2007 Nissan X-Trail unveiled

This is the new Nissan X-Trail. What? No, I did not exactly upload a photo of the old X-Trail in error. This is really the new Nissan X-Trail, which pretty much looks like the old one from the exterior. However, it’s actually different on the outside and the inside, so let’s have a look at the changes.

Look after the jump for the full article.

The old X-Trail and this new Nissan X-Trail’s aesthetic differences from the outside is pretty much about the same as the first MINI Cooper and the new 2nd generation R56 MINI Cooper. Looks about the same, yet different. This one’s built on the same chassis as the recent Nissan Qashqai and Nissan Rogue, and comes with four engine choices including two new turbodiesels with Diesel Particulate Filter. Of course, proper off-roading capabilities are there, with a new Intelligent ALL MODE 4×4-i four-wheel drive system, as well as hill start and hill descent control.

Carlos Tavares, Executive Vice President, Corporate Strategy and Product Planning, Nissan Motor Limited says customers asked for the X-Trail replacement to be more of an evolution than a revolution. To just leave things are they are. If Nissan wanted to, it would probably get away with a facelifted exterior or something, but then again that’s pushing it. When the first X-Trail was launched, Nissan expected to sell about 23,000 units a year, but ended up pushing out an average of more than 54,000 a year and now more than 600,000 Nissan X-Trails are on the roads (and off the roads, pun intended) globally. The X-Trail was such a favourite that Nissan is calling the re-used DNA as “X-Trail-ness”.

The new Qashqai platform that this new Nissan X-Trail is based on is supported by a strut-tyep suspension at the front, with a multi-link system at the rear. These suspension points are mounted onto insulated subframes to ensure vibration does not travel to the rest of the car. The new Nissan X-Trail is longer by 175mm, now at 4630mm. Wheelbase has increased by 5mm to 2630mm.

Offroading capabilities include the Intelligent ALL MODE 4×4-i system, a ground clearance of 200mm, as well as a body designed to take approach and departure angles of 28 and 23 degrees respectively. The Intelligent ALL MODE 4×4-i system features a rotary knob on the center console which allows a choice between a 2WD-only mode and an auto mode. In auto mode, at speeds below 80km/h, the system minitors throttle position, engine speed and generation torque to anticipate wheelspin, distributing torque between the front and rear wheels as needed. Above the 80km/h speed, the system shifts to a reactive instead of preemptive sensor system, running mainly in front wheel mode and shifting power to the rear whenever needed. The 4WD system is also in Lock mode below 40km/h.

Two more features allow easier driving over not-so-flat ground – DDS and USS. DDS, or Downhill Drive Support, operates when the 4WD system is in lock mode. DDS is basically a hill descent control system activated from a switch which keeps the Nissan X-Trail at a constant 7km/h when going downhill. Any increase is speed is stopped via the brakes. It works in reverse too. USS is Uphill Start Support, which basically helps you hold the brakes on uphill slopes so the Nissan X-Trail will not roll rearwards. USS activates automatically.

X-Trail 2.0 Engine

The new Nissan X-Trail comes with 4 engine options – two petrol and two turbodiesel. The 2.5 litre from the current X-Trail is carried over, but is slightly improved. The 2.0 litre model has an all-new engine, making 140hp and 193Nm of torque. 90% of that 193Nm is available from 2,400rpm, giving the new Nissan X-Trail 2.0 litre petrol model more low end grunt, and resulting in a less exhausting drive. The two turbodiesel options are both Renault’s M1D unit with two different levels of tuning. The lower end version is without an intercooler, making 150hp and 320Nm of torque, while the intercooled version makes 173hp and 360Nm of torque. Both the turbodiesel variants make 90% of it’s torque from 1,750rpm. These 4 engine options are mated to a 6-speed transmission by default, however the turbodiesels can be mated to a 6-speed automatic, while the petrol engines get a CVT transmission option.

On the interior, the meter panel has been shifted back to it’s conventional position right in front of the driver, instead of the previous Nissan X-Trail’s centrally-mounted position. The new Nissan X-Trail still carries that serious utilitarian off-roading look to it’s interior – if you want to know what I mean, the best example is the old Pajero’s interior, however in this new generation it is so much more modernized. The center console now hosts a larger navigation screen positioned higher up to be closer to the driver’s eye level, as well as an in-dash CD changer. There’s also a dash-top storage deep enough for a full size tissue box, and a 15.7 litre glovebox.

Now we move on to the storage space. The trunk is now a 603 litre trunk, up from the previous X-Trail’s 410 litres, thanks to the relocation of the rear exhaust muffler position to allow for better interior space. The trunk is of a double deck design, with a sliding drawer under the floor. This can be removed to increase trunk height by 127mm. This large trunk design has allowed X-Trail to add reclining ability to the rear seats, though by not much, only 7 degrees. This enhances rear passenger comfort. The rear seats fold down with a 40:20:40 configuration which has started to be adopted by a few manufacturers lately, and not the conventional old school 60:40 split.

The Nissan X-Trail has been doing really well here in Malaysia, so will Edaran Tan Chong Motor milk it further or bring in this new Nissan X-Trail within reasonable schedule? It’s competitor has already refreshed it’s SUV model – the 3rd generation Honda CR-V.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Mar 10, 2007 at 11:54 am

Not much of surprises from the exterior and interior

Play safe, I guess

• ilmondo (Member) on Mar 10, 2007 at 12:02 pm

may not b a beauty queen.. but i like it! machoness n xtrailness remains.. hope it prices right too in msia..

• cbljkkj (Member) on Mar 10, 2007 at 12:25 pm

Man that trunk is huge! You could film an episode "Space, the next frontier" in there (pun intended) for Discovery Channel.

• sarawakguy (Member) on Mar 10, 2007 at 2:00 pm

I like the new look dashboard….the previous one have to many "steps"…and this one looks more "ngam" from the rear….This one will sell well in Sarawak…!!!

• DrA (Member) on Mar 10, 2007 at 3:51 pm

Boring!!! It looks dispropotionate. Big bum with small wheels. However interior looks similar to Qashqai

• J (Member) on Mar 10, 2007 at 4:49 pm

Exciting !!!

Bring in to Msia fast before potential buyers taking up the all new CRV :)

Hopefully manual gear shift version is brought in as well bec 2.0 is under-power for auto gear. Reverse light below the rear bumper is very thoughtful.

Price it RM20K below new CRV will make it selling like hot cake :)

• jazz1011 (Member) on Mar 10, 2007 at 4:58 pm

Looks more robust – but still a bit bland.

The front headlamps is "over-sized". Doesn't really fit in but rear-end design is still acceptable.

The 6-speed automatic tranny on the turbodiesels and the CVT on the petrol is a welcoming sight.

Interior design is done up well. Placing the instrument cluster back to the driver's side rather than the centre is much, much better. Perhaps I'm the conservative type but I find it very awkward seeing cars with its instrument clusters placed in the middle of the dash.

Really loved the cup holder compartment in the front passenger side. Very impressive.

• motherker (Member) on Mar 10, 2007 at 6:04 pm

X-trail is more for serious off-roading…

how can u compare it with a CR-V which wasn't designed for off roading ?

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Mar 10, 2007 at 6:53 pm

Well i heard they gonna have a face lift this year. Maybe the design will almost like this. But turbodiesel, i a bit doubt. while CVT well, even new latio wont having it in Malaysia..

Malaysia Tan Chong always want to cut cost. The most i think will come out the new turbodiesel with intercooler. I am waiting for that coming out, since renault already have 1. Time to go diesel.. diesel are more better in term of fuel efficient and torque full at low rpm suitable for city cursing.

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 10, 2007 at 7:34 pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PWkpLrnAjEU

cvt for real

• offroader manix (Member) on Mar 10, 2007 at 7:38 pm

LOL……………..20K below CRV and manual please.

Sometimes…..just AT also got issues when going offroad. MT put it a more complete offroad capabilities.

• Nozzydive (Member) on Mar 10, 2007 at 8:01 pm

Goshhh is using the CVT gearbox….smoooooothhh ride dude!

• ckengyo (Member) on Mar 10, 2007 at 8:11 pm

the look is 2 conservative. just like new mini, not every 1 can differentiate. but i definitely like the boot space & the full flat back seat. is very useful 4 some 1 who like 2 shop at ikea. so sad that we cant have a suv with the look like new crv & the interior like new x-trail. i wonder the 280ps turbo version in japan remain?

• noAP4u (Member) on Mar 10, 2007 at 9:12 pm

This new X-Trail does not disappoint. Great improvements in the interior too e.g. dashboard design and the trunk space.

Smart use of the back seat centrefold as an armrest. And the All Mode 4×4 knob is also nicely done, reminding me of Land Rover's Terrain Response rotary knob.

Looking forward to Edaran TC assembling it locally (no AP-lah!). And if they must choose which variant to assemble, the intercooled turbodiesel variant is a must!!

• ACES (Member) on Mar 10, 2007 at 9:15 pm

the exterior more a less the same while the interior is much nicer now

• e-nabilll (Member) on Mar 10, 2007 at 11:04 pm

my godness how many pics man !

interior is alot beter,reminds me of the new qashqai interior , bt the outside stil looks odd

• kei9 (Member) on Mar 10, 2007 at 11:17 pm

not much difference…….

• El Gato (Member) on Mar 10, 2007 at 11:37 pm

The all mode 4X4 button is cool….bring in the turbo-diesel version as the low rpm torque will be very much welcomed.

• raptorclans (Member) on Mar 11, 2007 at 1:04 am

i doubt tan chong's bringing it in anytime soon… they're still selling the sentra (has been replaced) and previous model cefiro (new model launched a couple of years back liao)

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 11, 2007 at 2:34 am

actually i have no faith in cvt, buuuut they i think probally tested for reliability,since its in 4×4 now,

my perception is cvt is easier to mantain, or overhaull compared to a complex coventional auto,maybe, (just change the belt)

my preference will go to cvt if it proven relable for a relax sweet autobox,

but if the performance count perhaps dsg good for fast and power,

but the good thing about the transmission for me is the proper manual, you know which gear it falls into,and which gear you want to throw in, fun coordinaton,

( for who enjoying driving). you really master the gear, unlike the sequential or dsg have think of the gear, and look at the indicator,

any way, town, KL(jam) or JB, Kuantan(sequential traffic light) …….save my left foot, cvt ok la,,

for now cvt with v100

• transformer (Member) on Mar 11, 2007 at 2:45 am

Welcome!

not much diff and born as the new "elongated and enlarged X-Trail"

but great to see that the odometer, RPM and etc. had

been shifted to Driver views! The old ones reminds me of Kancil! Sucks#$%@!

design wise….. still can't compete with CRV soft lines!

also take note of the "D" pillar! :) which can obstruct rear left view from driver side especially motorbikes! Not helpfull in parking too!

• renyeo (Member) on Mar 11, 2007 at 3:01 am

Sometimes manufacturers lost their minds and expect consumers to be likewise.

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 11, 2007 at 4:39 am

Re-use DNA= LAZY

• ingolstadt (Member) on Mar 11, 2007 at 5:12 am

I like this every bit more than Honda's new CRV. Nissan clearly had in mind what they're trying to do, they had the winning formula, and they stepped up progressively without spoiling the fun.

Honda on the other hand is like checking on the calendar, saw the red circle marking the 5 year anniversary of the previous CRV, and walla! :" I guess we need a new CRV next month, this one's due for expiry." and off they go, ransacking their design databases for something they hadn't showed us and there you go, the new CRV. Those frontal designs of a CRV with that big gaping lip which Honda engineers claim :" achieves a 4 star rating for pedestrian safety" is like telling you that the reason you had to buy this car, is that they spend loads of cash, which ultimately translates as the selling price you're buying, was there in part to not harm that idiot that did not use the pedestrian bridge, and gallops over the road without checking and bang! No worries, your hard earn money in which you bought the CRV, which costs this much because the engineers had this bugger in mind when they designed the car, and that you paid for it; had just saved this idiots pathetic life.

:)

X-Trail please. oh nah…. Mazda CX-7 pls. :)

• xg9 (Member) on Mar 11, 2007 at 6:20 am

that dark brown/bronze color is nice… but the silver color looks like an ambulance.. lol

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Mar 11, 2007 at 6:35 am

Big butted…. and abit too tall, but it shld be better than CRV on paper… the interior looks gr8 too, mix of sportyness and off-road attitude. but when will it arrive to malaysia? in 2009?

• transformer (Member) on Mar 11, 2007 at 5:36 pm

have to wait 2010…. or 2020 before an average joe could afford one!

thanks to Bolehland policy protecting its RAKYAT !

Malaysia Boleh!

• albagmane (Member) on Mar 11, 2007 at 7:39 pm

on the exterior, i still prefer the the previous look… on the interior, i prefer the new one coz of the normal positioned meter display instead of central positioned… how le? why nissan like tat one? haih… but the lights above the roof are quite fresh and interesting…

• amin1984 (Member) on Mar 11, 2007 at 10:54 pm

nice…nice alot of storage compartment…. how about e price tag?

• nmh (Member) on Mar 12, 2007 at 10:00 pm

perfect…good job nissan…u exactly know what we want, normal meter position…perfect inside out….offer diesel option, i like it. BUT i still expect paddle shifter

• thow (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 7:45 am

i hope the quality of the plastic trim get improve.current x trail plastic trim's quality is bad……easy to leave a mark…:)

• joshuaylv (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 12:12 am

I'd visited a showroom in Kajang, displaying new (supposedly) X trail model. The dashboard is completely different from the one shown here. The meter panel still positioned at the centre, and there's no navigator. Furthermore, the dealer informed that there had not been any changes done on the engine, and the overall dimension is still the same. My question is, why so much different from this website? I'm very disappointed.

• Jamal (Member) on May 07, 2007 at 11:09 am

Walau, very nice indeed inside. Outside I don't quite like the headlamp design & the grill. like most SUV nowadays going for sporty looks instead of the macho rugged looks like Range Rover. Hope it's cheaper. Great to know they have diesel now.

• eemo_crash (Member) on May 10, 2007 at 5:51 pm

Looks weird! The headlights look strange, The wheels look to small, The rear side windows are to small. The old one looks much better on the outside but the new one looks heaps better on the inside.

• TopGear (Member) on Sep 09, 2007 at 10:47 pm

new X-trail Launched in Japan and Europe this month,,,september..and in
    November 2007…. hopefully Tan Chong can bring this to Malaysia
    by 2008…. if not they will losing market shares to CRV, Sportage, etc

• samdam (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 2:49 am

thet should have this in 3rd row

• Eddie76 (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 2:43 am

Any one knows when will this model return to North America Market,, I am still driving 2005 model and it’s awsome,, but I did not like the Rouge,,,,, any one know the answer

• Now is already May 2009. Any news when will the new X-Trail coming to M'sia?

• Rulered on Nov 14, 2009 at 5:04 am

7 seater capability is always welcome, especially with the rear space as huge as this.

• RedLine on Nov 14, 2009 at 6:15 am

Disappointing ugly. The exterior look disproportionate. Looking from the side, the front bonnet is too slim, while the body is overly large.

• jhuan on Nov 14, 2009 at 7:05 am

Urgghhhhh……….never made it to malaysia

• gozat on Jan 15, 2010 at 9:39 am

Haiyoo when come to malaysia looo,,,..

• SabaiSabai on Feb 05, 2010 at 5:40 pm

On pics sure look nice..however we haf to wait till they launch..BTW, jus wondering (Im still learnin) for a CVT GearBox can gif u the feel of a 4×4+SUV..

I think they r tryin to sort out the fuel consumption tat hopefully they can appeal to customers cause da current 4AT could not provide..

Anyway tat is my 2 cents worth of opinion, hope u all dun mind..