Seoul Motor Show, not Seoul Model Show!

hot_girls_left.jpgHow many of you go to motorshows not for the cars, but for the scantically clad ladies standing around the cars? I know that sometimes the intention can be split 50:50 between the two. If so, and you happen to be a Korean, or someone heading for the 2007 Seoul Motor Show in South Korea, you’re going to be in for a disappointment.

Hyundai and Kia wants to cut down on the number of models at the show, as well as switch to more modest dressing, hoping the attention will be focused more on the cars on display instead. “We would rather have the spectators’ attention on our cars than the attractive ladies,” said Jake Jang, a spokesperson for Hyundai Motor Company.

Renault Samsung Motors has already made a similiar move at last year’s motor show, where it’s usual skimpy models were given business suits and handheld computers to help them answer questions.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 1:14 pm

Models? what models? i onli ever notice/checkout the cars. really!

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 3:39 pm

Without the MODELS the New model would be attractive too.

Cut down the MODELS will definately Not a good move to Hyundai. ReThink about please.

• NiceCar (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 3:41 pm

In the car show:

Cars = Fried Chicken

Model = Cheezy wedges

Whatever, is one of the method to withdraw ppl attention on car but not model…

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 4:33 pm

I've been to the recently singapore motor show 2006 and well even though there are girls in skimpy clothing, only like 1 is worth watching, the others make me want to vomit, it also annoying since I want to take pictures of the cars, not girls, but both is good too:D

• BrakeFader (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 4:37 pm

Hot models and Hot Cars go together! I guess they want more sales, not just booth "attention". hehe.

• jasonlow (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 4:42 pm

Oh yeah.. I went last 2 years ago, (and for Busan Motor show for last year), u sure can c ppl bringing their dslr, aiming at the models standing beside the car, instead of shooting at the car or even looking at it… i guess the main attraction is all about the chicks…. But i think from the last time i visited the motor show, some of the companies (hyundai, Kia, so on) already been using models who were more well dressed.. n of course, the scantly dressed ones were those who gets the most attention…

• jazz1011 (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 4:52 pm

Frankly, I have to agree that cutting down on the models and a more modest dress code for them is somewhat a good move.

At least for me though.

Yes, the girls do draw attention and attract the crowds – but I think without them around, MotorShows won't lose their appeal either.

Cheers!

• ChipS (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 4:54 pm

You know Paul, some say the "models" draws better attention then the new car model. To a certain extend it is rather true and some say also, it is to draw your attentions away from the flaws of the new model by focusing on the "models". Hmm…… interesting.

Whatever it is, hot cars are always associated with hot babes….. just like the Porche teaser ad you showed us.

• waksegan (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 5:19 pm

no women no cry..

• antaras (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 5:30 pm

aiseh… what's all the bitchin' about? if your car is worth the attention then people will pay attention to your car. Does adult channels draw away viewers from watching their favourite shows?

• antaras (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 5:33 pm

sigh… what's all the bitc*ing about? If the car is worth the attention then people will pay attention to the car. Does adult channels draw away viewers from watching their favourite shows?

• antaras (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 5:34 pm

sigh… what's all the fuss about? If the car is worth the attention then people will pay attention to the car. Does adult channels draw away viewers from watching their favourite shows?

• aesthari (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 7:29 pm

I go for the cars only. Honest. Ahahaa, well not really, but mostly, my eyes do wander off to some really attractive ones sometimes but that's it.

• mattyboy (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 8:12 pm

Models are great to look at but please, please take them away from Motorshows – went to the KL show last year and it was totally runined by been full of muppets trying to get a quick up-skirt shot of some girl with their hand-phone!!

If you wanna see these gals please go clubbing and you will see the exact same girl promoting drinks and cigarettes and leave us petrol heads to our cars!!! haha

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 8:30 pm

left one is mine

• msmar_453 (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 8:54 pm

more pictures please!! hehehe..

we want more..we want more!!

motorshow without models like men without car!!

Hidup Paul.. !!

• topgunthang (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 9:34 pm

hehe. sad to know that you cant have both the hot chicks and hot cars immediately after looking at them.

• Infinitt (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 9:35 pm

I like this picture..hehe

• transformer (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 10:34 pm

Seoul Motor Show becomes lame!

It will loose its appetizer without chicks!

• kei9 (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 10:58 pm

im getting hot!by both cars n chicks!

• tokmoh (Member) on Mar 23, 2007 at 12:02 am

Fantastic!! Absolutely brilliant move by the Koreans, bravo!! Bravo!!

I would like to say that the models are nothing bt annoying skeletons wit 0.1mg of flesh ruining the photos of me snapping cars at KLIMS '06. Honestly, it wasn't a pleasant 1st time for me to attend such a motorshow I would normally oni be able to view in mags n internet

When I was queuing for tickets, there's even a screen of "vote your top 10 model", I mean wtf is that supposed to mean? Do ppl visit KLIMS for models or cars? I remember at that time, many voted for Lotus' modelling the APX concept….God…Msia Boleh?

I just wish they could begone for good, n they're nt even that frenly either. The ones at Naza especially, cuz I wanna snap Gallardo from all angles (my fav cute supercar!!), bt that means I shud enter "the ring" which was sealed so as nt to allow "commoners" like me to enter. Fine, bt those models dun hv to be rude to tell me that I cannot enter that area…….until the Sultan Pahang n his escorts arrived, suddenly they're all smile n angelic……..wtf? The sultan touch here n there, crack some lame joke n left, what am I? A frog?

Gud for the models, n now I heard the gamen wanna ban all pan-asian models, well, I hv 2 words for them: PADAN MUKA!!

• antaras (Member) on Mar 23, 2007 at 12:52 am

wow… you really sound pissed! I hope you won't turn gay because of this. hahah… chill… just joking yo~ :P but models can't be all that bad. I would say get better looking models rather than just more models. Quality and not quantity.

• Xoomie (Member) on Mar 23, 2007 at 1:53 am

wah paul, nice pic there… how to see a larger version

• jasonlow (Member) on Mar 23, 2007 at 4:32 am

btw, in seoul auto show, there aren't many cars to be amazed of… i would say KLIMS is way better… over in Seoul, most of the japanese car makers will not be showing off here, besides Honda and Lexus i remembered…. there would be lot's of american car ,makers here, but not showing off concept/new models, but just showing off those cars that are already on the market..and some of those european (Merz, BMW, Audi,…) too… except for korean makers, who will be showing off their latest technology n concept cars.. no super cars here from what i had seen last year… i missed KLIMS…

• kacman (Member) on Mar 23, 2007 at 6:04 am

whoa.. hot mama!

• mits27 (Member) on Mar 24, 2007 at 6:22 am

K girl is hot, j girl is hot, and american girl is hot too…

Normally I will take photo with these show girls and put in my friendster picture collection…

• iamisiamwhatiam (Member) on Mar 25, 2007 at 10:06 pm

what i see there is 50-50 reason for people to come to autoshows. hehe

• equinox345 (Member) on Dec 18, 2008 at 7:04 pm

Without those hot models, there is nothing to look at. You think we men go Auto show just for the cars, huh?

• I think it is the right decision in this day and age. The show ladies dressed up more formally – their beauty will still be there without showing off flesh – and given responsibilities to inform on and promote the product. bedroom wear and beach kits don’t belong on the showroom floor anyway. Most importantly, both men and women should not be encouraged to have a shallow, flesh-based mentality about women. Respect.

• paparazi on Mar 31, 2016 at 9:25 pm

Their HP(Hot Power) WIN the super car HP!!!