you guys cannot compare a full blown race engine to production spec engines found in the S2000, or other honda's…etc.

Proton R3 has a gen2 with a 1.6 campro N/a making 212 hp that came in 3rd in the super1600 championship 2006 in a field of 3 door civic vtecs. the only 4 door car in the competition.

also, all the other competitors in the super2000 rally category will have N/A engines making about the same hp as the corolla.

Also, toyota never left the rally world. only WRC class. neal bates has always been racing the corolla rally cars built by TRD for many years already. they also race them in the UK.

if you want another comparison, BTTC cars make 300hp from 2.0 litres N/A, including the proton waja ex-BTCC cars that won the asian ATCC.

its nothing new in the racing world. they have been doing it for decades.

• aaron_38my (Member) on Mar 13, 2007 at 5:43 am

cool sh!t!hopefully UMW will sell it and i'll be the first to book it, that is IF.