BMW M3 Concept at Geneva 2007

BMW M3 Concept 1

Here are some official press shots of the BMW M3 Concept that BMW is showcasing at the 2007 Geneva motorshow this week. It’s pretty much an evolution of the E92 Coupe design, with modified fenders to portray a more aggressive look, but I don’t really feel much for the strange bump on the bonnet.

The BMW M3 Concept is powered by the new V8 engine derived from the M5’s V10, and the same engine is set to go into the production BMW M3 as well. Gearbox will be a 6-speed manual or a new twin clutch automated manual. No official power figures have been released, but expect about 420 horsepower and more than 400Nm of torque.

Now the question that I want to ask is, will a lightly tuned BMW 335i give the BMW M3 a run for it’s money? Well, in straight lines perhaps, but the M3 will most likely have an M LSD differential, giving it the edge around the corners.

More photos after the jump, with enlarged versions available on click.

BMW M3 Concept 2

BMW M3 Concept 3

BMW M3 Concept 4

BMW M3 Concept 5

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• pkimalaysia (Member) on Mar 08, 2007 at 3:11 am

is this bmw use hybrid engine?…its look eager..

• DtG (Member) on Mar 08, 2007 at 3:22 am

sweet…

• motherker (Member) on Mar 08, 2007 at 4:35 am

whoa!! looks damn cool!

but, wat about the price tag eh?

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 08, 2007 at 4:36 am

Does it use that brake-recycle energy to harvest energy back?

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Mar 08, 2007 at 5:47 am

Hmm… what i know the M series usually dont use any hybrid system.. they are RAW POWER from the BMW engine.. u know laa Pure power not add on 1.. lol! This is what i think laa.. haha.. But i prefer BMW M6.. Cool, slick and professional look.. but anyways.. BMW are too expensive to own in boleh land.. If i am rich, better buy an evo or a subaru wrx and tune it. I can say it will be more faster then M series.. but safety i would say Europe's cars own the world especially Volvo!

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 08, 2007 at 6:17 am

rear reverse light for this M is too sweet, 4dr rear light cluster is more to my like

• jehutyz (Member) on Mar 08, 2007 at 7:48 am

WOoo nice one.

• oec88 (Member) on Mar 08, 2007 at 9:33 am

looks great!!! love this car very much…especially the front and side looking, very very nice!

• cbljkkj (Member) on Mar 08, 2007 at 11:12 am

The hood bulge kinda spoils it for me. Combine this power bulge with the M6 and it will truly look like a whale.

Then again, M would never put the bulge on purely for aesthetic purposes but for functional purposes such as accommodating the V8 high revving "beast" of an engine.

Now if you'll excuse me, I have a bulge in my pants i need to get rid of with a dose of M porn.

• Cire (Member) on Mar 08, 2007 at 4:11 pm

Nice looking, although it seems like it have just been squashed just a little, to make it looks lowered, and fatter at the edges. Kinda flair outwards.

The little hump and the air vents on the bonnet and side fenders clearly designed to distinguish it from the rest of the joneses' bimmers. I am sure its a functional design, and not asthetic make-over only.

Great for the highways, but doubt it would be a practical car for day to day usage. But ofcourse, if you have this car, you would have already another car for day to day use, right?

• honda_driver (Member) on Mar 08, 2007 at 4:45 pm

Its a bmw, not a ferrari, of course it will be great for day to day use. Even a porsche is famous for being a good daily driver for city use, and like the bmw, they are also great on the highway, and twisty country roads.

• jazz1011 (Member) on Mar 08, 2007 at 5:49 pm

Looks a bit on the "tame" side. The E46 M3 certainly looks more attractive and exhilirating.

But I could make myself fall in love with this beauty as well. Tame but definitely not boring. It kinda possess that "dual face" concept that is – in one glance it may look bland, but look at it again in a few seconds – and it looks menacing.

Love the M3 emblem though. And the 4 tailpipes always appeals to me.

Cheers!

• ckengyo (Member) on Mar 08, 2007 at 7:15 pm

still prefer the sedan head light.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Mar 08, 2007 at 8:34 pm

love the quad tailpipes, the previously posted 335i already cool this one really the ultimate driving machine.

p/s my advice for the msian owner for lower end ci's or sedan 3 series dont put m badges la. waht happen if a 318ci with all the m3 bodykit and badges…smoked by evo powered wira?

• kei9 (Member) on Mar 08, 2007 at 10:17 pm

sweeeeeeeet lookin 3 series!!!!!!!!!!!likin the new bumper n side profile.

• honda_driver (Member) on Mar 08, 2007 at 11:38 pm

for lesser 3 series owners, its not as easy as just putting on some Mbadges. There are large physical differences between the standard coupes as compared with the M3. body panel change is needed, plus rims with the right offset as the M3 has wider wheel arches.

as for m badges, they're not just reserved for M3, M5, M6..etc… standard cars with the optional M sports package also sport M badges everywhere.

• cbljkkj (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 12:05 am

The special thing about M engineered cars is that since they have been engineered using the base car from BMW, it is great for daily use.

Example the M5, 4 door and practical for the entire family most of the time but also menacing, deadly and destructive when daddy is alone in the car and rushing to work.

I once commuted in an M3 to college and work on a daily basis and it was as easy to drive as any large 4 door sedan. Difference is that it can put a smile on your face even when facing a traffic jam or when you just simply want to get naughty on the highway for a lil bit.

• narrowband (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 6:47 am

I absolutely love this. I hope the cabrio is just as good, if not better!

• ed0r (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 3:38 pm

2 thumbs up. I really like the front and side profiles, whick look agressive. The sport rims OoOooo cool! V8? well… all u need is money now lol

Nevermind i'll go back to work. Later ya'll.