Proton Saga Merdeka Promo: RM26,999

protonsaga.jpg

Proton is now selling the only brand new carburetted car in Malaysia, the Proton Saga for only RM26,999 in conjunction with Malaysia’s 50th year of independence. This is a discount from it’s normal price of RM33,239.79.

There’s also two special finance packages for this car – automatic approval for government servants via a salary deduction scheme with a RM248 per month first year monthly repayment as well as a 3.88% interest rate with extended warranty package for everyone else.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• w_lighter (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 12:52 pm

10k also i dun wan…..

• cbljkkj (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 1:49 pm

When are they going to stop milking this poor car. Its been sold for nearly 15 years. Its about time that they announced plans to retire this car. Even Perodua is announcing an EFI successor for the Kancil.

Come on Proton, you can do better than that.

• i'm run (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 2:03 pm

Is this a indication that will get a Iswara Replacement Model soon? I mean they selling the old Iswara cheap to clear the stock. Just my two cents. Or it's doesn't mean anything.

• Celicazz (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 3:20 pm

syed zainal said that, this offer is to clean up all the stocks…

maybe the replacement is coming soon…

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 3:50 pm

they made soo much money from this car that they ought to be giving it out free.. lol!

I'll have one then organise a destruction derby… tht would be awesome!

• BrakeFader (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 4:28 pm

A Proton spokesman denied that the company was selling old cars to clear its stock. "We keep on producing (the Iswara aeroback model) every year. It’s one of the most saleable cars." This is just one of the many ways Proton is employing to thank Malaysians for their strong support all these years. LOL!!!

Quote: http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/nst/Monday/Nat…

In that basis, just continue to produce it until 2020 then they can say "This is just one of the many ways Proton is celebrating Wawasan 2020".

Jokes aside, this is truly the cheapest non-compact family car money can buy in the market today. If not mistaken the only car you can get with that price tag is a Kancil 660 basic. For family who needs a bigger car but can't afford more than 30K, this would be a great time to buy.

OT: Got a friend who has a Proton Saga with a faulty gearbox, EON quote RM15K to change it. Crazy!!!! Might as well buy this RM27K full set Saga and sell the remaining parts. Still original parts mah!

• waimak (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 4:37 pm

I just dont know what is proton doing with this promo. Maybe this, maybe that, just wait and see. The car is definitely cheap though..

• joeyzizul78 (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 4:47 pm

hope the next SAGA will also have same price like this! so then, they can compete with P2!

• sarawakguy (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 4:56 pm

Make below 20K laa… then more ppl will be interested to have one….anyway,..this model already "veteran" maa…

• Joseph Choo (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 4:57 pm

true that its an old car and proton is milking it to the last drop.

well, after all.. it been the best car product ever by a manufacturer. The longest life cycle for a car model in Malaysia and still making profit.. hehe.

anyway.. the price really attractive. it will be great for lower income group to get a small sedan. At least proton is willing to drop the price and clear its old stock while still benefit some people rather then discount a little and try to clear the stock using the usual practice.

• antaras (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 5:09 pm

It's expensive right? I mean how often you see a 20+ year old car with that price tag?

• kendo (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 5:13 pm

buang LONGKANG!

this should be price for MYvi!!!!!!!!!

• oversight (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 5:20 pm

A Proton spokesman denied that the company was selling old cars to clear its stock. “We keep on producing (the Iswara aeroback model) every year. It’s one of the most saleable cars.” This is just one of the many ways Proton is employing to thank Malaysians for their strong support all these years.

————————————————————–

this shows proton don't have no shame selling a junk. as long people buy it, they don't even think to improve it or make a new design. pity to most of malaysian and me to accept this car that still exist in this malaysian soil.

• Infinitt (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 5:20 pm

Yes, Myvi price should be like this haha..

• acbc (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 5:23 pm

Bah… not only Proton is doing this… even VW does for old Beetle and Golf Mark I but in the latter's case, they updated the specs.

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 5:35 pm

MILO TIN CAR…

• Mayonaise (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 5:40 pm

Ah… "The car that vibrates like an earthquake." This was quoted by a Lowyat Forum member not too long ago. LOL

• Dogster (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 5:40 pm

Waste time and money advertising this crap.

• kody (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 5:43 pm

wahlaueh…

I think at least the interior have total changes as compare to old saga…

Performance… okay lah for 1300cc with 4-1 ekzos configuration… comfort will be hand down.

truely MILO tin car. This should be the actual price all the while.

• jazz1011 (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 6:03 pm

Proton can really do better than just the price reduction.

It's truly pathetic marketing.

When is Proton going to really reach out and explore? Come on Proton, we want to support you but you're not giving us anything worth supporting.

• oversight (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 6:14 pm

acbc said,

Bah… not only Proton is doing this… even VW does for old Beetle and Golf Mark I but in the latter’s case, they updated the specs.

————————————————————

they do it on iconic car, that proven as the car to most of people and people want it. is not like proton selling the saga to malaysian because it's cheap and people don't have a choice. totally different situation.if most of us have a lot of choice; to have a glance to this car is zero.

• motberg (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 6:30 pm

congrats Proton!! u r da only car maker in the world with such thick skin! selling an outdated model for da past 20+ years… maybe in the spirit of 'Malaysia Boleh' they r going for world record. but i got to hand it to proton for being able to sell the Saga for so many years. how do they do it?? maybe Discovery Channel should make a documentary on this. title – The Great Malaysian Con Job, how to sell outdated cars to the rakyat and still be proud of it… sigh

• bobtahar (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 6:33 pm

think twice to buy kancil now??? I got many teacher friend bought this car… if student scratch it… hati not so pedih…

• 8918 (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 6:42 pm

Good move by proton,it's relatively a bargain for people(especially first time car buyer)to own their very first car.

But it upset previous customer's,people who bought it couple of months earlier feel cheated-making them think twice to purchase a proton car next time.

You(proton) can never play around your car with prices(what will customer feel if he/she bought a v6 perdana at more than Rm100k and now at a only Rm75k+(correct me if i'm wrong) few months later?and now came the proton saga senario,not to mentioned the ever changing facelift of waja,people do not want their waja to look like an outdated car every 3-6mths because of the new facelift).

It's the time to look indepth of your marketing department,look at what Toyota,Honda,Naza play around with the promotions as a guidiance,do not alter your prices…..very sensitive issue for car buyers.

• jtshin (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 6:47 pm

for this price, i'll consider if comparing with Kancil. Got lots more space with Kancil Price. Locals just don't care about the look of the car. Price matters, and space for the price they pay, as those who buy this model usually are older ppl with family and lack of money to get a better one… Many ppl in M'sia can't afford to buy better cars thanks to the super high duty and tax. so, they rather get this model, making it the most saleable car of Proton…

• Hikaru (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 6:58 pm

I have to agree with the other to say that the price is indeed low enough for it to be a viable option for low-income group to own a car. However, having sat in one which my friend paid the previous full price for, the quality of the car is still woefully short of modern standard. In fact one would be hard pressed to find any hint of modern technology in the car, save for a few cosmetic changes. Really a poor show.

Then again from the economic point of view, the return period being so long actually might help proton to going further in to the red. Doesn't help image but maybe biting the bullet and make some economic sense doesn't seem that stupid after all.

Another repercussion is the hit on the already frail 2nd hand car market. 1st hand owner would have their wallets pinched on this discount.

You can't compare the VW golf because it is inherently a good car that spawned the iconic GTI. Heck, people still don't mind have those golf even if it is not modern by any standards. It's dynamics is good enough. I only hope that this is a run to the finish line for proton iswara. Time for it to rest in peace

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 7:07 pm

Sure its old. Sure it sounds like a tin can when you shut the door.

But there is nothign really inherently wrong with a carb other than slightly more thirsty…

Its a simple, easy to maintain engine.

Now, for people that can only afford a 27K car, which would you drive, a EFI Kancil or a Carb equipped Saga?

Its still good "value" relatively speaking no matter how you slice it.

If you can only pay 27k for a car, you are not going to expect lexus like quality….

• transformer (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 7:34 pm

I think the real selling price should be even lower than this(Rm27K) !

After many years of facelifting…. All initial development investment already been recovered many-many years ago but now they still tag it at Rm30K+ but offering merdeka promotion ka?

Car its an investment not a groceries from supermarket where the price is tagged high and promote "SALES" or "GREAT SALES"!!!

ha ha ha… SILLY!

• khimfoh (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 7:43 pm

At 27K OTR, it would be an attractive option for the lower income group. Sure its a very old technology vehicle, but as long it is able to take you from point A to B, its good enough. You'd be surprise that people still want a simple car to drive and maintain.

• pirate (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 7:57 pm

Paul,

Can you really buy it for RM27k cash or maybe take your own financing/loan?

Or must you take the rip-off 3.88% interest rate car loan from Proton's panel of banks or take up the govt servant scheme (if you are one)?

I think these are the two fine prints terms and conditions for 'selling' this classic model to the public at RM26,999…

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 8:02 pm

Hehehe………..ICONIC dude………..

Reminds me of Ambassador in India, Paykan in Iran and London Cab in the UK……………Kah kah kah………..

the SAGA continues……….jeng jeng jeng……….Luke, i am your fatherrrrrr………

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 8:07 pm

Proton is now selling the only brand new carburetted car in Malaysia, the Proton Saga for only RM26,999 in conjunction with Malaysia’s 50th year of independence.

—————

In conjunction with clear old stock for stone age model lah…………………

• ACES (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 8:08 pm

proton sure know how to squeeze money 4rm rakyat. But hey ultimately its our desicion to buy the car or not and either make proton benefit 4rm this or doom. Still if this the cheapest car on our soil, what other choise rakyat have?

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 8:14 pm

its milo i agree, but id rather drive this milo than a kancil ,

• volvolover (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 8:51 pm

I don't understand what is all this fuss about. It's one of the best car around. It is an extreme car with extreme performance which in return will give you extreme enjoyment :p Don't believe?

http://tinyurl.com/45dou

• e-nabilll (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 9:04 pm

u r NOT forced to buy this car , nobody comes to ur house with a bazooka pointing at ur sorry head saying if u dont buy we will shred ur head to pieces , its an offer , if u tink it makes sence , thn go ahead,if not thn dont buy , u cant blame proton for stil producing it , as long as there r buyers thn y not make it n profit from it??

i dont see anyting wrong,i tink its a good price,giving a chance to not so well off ppl to own a car,n mayebe make ppl buy this car instead of buying bikes….besides , mainting this car should be very cheap n affordable,soneone said beter drive this car than a kancil , OH HELL YA!

• volvolover (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 9:19 pm

To:e-nabilll

They are indirectly putiting a gun on your head by the AP Kings on foreign car, high excise duty and that's how proton is cheap which is not cheap. It is cheap compared to foreign car which have a high tax so they can price it out of range and still considered "cheap"

• WnL (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 9:24 pm

This crap will cause more ppl die on the road.. so pity..

• WnL (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 9:26 pm

This junk will cause more ppl die on the road .. so pity..

• antaras (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 9:31 pm

it is a good price! Of coz it's good price! coz it's cheaper then the rest. Well, you want cheaper? then you should get yourself a bike. heck.. why not put the taxes on every other damn thing that run with a motor sky high? Then everyone will think a mountain bike is the best thing!

• kei9 (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 10:23 pm

they should make a new version of the current saga…its been like that for 15 years!

• BrakeFader (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 10:34 pm

The biggest impact after this surely would be the 2nd hand value of Proton cars. Those who bought 1-2 years ago can forget about changing cars unless they are prepared to make a loss in value due to this.

I wonder if this offer would put a dent into Kancil sales. We'll just wait and see.

• Infinitt (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 10:43 pm

Ppls wont die cause of the car lah..all depend on your driving style n driver behaviour.at least this car is better than own a motorcycle or kancil when going to compare of the safety. anyway I think its really a good price for some ppls to have a really own car, 2nd car or ''LANYAK car for bussines purpose"".. I' m sure also ppls here like to buy it he3.come on la even it is a tin milo !

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 10:44 pm

first never compare PROTON WITH OTHER MAKES, (ESPECIALLY vw), proton is not a car, just some over priced metal with wheels together with thousands of problem. this 27k price tag is still expensive this car actually no value. no respect anybody who have diginty will dent their reputation driving this car.

Proton people bloodsucker

• oversight (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 11:08 pm

mycar_stolen said,

first never compare PROTON WITH OTHER MAKES, (ESPECIALLY vw), proton is not a car, just some over priced metal with wheels together with thousands of problem. this 27k price tag is still expensive this car actually no value. no respect anybody who have diginty will dent their reputation driving this car.

—————————————————————-

Proton is not a car? that's a harsh statement, bro.but i like it. will hurt proton owner so much.LOL

• aesthari (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 11:27 pm

Ahaha, right, 27k, free i also don want ler, another of Proton's tricks to get rid of (old) stock. And what about people who bought the car just before the price cut? They're probably feeling shortchanged and murderous now, about the same when the Volvos' prices dropped 50k overnight. Well, but gotta say it does beat riding a bike or driving a Kancil, you do get more space and slightly more safety.

• aesthari (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 11:28 pm

P.S., Kancil's not bad, just that for 30k now, the Saga's a better deal.

• longjaafar (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 11:37 pm

When the stocks of tha Saga is finisihed, I hope they continue with the "Saga" name because they already have thousands of loyal users who would not mind changing to a new Saga. That's how other people build their brands. In the case of the Saga, they could not scrap the moulds and jigs because they have not recovered their investment in the Saga. So they plodded on, and had to introduce other brands such as Waja, Gen 2 , etc. whilst still churning out outdated Sagas by the thousands on parellel lines.

True to it's name, the Saga has become the true saga of our national car industry, which has turned out to be Tun Mahathir's biggest blunder, in trying to fast track Malaysia's entry into the industrialised country status. Looking back, I'm sure he realises that he has made a mistake, and we Malaysians have lost out to Thailand, whose govt did not have to spend a bhat, and yet the are producing more than 1 million vehicles a year, half of which are exported.

LJ

• drebar (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 11:39 pm

Proton Saga. Hahaha…

I was 4 years old when Proton Saga first hit the market… i'm 26 now. hahahahhahahahahahahah….

• drebar (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 11:40 pm

just check out how Honda Accord has changed in a period of 20 years..

compare to how Proton Saga has changed in the period of 20 years..

lol… why ppl can improve so much, but Proton like that? must be the ppl's attitude…

• familyman (Member) on Mar 08, 2007 at 12:01 am

#

volvolover said,

March 7, 2007 @ 12:51 pm

I don’t understand what is all this fuss about. It’s one of the best car around. It is an extreme car with extreme performance which in return will give you extreme enjoyment :p Don’t believe?

————————————————————–

thanks for the link.. a real cracker hehehe

read : POWER WISE – 83hp overpowers the competition

muhahahahaahahahahah so funny!

• stewpid (Member) on Mar 08, 2007 at 12:13 am

27k arr? what a fuch? anybody know what the new price of the lated proton saga on year 1985? not more than 20k rite?

• ben_g_khorkhor (Member) on Mar 08, 2007 at 12:31 am

Come to think of it,P1 can still make a profit even with this promo. goes to show they have made a huge fat belly for the past 15yrs or so n this is only one model.In return ,we get quality defected units.

From my understanding, P1 is moving towards eliminating its 1300cc line of cars n most likely future Saga's would have Campro's in them.

If the metal thickness still remains, with a Campro sure makes the Saga power WISE.

Malaysia Lu Memang Paling Boleh Lah!

• p_nut (Member) on Mar 08, 2007 at 1:42 am

It's just amazing that a 20 year old car is still Proton's best seller. That tells you enough about the "newer" efforts of late. Shameless.

• albagmane (Member) on Mar 08, 2007 at 2:02 am

maybe proton needs to clear as many stocks as possible before they close down…

• kruzer (Member) on Mar 08, 2007 at 2:39 am

This price is not cheap. It may be cheap if compared to current market situation, but think of this:

1984 – 1st Proton, Saga introduce. Priced at about RM17k

2007 – 1st model Proton, Saga, introduced as Merdeka SE. Priced at RM27k.

The only difference I see from above is the year, and the price. Moral of the story? If you continue to sell the same thing for 23 years, you can jack up the price and make fatter profits!

• offroader manix (Member) on Mar 08, 2007 at 2:58 am

This offer will goes down well with first time buyer who didn't have the budget but wanted a car just to make from point A to B

• cutelittlekelisa (Member) on Mar 08, 2007 at 3:18 am

waaaa… dun lar… this car older than me =.=""

NATIONAL FAILURE

• pkimalaysia (Member) on Mar 08, 2007 at 3:20 am

50th year we achieved merdeka…and p1 still selling this low entry car..camonla p1..you said u want to appriciate malaysian but u r selling junk moving thing..is this the sign of proton is going down..my friend from japan felt funny and suprised when he came to malaysia n still see this car on the road..and still sold by proton…

• ICER (Member) on Mar 08, 2007 at 3:40 am

Proton Saga…

RM26,999 … a lot low quality parts inside…

Not RM35k also bad quality…. I scare the RM26k only 4 wheel can move other…

• volvolover (Member) on Mar 08, 2007 at 4:16 am

familyman: The reason they say extreme machine for extreme enjoyment is because they think we are all small kids that will believe their cartoon story. Fact is they are more stupid because they think people will believe the nonsense. I can't imagine the webpage designer will accept the cash to type in those words. It's utter embarassement to say I type in those words when you know it's not true.

• BrakeFader (Member) on Mar 08, 2007 at 4:31 am

kruzer: Yeah funny how price went up for the same thing. It's all because our money back in 1987 worth more than it is in 2007. Try comparing the price of teh tarik back then and now.

But I would say their move is a desperate one to clear all the Sagas. What else could they do? Maybe can set up a poll, how many people believes that this classic Lancer based Saga will still be at our showrooms in 2010.

*Hmm.. Proton related topics always draw huge comments

• BrakeFader (Member) on Mar 08, 2007 at 4:33 am

*Forgot to add that Proton Saga back then had a much solid feeling when closing the doors. Interior wise the plastic/rubber dash has that fake rubber texture for a premium feel. Maybe its due to Proton Sagas we're still Lancer CKD with parts coming directly from Mitsubishi Japan. Now all protons feel like cheap flat feeling plastics on the dash. All hail to our local vendors!

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 08, 2007 at 4:48 am

Don't buy this car, worse. The AC is crap. All I met bought this car say it was the worst decision ever.

The AC changes with outside weather, and even though you turn it off completely, air still manages to come out of the AC. And even worse when you travelling behind a bus, smoke and hot air enters. The air is not cold at all. The dashboard light s blue. No glove box.

• layman (Member) on Mar 08, 2007 at 6:58 am

At 27k, will choose this Saga over Kancil.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 08, 2007 at 7:37 am

At 27 k, I will waite till post AFTA or 2010 so that I can buy 2 Chery QQ!

Log on below see how many models we can purchase with this kind of money.

http://www.customs.gov.my/html/cbu2006warta.htm

So, don't "eat into" P1 crap advert for stone age Milo tin on the road!

• apek (Member) on Mar 08, 2007 at 7:46 am

Was at showroom today. Really crap car…. It's so embarassing to drive this crap car.

• cyborgx (Member) on Mar 08, 2007 at 7:58 am

Worse of all, this shitty Proton's MD say "Thanks for all Malaysians support for years and decided to offer this promotion."

Extremely pathetic excuse to clear old metal junks.

Infact, even if they are selling at RM16k, they still gain profit from it.

Pttuii.. Proton. Nama sebusuk ni, orang nak beli ke? tutup la kedai jer.

• pkimalaysia (Member) on Mar 08, 2007 at 8:56 am

hahaha..really funny..yes it is true that people from low income family coul buy this car..but i think this car will give another bad luck to those who buy it..no abs,no airbag..safety is worst..totally rubbish!…dei proton, we are indepence for 50 years…camonla proton..nak meniage buatla care betul2 nak meniage..kalau main2 baik tutup kedai je!!! buang mase,buang duit! tula..main politik banyak sangat!!! BODOH!!!!

• pkimalaysia (Member) on Mar 08, 2007 at 9:05 am

even the tiger in proton's logo is yawning..hahaha..the sleepy tiger…go 'sleep' foreverla proton..

• nizam80 (Member) on Mar 08, 2007 at 9:16 am

mycar_stolen said,

"first never compare PROTON WITH OTHER MAKES, (ESPECIALLY vw), proton is not a car, just some over priced metal with wheels together with thousands of problem."

Huh?? Proton is not a car?? Then, what am i driving rite now? Metal body with 4 alloy wheels?

• nizam80 (Member) on Mar 08, 2007 at 9:33 am

oklah, i dont mean to be harsh on Proton. But, fact is, no matter how many hat trick of losses they make, they will never roll that tikar.

Ok, back to the SAGA. At RM27K, good buy for those who seek other alternatives for Kancil. To me, this car is legendary.

But, fact is, the year is already 2007. I hope, they manage to clear the old stock for this car, and REALLY hope that they will NEVER produce it again. Replacement is ok.

• gigganet (Member) on Mar 08, 2007 at 12:18 pm

if i remember correctly, first batch price is about 15k, but it was a 1.5l engine. i don't remember it having a 1.3l engine then…

anybody can confirm?

• stewpid (Member) on Mar 08, 2007 at 4:05 pm

heheh.. the first batch the Orion engine was 1.3 lar… the car was CKD, most part originally from japan.. feel premium quality inside and managed to sell below 20k

• zanggief (Member) on Mar 08, 2007 at 9:22 pm

Waa…. this model almost same old like me as a 1984 born manlah…..

If having 'lelong' also hard to clean up the stock….

Hopefully good luck for our PROTON…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 08, 2007 at 9:28 pm

volvolover said,

I don’t understand what is all this fuss about. It’s one of the best car around. It is an extreme car with extreme performance which in return will give you extreme enjoyment :p Don’t believe?

———

OK friend, let you understand, "it is an extreme killing machine with extreme dangerous which in return will give you extreme dangerous to your life inside Milo tin on the wheel!

Nizam80 said,

"Huh?? Proton is not a car?? Then, what am i driving rite now? Metal body with 4 alloy wheels?"

———–

Proton Iswara is not a car but an extermely dangerous killing machine! Poor man car that make life cheap for those who drive it! I used sedan for 7 year and for that period, Imy life always "perilous" when drive on th road! I am extremely very care drive a low speed and thank god, I still safe for that duration …….

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 08, 2007 at 9:32 pm

stewpid said,

March 8, 2007 @ 8:05 am

heheh.. the first batch the Orion engine was 1.3 lar… the car was CKD, most part originally from japan.. feel premium quality inside and managed to sell below 20k

————

To add more, the bumper also metal hard like volvo, the handle hardly broke unless due to wear and tear, good aircond, decent built in its time (computer still 286 with 5 MB capacity). Look at today computer with due core processor and and up to 240 GB capacity! Phew, luckily we don't have national make computer!!!!!!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 08, 2007 at 9:35 pm

Last time many Protonian post comment saying MD SZ need time to shape up P1, now what happen. P1 survival shall encompass good quality with latest model at competitive price, and of course able to penetrate export market. However, until this minute, still offer "discount" on stone age model. Another uncle perdana car also offer at RM 85K for clear stock for 2005 model, pathetic!

• neo6768 (Member) on Mar 08, 2007 at 10:03 pm

I rather drive Kancil rather than buying this piece of junk!

First of all, Saga drinks petrol like water, engine remains 20 years ago.

Second, all parts start to fall after 2 years. Then, replacment is costly. E.g. Saga is "famous" for its easily spoilt power window, if there is any power window at all.

Third, it makes no differences when Kancil or Saga crashes in an accident. The driving attitude determines the seriousness or fatality of the driver, not the car itself! At 110km/h, both cars crashes like paper! You will see local cars always speed on highway but does anyone think about it when it crash?

4th, by the time you pay off your finance, Saga is like a big piece of metal forcing itself to move around. Because Proton offers 9 years of car loan!

and finally, finger-crossed, Kancil is coming up with replacement mode with EFI and yet Saga only reminds of our "Malaysia Boleh" stone age first national car ever built! (Sigh, I am sad Saga still running around when I am driving day in day out, it feels like I am still in 1985!)

• labuan_world (Member) on Mar 08, 2007 at 11:29 pm

to me ,this is good option for many malaysians……for those who had experience living in remote area…….you will know which one is better……to prefer a brand or to get moving…..

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Mar 08, 2007 at 11:35 pm

PROTON is the Oldman failed plan, why do people prefer to invest in car industry in Thailand not in Malaysia. Thai doesnt have thier own make…Msia have 2, also Naza lah, Inokom lah…

saga that sells 38.5k is already troublesome, this rakyat promotion is gonna be your worst decision.

PEOPLE MAKE MISTAKE, EVERYBODY MAKE MISTAKE BUT YOU CANT AFFORD MAKING MISTAKE BUYING NEW PROTON.

27k can buy lots of other makes with gfs will be single if you buy this car and try to date your girl, married better not…take concern for your kid and wife.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 12:42 am

TOGETHER WE BUILT A BETTER FUTURE FOR MALAYSIA

STOP THE BUYING, STOP THE SUCKING!

• nuajon (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 1:41 am

cheap2 more jammed la kl and malaysia after dpt lesen dah bought this proton car….!!!

• Xoomie (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 2:23 am

So now we have 2 Proton models on huge sales!

Perdana V6 – $20k discount

• xXx (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 6:53 am

The car that they should have stopped selling 10 years ago. Continued success of sales was largely due to a combination of shrewed markeking, stupid public and shamelessly supportive government.

• h2o (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 8:44 am

I have a suggestion…

Why not Proton come out a great deal with PLUS and Petronas, with every Proton's buyer will have lifetime offer for 10% discount on Plus Tol and 10% discount on Petronas petrol pump ?

Well, I strongly believe, this will be the BEST promotion for everyone, even for Proton, Plus, Petronas and M'sian citizen. Coz…

For Proton, for sure, it will bring up the attraction for buying their car, with a great discount offering. (Even for the old car la, 20 years car la, or Milo tin car la, bla bla bla….)

For Plus, it will encourage more and more ppl to use the "payable" highway, even for short distance. And can prove that Plus is not always only know to do the price increasing, but also know to thank for M'sian with come out some offering in significance.

For Petronas, no doubt, sales will getting up and up soonest, with no need scratching hard the head to think out any promotion, loyaty card offer or others discount to increase their business.

For M'sian citizen, this is a good time and chance to let' show we are the patriot!

To support only M'sia's product, and proud to yell "M'sia Boleh !"

Basically, each of them above can come out some more practical idea to push up their image and business. Especially, appreciating to M'sian; as the local enterpriser, with business group running globally. To show how you can get the local support comprehensively is vital before you can get respect from others.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 5:15 pm

h2o talk thrash! Why don't suggest Buy one get one free for this junk metal!

Discount up to 70% for mega sales stock clearance.

Or more realistically, better ask P1 discontinue produce this crap Milo Tin on the Wheel!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 5:24 pm

h2o

"For M’sian citizen, this is a good time and chance to let’ show we are the patriot!"

1. For a true Malaysian patriot, P1 should have high intergrity and transparency buy stop producing this crap killing machine that endenger car owner and other road user.

2. P1 should have Corporate Social responsibility toward rakyat by not provide product that is low quality junk at this price (RM 27K).

3. Since it is tax payer money, P1 have to show that it is patriotic by export it car and eran foreing currency to enrich Bolehland. But not suck RM from poor rakyat.

4. P1 like many G institution, should be protect rakyat just like Angkatan Tentera Malaysia rather than asking rakyat to protect it under NAP captive market.

5. P1 not show they are jaguh kampung by bully consumer under NAP, but should show they are world class by conquer the market. Chery from China form in 1997 (less than half of P1 lifetime) but already able to export car to our country and other.

6. P1 should come out with new model yet competitvely price and offer the best to rakyat.

The list is not exhaustive and if want to put in every details. Then may have to write a book "60 alasan kenapa P1 tidak boleh menjadi kereta nasional Malaysia yang berjaya"!

• 8918 (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 6:58 pm

Does this saga come with Proton 7 years warranty?

People who already bought it or intend to do so please keep on going back to their service center to claim your warranty,it's your right to claim!

It's their mistake to offer 7 years warranty.

Make them pay for it!

Hahaha………..maybe you get to know couple of service guy as a friend from your frequent visit.

• h2o (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 7:34 pm

Ya.

Agree with your points, Joe !

P1 should do self-reflection totally !

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 10:24 pm

Hahaha………..maybe you get to know couple of service guy as a friend from your frequent visit.

or just marry one, 7 years marriage is long enough for m'sian std but still the repayment period is longer (10 years).

(joke only)

the right promotion is the buyer is paid by Proton for the Saga to help them clear the stocks and do something public branding for them.

proton should pay compensation for proton willing drivers, exmaple 30k.

10k for willing to drive the crap 1.3 liter carburetted non power steering joints metal with small wheels without safety and losing dignity,pride,honour and devalue all education levels as the saga is no respect, chick runaway, and not a car.

another 10k for your funeral or the other user funeral as it is no safety upgrade at all after 20 years, even those the traffic draw massive increments, in the new millineum where all driver are paul walker wannabe this car is not safe.

another 10 k for the salesman tp play around with claiming that they can give you free tinted,accessories as actually he/she cutting down from your own discount. this is normal for proton dealer. beware of proton dealer they gonna make your suffer your life until you die and also happy family broken, gf and bf broke up and also grandfather most loved grandchildren died in accident definitely because the proton safety failed.

(seroius one)

eh easy to say dont buy la, there are lots of other carkancil too smal then buy myvi if slightly costly think deeply that the crap proton saga will squeeze you dry on second hand price, time taht you spend at the service center,time when you open door to pay toll and time is serious factor nobody can buy time.

i've experience driving a proton and it is the worst day of my life, same with joe ooi we just want you gusy to avoid the same experience we 've gone thru.

because of proton we cant get our dream car at the right price, while sporean , thaifilipinos, indons happily with their car worldwide approved make.

nizam80 you get the picture, i can help you to get rid off your proton…and to other make not new proton :-)

• 8918 (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 11:33 pm

It's 5 years warranty or 175kkm not 7 years.

• topgunthang (Member) on Mar 10, 2007 at 6:29 am

its unbeleivable the trash they put out to sell to our own country. it shows that proton is going downhill. and if people were to buy this car, the country is going downhill as well.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 10, 2007 at 9:42 am

P1 expected to suck the rakyat until they go to grave! See who go to grave first!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 10, 2007 at 8:41 pm

mycar_stolen, well said …….

• motberg (Member) on Mar 12, 2007 at 7:43 pm

the saddest truth about this promotion is that Proton will still continue to sell the outdated Saga for many more years to come… never mind all the criticism we throw at proton, they will sell as long as people buy. and i believe most people buy proton due to the price factor. that's the sad truth. if i could afford a Lancer, would I buy a Wira? the equation just doesn't add up. i agree the whole situation is really f****d but the only solution is an en masse boycott of proton cars. drop their sales to zero. then perhaps maybe the top management will realise that you can fool most of the people most of the time but you can't fool all the people all the time! come on Malaysians, unite and STOP buying proton until they fix the mess they created in the first place!! to borrow a phrase from the WWF, "when the buying stops, the 'killing' will stop too".

• andylzc (Member) on Mar 18, 2007 at 9:45 pm

I believe tis Promotion car value is not worth for the car.. Even foreign worker such as korean also complain that with the price of the car, they can get better quality car in their country.. Even AFTA is implemented, but the price increase.. Damn funny. PROTON please la, don't waste Malaysian taxpayers money without making improvement.

We Malaysian can afford to buy foreign quality cars if Malaysia government didn't increase the tax for the imported cars.. So, PROTON please bear in mind la that your end product cars actually were much more expensive with imported cars…. Nothing to be proud with the promotion price RM26,999….

Come on, i want to support proton but i am too dissapointed. Wat does Proton R&D achieve so far? Still launching tis old crap Proton SAGA with many problems ? Please la PROTON, don't use Malaysian citizen as your tester la…

I have spends a lots of money to repair this crap PROTON car.Even though the price look cheap but very often need to repair the car cause very often have this problem that problem… You think very funny ya?

Please la, improve the car performance and gain your name throughtout the world.PROTON should survey and observe why PERODUA can exceed them. It is shame to know that PROTON have been in Malaysia market longer than PERODUA but was overtake by PERODUA.

WAKE UP la PROTON!!!!! Sign a partnership with successful foreign carmaker which was what PERODUA doing by signing a Partnership with TOYOTA to transfer their high quality R&D skills to improve the performance of PROTON cars !!!!!!!!!!!!!.. Offer foreign carmaker 51% of PROTON share la. If not i suggest PROTON to gulung tikar better la……. Wat for producing failure cars and waste Malaysian taxpayers.. XD

• andylzc (Member) on Mar 19, 2007 at 1:42 am

Proton Saga RM26,999.. For me i believe it is not worth the price… What i expect is the price should be lower RM 20K. Even i heard a korean said with the price he can buy a better quality car at their country. Even though now it is the cheapest car, but PROTON cars often got problems 1.. I spends a lots money to repair already. DAMN.. SICK OF PROTON

Come on PROTON have been operating for so long and we din see any improvement in performance and quality.. Always have defect with the cars that PROTON build.. And PROTON always use customer to be the tester for their crap cars…

I don understand why government never reduce the price after implement AFTA instead increase the price of imported car…. If the price of imported cars reduce, Malaysian would afford to buy imported cars because the price of imported cars will be cheaper than proton cars… Sad la… If not i can drive imported car….

Come PROTON, wake up la.. See PERODUA so successful because they sign a partnership with foreign carmaker.. Just let go the big 51% share to Volkwagen and bring back PROTON name to make MALAYSIA proud !!!!!!

PROTON is a failure to MALAYSIA le.. I suggest Gulung Tikar la.. Waste Malaysian taxpayers money only.. LOL XD

• buggygil (Member) on Mar 20, 2007 at 1:14 am

What? That price for a car? Well, you may get wat you pay.

• buggygil (Member) on Mar 20, 2007 at 1:33 am

What? That price for a car? Well, you may get wat you pay. See what you get for a Kancil

• TESko (Member) on Mar 20, 2007 at 7:54 am

:(

• greenny (Member) on Mar 20, 2007 at 8:07 pm

hey malaysia come on la,,,,,,,,,,,pls be supportive ok……when they do promotions u all say like this but wen no promotions u all nak mengutuk pulak………..

• dienor-90 (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 5:59 am

hello proton, congratulation for your new merdeka saga edition.

dont care what other people says, but i can afford a brandnew (?) car as well, in case of my income !! compare to sang kancil, it is much,much more reasonable..

malaysia boleh.

if u dont want to buy one, so leave proton alone !!

• dienor-90 (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 8:21 am

actually, i'm a iswara owner since 1997, there's nothing to be ashamed of, at that time it cost me RM40250.00 and it is only 1.3S model, see, how much cheaper it is now !! and as you notice, I'm still allive and in a good shape, with a wife and four kids, so.. what else do you expect from your +- RM27000.00 !!

so please be a reasonable malaysian citizen, guys !!!

• mexla2power (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 1:52 am

Believe it or not!……Proton already selling this car more than 20,000 unit over 3 months.

Accually Proton 'kacau' market Perodua before their launching a Viva, so Proton aready captured 20 over thousand customer,think again!!

Even Viva tag more than Saga price!!,

Yo Malaysian ur the buyers,you make your own choice!!

• No Name on Jul 13, 2009 at 4:31 am

who say it is a poor car… the people who that is a poor their are very stupid……

this car is very nice….

• Affiq_Tawau on Feb 24, 2010 at 11:52 pm

ya who said this car is poor?? they are totally wrong.. this car is very nice.. with it perfomance.. i pay for what i using fit for.. with a little touch, this car is powerfull.

• bahar on Jun 06, 2010 at 11:59 am

I don’t mind what people say about this car, but I am the proud owner of it..
    Doing 15 cents per km, with low maintenance cost..
    What else does a simple person need…?

• hi
    do you have any promotion at the moment?
    please reply