Honda CrossRoad launched in Japan

While we’re still fresh from the introduction of the new 3rd generation 2007 Honda CR-V, let’s have a look at another Honda SUV, a JDM model called the Honda CrossRoad. The name CrossRoad has not been used by Honda since a long time ago, when it was selling rebadged Land Rover Discoveries. Even the first generation CR-V ended up looking like a Land Rover if you pay enough attention.

Unlike the Honda CR-V which comes with all-wheel drive as standard, the Honda CrossRoad comes default with a front wheel drive transmission, with all-wheel drive as an add-on option. Engine options are both 1.8 and 2.0 litre motors from the single cam R-series. Despite seemingly being specced lower than the Honda CR-V, this SUV features three rows of seats – 7 seats, unlike the CR-V which is a 5-seater. However, using the CrossRoad’s third row of seats pretty much leaves zero boot space for you to carry stuff, so you have to pick one – stuff or people.

The Honda CrossRoad might go on to replace the current Honda Element in the US, as it shares similiar cues. Right now it looks like the offspring of a Honda Element and a Scion xB anyway.

Lots more photos and videos after the jump.

Video: Honda CrossRoad 1

Video: Honda CrossRoad 2

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 9:49 am

Yahoo… I think i am no1 here.. LoL. but i think i hate this design.. too boxy.. but it will look more spacious inside. Well i am impress of the air bags they implant in the car.. even a Suv like this is almost 8 air bag's inside?!? Omg.. This is cheaper then the Crv and i can see that the dash board is little bit low tech compare to it. but anywayz i saw a few on roads the old version. And actually the new 4×4 suv by honda mostly are cooperate with land rover.

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 10:09 am

looks too japanese, ultraman loves it,

• oec88 (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 10:23 am

this car can become VIP style, install a 21' rims and bla bla bla…VIP VIP VIP!

• normal_user (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 4:00 pm

Interior is a bit smaller than the CRV tho… But the exterior design is oh-so-1990s.

• carisacar (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 4:33 pm

Butt ugly car! They shd've launched this before the CR-V cuz this is like a step backwards – regression. C'mon Honda, you can do better!

• ACES (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 5:13 pm

hey i think this is quite nice! This could asia very own hummer! Haha just pimp this baby out!

• drebar (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 5:18 pm

superbly nice car. very simple and clean design, but i still dislike the Civic-type of steering. and if it's coming to malaysia and really priced lower than CR-V, at least i know i might have a chance to own one! since the hummer is too pricey and out-of-reach, this isn't a bad choice at all.

definitely agree that they can do better with the rear design. but it's not too ugly isn't it. ;)

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 5:34 pm

honda new tagline, butt ugly cars…

this car, accord…crv also.. :-)

too japanese or too hummer wannabee,

how about the engine single cam ?

but if it will be on bolehland market, airbags only 2, and still be a hit..b'coz msian honda one sure good…since local make very low or unexisting benchmark.

• Mayonaise (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 5:48 pm

I actually like this car… It looks rugged and the design of the windows are just cool…

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 5:57 pm

I think this car is designed for US market. I don't think it sells well in Europe and Asia markets. But overall, it's quite an attractive car..

• bugbear (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 6:16 pm

cool! i luv d design… maybe this is d car for us, youngster.. ;)

• engtaokia (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 7:28 pm

i nearly mistake this as Honda HRV at first glance :D

• ckengyo (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 7:36 pm

look like XL size nissan cube.

• zanggief (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 8:05 pm

it looks like the hummer- H2 in honda style…

it has more offroader feel…

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 8:07 pm

not bad actuall, just redesign grille and wheels might gives some attitude,

or lets see how mugen sort this out

• owaief (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 9:25 pm

hummer wannabe

• kei9 (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 10:43 pm

i like the boxy shape of the suv….typical honda design….

• raptorclans (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 11:29 pm

this is so cool! omG… i'd luv to drive one of those… very chic n modern :D

• raptorclans (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 11:31 pm

btw, check out the airbags!

• hush (Member) on Mar 10, 2007 at 12:36 am

the design looks like a hummer…

• honda_driver (Member) on Mar 10, 2007 at 1:12 am

"new 4×4 suv by honda mostly are cooperate with land rover."

littlefire85.. are you sure honda cooperated with land rover to come up with their 4×4's? please share more info with us. thanks.

• albagmane (Member) on Mar 10, 2007 at 5:57 am

i think it looks nice and neat… since it has the right hand drive version, really do hope the model can land in local shore soon…

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Mar 10, 2007 at 5:58 am

HR-V meets Element meets Scion xB?

• ingolstadt (Member) on Mar 10, 2007 at 7:32 am

running out of ideas ? can't imagine it being a JDM model, must've been designed ground up thinking about average suburban american moms.

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 10, 2007 at 8:13 am

I like the Element, think I will like this as well :D

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Mar 11, 2007 at 2:34 pm

This model is only FOR Japanese market, NO EXPORT version had been told.

• shamsydney (Member) on Dec 14, 2008 at 1:56 pm

i’ve driven it and i LOVE it! Anyone know how i can possibly get it in KL? any parellel importers???

• This is fantastic design, I LOVE it.