BMW M3 Sedan Spyshot

m3-sedan-hans-g-lehmann.jpg

Now that we’ve seen the BMW M3 Concept in coupe form, what’s remaining is the upcoming Sedan and also Cabriolet version. The E9x series M3 will mark the debut of the 4-door M3, last seen back in the E36 days. The E46 skipped with 4-doors and went with the more rigid 2-door body exclusively.

So we’ll have an M3 Coupe, Sedan, and Cabriolet. Not sure if there will be an E91 stationwagon version. Oh well, at least there’s the 335xi Touring with all-wheel drive for wagon fans.

One thing you would have noticed from the spy photos above is the new front end on the sedan. The BMW M3 Sedan will use the front end from the 3 Coupe which has a more aggressive and pronounced nose rather than the sunken grille design of the 3 Sedan which has found disfavor among car enthusiasts.

Many have said that this new more pronounced grille is now the E90 3 Series was supposed to look like in the first place. I’m not sure whether the sedan with coupe nose design will be limited exclusively to the M3 Sedan, or a new 3 Sedan facelift will introduce this updated front end.

BMW M3 testing at the Nurburgring track
BMW M3 Concept at Geneva 2007

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• cbljkkj (Member) on Mar 17, 2007 at 12:55 pm

All hail the triumphant return of the M3 Sedan!! BMW probably wanted a bigger user base for the M3 and reincarnated this little beauty.

As most people tend to gravitate towards family oriented vehicles in this time and age, this would be perfect for the family man who still wants some oomph in his everyday ride on his way to pick up the kids from school.

Can't wait.

• Paul Tan on Mar 17, 2007 at 12:59 pm

the family man would still have to get an m5

imho i think the 3 series were still designed to only have 2 passengers in the car comfortably at any time, although not as bad as the 1 series

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Mar 17, 2007 at 4:23 pm

At least the E90 is much larger than the E36 where it comes to back seat room.

M5 yes, but for the price, even in North America is prohibitive.

However, BMW still misses a small point of the M3 Sedan. The E36 M3 is cool because it looked just like a regular 328i with upgraded wheels if you ordered one debaged. Stealth is good…(unlinke the asian mentality that up-badges cars…lol)

• motherker (Member) on Mar 17, 2007 at 7:39 pm

currently the 335i costs RM468,000

so this m3 sedan…hmm…wat will the price be like?

around thew 600k range??

if its around that range, i'd rather add up 200k and get a M5 instead :D

in fact the M5 cost around 7xxk frm grey importers..

• motherker (Member) on Mar 17, 2007 at 7:56 pm

335i coupe costs RM468k

the M3 sedan?? hmm…around 6xxk??

if its around the 6xxk range, i'd rather add another 2xxk and get myself a M5 instead :D

my fren once told me that he had seen an M5 at a grey importer's place for 7xxK

• aesthari (Member) on Mar 17, 2007 at 8:29 pm

I like this front end better, and apart from the grilles, I think it looks similar to the Satria Neo, which is beautiful.

• motherker (Member) on Mar 17, 2007 at 9:46 pm

wahsai, m3 can compare with neo??

lol!!

its like comparing an evo and a kancil la bro

• cbljkkj (Member) on Mar 18, 2007 at 3:24 am

paultan:

True that the M5 would be the better choice, but i think the wheelbase of this M3 sedan and the regular sedan is the same if not utilizing the same chassis. Which means it should be a regular E90 body but graced with the M3 motor.

Should also cost significantly less than the M5 but higher than the regular price of the E90 which would probably mean it would be a better buy.

• owaief (Member) on Mar 18, 2007 at 5:16 am

satria neo's tiger eyes!!

• amal850720 (Member) on Mar 18, 2007 at 4:24 pm

the m3 grille looks a bit like holden commodore.

• eric (Member) on Mar 18, 2007 at 4:25 pm

the m3 sedan would be a great addition to the beemer family.

i guess that the only difference we have in buying the m5 compared to this for practicality in space but at the same time for speed is the status. the m5 is more regarded as the tycoon's fast car but this would be the assitant director's fast car. :P

• honda_driver (Member) on Mar 19, 2007 at 5:17 pm

i always find it surprising how people who buy cars behave in malaysia. a good example is here, when we speculate the M3 price will be close to the M5.. better off getting the M5.

what they dont analyse is, why is there a need for an M3 in the first place if "everyone" is going to buy the M5? and why is there a need for the M5 to exist?

i'm pretty sure both car have totally different characters, for a start, the size of the 5 alone is going to influence the whole driving experience as compared to the smaller 3. to me, thats a huge difference. The 3 also appeals to a younger audience as compared to the 5.

Its not just about price, it depends on exactly what you want out of a car.

if you say you are going to buy a 5 over a 3 just because you think you get more metal for your money, might as well you go buy a hummer?

• BrakeFader (Member) on Mar 19, 2007 at 5:46 pm

Sedan M3! Now thats more practical for a sporty exec car with 4 doors. This should be BMW's move to go head on with Audi RS4.

• masterx1100 (Member) on Mar 20, 2007 at 6:05 pm

M3 Twin Turbo..850HP..